12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Toshiba HD DVD players now $119, $149 & $225, Further Retail price drop :)

rx330
post Jan 21 2008, 10:16 AM

11,808 posts

one as in a single person....
@ least htkaki catch my drift.....

A35 eh.. the price dem nice on amazon
ar188
post Jan 21 2008, 01:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 19 2008, 11:04 PM)
laugh.gif  let's see whether your prediction correct or not  tongue.gif
just get BD la.. no need prediction... build your software collection with the right format.. in the long run, supporting the wrong format will be more costly (due to buying the obsoleted original priced discs) than just tempted to getting a cheapest HD player..

sunauto
post Jan 25 2008, 12:32 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 19 2008, 04:10 AM)
do wait for the cheaper complete 2.0 spec before jumping on the wagon, or else if you are interested in gaming too, the ps3 is by far the best choice - Sony can definitely upgrade the firmware to support BD profile 2.0 wink.gif
But PS3 still can't decode DTS-HD even it can support profile 2.0 so it's more like a win - lose situation.
TSg5sim
post Jan 25 2008, 04:17 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 25 2008, 12:32 AM)
But PS3 still can't decode DTS-HD even it can support profile 2.0 so it's more like a win - lose situation.
PS3 is a software player. A software player can easily be updated wink.gif . better still wait for the 2.0 BD stanalone players to hit the street at $135. Anything more than that is a scam that should be avoided BY ALL COST wink.gif
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 10:57 AM

11,808 posts

i think anything tat isnt free for u is a scam biggrin.gif
JonC
post Jan 25 2008, 11:22 AM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 25 2008, 10:57 AM)
i think anything tat isnt free for u is a scam biggrin.gif
i support your view rclxms.gif brows.gif
sunauto
post Jan 25 2008, 11:26 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 25 2008, 04:17 AM)
PS3 is a software player. A software player can easily be updated wink.gif . better still wait for the 2.0 BD stanalone players to hit the street at $135. Anything more than that is a scam that should be avoided BY ALL COST wink.gif
Well, I would be happier if I can get a Blu-Ray / HD-DVD combo player at USD135 with 7 free movies. That's a much sweeter deal to encourage me to abandon the dvd format for good. tongue.gif
TSg5sim
post Jan 25 2008, 11:53 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 25 2008, 11:26 PM)
Well, I would be happier if I can get a Blu-Ray / HD-DVD combo player at USD135 with 7 free movies. That's a much sweeter deal to encourage me to abandon the dvd format for good.  tongue.gif
laugh.gif everybody's wish drool.gif sweat.gif
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 26 2008, 12:14 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 25 2008, 11:53 PM)
laugh.gif everybody's wish  drool.gif  sweat.gif
wow .. hope will get 1 around this year. found this about Samsung BD-UP5000
Samsung to discontinue UP5000 hybrid player
Only months after its introduction, Samsung has already decided to discontinue the BD-UP5000, its hybrid Blu-Ray/HD DVD movie player. The unit was to have been one of the most powerful players Samsung had produced, with 1080p24, HDMI 1.3, and an Ethernet port for Internet content; users have reported substantial problems with it however, such the inability to run HD audio codecs, or properly view discs such as Sunshine or 3:10 to Yuma. Other problems have included troubles with with standard DVDs or the 4:3 aspect ratio.

Although Samsung notes that no timeframe for the 5000's demise has been set, some preliminary reports suggested that it could come in May. A replacement is due in the second half of the year; this schedule is shared with the sibling UP5500, which also shares many of the same features.

sunauto
post Jan 26 2008, 01:10 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 26 2008, 12:14 AM)
wow .. hope will get 1 around this year. found this about Samsung BD-UP5000
Yup, that's the one ...... my precious but then .......... Samsung blu-ray players have incompatibility issues with certain blu-ray movies and they're slow in releasing firmware updates so maybe you wait until your neck long long also you still can't play your blu-ray movies unless with a PS3. Not sure about hd-dvd though as Samsung never released a hd-dvd player before. This BD-UP5000 ain't cheap, should cost RM3K to RM4K but our Asian model is BD-UP5500, will be released in the middle of this year, it's Profile 1.1 ready but no mention of Profile 2.0 or DTS-HD onboard decoding.
TSg5sim
post Jan 26 2008, 02:26 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 26 2008, 01:10 AM)
Yup, that's the one ...... my precious but then .......... Samsung blu-ray players have incompatibility issues with certain blu-ray movies and they're slow in releasing firmware updates so maybe you wait until your neck long long also you still can't play your blu-ray movies unless with a PS3. Not sure about hd-dvd though as Samsung never released a hd-dvd player before. This BD-UP5000 ain't cheap, should cost RM3K to RM4K but our Asian model is BD-UP5500, will be released in the middle of this year, it's Profile 1.1 ready but no mention of Profile 2.0 or DTS-HD onboard decoding.
that is the same prices as Sony's BD player - there was a full page ad for in TheSun on friday on Sony's two BD players biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sunauto
post Jan 26 2008, 02:54 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 26 2008, 02:26 AM)
that is the same prices as Sony's BD player - there was a full page ad for in TheSun on friday on Sony's two BD players biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Well, I wouldn't spend a single buck on those BD players from Sony, overpriced and with old specs. PS3 is different, at least it's still a gaming console so if blu-ray failed like umds, we can still use it to play games, that's a safer investment. Of course, everyone here says that HD-DVD will be dead soon but the online petition to save the HD-DVD format has been encouraging thus far, guess that many people don't want Sony to monopoly the whole market with their blu-ray format. Some competition is still healthy. nod.gif
mpyw
post Jan 26 2008, 08:14 AM

3,603 posts

Blu-ray format not only for Sony lar...
look at the list of their member which includes Panasonic, Sharp, Samsung, LG, Philips, Dell etc...
It just that Sony had a bigger role and the main force to push it because of the PS3 and they also have a movie studio making software for it....their stakes are higher....
To be frank, both format ultimate objective is $$$$$$ and the royalty that comes with it....Toshiba had it for SD DVD and they will never want to lose that for nexgen DVD software....Microsoft just wanna kacau only....
rx330
post Jan 26 2008, 09:44 AM

11,808 posts

as usual, fark M$ biggrin.gif
*sorry g5sim
sunauto
post Jan 27 2008, 02:09 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 26 2008, 08:14 AM)
Blu-ray format not only for Sony lar...
look at the list of their member which includes Panasonic, Sharp, Samsung, LG, Philips, Dell etc...
It just that Sony had a bigger role and the main force to push it because of the PS3 and they also have a movie studio making software for it....their stakes are higher....
To be frank, both format ultimate objective is $$$$$$ and the royalty that comes with it....Toshiba had it for SD DVD and they will never want to lose that for nexgen DVD software....Microsoft just wanna kacau only....
Sony's proprietary formats are often shortlived, betamax, minidisc, umd and who knows maybe blu-ray? It might start with a bang now but if other movie studios are not making good money by going hi-def, they might focus more on standard dvds instead. Of course, I don't wish that to happen because I'm starting to love hi-def movies now. doh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2008, 09:44 AM)
as usual, fark M$ biggrin.gif
*sorry g5sim
Don't worry, g5sim doesn't work for M$, he works for Toshiba. laugh.gif

TSg5sim
post Jan 27 2008, 08:36 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 27 2008, 02:09 AM)
Don't worry, g5sim doesn't work for M$, he works for Toshiba.  laugh.gif

u can say "Fark Toshiee too. see if i care biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

runemastertan
post Jan 27 2008, 10:39 AM

1,221 posts

Do all think now is the time to buy HD or BD players? I mean the price is still kinda expensive and the technology has yet to stable, plus there aren;t a lot of choices in the market yet.
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 27 2008, 11:42 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jan 27 2008, 10:39 AM)
Do all think now is the time to buy HD or BD players? I mean the price is still kinda expensive and the technology has yet to stable, plus there aren;t a lot of choices in the market yet.
if there are combo players (HD & BD) price below RM2K, sure i'll go for it. tongue.gif

htkaki
post Jan 27 2008, 04:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 21 2008, 01:25 PM)
just get BD la.. no need prediction... build your software collection with the right format.. in the long run, supporting the wrong format will be more costly (due to buying the obsoleted original priced discs) than just tempted to getting a cheapest HD player..

ar188, I told my fren to nego for a special price for 1 BD player meant for display purpose. If dapat good price, sapu balik. tongue.gif At the mean time, planning to buy PS3 after CNY (if the deal doesnt go thru)

sunauto
post Jan 28 2008, 01:35 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jan 27 2008, 10:39 AM)
Honestly, you shouldn't rush to get one if your main purpose is just to watch HD-DVD or BD only. For myself, I happened to own a PS3 and XBOX 360 so that's a different story as I'm also into gaming too.

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 27 2008, 11:42 AM)
if there are combo players (HD & BD) price below RM2K, sure i'll go for it.  tongue.gif
Yup, I'll be the first to buy one provided it's problem free. laugh.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 27 2008, 04:18 PM)
ar188, I told my fren to nego for a special price for 1 BD player meant for display purpose. If dapat good price, sapu balik.  tongue.gif  At the mean time, planning to buy PS3 after CNY (if the deal doesnt go thru)
Why after CNY? Potong steam leh, should be on new year's eve mah. smile.gif

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:52 AM