It is good to have a vet that trust you so much and kind enough to compose a first aid kit for you. Unfortunately, FRONTLINE IS NOT SAFE TO BE USED ON RABBITS! THERE ARE KNOWN SIDE EFFECTS!
Trust me, most of the food you guys feeding are JUNK. First of all, you must know your rabbits' needs. Rabbits below 6 months needs more protein for growth therefore, their diet normally make up of alfafa hay or at least pellets made from Alfafa.
Rabbits above 6 months must have a lot of FIBER and therefore, Timothy Hay and pellets made of Timothy Hay is recommended. For me, I normally look for pellets with FIBER contents that are ABOVE 20%. Oxbow has Crude Fiber max 29.00%.
How do you define BEST in your hunts?
This is how I came to the conclusion for supporting Oxbow:
I need to quote from this famous article about the deadly killer GI STASIS because I believe to make a point, we must always come out with literature proof:
http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/ileus.html"VII. Prevention: The Best Medicine
The best cure for GI stasis is prevention. Be sure your rabbit companion gets plenty of dietary fiber from fresh grass hay. Feed high fiber (22% or higher crude fiber) pellets. Be sure your rabbit is drinking sufficient water to keep ingested food hydrated and moving smoothly. It helps to offer at least 4 cups of fresh, wet leafy greens per 5 lbs. of rabbit daily. And don't forget that regular exercise not only keeps the skeletal muscles strong: it also keeps the smooth muscles of the intestines well-toned and active."Yes, the key to solve a problem is PREVENTION. I am sure some of you here have seen other frantic rabbit owners coming into this forum asking for help that they bunnies are not eating or THEY DIED WITHOUT ANY APPARENT REASONS. GI Stasis was the problem. We need to keep our rabbit's stomach healthy and how do we do that? FIBER!
WHAT SEEMED TO YOU AS YOUR RABBITS' FAVORITE FOOD DOES NOT MEAN IT IS GOOD FOR THEM. For example, I know most rabbits like CARROT. So does that mean you feed CARROT all its life? I believe Carrot has too high of sugar contents and BUGS BUNNY love carrots is JUST A MYTH. Try and feed carrot 24/7 and see if your rabbit live longer or not. I dare not try.
I believe you guys just need to spend more time doing more research. I am quite tired to have to repeat myself over and over again.
I think the stupid one is not TAUKEH Kedai. It is the ill-informed rabbit owner. I dun think TAUKEH kedai know much about rabbits. If you do not know that time, it would be worst to ask a TAUKEH kedai what to feed a rabbit.
QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 2 2008, 12:32 PM)
I called my vet and told him about Dinky. He asked me to give the medicine (antibiotic n anti-inflamation). My vet prepared me a First Aid Kit for my pets, containing Frontline (spray) n Ectodust (powder) for flea & mites treatment, syrup for bloated kit, antibiotic, anti-inflamation and some vitamin to build up their body (suitable for cats n dogs). All syrups and safe for bunny and other small animal infants like hamsters etc.. and also some cream to apply to bite/cut/wound...
Added on May 2, 2008, 12:33 pmTalking about junk food such as Hagen and Briter Bunny, how u classified things as JUNK, sang terap? I've been looking for the BEST diet for my bunnies... but i cudnt find anything better than JUNK. The BEST rabbit food i cant find in Penang (including Butterworth, and some of Kedah area) are plain pellet, Briter Bunny, dusty hays (alfalfa n timothy) from Alfalfa King Brand and alfalfa hay from Bengy (it's a new product here).. I feed them with 3kgs of Bengy Alfalfa, 3kgs of Briter Bunny and 5kgs of plain pellet a month.. That alreadi cost me alot.. But it is not about the cost. What makes me soooo frustrating is to know that i'm feeding JUNK to my bunnies....??!!!
(Owh, forgot to mention here that i also feed them with apples, carrot, small amount of greens, and a small slice of mango n melon to the Dad..

)
I tried to get some BEST product from Kl area... but it's not easy to find someone who is willing to find/search that product for me.. For example, i have a fren who works in Penang, married and the wife is in Kl.. Last month, i asked him to get Woodypet for me when he got back to Kl to see his wife. Instead of RM50 for 12kgs Woodypet, i had to pay RM100.. Sedangkan with that amount, u guys can get 24kgs of Woodypet... Waaaargh... so frustrating u know... And that 12kgs Woodypet can last for 2-3months only... Waaaarghh (now i feel like crying laaa....)

Hmmm... Any advice (or help?) for me guys?
Hope Beh can arrange some transportation so i can get his product like u all...
BEH, what if i become one of ur dealer in Penang and (Johor maybe)? Heeee
Anybody who plan to go honeymoon or balik kampung or makan angin or jalan-jalan cari makan in Penang, please let me know if u can help me bring some product from there, ya especially the Woodypet

And... Does anybody know how to send goods using express bus service (KL-Penang) instead of currier services (skynetz, pos malaysia etc)? Which is cheaper?
Added on May 2, 2008, 12:48 pmmy vet also adviced me not to give wet food (veges n fruits) to young kit. I experienced a died kit becoz i fed him wit vege (tokey kedai said ok

.. stupid punya tokey kedai..!). Give ur kit pellet n hay is enuf.. Wait until they'r around 2 months ++ then can feed it with carrot n apple..
Of course your rabbit will not DIE eating briter bunny. But basically, the nutrition contents are not OPTIMUM enough. As Chincillas says, he is working out some shipping service there too. You can get stocks from him.
QUOTE(annetize @ May 2 2008, 12:52 PM)
hey.. is briter bunny so teruk? im in sarawak n the pet shop is very limited! let alone the stocks! the best brand i see now is briter bunny.. n if that's also junk.. i should try make my own pellets! hahaha
This post has been edited by sangterap: May 2 2008, 03:26 PM