Yay!!!

Pls dun make it 5th version of repeats like ASTRO channels okieeeEEeee

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
sangterap
post Jan 11 2008, 01:12 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

inexsis,

IMHO, you should not breed rabbits that produces "cacat" babies. This clearly shows that your lineage have bad genes. If you continue breeding, u are just contributing to a cacat pool of pets.

As for the smaller kit, we usually call them runt. Runts can live a full life if given opportunity. If they cannot survive, then let them die naturally. Why do you want to kill it just for your own convenience?

As a breeder you must be responsible to absorb all that is good and bad in your breedings. That is what we call responsible breeder.

If the cacat one is meant to die, it will die no matter. If it does not, IMHO, you must let it live and see beyond the kecacatan.

It is the same concept. Let say someone have children, takkan they will kill their child if they are born cacat right?
sangterap
post Jan 11 2008, 02:02 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Hi Biscuit,

I usually try to buy my pets from Home Breeders. I believe that the owners pays more attention to their rabbits and they are well taken care of. No doubt there are good rabbit farmer also but I do not think they carry any of those breeds you mentioned.

I have to say that most of the breeds you mention does not exist in Malaysia except that on one occasion I saw Rex (not sure Mini or not) in Pet Family, Tmn Megah. I have not seen the pure bred manifestations of the rest though.

Although most of the rabbits we have locally are mixed breed but, you are able to get some with the correct color mutation. If you look through version 4 of this Thread, you will notice some pictures of rabbits with Dutch color mutation. I cannot tell if they are pure bred dutch but they are basically rabbits with the dutch coloration.

Personally, I would avoid petshops because not only they do not know the exact breed name, they do not even know the basics rabbit care. I couldn't be bothered looking at their rabbits. No offense. Furthermore, they have so many animals under the same roof or from different sources that you are unable to check on the background. Some contract diseases that will leave you with some after sales costs that you need to bear.

Last but not least, even mixed breeds make good pets. And if I were you, I will only consider keeping 1 rabbit at a time because at the end of the day, you will have aggression problems that may cause fights between 2 rabbits of the same sex. And if you put 2 opposite sex rabbits together, you might end up with too many babies to handle. If you ever consider getting 2 rabbits at the same time. Get them neutered/spayed after 6 months. Fixed rabbits bond better.

Hope you make the right choices and decisions.

This post has been edited by sangterap: Jan 11 2008, 02:06 PM
sangterap
post Jan 11 2008, 11:13 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I believe they have tabled LionHeads to be recognized by ARBA. If I remember correctly, certain colors are approved already. Not 100% certain. But I believe soon this breed will be recognized....

QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 11 2008, 02:44 PM)
not cacat, juz small.....only 1 small......but he/she is the cutest of all  wub.gif
thanks for the advice.......
btw, lionhead rabbit still not being iktiraf right ?
sangterap
post Jan 12 2008, 08:39 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 12 2008, 08:10 AM)
Ok, so keeping two un-neutered male rabbits in one cage WONT WORK! They look nice and friendly to each other until they reach sexual maturity, then....ALL HELL BREAK LOSE! Fighting, circling, growling each trying to mount the other....I'm neutering them this monday. Hope they dont stress each other out till then.... blink.gif
I believe you have to separate them already. Fights can turn out to be nasty. Even 10 mins of fight can inflict very bad injuries what more a few more days.
sangterap
post Jan 12 2008, 11:57 AM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

You vet is certainly not confident of himself. Therefore, you should not be confident in him as well. 60/40 is bullshit. You need a vet whom is rabbit-savvy and not just "expert" with the common cats and dogs. Look for second opinion. Precise dosage of anaestatic should be administered and if your vet does not know how to calculate a correct dosage it could be an indication that he has not done much rabbit neutering. Moreover male neutering should be simpler than the surgical for female rabbits. If not mistaken, for small animals, vet usually use gas to keep them "asleep". I am not too sure on this as I am not a vet. I believe jaswwp & 11Jan could shed some light on the overall procedure since they have got their rabbits spayed/neutered.

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 12 2008, 09:34 AM)
Yeah i've to put one in the toilet at night since i got nowhere else to put them.

anyways this is the killer news i got this morning. I rang up the local vet and enquiry about neutering charges...guess what?

The doctor says its only a 60/40 chance of survival bcause of the anaestesia ?!!? 60/40 ?! 60%?! thats almost a flip of a coin chance!!

If anyone here knows another vet in Penang who does rabbits please share it.

NOTE: however the kind doctor did mentioned that he will look up the subject for me and ask me to call him on monday.  unsure.gif
sangterap
post Jan 12 2008, 04:06 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 12 2008, 01:57 PM)
thanks for the replies guys. i took the advice of separating them in the meantime and bought another cage. RM45. Will be selling the cage next week for about rm35 (negotiable) after getting the bunnies neutered. so those from penang can PM me.

Anyways, the vet i enquired about seems to be the most reputable one on the Island. So if he says its 60/40, i guess thats the best chance i've got...regardless of what questions i asked before letting him neuter the bunnies. Unless there is a pro-rabbit vet available here...i'm gonna have to trust in luck and karma. Hope the bunnies did some good karma in their previous life to survive this and hope my karma stands up too...

No other choice...after reading thru this site and some other websites...seems neutering is the ONLY way to go if one wants to keep 2 bunnies in the same cage.

teongpeng,

First of all, I am very proud of you because you have made a good decision to get them neutered. Not many owners are able to take this step because most are still very experimental about their rabbits and breeding. Will pray for the success of your rabbits' neutering and hope they have a speedy recovery (which they will if the operation is smooth). I truly understand your circumstances about the vet but I believe being a responsible owner itself is a noble thing and if touch wood anything happens, at least you have good intentions. Your intentions are much respected.

QUOTE(abang brother @ Jan 12 2008, 02:21 PM)
You think my rabbit know how to use it? Shes also dunno how to use yet. So she keep poo and pee every where..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Oh well, after i make something nice for it/

Added on January 12, 2008, 3:14 pmBy the second, my rabbit become more dirty than ever, guess i will hide the litter box until its quite mature.  And i will not put newspaper inside the cage, it will let the poop and pee stays in there.

And gonna bath them, and hairdry-ing them after the bath so it will become more fluffier. xD
AbangBrother,
Young rabbit may not be able to use litter tray but you could be persistent about it. Usually they will have a preferred corner to poo and pee. You have to be vigilant to spot which corner of the cage your bunny prefers. Once you identify, just leave the litter tray there. teongpeng has given good advice on having a portion of the cage covered with a solid surface where your bunny will find comfort. Through my experience, my rabbits have their own litter trays and they usually pee on the litter tray without much accidents. But they do poo out of the litter tray and those poo are caught by the tray below the cage. For me, I do not mind the poo as long as the pee are all in the litter tray. Coz the pee is the one with the worst odour.
sangterap
post Jan 12 2008, 07:48 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Jan 12 2008, 05:57 PM)
About the pee and poop corner, i still searching for it, cos, Whimsical just poop everywhere and the amount of poop i see there is same as other places, so i dunno where to put.

Oh ya, i bathed my rabbit but her paws is still dirty, how to clean it.  sweat.gif
I believe I mentioned it on my previous reply. Your Whimsical is still young. Take it slow. Young bunnies dun really have an exact location where to pee/poo. So, u take the queue from her pee-ing pattern. Most of the time they pee at one corner. Address the pee location first. slowly the poo will follow.

QUOTE(mypetisabunny @ Jan 12 2008, 07:24 PM)
My Loren died oledi last night,I didnt know what caused it.
When I came back almost 12.30 a.m
I tot it was lying...n my hubby said "Eh Loren pandai tido mengiring mcm Mat Lopie."
Then my hubby called me once again,n said Loren was died.
We noticed among 4 of 'em,Loren is da smallest one & quite passive sometimes.
Now, there r 3 kits with me which are the mother's follower.
Jz Loren only is Mat Lopie's follower & orange colour.

cry.gif MAY LOREN R.I.P cry.gif
Sorry to hear about your loss. Did Loren show any symptoms of illness like not eating or having diarrhea?
sangterap
post Jan 12 2008, 07:59 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

if you want the runt to survive you can supplement with feeding kitten milk replacer. If just depend on their mother they may die. So it depends on your priority. If you want to save it and help it to survive it can be done. Else you can just let nature take its course. The POWER is YOURS....
sangterap
post Jan 13 2008, 08:12 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 13 2008, 07:39 PM)
where can i find those milk powder ? any petshop selling them ?
can u post a pictures of the milk powder....?
u live in semenyih rite ? sooo far away for....i'm in kajang now...or shah alam..... icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
In KL/PJ this milk replacer can get from Giant supermarket Pet Section. Very cheap only. You can feed better quality but those sold at Giant wasn't too bad for me. At least it works for me.

Beh,

Why so long never see leh? Busy kah?
sangterap
post Jan 13 2008, 09:03 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ Jan 13 2008, 08:26 PM)

Too busy and too many works. I am still at amcorp now.
wahHhhh...enjoying StarBucks while posting? cool.....
sangterap
post Jan 13 2008, 09:30 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

what you mean "I just it in the cage?". Initially you will not find any problems. But as soon as they reach maturity, you might get fights breaking out between them. But there are chances that you get 2 females getting along fine. That is rare cases and provided given enough space for each one to claim as territory. Else, the best thing to do is to spay both when they mature at around 6 months.
sangterap
post Jan 14 2008, 07:11 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

I am not sure if PetsMore is a new name given to the Petaling Street Zoological supplies. I have heard about many animals bought from there suffer early deaths due to diseases. Mostly dogs.

My advice is, try to get your pets from breeders (willing to share 1st hand knowledge) where you can see the parents directly and also can choose healthier stocks.

sissone - google for French Lop and you will see the differences

This post has been edited by sangterap: Jan 14 2008, 07:12 PM
sangterap
post Jan 14 2008, 10:53 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(sissonne @ Jan 14 2008, 08:21 PM)
just gotta be careful when u buy your rabbits from petshops like petsmore. got to inspect all over especially the teeth. my 1st rabbit from petsmore has malocclusion and with this problem, i every 2 months need to bring her go vet for trimming...not very nice of them to breed rabbits with malocclusion sad.gif

i've googled about the nesting box, some of them said it is not necessary but wanna seek advice from some of the experienced rabbit owners here first before i go buy one or go make one doh.gif
I do not recommend especially if you have intention to breed your bunny with malocclusion. IF you do then you are just the same as those people who are irresponsible and contribute to stocks like what you have got in the first place...

tongue.gif
sangterap
post Jan 15 2008, 06:33 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(kembara @ Jan 15 2008, 12:37 AM)
sangterap, petsmore and zoological supplies were two different shops..petsmore has many branches,the one in ps is one of these branches..among three pets store along the petaling street, petsmore can be considered as the best condition la for me..if you rida lrt putra, drop at pasar seni station..you will find petsmore as the first pets store..its located opposite the UO.it is the place where i got my prestige hamster food stocks..beside pets safari
I know where is the PetsMore in PS. Last time I saw their staff all working both sides one. The zoological staff will go over PetsMore. Seemed like they try to change image to cover up for their screw ups la.....

sangterap
post Jan 15 2008, 10:30 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

teddy bear curly hair dog should be a poodle....
sangterap
post Jan 15 2008, 10:51 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Jan 15 2008, 10:43 PM)
Just visited Beh's Farm today and booked a Rabbit.

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

He's got really lots of rabbit there .. pretty friendly, explaining everything you dun understand to you ..

even got a crash course of seeing 2 rabbits mating.

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

can't wait to get my rabbit, bout 1 - 2 weeks time .. so many things to read about taking care of them. Got to start reading and asking advise .. tongue.gif
wahHHHh...so happy can see "HAM SAP" live movie...

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif......
sangterap
post Jan 19 2008, 09:57 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

hahahaha....there are many people in LYN with duplicate accounts.....hiding behind the nicks....tongue.gif
sangterap
post Jan 21 2008, 10:02 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

A taste of what to come.....

This post has been edited by sangterap: Jan 21 2008, 10:03 PM
sangterap
post Jan 21 2008, 11:04 PM

--== TLR ==--
1,490 posts

Yeah....Skor's babies....

Hope they grow up pretty & handsome....

QUOTE(beh_yo_rabbitry @ Jan 21 2008, 10:48 PM)
Which buck are you using?? Skor??

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:38 PM