4,000 posts

sorry sorry to all cos i m using those

but i see new HDMI range is so far beyong my affordability now

sad.gif
aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 10:40 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 25 2008, 10:20 AM)
sorry sorry to all cos i m using those

but i see new HDMI range is so far beyong my affordability now

sad.gif
Same here, my Yammy 1800 was barely in the affordable range for me. Cannot go any more expensive than that. sweat.gif
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 10:42 AM

4,000 posts

frankly speaking

why opto 70 win 65 wor?

PrinceOfPersia
post Feb 25 2008, 11:06 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

why all people selling their BDs? bro aiman 3:10 not nice?? tot u ar collector biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PrinceOfPersia: Feb 25 2008, 11:08 AM
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 11:09 AM

11,808 posts

avbody jumping to HD dvd wagon biggrin.gif

PrinceOfPersia
post Feb 25 2008, 11:10 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 11:09 AM)
whistling.gif whistling.gif
aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 11:21 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Feb 25 2008, 11:06 AM)
why all people selling their BDs? bro aiman 3:10 not nice?? tot u ar collector biggrin.gif
Nice, but needs money urgently. 3:10 got 7.1 PCM audio, so sayang to let go... Maybe I'll buy again someday. sweat.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 11:09 AM)
Look at the Prince la... tongue.gif
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 11:25 AM

11,808 posts

yesterday go speedy... 4 titles on bluray nia.. i ask him wat abt hd dvd tiles, he went "huh"? i repeat agian, he went "har"
apisgogo
post Feb 25 2008, 11:28 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:37 AM)
correct me if i m wrong

all amp got DD or DTS DAC chip one

so when u source feed in digital source

the DAC convert it to analogue....then output ur speaker

cool.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 9:40 amsorry to say those Cinema DSP proccessing suxx when compare to same grade of Marantz & Denon
yeah, all amp has those chips.

but in onkyo 605, it cant process anything on PCM sources (as output by our beloved PS3). It accept the pcm signal, and convert it to analouge (to speakers). thats it. (i think onk 705 an above can process PCM)

Thats y a lot of people going for amps that could process PCM sources. (eg yam 661 n above, n of course upcoming 663, damn!).

for example my 661: Playing TrueHD on PS3, PS3 output it as MPCM (multichannel PCM). 661 accept the signal (PCM icon lights up), i add equalizer, speaker settings, LFE crossover, bla bla, and importantly i added Prologic IIx because to matrix the MPCM sources to my 6.1 speaker settings. And walla! im watching celine dion like im in the theater! smile.gif

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:53 AM)
Same thing happen to all sources. But RX says the quality different between PCM and DD/DTS.

Not fair lah comparing to Marantz or Denon.  tongue.gif
DD/DTS is max 1.5mbps. While PCM/TrueHD/DTS MA is exact replication of studio master. (except TrueHD/DTS MA using compression to save a heck of spaces in BDs and uncompress it back in the receiver, bitstream ofcourse)

in my opinion, technically, PCM is far more superior than legacy DD/DTS.

in my experience, definitely PCM is far more kick-ass than legacy DD/DTS.

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Feb 25 2008, 11:31 AM
aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 11:45 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Feb 25 2008, 11:28 AM)

but in onkyo 605, it cant process anything on PCM sources (as output by our beloved PS3). It accept the pcm signal, and convert it to analouge (to speakers). thats it. (i think onk 705 an above can process PCM)

Thats y a lot of people going for amps that could process PCM sources. (eg yam 661 n above, n of course upcoming 663, damn!).

for example my 661: Playing TrueHD on PS3, PS3 output it as MPCM (multichannel PCM). 661 accept the signal (PCM icon lights up), i add equalizer, speaker settings, LFE crossover, bla bla, and importantly i added Prologic IIx because to matrix the MPCM sources to my 6.1 speaker settings. And walla! im watching celine dion like im in the theater! smile.gif
DD/DTS is max 1.5mbps. While PCM/TrueHD/DTS MA is exact replication of studio master. (except TrueHD/DTS MA using compression to save a heck of spaces in BDs and uncompress it back in the receiver, bitstream ofcourse)

Agreed. PCM kicks more ass, big asses. It's from the movie's mixing studio, what to expect?

DTS-HD MA / Dolby TrueHD uses the same source, only some tweakings here and there (maybe more complicated than that, tongue.gif ), to get it to their standards.

RX's problem could possibly be the 605, not the source. nod.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 25 2008, 11:45 AM
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 11:45 AM

11,808 posts

end of the day... just repeating general knowledge... still no naswer to my problems sad.gif

personally i dun like matrixing, i prefer original source, if the show has 7.1 , then play as 7.1 , if not keep it as its 5.1
apisgogo
post Feb 25 2008, 11:49 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 25 2008, 11:45 AM)
Agreed. PCM kicks more ass, big asses. It's from the movie's mixing studio, what to expect?

DTS-HD MA / Dolby TrueHD uses the same source, only some tweakings here and there (maybe more complicated than that,  tongue.gif ), to get it to their standards. 

The problem is with the 605, not the source. nod.gif
actually the problem is not on onk 605 (605 is 1 of best valued receiver).

it is PS3! hahaha

because of our beloved PS3 cant internally decode DTS MA yet or bitstream both HD audio yet. So if onk paired with a bitstream capable player (ie pana BD30), then its gonna be a kick-ass experience as well.

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:59 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 11:45 AM)
end of the day... just repeating general knowledge... still no naswer to my problems sad.gif

personally i dun like matrixing, i prefer original source, if the show has 7.1 , then play as 7.1 , if not keep it as its 5.1
ok, i'll try to help.

ur problem is the volume level seems lower when playing PCM sources on your 605 rite?

like i said many times, Onkyo 605 cant process PCM sources (even amplify). So its having 'pure direct' mode from your player to your speakers. Thus this is the reason y the level sounded low. While DD/DTS is being processed by ur 605 (EQ, Speaker Settings, LFE bla bla) to match your preference.

hm, cant you apply any settings on the PCM? like, adjust each channel levels independently?

as for 7.1/5.1 original source, it entirely depends on your players. Bitstream player will definitely solve your problems.

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Feb 25 2008, 11:59 AM
aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 12:06 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Feb 25 2008, 11:49 AM)
actually the problem is not on onk 605 (605 is 1 of best valued receiver).

it is PS3! hahaha

because of our beloved PS3 cant internally decode DTS MA yet or bitstream both HD audio yet. So if onk paired with a bitstream capable player (ie pana BD30), then its gonna be a kick-ass experience as well.
I meant RX's problem. He decodes internally using PS3, but his DTS/DD is louder than his PCM source. That means his 605 doesn't do any enhancement to PCM I think (not talking about doing 7.1 matrix process, but the sound quality itself).

PS3 internally decodes (been waiting for DTS-HD MA update since forever), send to receiver as PCM is fine enough for me. The jittery effect is negligible.

At least until my PS3 broken beyond repair, then I will get a bitstream capable standalone player. wink.gif

(Deja vu, I think I've already posted this before! tongue.gif )
apisgogo
post Feb 25 2008, 12:09 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:06 PM)
I meant RX's problem. He decodes internally using PS3, but his DTS/DD is louder than his PCM source. That means his 605 doesn't do any enhancement to PCM I think (not talking about doing 7.1 matrix process, but the sound quality itself).

PS3 internally decodes (been waiting for DTS-HD MA update since forever), send to receiver as PCM is fine enough for me. The jittery effect is negligible.

At least until my PS3 broken beyond repair, then I will get a bitstream capable standalone player. wink.gif

(Deja vu, I think I've already posted this before! tongue.gif )
Agreed! smile.gif

PS3 decodes DTS-HD MA internally and send it as PCM, then i'll be happy. smile.gif

rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 12:09 PM

11,808 posts

aiks... 1st of all , ps3 decode avthin internally, rite
so wat odes my amp do? just output the sound mar, no?
apisgogo
post Feb 25 2008, 12:17 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:09 PM)
correct, but not anything. PS3 decodes internally as follows:

1) Dolby TrueHD - PS3 Decodes internally and send it as MPCM
2) DTS HD MA - PS3 only extract core from it. so it became 1.5mbps DTS.
3) PCM - PS3 pass the signal as it is to receivers.

so your 605 just pass the signal to your speakers. thats it

aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 12:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:09 PM)
Not sure la RX, it's an amplifier, it has to do something. Not just doing the DAC analogue converting and output to speakers.

Your case:

PCM --> PCM ---> Amp .... soft

DD/DTS --> PCM --> Amp .... louder

By right the amp is receiving PCM from both source.

Yeah, that's weird.

Better ask the gurus in the audiophiles la methinks. wink.gif
apisgogo
post Feb 25 2008, 12:24 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

rx,

when u playing DD/DTS, is DD/DTS lights-up on ur receiver?

u using PS3? u set it to output audio in PCM or Bitstream?
aiman04
post Feb 25 2008, 01:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

No Country For Old Men
Preordered!

2008 Academy Awards Winners

BEST MOTION PICTURE OF THE YEAR
Atonement
Juno
Michael Clayton
No Country for Old Men
There Will Be Blood

ACHIEVEMENT IN DIRECTING
Julian Schnabel - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Jason Reitman - Juno
Tony Gilroy - Michael Clayton
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen - No Country for Old Men
Paul Thomas Anderson - There Will Be Blood

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE
George Clooney - Michael Clayton
Daniel Day-Lewis - There Will Be Blood
Johnny Depp - Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Tommy Lee Jones - In the Valley of Elah
Viggo Mortensen - Eastern Promises

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE
Cate Blanchett - Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Julie Christie - Away From Her
Marion Cotillard - La Vie en Rose
Laura Linney - The Savages
Ellen Page - Juno

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Casey Affleck - The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Javier Bardem - No Country for Old Men
Philip Seymour Hoffman - Charlie Wilson's War
Hal Holbrook - Into the Wild
Tom Wilkinson - Michael Clayton

PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE
Cate Blanchett - I'm Not There
Ruby Dee - American Gangster
Saoirse Ronan - Atonement
Amy Ryan - Gone Baby Gone
Tilda Swinton - Michael Clayton

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Christopher Hampton - Atonement
Sarah Polley - Away From Her
Ronald Harwood - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - No Country for Old Men
Paul Thomas Anderson - There Will Be Blood

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Diablo Cody - Juno
Nancy Oliver - Lars and the Real Girl
Tony Gilroy - Michael Clayton
Brad Bird - Ratatouille
Tamara Jenkins - The Savages

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM OF THE YEAR
Beaufort (Israel)
The Counterfeiters (Austria)
Katyn (Poland)
Mongol (Kazakhstan)
12 (Russia)

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM OF THE YEAR
Persepolis
Ratatouille
Surf's Up

ACHIEVEMENT IN ART DIRECTION
American Gangster
Art Direction: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Beth A. Rubino
Atonement
Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
The Golden Compass
Art Direction: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Art Direction: Dante Ferretti; Set Decoration: Francesca Lo Schiavo

There Will Be Blood
Art Direction: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Jim Erickson

ACHIEVEMENT IN CINEMATOGRAPHY
Roger Deakins - The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Seamus McGarvey - Atonement
Janusz Kaminski - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Roger Deakins - No Country for Old Men
Robert Elswit - There Will Be Blood

ACHIEVEMENT IN COSTUME DESIGN
Albert Wolsky - Across the Universe
Jacqueline Durran - Atonement
Alexandra Byrne - Elizabeth: The Golden Age
Marit Allen - La Vie en Rose
Colleen Atwood - Sweeney Todd The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE
No End in Sight
Operation Homecoming: Writing the Wartime Experience
Sicko
Taxi to the Dark Side
War/Dance

ACHIEVEMENT IN FILM EDITING
Christopher Rouse - The Bourne Ultimatum
Juliette Welfling - The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
Jay Cassidy - Into the Wild
Roderick Jaynes - No Country for Old Men
Dylan Tichenor - There Will Be Blood

ACHIEVEMENT IN MAKEUP
Didier Lavergne and Jan Archibald - La Vie en Rose
Rick Baker and Kazuhiro Tsuji - Norbit
Ve Neill and Martin Samuel - Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End

ACHIEVEMENT IN MUSIC WRITTEN FOR MOTION PICTURES (ORIGINAL SCORE)
Dario Marianelli - Atonement
Alberto Iglesias - The Kite Runner
James Newton Howard - Michael Clayton
Michael Giacchino - Ratatouille
Marco Beltrami - 3:10 to Yuma

ACHIEVEMENT IN MUSIC WRITTEN FOR MOTION PICTURES (ORIGINAL SONG)
"Falling Slowly" - Once
Music and Lyric by Glen Hansard and: Marketa Irglova

"Happy Working Song" - Enchanted
Music by Alan Menken; Lyric by Stephen Schwartz
"Raise It Up" - August Rush
Nominees to be determined "So Close" - Enchanted
"That's How You Know" - Enchanted

ACHIEVEMENT IN SOUND MIXING
Scott Millan, David Parker and Kirk Francis - The Bourne Ultimatum
Skip Lievsay, Craig Berkey, Greg Orloff and Peter Kurland - No Country for Old Men
Randy Thom, Michael Semanick and Doc Kane - Ratatouille
Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Jim Stuebe - 3:10 to Yuma
Kevin O'Connell, Greg P. Russell and Peter J. Devlin - Transformers

ACHIEVEMENT IN SOUND EDITING
Karen Baker Landers and Per Hallberg - The Bourne Ultimatum
Skip Lievsay - No Country for Old Men
Randy Thom and Michael Silvers - Ratatouille
Matthew Wood - There Will Be Blood
Ethan Van der Ryn and Mike Hopkins - Transformers

ACHIEVEMENT IN VISUAL EFFECTS
Michael Fink, Bill Westenhofer, Ben Morris and Trevor Wood - The Golden Compass
John Knoll, Hal Hickel, Charles Gibson and John Frazier - Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Scott Farrar, Scott Benza, Russell Earl and John Frazier - Transformers

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT
Freeheld
La Corona (The Crown)
Salim Baba
Sari's Mother

BEST ANIMATED SHORT FILM
I Met the Walrus
Madame Tutli-Putli
Même Les Pigeons Vont au Paradis (Even Pigeons Go to Heaven)
My Love (Moya Lyubov)
Peter & the Wolf

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM
At Night
Il Supplente (The Substitute)
Le Mozart des Pickpockets (The Mozart of Pickpockets)
Tanghi Argentini
The Tonto Woman

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 25 2008, 01:24 PM
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 01:27 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Feb 25 2008, 11:28 AM)

if the PCM is not process ?? mean more worst than DD/DTS?

125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:49 PM