Toshiba HD DVD players now $119, $149 & $225, Further Retail price drop :)

sunauto
post Jan 25 2008, 12:32 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 19 2008, 04:10 AM)
do wait for the cheaper complete 2.0 spec before jumping on the wagon, or else if you are interested in gaming too, the ps3 is by far the best choice - Sony can definitely upgrade the firmware to support BD profile 2.0 wink.gif
But PS3 still can't decode DTS-HD even it can support profile 2.0 so it's more like a win - lose situation.
sunauto
post Jan 25 2008, 11:26 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 25 2008, 04:17 AM)
PS3 is a software player. A software player can easily be updated wink.gif . better still wait for the 2.0 BD stanalone players to hit the street at $135. Anything more than that is a scam that should be avoided BY ALL COST wink.gif
Well, I would be happier if I can get a Blu-Ray / HD-DVD combo player at USD135 with 7 free movies. That's a much sweeter deal to encourage me to abandon the dvd format for good. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jan 26 2008, 01:10 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 26 2008, 12:14 AM)
wow .. hope will get 1 around this year. found this about Samsung BD-UP5000
Yup, that's the one ...... my precious but then .......... Samsung blu-ray players have incompatibility issues with certain blu-ray movies and they're slow in releasing firmware updates so maybe you wait until your neck long long also you still can't play your blu-ray movies unless with a PS3. Not sure about hd-dvd though as Samsung never released a hd-dvd player before. This BD-UP5000 ain't cheap, should cost RM3K to RM4K but our Asian model is BD-UP5500, will be released in the middle of this year, it's Profile 1.1 ready but no mention of Profile 2.0 or DTS-HD onboard decoding.
sunauto
post Jan 26 2008, 02:54 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 26 2008, 02:26 AM)
that is the same prices as Sony's BD player - there was a full page ad for in TheSun on friday on Sony's two BD players biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Well, I wouldn't spend a single buck on those BD players from Sony, overpriced and with old specs. PS3 is different, at least it's still a gaming console so if blu-ray failed like umds, we can still use it to play games, that's a safer investment. Of course, everyone here says that HD-DVD will be dead soon but the online petition to save the HD-DVD format has been encouraging thus far, guess that many people don't want Sony to monopoly the whole market with their blu-ray format. Some competition is still healthy. nod.gif
sunauto
post Jan 27 2008, 02:09 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 26 2008, 08:14 AM)
Blu-ray format not only for Sony lar...
look at the list of their member which includes Panasonic, Sharp, Samsung, LG, Philips, Dell etc...
It just that Sony had a bigger role and the main force to push it because of the PS3 and they also have a movie studio making software for it....their stakes are higher....
To be frank, both format ultimate objective is $$$$$$ and the royalty that comes with it....Toshiba had it for SD DVD and they will never want to lose that for nexgen DVD software....Microsoft just wanna kacau only....
Sony's proprietary formats are often shortlived, betamax, minidisc, umd and who knows maybe blu-ray? It might start with a bang now but if other movie studios are not making good money by going hi-def, they might focus more on standard dvds instead. Of course, I don't wish that to happen because I'm starting to love hi-def movies now. doh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2008, 09:44 AM)
as usual, fark M$ biggrin.gif
*sorry g5sim
Don't worry, g5sim doesn't work for M$, he works for Toshiba. laugh.gif

sunauto
post Jan 28 2008, 01:35 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jan 27 2008, 10:39 AM)
Do all think now is the time to buy HD or BD players? I mean the price is still kinda expensive and the technology has yet to stable, plus there aren;t a lot of choices in the market yet.
Honestly, you shouldn't rush to get one if your main purpose is just to watch HD-DVD or BD only. For myself, I happened to own a PS3 and XBOX 360 so that's a different story as I'm also into gaming too.

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 27 2008, 11:42 AM)
if there are combo players (HD & BD) price below RM2K, sure i'll go for it.  tongue.gif
Yup, I'll be the first to buy one provided it's problem free. laugh.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 27 2008, 04:18 PM)
ar188, I told my fren to nego for a special price for 1 BD player meant for display purpose. If dapat good price, sapu balik.  tongue.gif  At the mean time, planning to buy PS3 after CNY (if the deal doesnt go thru)
Why after CNY? Potong steam leh, should be on new year's eve mah. smile.gif
sunauto
post Jan 29 2008, 01:13 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 28 2008, 09:13 AM)
kekekekek, i lap hi def biggrin.gif
But I luv my money more. tongue.gif
Pricey hobby ler ....... sweat.gif
sunauto
post Jan 30 2008, 07:50 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 16 2008, 11:34 AM)
finally.......

Added on January 16, 2008, 11:37 amA3 and 30 wats the main difference? both can decode DTS hdma internally?
Nope, they can't decode DTS-HD internally, just the DTS-Core track, only A35 can output DTS-HD (bitstream) via HDMI. RX 'sap yuk yuk' wanna buy one leh? laugh.gif

Sadly, no one here wanna bulk this player anymore. sad.gif
sunauto
post Jan 30 2008, 10:31 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Jan 30 2008, 07:34 PM)
Thot tax is based on total cost (incl. shipping).
It should be total cost and shipping fees as well. Last time, they taxed me on both amount combined. mad.gif Apalah, shipping fees pun kira. doh.gif

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 30 2008, 08:54 PM)
wanna join if someone bulking this player
Are you gonna volunteer to bulk the player for us? rclxm9.gif
sunauto
post Feb 1 2008, 12:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 30 2008, 11:50 PM)
No lah ... i mean, i would like to join, if you or g5sim or anyone else to bulk this player. sorry kalau buat u salah faham.  sad.gif
No problem ...... misunderstanding aje. Well, I also hope got someone wanna bulk this player, initially we got one forumer doing the bulk but cancelled it due to lack of interest, maybe if we can gather a few more people, we can ask him again. With the current pricing, it's a steal. I don't have any lubang when it comes to customs clearance so I dare not order from US. Some people has connections one, can import things by paying minimal taxes (in other words, it's called duit kopi or duit rasuah.)

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 31 2008, 09:35 AM)
g5sim 1st time buy things is it?

they tax u on the shiping as well
spore also the same
initially wanted to bullk with a fren, to save on shipping, but in the end, only realise will kena GST wen bulk, can only save rm 1 or usd 1 dollar nia... no point

im still waiting, see if string is bringing back an A3 for me, if not, then only i buy
if buy now my wife sure kill me.. and furthurmore im at a loss... my tv console has no more space liao sad.gif
RX just like me, neutral punya, supports both formats. rclxms.gif Not sure, RX got support EVD or not? Hahaha.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2008, 10:04 AM)
i mean the area placing the things lar.. hdmi input i still got one spare biggrin.gif
Can stack on top of each other mah if no place but don't stack on top of the Onkyo lah.
sunauto
post Feb 1 2008, 01:52 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 12:59 PM)
can the HD DVD player play CH DVD disc ar....
next time sure a lot of CH DVD come out one
Itu CH DVD, ar? Sadly, cannot ler ..... if can play, Toshiba sure marah-marah Microsoft one. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2008, 01:11 PM)
kenot stack aredi, currently stacking rotel CD player with astro decoder and tvix player
You can sell the Rotel cd and use the PS3 to play audio cds. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Feb 2 2008, 12:19 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 03:35 PM)
I use my DVD player to play CD biggrin.gif blush.gif
I use my dvd player to listen to mp3s and to view my photo cds. Hahaha.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 1 2008, 04:45 PM)
A35 also cheap. Too bad that it is HD-DVD.
Don't forget, all the good movies are from Paramount and Universal, plus Toshiba hd-dvd players are cheap and doesn't have the problematic profile problems that put some of the first generation blu-ray players obsolete for good. I'm neutral even though I buy blu-ray movies. wink.gif
sunauto
post Feb 2 2008, 10:27 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 2 2008, 09:06 AM)
anjua? anybody else gettin one?
How to get one wor? hmm.gif
Any suggestions?
sunauto
post Feb 3 2008, 03:53 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:32 AM)
sure boh, you mean the other studios releasing 500titles on bluray now don't produce even a single good movie?  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif

Added on February 2, 2008, 11:33 am

why are you wasting more money on this la.. just get Popcornhour first..
You're too sensitive lah, I'm not talking about blu-ray movies here but at least I'm enjoying the current movies out for hd-dvd, Transformers, Fast And Furious, Van Helsing, Face Off, etc. Toshiba hd-dvd players are affordable, who wouldn't want one, better than spending a few times more on a dedicated blu-ray player (not PS3).

Both formats have their pros and cons but I can see that Toshiba's format is much more stable and have less hardware problems which is an added plus. PQ and SQ wise, I guess nobody will say that hd-dvd is inferior to blu-ray. Just some greedy movie studios will hope here or there if given some candies under the table.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 2 2008, 12:42 PM)
anjua? kenot ar?
cos i dun have an upscaler mah tongue.gif
Can, can, why not?
sunauto
post Feb 4 2008, 01:02 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 3 2008, 04:42 AM)
if full spec 2.0 stand bd players are selling at $127 (well known brand) i will resign as an HD DVD advocate biggrin.gif biggrin.gif  rclxm9.gif
Even Cap Ayam blu-ray player with Profile 1.1 at $150 pun tak ada lah. laugh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 4 2008, 11:45 AM)
u mean u get paid for being a hd dvd advocate?
He probably owns a stake in Toshiba Corporation. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Feb 5 2008, 03:28 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

If got somebody from Malaysia can bawa itu Toshiba players into Malaysia lagi senang I guess.
sunauto
post Feb 9 2008, 04:15 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 6 2008, 03:33 AM)
yeah. womem like to cry watching BM. RX's wife is probably presuring him to get that title.

on a side note - if the Custom confiscate the title? the title is banned here tongue.gif
The customs probably won't know what Brokeback Mountain is about, they might mistaken it for a cowboy movie. tongue.gif

The Toshiba hd-dvd players are getting cheaper each day but there are no new models coming out in Malaysia. Toshiba Malaysia should do something. mad.gif
sunauto
post Feb 11 2008, 10:52 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Feb 9 2008, 04:27 PM)
Toshiba staff semua tidur & makan gaji buta  laugh.gif
Guess they're not to keen to promote hd-dvd in Malaysia

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 10 2008, 03:39 AM)
Sigh ..... good price ...... but not available here. I really like A35 veli veli much.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 11 2008, 04:30 PM)
no hassle of shipping, can ask string fellow to bring back mar biggrin.gif
He can't bring back too many units mah ...... wasted got nobody doing this bulk anymore.
sunauto
post Feb 12 2008, 12:30 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Feb 12 2008, 12:19 AM)
Me too ... but definitely the price will be higher. Maybe RM3k~4k ++
already pm'ed yeah_guyz about this matter. waiting for his reply.
I did PM to yeah_guyz before, he said due to lack of interest, he is closing the bulk unless we can get a few confirmed orders here so not sure whether you guys wanna join in to make this bulk a successful one. At the current price range, I guess it's a steal for a decent hd-dvd player that upscales standard dvds with acceptable quality.

QUOTE(JonC @ Feb 12 2008, 09:39 AM)
Have to wait summore leh. Also current BD players cannot be update to Profile 2.0 specs.
Not only that, the latest Samsung BD-UP5000 player can only play Dolby TruHD in 2.0 aje and not 5.1, it has some playback glitches too when you play movies like Fantastic Four 2, POC 3, We Own The Night, etc. Samsung only mentioned that it can be fixed by firmware updates but I find it surprising especially it is a brand new blu-ray player from them, surely they should have ironed out all bugs before launching it. To me, blu-ray players whether with profile 1.1 or 2.0 ready will not make a difference if they can't play all movies without any problems.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:54 AM)
blardy hell... comes with 5 movies somemore...

arj, every hd dvd player has 2 movies included inside rite? no?
If I'm not mistaken, the player comes with 2 movies, then the other 5 movies can be picked from the mail in rebate catalogue but normally eBay sellers will have all the 7 movies picked for you but if you were to order from Amazon, the mail in rebate can't be used here since we're in Malaysia and not in the US.
sunauto
post Feb 12 2008, 04:13 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Feb 12 2008, 12:36 PM)
Yup, 2 movies inside the box. 300 and Bourne Identity.
Guess that's the same pack in movies for our local Toshiba hd-dvd player in Malaysia.

0.0267sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:11 AM