Q&A, General question on stock market
darkknight81
Dec 23 2009, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(htt @ Dec 23 2009, 09:24 AM) The same, name different only, we 1Malaysia got multiple name one. YTLP -> 7.5%*RM0.50 = RM0.0375/ share Maxis -> RM0.06/ share. Yup STS = TE... Was confuse on this also last time.  YTL POWER DIVIDEND are 75% T.E. all this while as most of their income are from oversea operations. This post has been edited by darkknight81: Dec 23 2009, 08:26 AM
changccs
Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM

wanna ask, how to calculate undervalue stock?
skiddtrader
Dec 23 2009, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(changccs @ Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM) wanna ask, how to calculate undervalue stock? It really depends on the industry and personal opinion of a certain company based on it's financial records. Some people might look through facts and figures and make a conclusion while some others based their conclusion on more forward looking growth of a company. Most common and basic is looking at the company PER or PE ratio. Please Google that for more info.
DanielW
Dec 25 2009, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(changccs @ Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM) wanna ask, how to calculate undervalue stock? Andrew Chia teaches you how to do that in his Bursa Winners e-book http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1124457
IEE
Dec 26 2009, 11:36 AM
Anyone here heard of NextView, how is their stockpicking software, good?
alvincks
Dec 31 2009, 10:54 PM
Hi Guru, Price per earn higher better or lower better, i confuse and anyone willing to share ? Thanks
skiddtrader
Jan 1 2010, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Dec 31 2009, 10:54 PM) Hi Guru, Price per earn higher better or lower better, i confuse and anyone willing to share ? Thanks Please elaborate on your question as it is not very clear what it is you are asking. ie. price per earn? Do you mean you want to know how much a company earn and how much the price of share relation?
DanielW
Jan 1 2010, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Dec 31 2009, 10:54 PM) Hi Guru, Price per earn higher better or lower better, i confuse and anyone willing to share ? Thanks Of course buying at a lower PE is better than buying at a higher PE. But PE is not the only figure that you look at in making your investment decision. A poor company can have very low PE, so low PE doesn't mean that it is a good buy. You have to look at other figures as well.
alvincks
Jan 1 2010, 06:14 PM
Thanks Daniel
motolola
Jan 8 2010, 01:18 AM

hi sifus, am wondering how often do you guys use free cash flow analysis? which one do you use more, Free Cash Flow To Firm or Free Cash Flow To Equity? kinda puzzled how to find its annual growth rate and evaluate it cos sometimes capex will be higher in one year causing negative cash flow.. then i don't know how to apply an annual growth rate to it liao cos it is kinda like positive one year, negative one year for some company This post has been edited by motolola: Jan 8 2010, 01:20 AM
DanielW
Jan 10 2010, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(motolola @ Jan 8 2010, 01:18 AM) hi sifus, am wondering how often do you guys use free cash flow analysis? which one do you use more, Free Cash Flow To Firm or Free Cash Flow To Equity? kinda puzzled how to find its annual growth rate and evaluate it cos sometimes capex will be higher in one year causing negative cash flow.. then i don't know how to apply an annual growth rate to it liao cos it is kinda like positive one year, negative one year for some company  You can look at the "Net Cash From/(Used in) Operating Activities". To calculate the annual growth rate, I personally prefer taking 5-years or 10-years average annual compounded growth rate instead of average annual growth rate. You can do this by taking the recent Operating Cash Flow (A) and divide it by past 5th or 10th year Operating Cash Flow (B). Then using a scientific calculator, apply a square root (v) to the formula: 5vA/B for 5 years or 10vA/B for 10 years. If you get a figure, say 1.20, it means 20% average annual compounded growth rate. With average annual compounded growth rate, you can ignore the negative Operating Cash Flow in certain years  You must be cautious investing in companies with negative Operating Cash Flow in that particular year though. This post has been edited by DanielW: Jan 10 2010, 02:49 PM
ante5k
Jan 11 2010, 12:39 PM
Direct Trading Account Securitised Account - Direct Securitised Account - Nominee
Question : what is the difference of the three accounts?
simple.ology
Jan 12 2010, 03:05 PM

I'm using Nominee acct from CIMB...now my stock is issuing a div. do i need to do anything in order to get my div....? they will automatically bank into my trading account right...?
and what does the following abbreviation mean Ann Date: Annual date ? the date i entitle the div if i hold my stock until this date ? Ex Date: exercise date or expired date? Lodgement date: Payment date: this is the day which i actually receive my dividend right?
DanielW
Jan 12 2010, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(simple.ology @ Jan 12 2010, 03:05 PM) I'm using Nominee acct from CIMB...now my stock is issuing a div. do i need to do anything in order to get my div....? they will automatically bank into my trading account right...? and what does the following abbreviation mean Ann Date: Annual date ? the date i entitle the div if i hold my stock until this date ? Ex Date: exercise date or expired date? Lodgement date: Payment date: this is the day which i actually receive my dividend right? The dividend will automatically goes to your trading account. Ann Date: Announcement Date. Ex Date: Exercise Date Payment date: The day they start paying, but for nominees account I think it will take some time because it goes through CIMB brokers for processing first.
iamsobloodysick
Jan 13 2010, 12:34 AM
Does anyone know what it means by Unknown Transaction (the pink indicator in the attached screenie)? The help page says the transaction price doesn't match either the best buy or best sell. If so how could there be a transaction in the first place? Attached thumbnail(s)
zamans98
Jan 13 2010, 12:53 AM
EDITED _ WRONG POSTING
This post has been edited by zamans98: Jan 13 2010, 12:54 AM
simple.ology
Jan 13 2010, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(DanielW @ Jan 13 2010, 12:49 AM) The dividend will automatically goes to your trading account. Ann Date: Announcement Date. Ex Date: Exercise Date Payment date: The day they start paying, but for nominees account I think it will take some time because it goes through CIMB brokers for processing first. Thanks Daniel...! What about lodgement date? what does it actually mean....?
DanielW
Jan 13 2010, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(simple.ology @ Jan 13 2010, 10:36 AM) Thanks Daniel...! What about lodgement date? what does it actually mean....? Lodgement date is the date the company records who are entitled for the dividends - the one who are holding or bought the shares 1 day before the ex-date. So if you want to be entitled for the dividend, make sure you bought the shares before the ex-date. If you want to sell your shares while still getting the dividends at the same time, sell it on the ex-date or beyond. Added on January 13, 2010, 10:52 pmQUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jan 13 2010, 12:34 AM) Does anyone know what it means by Unknown Transaction (the pink indicator in the attached screenie)? The help page says the transaction price doesn't match either the best buy or best sell. If so how could there be a transaction in the first place?  Perhaps someone was buying above the Best Sell price or selling below the Best Buy price This post has been edited by DanielW: Jan 13 2010, 10:52 PM
simple.ology
Jan 14 2010, 12:24 PM

I see I see.... thanks Daniel Woo.... hehe... never bother this thing before... but have to learn more....
alvincks
Jan 14 2010, 10:17 PM
Hi There,
Anyone know Chinese? what is 库存回购股票 ? is it buyback share or Treasury shares? how we get the number ?
I read the article, calculate Share issue required to reduce 库存回购股, but i have no idea what it is in English term