1,490 posts

of course. They like to feel warmth.

QUOTE(bebee @ Apr 16 2008, 11:07 AM)
my rabbit like 2 sleep on my chest when i bring them out laugh.gif
sangterap
post Apr 17 2008, 10:25 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

OMG!!! OMG!!! SO DIRTY!!!! I can't make out what it is....Don't mind telling what's the black blob in the middle?

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 17 2008, 05:32 PM)

do not try sleeping with rabbit...

tiba tiba got one rabbit beside me yesterday
dry.gif
sangterap
post Apr 19 2008, 07:42 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Below 6 months can take both alfafa pellets and hay. Still need hay. Actually giving hay is better than pellets. In my opinion, pellets are just to help the rabbit fill up the stomach. Their real staple food is hay/grass (not local grass pls).

Hair fall? How old your bunny? Baby rabbits around 3 months should not be molting (hair fall). They should molt later. If that bald spot has dandruff and flakes, most probably is FUR MITES.

QUOTE(abang brother @ Apr 19 2008, 03:26 PM)
Hahaha, i just bought 2 rabbits!

1 question, i bought this "Alfafa food pellets". Do i need to feed them Alfafa Hay again?

Added on April 19, 2008, 4:56 pmI checked one of them, and look,

Probally a hair fall. Is it?
sangterap
post Apr 19 2008, 11:58 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

maybe the hair just did not grow from there....maybe over groomed and also maybe nibbled off by cage mates or mummy.
sangterap
post Apr 22 2008, 11:29 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

http://www.rabbit.org/faq/sections/aggression.html

QUOTE(adriel_heresy @ Apr 22 2008, 09:43 AM)
just curious, did your rabbit attack you?
my rabbit attack me yesterday when i was scooping their poop.
normally i let the out and play outside while i was scooping their poops and cleaning their house.
then suddenly bambi come and attack me.
he bite the spoon and i push him away. then he bite my hand and i though he was playing.
but suddenly he bite very strong and i was shock.
i push him away again and he charge at me and use his front hand to paddle me.
i'm very confirm he wasn't playing as he was make the hissing sound and very furious like the car in the fast and furious, tokyo drift.

is this normal?
i quickly put them back into their house and went to bed.
this morning when i touch another bunny he charged at me again.
i can not even refill their food. my sis told me to slap his butt. =.='''

he is not like this normally. have you guyz experience this before?
sangterap
post Apr 23 2008, 10:11 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

The only side effect is good side effects. Your rabbits are tamer and have pleasant behavior. Males will stop SPRAYING and females will stop BITING.

QUOTE(hamsterz @ Apr 23 2008, 09:10 AM)
neuter/spay my bunny? woo.. got side effects on rabbit onot?
sangterap
post Apr 25 2008, 09:01 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Those who know pls correct me if I am wrong.

I know of a vet that has done quite a number of successful spay/neuter on rabbits. Hasmeal Clinic and the doctor's name is Dr. Hasnol if not mistaken. It is near the Mutiara Damansara area. Not too sure exactly where but you can search the vet list on the main forum page.

As for the cost, in PJ/KL it cost approximately RM200.

Good Luck.

QUOTE(hamsterz @ Apr 24 2008, 02:51 PM)
Ooo ok.. cool idea, but do u know how much it'll cost me to spay the both of em'?
nicoty_yne,

60 is very reasonable. Maybe hamsterz can go up penang and look for that vet. At the same time makan angin.

sangterap
post Apr 30 2008, 10:22 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

That is call SPRAYING. Matured bucks usually "bring down the golden shower". Solution: Neuter.

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 30 2008, 09:31 AM)
omg... the rabbit in my house peed around the whole room from his cage
sweat.gif
Good diet plan there. Looking at how difficult it is to get quality pellets, that seemed to be the best diet plans for our rabbits in Malaysia. You might want to add fresh vegetables and also, changing Hagen to some better brand would be best. Hagen is junk just like Britter bunny. Do not know why petstore suppliers waste their time and money on crap brands like these. That shows how much they know about rabbits.

QUOTE(lm_meileng @ Apr 30 2008, 10:15 AM)
Actually i feed them unlimited hay, pellet (hagen brand), carrot, pineapple juice...... biggrin.gif i give them very simple food cos i know that bunny is very sensitive toward their diet, sight change of their diet can caused them up side down.. rclxub.gif ..i think because i feed them small amount of pellet only to prevent them of having hair ball problem.......their is why they r not so chubby...... tongue.gif
sangterap
post Apr 30 2008, 11:13 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

rabbits below 6 months have to give unlimited. after 6 months normally I would limit pellets to 1/4 cup per 6 lbs body weight. Timothy Hay unlimited.

That's the problem, the more people support cheap food, the cheaper their bunny becomes cause when death hits you, you just don't know what went wrong. Most of the time is lousy pellets. That is why we should not buy easy to get brands so they will learn to get good food for our bunnies....

QUOTE(adriel_heresy @ Apr 30 2008, 11:10 AM)
hagen and britter bunny is the easiest brand to be available.
like in pet safari you can see a whole big section selling britter. buy 2 got free one somemore.

errr, chubby bunny not good ka?
i feed my bunnies unlimited food.
i scare later they went into obesity and turn into sumo rabbits.
sangterap
post Apr 30 2008, 02:58 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

potong saja then bring rabbit mama for a candlelight dinner....

better still while you having lamb chop or steak with candlelight dinner, the vet choppin off something else the other end....
sangterap
post Apr 30 2008, 04:36 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

u must be kidding me la. If you want a computer mouse size rabbit, u can only have for few weeks only. 14 days old rabbit can be the size of a mouse la....

unless you can find ways to keep a 14 days old rabbit from growing, I do not think u will ever get that small rabbit. The smallest breed is Netherland Dwarf and that also not that VERY SMALL la.

Maybe u can consider hamster with plastic surgery to extend the ears.
sangterap
post Apr 30 2008, 04:43 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

good that u know...
sangterap
post May 1 2008, 10:01 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

change gradually by mixing 1/4 on first day, 1/3 second day, 1/2 on third day and so on. It must be diet if she is molting non-stop. Sometimes may not be lack of vitamins but overfeeding of high protein content. Excessive molting can be caused by stress and heat as well. If your rabbit is kept outdoors then it is most probably caused by heat. Underfeeding or Overfeeding may cause molting as well. Based on your prolonged case, I would suggest changing its diet. The vet is probably right.

Make sure your molting rabbit takes lotsa hay because when it groom itself, it will ingest a lot of fur and if not careful, a GI case will kill your rabbit in NO TIME. bear in mind, it is not the fur blockage that causes GI but some underlying problem like stress.

QUOTE(lm_meileng @ May 1 2008, 11:42 AM)
hi, would like to check with u all why my bunny fur keeping on dropping? at first i thought it was just seasonal, but i observe this happen since few months back. i bring her to the vet and the vet told me most probably lack of vitamin and advise me to give her quality pallet, but my other bunny has exactly the same diet with her but does not face fur dropping problem at all, may i know how to stop my bunny fur from dropping? can i change their diet now, like what u all recommend the oxbow pallet, i am so afraid to upset their diet.......as they are hyper sensitive.......thanks and good day
Beh,

See you at your stall this weekend! I want OXBOW pellets!

Dear All,

Oxbow is a very good brand. Since we have limited brands in Malaysia, Oxbow is the #1 rabbit pellet now. The rest of the pellets are way far behind except for the Sunseed Vitaplus carried by Pet Lover Centre. Forget about the current crap pellets you guys are feeding.

When you all stop buying sub-standard pellets, the demand will force all pet shops to reconsider what they carry. So far, those pellets does not fully cater for our rabbits' needs. They are just like junk food filling up their stomach. Time to switch over to Oxbow. It has been known to reduce urine odor. The nutrition is guaranteed. And it comes in 2 ranges - 15/23 is for bunnies below 6 months and Bunny Basics/T is for bunnies above 6 months.

Looking at the range itself you should realize that this brand truly have rabbits in their consideration when producing the pellets.

Oxbow 15/23 is made out of alfafa where protein is higher and meet the needs of your growing bunny.
Oxbow Bunny Basics/T is made of out Timothy Hay (that's why the T) where fiber is higher and that is the requirements for adult rabbits. They need higher fiber.

If you make a comparison of the guaranteed analysis, you will know that it is quality product. And when you smell the pellets, it is so different from the junks currently available. If you do not believe me, just take a pellet and taste for yourself. The taste different. I have chewed on local pellets and guess what? I could even bite SAND when I chew those LOCAL pellets. TOTAL CRAP! Imagine having sand in your rabbits stomach!

GET OXBOW!!!! KEEP THIS BRAND IN MALAYSIA!!! THROW ALL OTHER BRANDS BACK TO WHERE THEY BELONG!!! OUR RABBITS DESERVE BETTER PELLETS!!!!

NOTE: Please switch over to new brand gradually. DO NOT MAKE A 100% switch of pellets. Allow your rabbit's stomach to get use to the slow change.

This post has been edited by sangterap: May 1 2008, 11:21 PM
sangterap
post May 1 2008, 11:51 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Yeah, that's my opinion too and I did mention that we have limited brands. If given a choice I also will want to have Purina. LOL.....But for me, and for now, I will go for Oxbow unless Purina comes in to Malaysia.

And for now also, Oxbow can save a lot of bunnies lives if they are currently fed with lousy pellets not listed by you.

And I do not think rabbit likes to eat SAND lo.....some pellet i bite have sand...if made from pure grass/hay then of course I have no complains. But SAND! I definitely do not think SAND is the same as BITTER for rabbit.

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ May 1 2008, 11:42 PM)
I am not really agreed what you have stated above. Can not deny Oxbow's quality is good, but there are still have many brands such as purina, zupreem, heinold, naturewise, blueseal and many more brands. A lot of champions breeders still using other brands beside oxbow. Some breeder even mix their own recipy to feed to their Champion.

Some local animal feed manufacturer such as FFM, Goldcoin and many more are producing quite good quality pellet.

From my opinion, as long as your bunny love to eat what you feed and grow healthy, then you may keep on doing it. If you feel that your bunny getting skinny, lose appetite or any signs show that the bunny conditions is not so satisfied, then only you change to the better feed.

Here, i am not going to push any sales, I also won't said that oxbow or my own brand show rabbit feed is the best feed for rabbit. How good of the feed, you judge it by yourself.

What we taste is not the same as the rabbit taste. Rabbit prefer a bit bitter taste. But most of us don't like bitter taste. Same like us, some like durian like crazy, some may not.
This post has been edited by sangterap: May 1 2008, 11:55 PM
sangterap
post May 2 2008, 12:00 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I believe that Purina is 2 different Purina. One is the dog & cat Purina. Rabbit feed Purina is totally different company.

And we all have to accept the fact that Rabbits are not taken that seriously by pet product suppliers as compared to Dogs and Cats. Even dog and cat products also face serious stock problems.

All we need is just a few good brands that are consistent in stock. Damn hate some brands available for a while then dunno what happen distributor cabut lari or something. LOL.......

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ May 1 2008, 11:57 PM)
I did contact our local Purina, but they said they will not bring in Purina Chow to Malaysia at this moment.
This post has been edited by sangterap: May 2 2008, 12:03 AM
sangterap
post May 2 2008, 12:04 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hahaha. Maybe their HQ lied to me when they reply my mail. LOL....

But I believe that there is something to do with trademark and different companies owning. The dog and cats one is owned by Nestle and Rabbit Chow is under this Purina Mills which is owned by another company.

Kinda complicated to explain but never mind, they are not coming in anyway so no point discussing.

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ May 2 2008, 12:02 AM)
I think they are same, because they are using same logo.
This post has been edited by sangterap: May 2 2008, 12:11 AM
sangterap
post May 2 2008, 12:12 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hopefully more awareness among rabbit owners first and then more people keep rabbits then more people will buy good feed and then more good feed will come into Malaysia and all keep on buying good feed and all good feed stays in Malaysia.

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ May 2 2008, 12:09 AM)
Hopefully more brands will be available later.
sangterap
post May 2 2008, 12:06 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I wouldn't give fresh vegetables of any kind to 1 month olds. Of course they will be munch on them happily. That does not mean it is good for them just like any other food for the matter. Give them unlimited Alfafa Hay and pellets will do with more Sky Juices.

Read the first page for basic care and husbandry. Pls don't be lazy.
sangterap
post May 2 2008, 03:15 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

It is good to have a vet that trust you so much and kind enough to compose a first aid kit for you. Unfortunately, FRONTLINE IS NOT SAFE TO BE USED ON RABBITS! THERE ARE KNOWN SIDE EFFECTS!

Trust me, most of the food you guys feeding are JUNK. First of all, you must know your rabbits' needs. Rabbits below 6 months needs more protein for growth therefore, their diet normally make up of alfafa hay or at least pellets made from Alfafa.

Rabbits above 6 months must have a lot of FIBER and therefore, Timothy Hay and pellets made of Timothy Hay is recommended. For me, I normally look for pellets with FIBER contents that are ABOVE 20%. Oxbow has Crude Fiber max 29.00%.

How do you define BEST in your hunts?

This is how I came to the conclusion for supporting Oxbow:

I need to quote from this famous article about the deadly killer GI STASIS because I believe to make a point, we must always come out with literature proof:

http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/ileus.html

"VII. Prevention: The Best Medicine

The best cure for GI stasis is prevention. Be sure your rabbit companion gets plenty of dietary fiber from fresh grass hay. Feed high fiber (22% or higher crude fiber) pellets. Be sure your rabbit is drinking sufficient water to keep ingested food hydrated and moving smoothly. It helps to offer at least 4 cups of fresh, wet leafy greens per 5 lbs. of rabbit daily. And don't forget that regular exercise not only keeps the skeletal muscles strong: it also keeps the smooth muscles of the intestines well-toned and active."

Yes, the key to solve a problem is PREVENTION. I am sure some of you here have seen other frantic rabbit owners coming into this forum asking for help that they bunnies are not eating or THEY DIED WITHOUT ANY APPARENT REASONS. GI Stasis was the problem. We need to keep our rabbit's stomach healthy and how do we do that? FIBER!

WHAT SEEMED TO YOU AS YOUR RABBITS' FAVORITE FOOD DOES NOT MEAN IT IS GOOD FOR THEM. For example, I know most rabbits like CARROT. So does that mean you feed CARROT all its life? I believe Carrot has too high of sugar contents and BUGS BUNNY love carrots is JUST A MYTH. Try and feed carrot 24/7 and see if your rabbit live longer or not. I dare not try.

I believe you guys just need to spend more time doing more research. I am quite tired to have to repeat myself over and over again.

I think the stupid one is not TAUKEH Kedai. It is the ill-informed rabbit owner. I dun think TAUKEH kedai know much about rabbits. If you do not know that time, it would be worst to ask a TAUKEH kedai what to feed a rabbit.

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 2 2008, 12:32 PM)
I called my vet and told him about Dinky. He asked me to give the medicine (antibiotic n anti-inflamation). My vet prepared me a First Aid Kit for my pets, containing Frontline (spray) n Ectodust (powder) for flea & mites treatment, syrup for bloated kit, antibiotic, anti-inflamation and some vitamin to build up their body (suitable for cats n dogs). All syrups and safe for bunny and other small animal infants like hamsters etc.. and also some cream to apply to bite/cut/wound...

Added on May 2, 2008, 12:33 pmTalking about junk food such as Hagen and Briter Bunny, how u classified things as JUNK, sang terap? I've been looking for the BEST diet for my bunnies... but i cudnt find anything better than JUNK. The BEST rabbit food i cant find in Penang (including Butterworth, and some of Kedah area) are plain pellet, Briter Bunny, dusty hays (alfalfa n timothy) from Alfalfa King Brand and alfalfa hay from Bengy (it's a new product here).. I feed them with 3kgs of Bengy Alfalfa, 3kgs of Briter Bunny and 5kgs of plain pellet a month.. That alreadi cost me alot.. But it is not about the cost. What makes me soooo frustrating is to know that i'm feeding JUNK to my bunnies....??!!!  sad.gif sad.gif
(Owh, forgot to mention here that i also feed them with apples, carrot, small amount of greens, and a small slice of mango n melon to the Dad..tongue.gif)

I tried to get some BEST product from Kl area... but it's not easy to find someone who is willing to find/search that product for me.. For example, i have a fren who works in Penang, married and the wife is in Kl.. Last month, i asked him to get Woodypet for me when he got back to Kl to see his wife. Instead of RM50 for 12kgs Woodypet, i had to pay RM100.. Sedangkan with that amount, u guys can get 24kgs of Woodypet... Waaaargh... so frustrating u know... And that 12kgs Woodypet can last for 2-3months only... Waaaarghh (now i feel like crying laaa....) cry.gif cry.gif
Hmmm... Any advice (or help?) for me guys?

Hope Beh can arrange some transportation so i can get his product like u all...
BEH, what if i become one of ur dealer in Penang and (Johor maybe)? Heeee biggrin.gif  blush.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

Anybody who plan to go honeymoon or balik kampung or makan angin or jalan-jalan cari makan in Penang, please let me know if u can help me bring some product from there, ya especially the Woodypet biggrin.gif

And... Does anybody know how to send goods using express bus service (KL-Penang) instead of currier services (skynetz, pos malaysia etc)? Which is cheaper?

Added on May 2, 2008, 12:48 pm
my vet also adviced me not to give wet food (veges n fruits) to young kit. I experienced a died kit becoz i fed him wit vege (tokey kedai said ok sad.gif.. stupid punya tokey kedai..!). Give ur kit pellet n hay is enuf.. Wait until they'r around 2 months ++ then can feed it with carrot n apple..
Of course your rabbit will not DIE eating briter bunny. But basically, the nutrition contents are not OPTIMUM enough. As Chincillas says, he is working out some shipping service there too. You can get stocks from him.

QUOTE(annetize @ May 2 2008, 12:52 PM)
hey.. is briter bunny so teruk? im in sarawak n the pet shop is very limited! let alone the stocks! the best brand i see now is briter bunny.. n if that's also junk.. i should try make my own pellets! hahaha
This post has been edited by sangterap: May 2 2008, 03:26 PM
sangterap
post May 4 2008, 12:43 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

bebee,

The prices are there lo...

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled