189 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

motorhead
post Feb 21 2010, 10:31 PM

47 posts

wondering if the bonus share is issued this year, will the historical EPS effected?
do i need to edit the historical year eps to make comparison?

skiddtrader
post Feb 22 2010, 10:02 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(motorhead @ Feb 21 2010, 10:31 PM)
wondering if the bonus share is issued this year, will the historical EPS effected?
Normally historical EPS aren't affected. Which is why you must always compare EPS and the share outstanding for the same year to ensure it is comparable. As companies tend to grow, their share outstanding also changes according to their financial needs (rights issues etc. ).

You don't have to edit the historical EPS because by revenue or net profit alone, you can see if the companies sales have improved. So if the revenue and net profits are increasing every year, you can conclude the company is growing. EPS merely shows how much each share is earning.

If the share outstanding remain the same every year, more value is added per share therefore increasing the EPS as well. But if there are share exercises such as bonus share issue or ESOS or rights issue, the EPS would definitely be affected as the net profits are distribute to a larger number of shares.

EPS only reflect how much each share actually earned for itself. It doesn't really prove that the company is doing better.

Take for example Notion Vtec which recently last year concluded it's share consolidation exercise of 5:1. Where for example the share EPS used to be 10 cents, now it is 50 cents per share. So although the EPS increased by 5 times it doesn't mean they made more money, it's just that the number of shares the net profits is being distributed to is 5 times lesser because the number of shares were reduced. (Note: Notion Vtec is actually a growing company, this is an example only for no growth)

lytros
post Feb 23 2010, 03:02 PM

401 posts

Hi all,

I just receved the Rights Subscription Form for the the rights to purchase MAS shares at RM1.60 a share.
The payment options available are Banker's Draft, Cashier Order, Money Order and Postal Order.

However, when i mentioned Banker's Draft to my nearest bank, they issued me a Banker's Cheque. I confirmed with the bank staff and she mentioned Banker's Draft and Cheque are the same.

I'm still having doubts. Worried as under the terms and conditions mentioned "Cheques and other modes of payment not acceptable". I'm assuming by "cheques" it means personal cheques as there is a chance they may bounce.

Anyone here can advise me asap? Plan to send in the Rights Subcription Form tomorrow.
htt
post Feb 23 2010, 03:25 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(lytros @ Feb 23 2010, 03:02 PM)
Hi all,

I just receved the Rights Subscription Form for the the rights to purchase MAS shares at RM1.60 a share.
The payment options available are Banker's Draft, Cashier Order, Money Order and Postal Order.

However, when i mentioned Banker's Draft to my nearest bank, they issued me a Banker's Cheque. I confirmed with the bank staff and she mentioned Banker's Draft and Cheque are the same.

I'm still having doubts.  Worried as under the terms and conditions mentioned "Cheques and other modes of payment not acceptable". I'm assuming by "cheques" it means personal cheques as there is a chance they may bounce.

Anyone here can advise me asap? Plan to send in the Rights Subcription Form tomorrow.
I used that before, that's ok (I used MBB to be precise).
fryguy14us
post Feb 23 2010, 04:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 23 2010, 03:25 PM)
I used that before, that's ok (I used MBB to be precise).
yes its the same
alphayou
post Feb 24 2010, 12:11 AM

199 posts

I have a Maybank Inv. However all my stocks are held under maybank nominees account. My question, how can i transfer this stocks to my own CDS account?
htt
post Feb 24 2010, 06:40 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(alphayou @ Feb 24 2010, 12:11 AM)
I have a Maybank Inv. However all my stocks are held under maybank nominees account. My question, how can i transfer this stocks to my own CDS account?
Call your remiser, get the form, sign and pay the fee.
DanielW
post Feb 24 2010, 08:46 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(motorhead @ Feb 21 2010, 10:31 PM)
Yes, you need to adjust the historical year EPS to make comparison because even though the net profits are still the same, the total outstanding shares have changed. So you need to make the adjustment based on the current total outstanding shares.
junekaede
post Feb 27 2010, 07:05 PM

Validating
29 posts

Sorry, a little out of topic I guess.

People....I told my dad that I wanted to invest like few years back, but then he do not support me. That time I was still studying.

Then now, I started working already, I plan to use my own money to invest. i told him again recently and he disagree again saying that all those are craps and why are we investing on some other company's shares which you do not actually know them well.

I told him that I will definitely read those reports and analyse before I start to choose which to invest and he mentioned that all those reports are barely numbers created ONLY.

Whats you guys opinion on this?
skiddtrader
post Feb 27 2010, 09:28 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(junekaede @ Feb 27 2010, 07:05 PM)

People....I told my dad that I wanted to invest like few years back, but then he do not support me. That time I was still studying.

Then now, I started working already, I plan to use my own money to invest.  i told him again recently and he disagree again saying that all those are craps and why are we investing on some other company's shares which you do not actually know them well.

I told him that I will definitely read those reports and analyse before I start to choose which to invest and he mentioned that all those reports are barely numbers created ONLY.

If your dad got burnt before in the market, he is probably speaking from experience. I know my parents cautioned me endlessly about stock market when they learnt I started investing.

Looks like your dad is just being cautious and not overly trusting which is a good trait to have in the stock market. It is proven sometimes that numbers do lie to investors and even to pro-investors.

Although accounting practices has improved somewhat and so did the trading practices compared to last time which has helped reduce but not eliminate fraud.

I think your dad is just being practical and does not want you to be too naive thinking investing in the stock market is an easy thing to do. If you show him you can handle your finances orderly which includes good savings habit and personal debt management, maybe then he will think you are better prepared to invest in the stock market.

As an adult, it is ultimately up to you how you handle your money but your parents probably still have a thing or 2 to teach their children about money.

htt
post Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM

4,305 posts

Then now, I started working already, I plan to use my own money to invest.  i told him again recently and he disagree again saying that all those are craps and why are we investing on some other company's shares which you do not actually know them well.

What's your investment? Can let us know?
cherroy
post Feb 28 2010, 12:01 AM

25,802 posts

Number can be played around, but hard cold cash in the form of dividend is not. You cannot fake cash.
I know profit number something can be boost up, from various points, but cash cannot. So in term of reading the financial report, cashflow is the one is the priority to look at, not profit.

Company can survive without profit, but company cannot survive without cash.

So if the company is able to give dividend from its profit and cashflow made, then it just sums up (99%) it is real.

Yes, any financial report can be made up, which is not something new. But it represent a small portion of it. We don't sink the whole boat just because a few in the boat has bad record. To say everything is created number is too much or exaggerated, no offence. As if like that, everything is society is made up number, or fake one.

Sincerity and looking after shareholder and corporate governance is the most important when invest in listing company as minority shareholders. That's why some old head or experience investors only invest in some stocks they are very familiar and which they know the company is always looking after shareholder benefit. The most important is to know the company, instead merely looking xyz company share that is Rm 0.xx, and buying based on the name and price, without proper studying.

One of the basic form of looking after shareholder benefit is always sharing the profit in term of dividend. That's my basic view, which is more about personal preference.

CKC (Sense-Maker)
post Feb 28 2010, 07:50 PM

565 posts

Holding shares or cash have their respective advantages. Hold shares when the economy is on the mend and hold cash when every talks about shares. In reality, you can do forex, property, etc, to make or lose money.

An important trait I believe is to be ready when opportunity comes. That means you must have the ability to make quick decision involving big sums of money when a decision is warranted whether to buy or sell.

In short, as in many things in life, staying ahead of the times will make you a winner in the long run.
myfriend2009
post Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM

78 posts

Entitlement Type: Interim Dividend
Entitlement Date and Time: 19/03/2010 05:00 PM
Year Ending/Period Ending/Ended Date: 31/12/2009
EX Date: 17/03/2010
To SCANS Date:
Payment Date: 15/04/2010

Share transfer book & register of members will be closed from 22/03/2010 to 23/03/2010 (both dates inclusive) for the purpose of determining the entitlements

A Depositor shall qualify for the entitlement in respect of:
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before 19/03/2010 04:00 PM in respect of ordinary transfers.
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before in respect of express transfers.
- Securities deposited into the Depositor's Securities Account before 17/03/2010 12:30 PM in respect of securities exempted from mandatory deposit.
- Securities not withdrawn from the Depositor's Securities Account as at .
- Securities bought on BMSB on a cum entitlement basis according to the Rules of the BMSB.

I need to buy this share before 17/03/2010 right to get dividend right? When I can sell it? Can I sell afetr 20th march 2010 or do I need to sell it after the payment date? I need some help
skiddtrader
post Mar 1 2010, 12:40 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(myfriend2009 @ Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM)
Entitlement Type: Interim Dividend
Entitlement Date and Time: 19/03/2010  05:00 PM
Year Ending/Period Ending/Ended Date: 31/12/2009
EX Date: 17/03/2010
To SCANS Date: 
Payment Date: 15/04/2010

Share transfer book & register of members will be closed from 22/03/2010 to 23/03/2010 (both dates inclusive) for the purpose of determining the entitlements 

A Depositor shall qualify for the entitlement in respect of: 
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before 19/03/2010 04:00 PM in respect of ordinary transfers. 
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before    in respect of express transfers. 
- Securities deposited into the Depositor's Securities Account before 17/03/2010 12:30 PM in respect of securities exempted from mandatory deposit. 
- Securities not withdrawn from the Depositor's Securities Account as at    . 
- Securities bought on BMSB on a cum entitlement basis according to the Rules of the BMSB. 

I need to buy this share before 17/03/2010 right to get dividend right? When I can sell it? Can I sell afetr 20th march 2010 or do I need to sell it after the payment date? I need some help
Hey please don't double post your questions.

Your questions is answered in the dividends thread.
junekaede
post Mar 1 2010, 10:44 AM

Validating
29 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
oooh...i plan to invest in shares....does they divide into many categories?

I tried to call the Jupiter, and they ask me to open an account 1st

But I wanted to know whta im heading, what to buy, before i open an account.....

What do u think?

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:48 am
QUOTE(htt @ Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM)

But I wanted to know whta im heading, what to buy, before i open an account.....

What do u think?

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:53 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 28 2010, 12:01 AM)
Number can be played around, but hard cold cash in the form of dividend is not. You cannot fake cash.
I know profit number something can be boost up, from various points, but cash cannot. So in term of reading the financial report, cashflow is the one is the priority to look at, not profit.

Company can survive without profit, but company cannot survive without cash. 

So if the company is able to give dividend from its profit and cashflow made, then it just sums up (99%) it is real.

Yes, any financial report can be made up, which is not something new. But it represent a small portion of it. We don't sink the whole boat just because a few in the boat has bad record. To say everything is created number is too much or exaggerated, no offence. As if like that, everything is society is made up number, or fake one.

Sincerity and looking after shareholder and corporate governance is the most important when invest in listing company as minority shareholders. That's why some old head or experience investors only invest in some stocks they are very familiar and which they know the company is always looking after shareholder benefit. The most important is to know the company, instead merely looking xyz company share that is Rm 0.xx, and buying based on the name and price, without proper studying.

One of the basic form of looking after shareholder benefit is always sharing the profit in term of dividend. That's my basic view, which is more about personal preference.
mmmp, thats correct too hor... it means when we are deciding which to buy, we should actually analyse and see the cashflow first rite?

u meantioned that do not merely lookin at the share is RM 0.xx, it means that as long as we think that it is a good company, even that the share price is RM 5.00 also i can buy?

sorry for asking this question, sounds so stupid

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:58 am
QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Feb 27 2010, 09:28 PM)
If your dad got burnt before in the market, he is probably speaking from experience. I know my parents cautioned me endlessly about stock market when they learnt I started investing.

Looks like your dad is just being cautious and not overly trusting which is a good trait to have in the stock market. It is proven sometimes that numbers do lie to investors and even to pro-investors.

Although accounting practices has improved somewhat and so did the trading practices compared to last time which has helped reduce but not eliminate fraud.

I think your dad is just being practical and does not want you to be too naive thinking investing in the stock market is an easy thing to do. If you show him you can handle your finances orderly which includes good savings habit and personal debt management, maybe then he will think you are better prepared to invest in the stock market.

As an adult, it is ultimately up to you how you handle your money but your parents probably still have a thing or 2 to teach their children about money.
nah, he never play shares before but my mum said he is very good in it. but i still do not know why he never teach me or never support me....

he is very good in business but he tends to say business is a game who deceived everyone......

This post has been edited by junekaede: Mar 1 2010, 10:58 AM
fryguy14us
post Mar 1 2010, 11:10 AM

23 posts

just wanted to ask what do the symbols mean in the online trading portals....im using ecmlibra.... i know c means entitile for divident.....X means entitilement date passed..... what do * and the small o in some counters mean ... and also !
htt
post Mar 1 2010, 11:24 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(junekaede @ Mar 1 2010, 10:44 AM)

What do u think?

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:48 am

What do u think?

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:53 am
mmmp, thats correct too hor... it means when we are deciding which to buy, we should actually analyse and see the cashflow first rite?

u meantioned that do not merely lookin at the share is RM 0.xx, it means that as long as we think that it is a good company, even that the share price is RM 5.00 also i can buy?

sorry for asking this question, sounds so stupid

Added on March 1, 2010, 10:58 am
nah, he never play shares before but my mum said he is very good in it.  but i still do not know why he never teach me or never support me....

he is very good in business but he tends to say business is a game who deceived everyone......
Then you have to first setting your profile, whether you want to be a trader, investor etc. You have to set the return and the horizon you want and money to be invest in etc.

Cash flow sometime too sophisticated for beginner, unless you were trained for that, else you have to pick up piece by piece. A lot of people start when they know nothing, paying tuition and march on tongue.gif

He is correct, perhaps. The reason a lot of businessman don't play share is, the money invested into his own business yield higher than share. Maybe you should learn from him instead. tongue.gif
junekaede
post Mar 1 2010, 11:48 AM

Validating
29 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Mar 1 2010, 11:24 AM)
Then you have to first setting your profile, whether you want to be a trader, investor etc. You have to set the return and the horizon you want and money to be invest in etc.

Cash flow sometime too sophisticated for beginner, unless you were trained for that, else you have to pick up piece by piece. A lot of people start when they know nothing, paying tuition and march on tongue.gif

He is correct, perhaps. The reason a lot of businessman don't play share is, the money invested into his own business yield higher than share. Maybe you should learn from him instead. tongue.gif
Whats the difference between trader and investor then? im so blur now.

i know how to read the cashflow....at least not that blur....
htt
post Mar 1 2010, 11:56 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(junekaede @ Mar 1 2010, 11:48 AM)
Whats the difference between trader and investor then? im so blur now.

i know how to read the cashflow....at least not that blur....
Trader moving fast, trade day in day out earn money.
Investor buy and hold, once in a while take profit/ dividend earn money.
Roughly only.

That's good, then throw in the ratio and the balance sheet knowledge then you are almost there, plus industrial knowledge and macro economy as well, add in micro will be even better. But that things built over the years...

For trader they like chart and other tools (I never like that), for that part of skill you need to go to the main tread and ask them tongue.gif

189 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:05 AM