QUOTE(htt @ Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
What's your investment? Can let us know?
oooh...i plan to invest in shares....does they divide into many categories?
I tried to call the Jupiter, and they ask me to open an account 1st
But I wanted to know whta im heading, what to buy, before i open an account.....
What do u think?
Added on March 1, 2010, 10:48 amQUOTE(htt @ Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
What's your investment? Can let us know?
oooh...i plan to invest in shares....does they divide into many categories?
I tried to call the Jupiter, and they ask me to open an account 1st
But I wanted to know whta im heading, what to buy, before i open an account.....
What do u think?
Added on March 1, 2010, 10:53 amQUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 28 2010, 12:01 AM)
Number can be played around, but hard cold cash in the form of dividend is not. You cannot fake cash.
I know profit number something can be boost up, from various points, but cash cannot. So in term of reading the financial report, cashflow is the one is the priority to look at, not profit.
Company can survive without profit, but company cannot survive without cash.
So if the company is able to give dividend from its profit and cashflow made, then it just sums up (99%) it is real.
Yes, any financial report can be made up, which is not something new. But it represent a small portion of it. We don't sink the whole boat just because a few in the boat has bad record. To say everything is created number is too much or exaggerated, no offence. As if like that, everything is society is made up number, or fake one.
Sincerity and looking after shareholder and corporate governance is the most important when invest in listing company as minority shareholders. That's why some old head or experience investors only invest in some stocks they are very familiar and which they know the company is always looking after shareholder benefit. The most important is to know the company, instead merely looking xyz company share that is Rm 0.xx, and buying based on the name and price, without proper studying.
One of the basic form of looking after shareholder benefit is always sharing the profit in term of dividend. That's my basic view, which is more about personal preference.
mmmp, thats correct too hor... it means when we are deciding which to buy, we should actually analyse and see the cashflow first rite?
u meantioned that do not merely lookin at the share is RM 0.xx, it means that as long as we think that it is a good company, even that the share price is RM 5.00 also i can buy?
sorry for asking this question, sounds so stupid
Added on March 1, 2010, 10:58 amQUOTE(skiddtrader @ Feb 27 2010, 09:28 PM)
If your dad got burnt before in the market, he is probably speaking from experience. I know my parents cautioned me endlessly about stock market when they learnt I started investing.
Looks like your dad is just being cautious and not overly trusting which is a good trait to have in the stock market. It is proven sometimes that numbers do lie to investors and even to pro-investors.
Although accounting practices has improved somewhat and so did the trading practices compared to last time which has helped reduce but not eliminate fraud.
I think your dad is just being practical and does not want you to be too naive thinking investing in the stock market is an easy thing to do. If you show him you can handle your finances orderly which includes good savings habit and personal debt management, maybe then he will think you are better prepared to invest in the stock market.
As an adult, it is ultimately up to you how you handle your money but your parents probably still have a thing or 2 to teach their children about money.
nah, he never play shares before but my mum said he is very good in it. but i still do not know why he never teach me or never support me....
he is very good in business but he tends to say business is a game who deceived everyone......
This post has been edited by junekaede: Mar 1 2010, 10:58 AM