TP is target price or take profit price ??? hahaha
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 4 2008, 05:29 PM

37,028 posts

TP is target price

my final TP is 14.00 (by the end of 2008)

p/s: i wont simply take profit on PBBANK unless there is a major crash in market, otherwise will just leave it to lay more golden eggs for me biggrin.gif
smartly
post Feb 4 2008, 05:38 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 4 2008, 05:29 PM)
TP is target price

p/s: i wont simply take profit on PBBANK unless there is a major crash in market, otherwise will just leave it to lay more golden eggs for me biggrin.gif
For me, i've to keep PBBank for my next generation, since i got it very low. Every now n then enjoying the dividend, just like what you described as golden eggs...
dreamer101
post Feb 4 2008, 08:12 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 4 2008, 05:29 PM)
TP is target price

panasonic88,

<<p/s: i wont simply take profit on PBBANK unless there is a major crash in market,>>

1) Where is the LOGIC in this?? If there is a major crash and you are confident that PBBank can recover plus can continuing pay the dividend, you BUY MORE.

2) You make money when you buy. For a HIGH DIVIDEND stock, you do not have to sell to make money. So, why should you care about current stock price except to buy more?? I only check PBBank's stock price maybe once or twice per year. And, that is when I check to see whether it crashes and I can BUY MORE.

3) Basic rule of investment said that you ONLY SELL when you have a BETTER place to invest your money. If you SELL PBBak, do you have a better place for your money?

Dreamer
SKY 1809
post Feb 4 2008, 08:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 4 2008, 09:12 PM)
panasonic88,

<<p/s: i wont simply take profit on PBBANK unless there is a major crash in market,>>

1)  Where is the LOGIC in this?? If there is a  major crash and you are confident that PBBank can recover plus can continuing pay the dividend, you BUY MORE.

2) You make money when you buy.  For a HIGH DIVIDEND stock, you do not have to sell to make money.  So, why should you care about current stock price except to buy more??  I only check PBBank's stock price maybe once or twice per year.  And, that is when I check to see whether it crashes and I can BUY MORE.

3) Basic rule of investment said that you ONLY SELL when you have a BETTER place to invest your money.  If you SELL PBBak, do you have a better place for your money?

Dreamer
Dreamer,

You are right.

Malaysians like to sack manager that is doing a very job, and move on and hope to find new and better manager to replace him/her.

On other hand, they keep manager that is losing moneys for them, and keep him/her for long term until one day this manager is able to make money for them.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 4 2008, 08:56 PM
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 4 2008, 08:45 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 4 2008, 08:12 PM)
panasonic88,

1)  Where is the LOGIC in this?? If there is a  major crash and you are confident that PBBank can recover plus can continuing pay the dividend, you BUY MORE.

2) You make money when you buy.  For a HIGH DIVIDEND stock, you do not have to sell to make money.  So, why should you care about current stock price except to buy more??  I only check PBBank's stock price maybe once or twice per year.  And, that is when I check to see whether it crashes and I can BUY MORE.

3) Basic rule of investment said that you ONLY SELL when you have a BETTER place to invest your money.  If you SELL PBBak, do you have a better place for your money?

Dreamer
1) I get your meaning. You are telling me to buy more (instead of selling it) & avg it if there is a major crash.

2) I feel it is one kind of leisure to monitor your favorite counter, be in going up or down.

3) Well said. I do not deny that. smile.gif
smartly
post Feb 4 2008, 10:03 PM

2,148 posts

This particular stock like Pbbank is worth keeping longterm. Averaging downward is a good method when come to this type of stock during crash but again if the purpose of buying this stock is no longer there such as no dividend anymore, profit not intact and management mismanaged, then i think is seriously need to reassess this stock again maybe considering selling it off...
dreamer101
post Feb 4 2008, 10:56 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Feb 4 2008, 10:03 PM)
This particular stock like Pbbank is worth keeping longterm. Averaging downward is a good method when come to this type of stock during crash but again if the purpose of buying this stock is no longer there such as no dividend anymore, profit not intact and management mismanaged, then i think is seriously need to reassess this stock again maybe considering selling it off...
smartly,

<<if the purpose of buying this stock is no longer there such as no dividend anymore, profit not intact and management mismanaged, then i think is seriously need to reassess this stock again maybe considering selling it off...>>

Those items has NOTHING to do with current stock price.

Dreamer

Added on February 4, 2008, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 4 2008, 08:45 PM)
1) I get your meaning. You are telling me to buy more (instead of selling it) & avg it if there is a major crash.

2) I feel it is one kind of leisure to monitor your favorite counter, be in going up or down.

3) Well said. I do not deny that. smile.gif
panasonic88,

1) I am telling you that if A is a good investment at $10, it should be an EVEN BETTER investment at $8 if the ONLY thing that change is the price.

2) Study had shown that people that watch stock price regularly tend to be a lousy investor. The reason is they get too emotional and attached to the stock.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Feb 4 2008, 11:00 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 4 2008, 11:14 PM

23,851 posts

I find Pana is a smart lady. She learns things fast and she can make up her mind pretty fast. She also shares lots of good things with us.

In her position she needs to know and learn how the markets behave, thus she needs to get involved on day to day basis. I would like to thank her for all her efforts. She warns people when market is bad.

As a young person, it is good to know and learn esp now how the markets behave, and so long it is within control, it is all right. People learn and grow through their mistakes.

I do not think she is paid for the jobs done.

Bear in mind, no one is perfect.

Added on February 5, 2008, 12:02 am" I did some calculation last night,
i decided to sell of most of my "rubbish" shares & get a PBBANK shares smile.gif

i am not good in looking at graph, but judging from PBBANK performance in year 2007
it is moving upwards, bits by bits
from RM 7.xx to RM 11.xx (the share price went up RM 4.00 in a year)
the shares went deep down in Feb & Aug 2007"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Brave and should be respected ( considering her young age ).

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 5 2008, 12:04 AM
smartly
post Feb 5 2008, 12:03 AM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 4 2008, 10:56 PM)
smartly,

<<if the purpose of buying this stock is no longer there such as no dividend anymore, profit not intact and management mismanaged, then i think is seriously need to reassess this stock again maybe considering selling it off...>>

Those items has NOTHING to do with current stock price.

Dreamer

Added on February 4, 2008, 11:00 pm

panasonic88,

1) I am telling you that if A is a good investment at $10, it should be an EVEN BETTER investment at $8 if the ONLY thing that change is the price.

2) Study had shown that people that watch stock price regularly tend to be a lousy investor.  The reason is they get too emotional and attached to the stock.

Dreamer
Ya, agreed, i didn't even mentioned anything abt stock price at all ...did i ??
I've been keeping Pbbank for years, with the 50 div i probably gotten back all my capital...why should i bother mentioning abt stock price ??? I even have stocks keeping for more than 15 years and it baloon to 3 times of my investment maybe more if i calculated probably.....on what basis you think watch stock regularly is bad investor, just emotional alone ????
low yat 82
post Feb 5 2008, 12:19 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

2) Study had shown that people that watch stock price regularly tend to be a lousy investor.  The reason is they get too emotional and attached to the stock.

YES, U R ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...

one's shud see it after d market close...unless u r intraday trader...
SKY 1809
post Feb 5 2008, 12:24 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Feb 5 2008, 01:19 AM)
YES, U R ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...

one's shud see it after d market close...unless u r intraday trader...
What happens if your counter goes Limit Up or coming Limit down on that day ?

Are you waiting for closing also ?

If you do not see during day time , you sell at night ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 5 2008, 12:25 AM
low yat 82
post Feb 5 2008, 01:00 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 5 2008, 12:24 AM)

if u confident wit ur ctr, y need scare so much? anyway, its kinda sad that malaysia doesnt implement stop loss...

yes, i will take d risk.. i will wait till d market close...but d final say final say will b accordin to my tradin plan for that ctr..

i usually will key in durin night or when d market is havin a break...

cherroy
post Feb 5 2008, 01:02 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 5 2008, 12:24 AM)

I think what he meant is don't bother too much about daily price movement too much, only occassionally monitor it, will be enough especially for those whom opt for long term one. As market sentiment and movement might affect some emotion that could potentially lead to a person to have wrong judgement.

It is some sort like if you see market red across and plunging fast that you are somehow will be wary to enter the market. Instead if you only see the individual stock at a price which is not being traded at an attractive level that you previous wish to have then you probably will buy it.
SKY 1809
post Feb 5 2008, 06:06 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 5 2008, 02:02 AM)
I think what he meant is don't bother too much about daily price movement too much, only occassionally monitor it, will be enough especially for those whom opt for long term one. As market sentiment and movement might affect some emotion that could potentially lead to a person to have wrong judgement.

It is some sort like if you see market red across and plunging fast that you are somehow will be wary to enter the market. Instead if you only see the individual stock at a price which is not being traded at an attractive level that you previous wish to have then you probably will buy it.
Yes, i do agree with you , a fundamentalist needs not have to bother much on day to day movements basically.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To Loy Yat 82,

If a person that depends lot on chartings ( usually not on fundamental stocks ) to do trading, one may have to monitoring quite closely unless he buys only blue chips. That is quite the standard in practice.

Whether scare or not as mentioned by you is another issue. If you are not scared to lose the money, then there is no need to do chartings anyway. Why needs to bother to know about where are the support lines ? Why bother about US markets and so on ? Just buy whenever people fear, sell whenever people greed ! There are people buying and sell on valuations, not on charts, also can make money.

People buying fundamental stocks on long term are not scared to lose, not affected by day to day price movement.

Do you aware that people also need to do some homeworks on charts first to make a counter looking "bullish " before goreng that counter ? Before you get to chart to know the sell signal, the game could be over. I mean it is not 100% fool proof using chart , and you have to be on alert if the chart looks extremely bullish, not to fall into the trap of others.

If you want proof, then all you have to do is to pay more tuition fees to share market.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 5 2008, 08:52 AM
smartly
post Feb 5 2008, 09:21 AM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 5 2008, 06:06 AM)
Yes, i do agree with you , a fundamentalist needs not have to bother much on day to day movements basically.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To Loy Yat 82,

If  a person that depends lot on chartings ( usually not on fundamental stocks ) to do trading,  one may have to monitoring quite closely unless he buys only blue chips. That is quite the  standard in practice.

Whether scare or not as mentioned by you is another issue. If you are not scared  to lose the money, then there is no need to do chartings anyway. Why needs to bother to know about where are the support lines ? Why bother about US markets and so on  ? Just buy whenever people fear, sell whenever people greed ! There are people buying and sell on valuations, not on charts, also can make money.

People buying fundamental stocks on long term are not scared to lose, not affected by day to day price movement.

Do you aware that people also need to do some homeworks on charts first to make a counter looking "bullish " before goreng that counter  ? Before you get to chart to know the sell signal, the game could be over. I mean it is not 100% fool proof using chart , and you have to be on alert if the chart looks extremely bullish, not to fall into the trap of others.

If you want proof, then all you have to do is to pay more tuition fees to share market.
Yeah, you have highlighted some good points here, nevertheless, FA and TA trading does have a different between the two. I classified myself as FA but sometime i do TA when market is choppy. Irrespective what am i, i watch market daily, am i a bad investor ???
Good point. SKY 1809 rclxms.gif
low yat 82
post Feb 5 2008, 11:37 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 5 2008, 06:06 AM)

To Loy Yat 82,

If  a person that depends lot on chartings ( usually not on fundamental stocks ) to do trading,  one may have to monitoring quite closely unless he buys only blue chips. That is quite the  standard in practice.

ya meh? not me though tongue.gif  jsu put alert alert lor, if d price goes down to d price u lookin for or vice versa

Whether scare or not as mentioned by you is another issue. If you are not scared  to lose the money, then there is no need to do chartings anyway. Why needs to bother to know about where are the support lines ? Why bother about US markets and so on  ? Just buy whenever people fear, sell whenever people greed ! There are people buying and sell on valuations, not on charts, also can make money.

sorry man, im TA, without chart im at lost, n when im lost i consider it as GAMBLE

speakin ab valuations, that is another type of tactics..

ya meh? tongue.gif

Do you aware that people also need to do some homeworks on charts first to make a counter looking "bullish " before goreng that counter  ? Before you get to chart to know the sell signal, the game could be over. I mean it is not 100% fool proof using chart , and you have to be on alert if the chart looks extremely bullish, not to fall into the trap of others.

wat u mean by extremely bullish? sorry not a candlesticks lover..heard about 3 white stick bla bla bla tongue.gif  for me, its vry seldom to see a counter that shows extreme strength...example of extreme strength is on 17/8/2007

i pay d my tuition fees tongue.gif

edited: typo

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Feb 5 2008, 11:39 AM
SKY 1809
post Feb 5 2008, 01:30 PM

23,851 posts

Oh I see , KLSE just opened in Year 2007. Make a note here.

Were you in standard 3 also during the super bull run ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 5 2008, 01:34 PM
TSpanasonic88
post Feb 5 2008, 02:04 PM

37,028 posts

^ standard 5, judging from his nick, i guess so laugh.gif

addon : you know what, Buffet says he regret he didnt start early to invest in stock market
he started at the age of 13 (or younger). my dad on the other hand, absorb the good things from Buffet, my dad bought a 1000 shares of ORIENT for his first grandchild, as a gift for her when she was one month old rclxms.gif

Imagine what would happen 20 years down the road biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Feb 5 2008, 02:09 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 5 2008, 02:27 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 5 2008, 03:04 PM)
^ standard 5, judging from his nick, i guess so laugh.gif

addon : you know what, Buffet says he regret he didnt start early to invest in stock market
he started at the age of 13 (or younger). my dad on the other hand, absorb the good things from Buffet, my dad bought a 1000 shares of ORIENT for his first grandchild, as a gift for her when she was one month old  rclxms.gif

Imagine what would happen 20 years down the road biggrin.gif
I hope one you become the lady "Buffet" thumbup.gif

77 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:13 AM