The Quad Core "Advantage"?, Quad vs Dual core in the REAL world

TSdrgadgets
post Jan 3 2008, 07:48 PM, updated 18y ago

178 posts

I'm sure many of us here, being enthusiasts, have either dual core or quad core processers. And while quad-core seems to shine in syntethic benchmarks, the real world performance paints a very different picture mad.gif . Of course, that's not the end of the story. Having quad-core enables u to run many apps at once, like torrents and gaming, along with say RSS feed downloading, virus scans, sytem utilities at full speed.

Has anyone found a piece of software/game that makes good use of the extra cores? Do u think that having 2 extra cores boosts productivity? Or is it just an over-hyped, over-expensive innovation from Intel meant to squeeze every last bit of enthusiast dollar they can get their hands on hmm.gif ? Let the world(or at least LYNians) know what u think!

P/S : My personal opinion is that quad core is worthwhile, mainly because it future-proofs ur cpu investment icon_rolleyes.gif
ericmaxman
post Jan 3 2008, 07:49 PM

-
7,951 posts

nah...softwares still cant utilizes all four cores..
-GILA-
post Jan 3 2008, 07:55 PM

322 posts

Errr like what TS mention as mainly because it future-proofs ur cpu investment?
hondy_wave
post Jan 3 2008, 07:55 PM

Lalalalala..
1,104 posts

hurmm.. if u a designer.. or someting like tat.. then u should change to quad core.. quad core r produced for heavy computer usage.. if u only used to play games or just watching movie n download anythings.. just stay with dual core.. much more, dual core also can handle much application at one time.. haha..
k8118k
post Jan 3 2008, 07:57 PM

3,658 posts

if you go video conversion and video burning

you see dffer when dual core cant do it
nmb3rs
post Jan 3 2008, 08:11 PM

284 posts

multiple (whether its dual, quad, etc.) core efficiency... this is a very interesting issue.

technology in hardware has advanced quite far. however software advancement has not been in pace. this is the results in the software not being able to take the advantage of the hardware.

in order to fully utilize multiple cores available on the processor, the software must be programmed in that manner.

but i believe that soon more and more programs will be coded with multi-core in mind.
jinaun
post Jan 3 2008, 08:13 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

well.. i have over 700 running threads on my OS, so i think additional cores are always welcomed
post Jan 3 2008, 08:16 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

although I just everyday surfing forum, and 20% gaming only.
I would say Quad Core ftw too !

uzairi
post Jan 3 2008, 08:34 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 3 2008, 07:48 PM)
I'm sure many of us here, being enthusiasts, have either dual core or quad core processers. And while quad-core seems to shine in syntethic benchmarks, the real world performance paints a very different picture mad.gif . Of course, that's not the end of the story. Having quad-core enables u to run many apps at once, like torrents and gaming, along with say RSS feed downloading, virus scans, sytem utilities at full speed.

Has anyone found a piece of software/game that makes good use of the extra cores? Do u think that having 2 extra cores boosts productivity? Or is it just an over-hyped, over-expensive innovation from Intel meant to squeeze every last bit of enthusiast dollar they can get their hands on hmm.gif ? Let the world(or at least LYNians) know what u think!

P/S : My personal opinion is that quad core is worthwhile, mainly because it future-proofs ur cpu investment icon_rolleyes.gif
You can always join the Folding Community. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jan 3 2008, 08:39 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

One thing about technology is that you shouldn't buy tech for future-proofing as it will be obsolete before you know it....

Dual-core at the moment unless you are doing heavy multitasking, using video/audio apps or apps that can take advantage of all cores e.g. folding......

For games, there are none yet that fully utilizes all 4 cores, except maybe crysis....
zeustronic
post Jan 3 2008, 08:41 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

Quad is good for Graphic & Video Renderings.
iZuDeeN
post Jan 3 2008, 08:45 PM

3,466 posts

price per performance, not worth the money

dual core still the middle ground

but personally i'm still okay with single core on XP....
MRaef
post Jan 3 2008, 08:50 PM

382 posts

Currently, I'd say Dual-Core. CoD 4 seems to take advantage of this (which is nice).
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 3 2008, 08:52 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 3 2008, 09:39 PM)
One thing about technology is that you shouldn't buy tech for future-proofing as it will be obsolete before you know it....
i can't agree wif this statement cuz future-proof got lotz of type... like i recommended 1 of my fren to get this spec last July:

Intel Celeron 420 1.6GHz
Abit IN9 32X Max WiFi(fire dragon)
2GB Corsair XMS26400 C4
Forsa 8600GT
160GB Seagate SATA HDD
Panasonic SATA DVD burner

this spec is not very high end... but it's kinda future proof cuz it's upgradable easily and don necesarily need to spend a lot... this Celeron OC to 2.8GHz Super_PI gt 28s n 3Dmark06 got 5.8k... not a bad investment... and i think can consider future proof also...
zeustronic
post Jan 3 2008, 09:13 PM

2,605 posts

Depends some ppl prefer productivity rather than save cost.
kmarc
post Jan 3 2008, 10:08 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 3 2008, 08:52 PM)
i can't agree wif this statement cuz future-proof got lotz of type... like i recommended 1 of my fren to get this spec last July:

Intel Celeron 420 1.6GHz
Abit IN9 32X Max WiFi(fire dragon)
2GB Corsair XMS26400 C4
Forsa 8600GT
160GB Seagate SATA HDD
Panasonic SATA DVD burner

this spec is not very high end... but it's kinda future proof cuz it's upgradable easily and don necesarily need to spend a lot... this Celeron OC to 2.8GHz Super_PI gt 28s n 3Dmark06 got 5.8k... not a bad investment... and i think can consider future proof also...
Wow! That's future proof? shocking.gif sweat.gif Like you said, "lotz of type of future-proof"...... guess your definition and mine is different.... wink.gif
Hyde`fK
post Jan 3 2008, 10:13 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Future proof means it can still performs well with new hardware/software, where there's no need to upgrade just to cope with new stuffs.
killerloop81
post Jan 3 2008, 10:18 PM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

depend wat u nit n demand for ur pc stats..
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 3 2008, 10:32 PM

178 posts

Some pretty interesting comments made by both camps. Single core supporters...dun just vote...we want to hear ur opinions.

When i say future proving, i mean that it saves u the hassle of having to upgrade ur pc so often. Coz after upgrade u need to go thru the trouble of selling the old parts again. I'm optimistic that we'll see more multi-threaded software and games released in this year and the next.
eDwanD
post Jan 3 2008, 10:35 PM

493 posts

As my frined who work in a project that how to fully utilize a quad core for intel company, my friend say even dual core, there is also not much program or game that can fully utilize dual core yet ^^ so quad core for me is the future xD ( sorry my eng weak)
OC4/3
post Jan 3 2008, 10:43 PM

4,746 posts

Just run fold and gaming at the same time.I use dual core but i say quad core is the best choice with the best $$$$$.
ianho
post Jan 3 2008, 10:51 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

All u need to do is run a program like Videora n u'll know the advantage of 4 cores.
1024kbps
post Jan 3 2008, 11:00 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

some video encoders like x264, xvid, divx, and ffmpeg, they will take advantage of additional cores to speed up encoding/decoding process.

for example running x264 on diffrent processors:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=122318
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=129849

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 3 2008, 11:09 PM
sukhoi37
post Jan 3 2008, 11:01 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

For those who keep on saying that dual core is enough and quad core hasn't been utilised yet.... rolleyes.gif
It's the best chip for both non-overclocker and overclocker under rm1k. cool2.gif

Comparing the E6750 and the Q6600 at default clock speeds, we see the quad-core CPU outperform its sibling by an average of 3.8% across our benchmark suite.

When both CPUs are overclocked to their limit, the quad-core extends its lead to 5.3%.

read more here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/11/08/dual_vs_quad/

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Jan 3 2008, 11:02 PM
sonic_cd
post Jan 3 2008, 11:18 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

the quad core does come in handy when encoding vidoes to be watched on the phone ..
redken
post Jan 3 2008, 11:19 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Dun u think disk intensive programs will become the future hindrance to multi core experience. To think of it, the proc can only be as fast as the HD is meant to be. Maybe in the future, we need RAID as standard or something.
cscheat
post Jan 3 2008, 11:30 PM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

i vote for QUAD CORE !!!
before i use Q6600, i was using E2160...

now my crysis played smoothly than ever !!! thanks to the additional 2 cores and HUGE L2 Cache !!! 8mb
nelienuxe_sara
post Jan 3 2008, 11:33 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

usually it depends on the software architecture+driver itself
if it only run in dual core quad core will get the same result...

Added on January 3, 2008, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(cscheat @ Jan 3 2008, 11:30 PM)
i vote for QUAD CORE !!!

now my crysis played smoothly than ever !!! thanks to the additional 2 cores and HUGE L2 Cache !!! 8mb
gaming use cahce ar?
i go google 1st...

This post has been edited by nelienuxe_sara: Jan 3 2008, 11:34 PM
zeustronic
post Jan 3 2008, 11:35 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Jan 4 2008, 12:30 AM)
i vote for QUAD CORE !!!

That true oso Quad Cores lots improvement gaming, especially after overclocking it.
clayclws
post Jan 3 2008, 11:41 PM

2,659 posts

The more the better. Photoshop, 3dsmax, and believe it or not, Bioshock, utilize those cores very well.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 4 2008, 12:02 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

obviously quad core ah laugh.gif cant utilize wateva i dont really give a fark really as long as i can run crysis high with no bloody problems can dy lo laugh.gif
Faint
post Jan 4 2008, 12:12 AM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jan 3 2008, 11:33 PM)
gaming use cahce ar?
i go google 1st...
Cache used by the central processing unit of a computer to reduce the average time to access memory.
zeustronic
post Jan 4 2008, 12:20 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jan 4 2008, 01:02 AM)
obviously quad core ah laugh.gif cant utilize wateva i dont really give a fark really as long as i can run crysis high with no bloody problems can dy lo laugh.gif
I don give fark on Crysis, Crytek is a great liar anyway still there some improvment Quad vs Duo. As long running my 3D Rendering application, i still can do multiple drafting in the mean time.

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Jan 4 2008, 12:23 AM
Core_Tracer
post Jan 4 2008, 12:23 AM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

go go quad core......

what about the triple core?lol...huhu
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 4 2008, 02:31 AM

178 posts

U mean Xbox 360? Lose out to PC Core 2 Duo for sure.
PCchapX
post Jan 4 2008, 02:58 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Jan 4 2008, 12:23 AM)
go go quad core......

Forget it. Triple core processor already loses the battle. Beside the processor itself aren't fit to be called a "triple core processor".

cscheat
post Jan 4 2008, 08:21 AM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jan 4 2008, 01:33 AM)
usually it depends on the software architecture+driver itself
if it only run in dual core quad core will get the same result...

Added on January 3, 2008, 11:34 pm

gaming use cahce ar?
i go google 1st...
UT3 is best on Processor with more L2 Cache, u can google it
Thunderbolt
post Jan 4 2008, 09:19 AM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jan 4 2008, 12:20 AM)
I don give fark on Crysis, Crytek is a great liar anyway still there some improvment Quad vs Duo. As long running my 3D Rendering application, i still can do multiple drafting in the mean time.

Many people have upgraded their rig to Quad because of Crysis "optimised" for Quad laugh.gif
popopi
post Jan 4 2008, 09:46 AM

1,197 posts

i get quad core because it has more core and is Cheaper.....
empire23
post Jan 4 2008, 09:49 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

In my worthless opinion, more Cores is better as long as the price of coherency maintenance doesn't affect general performance eg; flood the stupid interconnect until there's no time/space for other things.
fiqir
post Jan 4 2008, 10:06 AM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

simply, more core will be better hmm.gif
kmarc
post Jan 4 2008, 10:46 AM

14,576 posts

No doubt more cores are better. For better future-proofing, definitely current quads would be better.

The issue here is that for current usage, is dual- or quad- more appropriate? No question about this if you're using apps that taxes heavily on all 4 cores. However, what about the majority, the average consumers that run BT, anti-virus, playing games, surfing, etc. For them, I shoudl think dual-core is the appropriate number of cores AT THE MOMENT.

Quads yes, especially when the Q9450 is introduced!! wub.gif

Faint
post Jan 4 2008, 11:26 AM

2,474 posts

Definitely more core will have better performance. Since quad core being popular and dual core getting cheaper, not doubt dual core will kill single core within this year... May be not more single core available in market. cool2.gif
jimmydotnet
post Jan 4 2008, 11:30 AM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Jan 4 2008, 11:26 AM)
Definitely more core will have better performance. Since quad core being popular and dual core getting cheaper, not doubt dual core will kill single core within this year... May be not more single core available in market. cool2.gif
hmm...that way i have to sell my athlon64 faster... icon_rolleyes.gif ...what's price gonna be?? ohmy.gif
Thunderbolt
post Jan 4 2008, 11:53 AM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Jan 4 2008, 11:30 AM)
hmm...that way i have to sell my athlon64 faster... icon_rolleyes.gif ...what's price gonna be?? ohmy.gif

You might as well keep it tongue.gif
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 4 2008, 02:33 PM

178 posts

@jimmydotnet:Use ur athlon 64 system as backup and as a home server perhaps.

I do agree with kmarc statement that future-proofing should not be ur no 1 concern when buying tech. However, consider this: A new E6750 costs RM635 while a new Q6600 costs Rm935(latest price from C-zone). So it seems that the premium for the extra 2 cores isn't that high, right(about 50% more expensive)? And when multi-threading takes off, the quad cores have a potential for twice the speed of the dual-cores.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 4 2008, 02:57 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Jan 4 2008, 12:23 AM)
go go quad core......

oktacore 2 ade lah laugh.gif

8 cores in one proc brows.gif
Faint
post Jan 4 2008, 03:08 PM

2,474 posts

Keep it as collection, for backup or other purpose. You won't get much if you sell it.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 4 2008, 03:11 PM

13,340 posts

less than 100 tongue.gif
Irishcoffee
post Jan 4 2008, 03:59 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

i think most software already "multi core support" no more dual core optimize only eg crysis
eDwanD
post Jan 4 2008, 04:47 PM

493 posts

Intel already got 128 core product, if i not get wrong info ^^ More core is better for user who run many program in same times,but for only a heavy run program, still cant fully utilize a quad core yet ^^ even dual core too.
Fields
post Jan 4 2008, 04:57 PM

570 posts

wahhaah, who wants a quad quad? 16 cores ftw.
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 4 2008, 05:05 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

-POST DELETED-

This post has been edited by joe_star: Jan 10 2008, 09:24 AM
minghao
post Jan 4 2008, 05:07 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

Sure quad core.If not why quad core made for?Sure better agaisnt dual core.Mayb nowadays application still haven fully utilize the advantage of quad core.
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 4 2008, 05:07 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Hmm.........looking at the question posted by the poll starter, I would have to say dual core, or maybe in some cases even single core at the moment. Of course I'm looking at it from the average(and i mean reli average word using, bt downloading, dota-playing) joe's perspective. But multi-cores are the way to go for high end gaming, video encoding etc.
minghao
post Jan 4 2008, 05:13 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Jan 4 2008, 05:07 PM)
Hmm.........looking at the question posted by the poll starter, I would have to say dual core, or maybe in some cases even single core at the moment. Of course I'm looking at it from the average(and i mean reli average word using, bt downloading, dota-playing) joe's perspective. But multi-cores are the way to go for high end gaming, video encoding etc.

You have to see the quad core and the dual core clock speed when u comparing both them.

TSdrgadgets
post Jan 4 2008, 05:15 PM

178 posts

Wah joe_star how post the same entry 3 times! Single core is best for office use i think. U dun want ur employees using torrents or encoding dvds at work anyway!
Faint
post Jan 4 2008, 05:26 PM

2,474 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jan 4 2008, 05:13 PM)
You have to see the quad core and the dual core clock speed when u comparing both them.
Quad core can beat dual core by comparing the clock speed ?
kmarc
post Jan 4 2008, 05:36 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
I do agree with kmarc statement that future-proofing should not be ur no 1 concern when buying tech. However, consider this: A new E6750 costs RM635 while a new Q6600 costs Rm935(latest price from C-zone). So it seems that the premium for the extra 2 cores isn't that high, right(about 50% more expensive)? And when multi-threading takes off, the quad cores have a potential for twice the speed of the dual-cores.
An example of what I mean. Now using E6750 as it is enough for current usage. Q6600 would be better if you can utilize all 4 cores but more expensive.

Next upgrade for me would be Penryn Yorkfield Q9450 which is cooler, slightly faster clock-for-clock and have newer features such as SSE4.1. At that time, hopefully quad utilization is more in terms of programs/games/apps.

Can then sell off my E6750..... who wants to buy? laugh.gif

Edit : So my strategy is, go for the best bang for buck hardware appropriate at that moment in time, upgrade when necessary while selling off the older hardware..... Of course, I'll loose some money on selling but I guess that's the price I have to pay.....

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 4 2008, 05:39 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 4 2008, 07:06 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 3 2008, 11:08 PM)
Wow! That's future proof?  shocking.gif  sweat.gif Like you said, "lotz of type of future-proof"...... guess your definition and mine is different....  wink.gif
QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 3 2008, 11:32 PM)
Some pretty interesting comments made by both camps. Single core supporters...dun just vote...we want to hear ur opinions.

When i say future proving, i mean that it saves u the hassle of having to upgrade ur pc so often. Coz after upgrade u need to go thru the trouble of selling the old parts again. I'm optimistic that we'll see more multi-threaded software and games released in this year and the next.
err... the spec i mentioned can juz change the proc to quad core... and upgrade the GC... no need to change the whole thing.... but if u got a 945 or equal level mobo then u have to change the whole board.... and if the board is DDR1 lagi teruk kena... sweat.gif

my definition of future-proof means flexible and easily upgradable and need to spend less overall cuz if u buy a RM10k spec PC it's gonna worth RM4k nex year or so... and u will end up spend another 10k to rebuild a rig... tat's not really future proof... so to me most important is the mobo can support future hardwares... tat alone might make ur rig last for at least 2 years plus having u juz need to upgrade a few parts...

Reason: Technology moving 2 fast... sweat.gif Spending RM300+ last few months for a 8600GT then wait for next gen GC... maybe a 3870 or 9600GT next month is better than spending RM2k+ for 8800GTX and get pwn by 8800Ultra and pwn by 3870... rite...? unsure.gif
fylon
post Jan 4 2008, 07:32 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

My vote goes to single core cpu. P4 FTW! laugh.gif (Dont flame me since it a discussion thread! tongue.gif)

Well.. Im kinda agreed that its depend on the usage on the user. Casual user that didnt use much processing power (just like me), they will think that normal single core are just more then enough for them.
minghao
post Jan 4 2008, 07:35 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 4 2008, 05:15 PM)
Wah joe_star how post the same entry 3 times! Single core is best for office use i think. U dun want ur employees using torrents or encoding dvds at work anyway!

Who says single core cannot torrent while encoding things?Juz slow abit only. smile.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 4 2008, 07:43 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jan 4 2008, 08:35 PM)
Who says single core cannot torrent while encoding things?Juz slow abit only. smile.gif
not many ppl can tolerate tat "juz slow abit only".... laugh.gif

Added on January 4, 2008, 7:46 pm
QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 4 2008, 06:36 PM)
An example of what I mean. Now using E6750 as it is enough for current usage. Q6600 would be better if you can utilize all 4 cores but more expensive.

Edit : So my strategy is, go for the best bang for buck hardware appropriate at that moment in time, upgrade when necessary while selling off the older hardware..... Of course, I'll loose some money on selling but I guess that's the price I have to pay.....
u should had compared E2160 and E6750 at 3.5GHz b4 paying for it... RM600+ vs RM300+ but the performance not really noticable... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Jan 4 2008, 07:46 PM
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 5 2008, 12:38 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jan 4 2008, 07:35 PM)
Looks like I stepped on someone's tail here. sweat.gif Ooops.
I also used single core before. Athlon 64 3200+. Currently only using it as a backup rig/server since got my new comp.
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 12:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Quad-core gives you best value per processor. smile.gif RM 900 / 4 compare to others, you're paying less per processor core.
zeustronic
post Jan 5 2008, 12:50 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2008, 01:44 AM)
Quad-core gives you best value per processor. smile.gif RM 900 / 4 compare to others, you're paying less per processor core.
Yeah.. paying almost the same price as E6850.
Faint
post Jan 5 2008, 01:30 AM

2,474 posts

Phenom X4 9500 RM860
xakheir
post Jan 5 2008, 01:51 AM

20 posts

between E6850 and Q6600, which one is recommended? because the price is about the same rite? at pczone around 915, but when take a look at benchmarks from tomshardware.com, it shows that E6850 is better in overall performance, for Q6600, it only win in 3d rendering...

i'm planning to buy new rig, so now i'm confuse which processor i've to choose..i do 3d rendering, photoshop and other graphic stuff..
Faint
post Jan 5 2008, 02:01 AM

2,474 posts

QUOTE(xakheir @ Jan 5 2008, 01:51 AM)
between E6850 and Q6600, which one is recommended? because the price is about the same rite? at pczone around 915, but when take a look at benchmarks from tomshardware.com, it shows that E6850 is better in overall performance, for Q6600, it only win  in 3d rendering...

i'm planning to buy new rig, so now i'm confuse which processor i've to choose..i do 3d rendering, photoshop and other graphic stuff..
E6850 is true dual core, Q6600 is not a true quad core. Suggest you consider E6850.
Zhou
post Jan 5 2008, 02:47 AM

64 posts

Single Core user here.
P4 630, 3.0Ghz OC @3.6Ghz..
actually to me..I still feel satisfied with it..
compare to my friend new bought rig C2D E6550..n OC@ 3.1Ghz..
If say like encoding/decoding video..3d renderin..photoshop..
n playin new release games..
of course my speed is slower a lot n bottomneck my GC a lot...
but..i'm not a user tat always do encodin/decoding video..3d renderin..
n not always playin games...but only listen to music..suft the net..
download video n watch..n if juz doin tis stuff..i dun feel any slower than C2D or C2Q..with this CPU..I still feel satisfied..anyway..feelin wan to upgrade to athlon x2 5000+ BE already.. ^^
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 02:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

most people boast dual-core is good but fact of the matter is most people aren't even utilizing 50% the processing capability of 1 core most of the time.
clawhammer
post Jan 5 2008, 02:50 AM

///M
8,788 posts

I think most people doesn't even know their processor usage is that low? smile.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 5 2008, 02:57 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(xakheir @ Jan 5 2008, 02:51 AM)
between E6850 and Q6600, which one is recommended? because the price is about the same rite? at pczone around 915, but when take a look at benchmarks from tomshardware.com, it shows that E6850 is better in overall performance, for Q6600, it only win  in 3d rendering...

both also gonna be obselete soon and stock is clearing out... might as well wait... icon_idea.gif
goldfries
post Jan 5 2008, 02:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

after waiting, new stuff come out. then new threads mushroom. then we're all back to square 1 again, by having to find out the details and feed _____. smile.gif

edited : remove the word. you can put what you want la. the lazy, the clueless, the like-to-be-spoonfed.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 5 2008, 02:59 AM
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 5 2008, 04:52 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 5 2008, 02:57 AM)
both also gonna be obselete soon and stock is clearing out... might as well wait... icon_idea.gif
When Nehalem comes out sometime in 2009, Penryn/Yorkdale would be outdated also anyway. It's an endless waiting game bro.
kmarc
post Jan 5 2008, 07:29 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 4 2008, 07:43 PM)
u should had compared E2160 and E6750 at 3.5GHz b4 paying for it... RM600+ vs RM300+ but the performance not really noticable... hmm.gif
At a high vcore for the E2160? No thanks...... Risk:benefit ratio not acceptable for me.... not to mention the heat.....
zeustronic
post Jan 5 2008, 07:52 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(xakheir @ Jan 5 2008, 02:51 AM)

E6850 vs Q6600 performance quite close, but after overclocked it Quad Cores is in the lead.

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 5 2008, 03:57 AM)
Intel still have 45nm compatiblities issue, unless u pick a mid high end mobo P35 or X38.
sukhoi37
post Jan 5 2008, 09:41 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

repost due to image link problem.

source from here
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/11/08/dua...uad/page20.html

the winner is clear. wink.gif
HMMaster
post Jan 5 2008, 11:48 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

but the E6750 is cheaper sweat.gif it would be better if they compare E6850 with Q6600.
kmarc
post Jan 5 2008, 12:03 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 5 2008, 09:41 AM)

the winner is clear.  wink.gif
Mana ade? It is not that straight forward.

If you look at that table, quad is good for video and 3D rendering but lose out on games and office apps. Disadvantage is quad is about rm300 more expensive and it is hotter, requiring better cooling for equivalent overclocks.....

In the end, it depends on what apps you use.......
Thrust
post Jan 5 2008, 12:05 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2008, 02:48 AM)
most people boast dual-core is good but fact of the matter is most people aren't even utilizing 50% the processing capability of 1 core most of the time.
Well, I utilizes all my 4cores@100% running Folding@Home. My PS3 is not spared too. Looks like I am a Folding freak!!! drool.gif
onimusha333
post Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM

169 posts

so if im onli a gamer and not running those heavy software,
which shud i go for between dual-core and quad core?
i mean heavy games like crysis, world in conflict etc...
sukhoi37
post Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 5 2008, 11:48 AM)
but the E6750 is cheaper sweat.gif it would be better if they compare E6850 with Q6600.
ya, but q6600 G0 has better ocibility.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 12:03 PM)
Mana ade? It is not that straight forward.

If you look at that table, quad is good for video and 3D rendering but lose out on games and office apps. Disadvantage is quad is about rm300 more expensive and it is hotter, requiring better cooling for equivalent overclocks.....

In the end, it depends on what apps you use.......
hmm...quite true.
i see the chart wrongly... sweat.gif

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 7 2008, 12:20 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 5 2008, 05:52 AM)
When Nehalem comes out sometime in 2009, Penryn/Yorkdale would be outdated also anyway. It's an endless waiting game bro.
haiya... juz a few months or weeks only ma... if nex year than no need to wait lo...

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 08:29 AM)
At a high vcore for the E2160? No thanks...... Risk:benefit ratio not acceptable for me.... not to mention the heat.....
err... not really high... it's still below 1.4V... and temp below 60C... no risks... unless u use crappy Mobo and crappy PSU... if not everything should be fine... tat's wat slightly more pricey mobos are for... unsure.gif
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 8 2008, 05:45 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 5 2008, 07:29 AM)
I thought u wanted the most bang for ur buck? blink.gif A E2160 isn't that ex anyway. Even if it fails in 1/2 years time(very short for a proc) u can always used the money u save to get a newer proc biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jan 8 2008, 07:08 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 8 2008, 05:45 AM)
I thought u wanted the most bang for ur buck? blink.gif A E2160 isn't that ex anyway. Even if it fails in 1/2 years time(very short for a proc) u can always used the money u save to get a newer proc biggrin.gif
Definitely best bang for buck but not with increased risk of damage. If need to RMA, then no more bang for buck wor..... smile.gif

Anyway, next CPU I'm aiming for - Q9450 wub.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 7:09 am
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 7 2008, 12:20 AM)
haiya... juz a few months or weeks only ma... if nex year than no need to wait lo...
err... not really high... it's still below 1.4V... and temp below 60C... no risks... unless u use crappy Mobo and crappy PSU... if not everything should be fine... tat's wat slightly more pricey mobos are for... unsure.gif
Really? If that is the case, then the proc would be excellent. However, I think a lot of users had to set high vcore to get high OC, IINM..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 8 2008, 07:09 AM
Kataro
post Jan 8 2008, 09:03 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

For me...if I have that money, I sure will go for quad core...but I now is a student, can't afford to get quad core...so I will get dual core...like E8 series... maybe wait for it to be a bit more cheaper... laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 8 2008, 09:09 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

If u using Nvidia Chipset board...no need wait 45nm Quad or Core2Duo....Nvidia chipset no support those Processor
mois
post Jan 8 2008, 09:37 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

if i got money, sure go for quad lo..
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 8 2008, 11:05 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(onimusha333 @ Jan 5 2008, 02:22 PM)
so if im onli a gamer and not running those heavy software,
which shud i go for between dual-core and quad core?
i mean heavy games like crysis, world in conflict etc...
definitely quad core laugh.gif even at crysis very high, you might need 4 cores 2 power up all the graphics with higher end GC too laugh.gif
-pWs-
post Jan 8 2008, 11:07 PM

8,545 posts

I will go for Quad too.
More PPD in folding. smile.gif

-pWs-
bulibulizaimon
post Jan 8 2008, 11:10 PM

PSN : bulibulizaimon
4,667 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 8 2008, 11:07 PM)
I will go for Quad too.
More PPD in folding. smile.gif

-pWs-
Thumb for you mate! thumbup.gif

totally maniac folder haha laugh.gif
abechik
post Jan 8 2008, 11:16 PM

105 posts

knowing that you had a reserve extra power is good feeling already.. doesn't matter if it is used or not.. the more the better.

still using single core though..
-pWs-
post Jan 8 2008, 11:17 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Jan 8 2008, 11:10 PM)
Thumb for you mate!  thumbup.gif

totally maniac folder haha  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif
Fold sama2. smile.gif

-pWs-
hondy_wave
post Jan 9 2008, 12:28 PM

Lalalalala..
1,104 posts

sooner or later.. there will be no dual core or quad core.. there will be a more n more core in one single die chip.. i wonder when it will be.. doh.gif

n then all application will be bigger n storage may exceed 1 Terabyte..

GC oso can get fully advantages of this supermulti core.. n maybe GC oso can get quad core.. who knows.. cool2.gif
dkcc87
post Jan 9 2008, 06:02 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(hondy_wave @ Jan 9 2008, 12:28 PM)
sooner or later.. there will be no dual core or quad core.. there will be a more n more core in one single die chip.. i wonder when it will be..  doh.gif

n then all application will be bigger n storage may exceed 1 Terabyte..

GC oso can get fully advantages of this supermulti core.. n maybe GC oso can get quad core.. who knows..  cool2.gif
Well this is what u call technology..and were always chasing to be on par with it.. tongue.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 10 2008, 04:58 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 8 2008, 08:08 AM)
Definitely best bang for buck but not with increased risk of damage. If need to RMA, then no more bang for buck wor.....  smile.gif

Anyway, next CPU I'm aiming for - Q9450  wub.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 7:09 am

Really? If that is the case, then the proc would be excellent. However, I think a lot of users had to set high vcore to get high OC, IINM.....  hmm.gif
ur OC ok wat... hmm.gif
empire23
post Jan 10 2008, 06:25 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

More cores = better even if you don't have applications to take advantage of it. Thread scheduling is done by the operating system at the end of the day and if the operating system can use all cores and dispatch all threads efficiently, thus if buying an octal core were cheaper than 2 halves and thus was value for money, there's no reason i wouldn't recommend it for a better operating system experience. Well that's provided the bottleneck is with the processor.
TSdrgadgets
post Jan 10 2008, 08:21 AM

178 posts

^erm empire23, i really don't get what u're trying to say here. Even if u can't make use of quad core it's still better?
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 10 2008, 09:36 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jan 4 2008, 05:13 PM)
I'm not talking about performance bro. No doubt, in multithreaded apps more cores would win anytime. What I'm talking about is overall VALUE. That too depends on usage. I am totally fine using a single core to do my assignments and BT all day long, but I would be the 1st to say they're total sh1t for video encoding(not to mentin gaming n encoding at the same time, which i do sometimes sweat.gif ). Let me put it this way, not everyone would get the same value from a certain part. For average daily use, IMHO a single core would give the best value atm. Whereas anything else(gaming, video processing, etc etc) multicore all the way nod.gif
PGV3910
post Jan 10 2008, 09:49 AM

1,885 posts

cry.gif cry.gif me still using dual core cry.gif
even never try core 2...even more quad cry.gif
btw.me just a noob..dual core=o/c till dead=priceless wub.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Jan 10 2008, 02:21 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 10 2008, 07:25 AM)
More cores = better even if you don't have applications to take advantage of it. Thread scheduling is done by the operating system at the end of the day and if the operating system can use all cores and dispatch all threads efficiently, thus if buying an octal core were cheaper than 2 halves and thus was value for money, there's no reason i wouldn't recommend it for a better operating system experience. Well that's provided the bottleneck is with the processor.
yeah... value wise of course lar... quads are gonna replace duals stage by stage anyway... many distri already clear out their old processor stock d... waiting for new arrivals... laugh.gif

QUOTE(joe_star @ Jan 10 2008, 10:36 AM)
I'm not talking about performance bro. No doubt, in multithreaded apps more cores would win anytime. What I'm talking about is overall VALUE. That too depends on usage. I am totally fine using a single core to do my assignments and BT all day long, but I would be the 1st to say they're total sh1t for video encoding(not to mentin gaming n encoding at the same time, which i do sometimes  sweat.gif ). Let me put it this way, not everyone would get the same value from a certain part. For average daily use, IMHO a single core would give the best value atm. Whereas anything else(gaming, video processing, etc etc) multicore all the way  nod.gif
well since lauching price is pretty much the same wif conroe when it 1st came out... i don see any value probs there... unsure.gif
but gaming and video encoding and all depends on their developer and microsoft to optimize core usage...

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Jan 10 2008, 10:49 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif me still using dual core cry.gif
aiyo... ur rig still can at least last a year or maybe more... mean while juz save money and upgrade next 2 years lar... icon_rolleyes.gif
abechik
post Jan 10 2008, 02:23 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:49 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif me still using dual core cry.gif
dude.. i'm still on single core.. still a happy man .. he he
ristikol
post Jan 25 2008, 09:29 PM

\~*Grand Belial's Key*~/
1,049 posts

i'm prefer Old School Single Core Rocks! notworthy.gif
alpha_numeric182
post Jan 25 2008, 09:55 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

i'm still using single core proc..and i would say it still ROCKS! running my rig 24/7..downloading..audio..playing games (Crysis, COD4 with 1024X768 resolution)..without a hitch.. icon_rolleyes.gif
ukiya
post Jan 27 2008, 11:44 PM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

hey ... ya poll... forget bout a "tri-core"

well ... quad core ... play games, save video, designing @d same time shudnt b a problem...

Tri Core Phenom (AMD) ... i dono lo ...

dual core... play games ... save video... feel dizzy lagger keke^^

single core... play games ... wat else? save video ... better get use to CTRL +ALT +DEL key den ...

how bout 64 Cores !? http://www.tilera.com/products/processors.php
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 28 2008, 01:59 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Jan 10 2008, 02:21 PM)
well since lauching price is pretty much the same wif conroe when it 1st came out... i don see any value probs there... unsure.gif
but gaming and video encoding and all depends on their developer and microsoft to optimize core usage...
Erm......im assuming that you're refering to a quadcores price now compared to the cost of a dual core conroe when it 1st came out? However let me put another take on it. An intel quadcore still costs arnd RM800-900. I put together my entire backup rig for RM700. Get what I'm trying to say now? I reiterate once again, its all about how you use the system. Although atm after seeing the launch of the new celeron dual cores and amd procs, I have to say that dual core is already a very budget solution.

hazairi
post Jan 28 2008, 04:35 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(eDwanD @ Jan 3 2008, 10:35 PM)
As my frined who work in a project that how to fully utilize a quad core for intel company, my friend say even dual core, there is also not much program or game that can fully utilize dual core yet ^^ so quad core for me is the future xD ( sorry my eng weak)
Correct. A program can only utilize a dual or quad core 'if' it was written to utilize it. That's why a single core (Pentium 4) 3.8Ghz can win Dual Core 1.6Ghz in certain games unless you wanna play games while chatting in IM and doing some Excel sheets wink.gif. But in the future, I'll bet the designers will write a game which utilizes multi-core processor. Plus, multi-core uses lower power. wink.gif

SSJBen
post Jan 28 2008, 06:54 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Jan 28 2008, 04:35 AM)
But in the future, I'll bet the designers will write a game which utilizes multi-core processor. Plus, multi-core uses lower power. wink.gif
It already happened.

And no, multi-core CPUs uses more power than a single-core. Don't give me the comparison of a Wolfdale processor to a Netburst architectured P4. If you want to compare, just go ahead and look at Pentium D(not the Allendale based) consumption power under load.

hazairi
post Jan 28 2008, 07:19 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 28 2008, 06:54 AM)
It already happened.

And no, multi-core CPUs uses more power than a single-core. Don't give me the comparison of a Wolfdale processor to a Netburst architectured P4. If you want to compare, just go ahead and look at Pentium D(not the Allendale based) consumption power under load.
Are u sure multi-core CPUs uses more power?
Just look at the toms' hardware power graph below:
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/12/28/int...tion/page9.html

Clearly it shows that power consumption of dual core is lower.. wink.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Jan 28 2008, 07:58 AM

5,366 posts

at the time of this thread, multi-core optimized OS and games has existed. 4 cores of course is better than 2 cores. In Vista, at any time u can find the number of threads is around 900 to 1000, although not all are active at the same time but it do helps by alleviating the kesesakan by handling 4 threads at one time. U can choose which task belongs to which core "CPU" in Vista task manager, have folding run at one core, HD movie run for another, the rest leave to windows.
davidmak
post Jan 28 2008, 08:25 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Kinda agree with you guys.

The power consumption of a multi-core processor isn't always necessarily higher. Allow me to explain. Remember that the clock speed of a quad-core cannot be as high like a dual-core because of thermal reasons and the TDP constraints. The objective in a multi-core processor is not about extremely high clock speed but rather multiple cores of reasonable clock speed.

With the progress of silicon fabrication and newer architecture, its the efficiency of the processor architecture and how good the software utilize these facilities that matters. So a reasonable clock speed in a multi-core environment coupled with advance fabrication process and modern architecture will not always consume more power than say an extremely high clock speed of a dual-core processor.

This is synonymous with Intel's Core (1 or 2) architecture. Wide execution and higher performance per watt ratio. We can already spot a trend over here. The architecture design is slowly moving towards more transistor budget allocated for caches and lesser for execution units. From the early Pentiums to Intel Core 2 Duo, cache increment was very obvious. Look at the development trend of software. Now look at the console gaming hardware. Its a very ideal platform to test the market and your technologies.

XBOX360 has a tri-core general purpose in-order with an extremely simplified execution unit architecture that is at the same time multi-core and yet extremely high clock speed. Look at PS3, a single general purpose execution unit (almost similar to XBOX360) and with up to 8 (only 7 active) dedicated processing units which is again extremely simplified cores.

Its all about parallel processing from now on. Making a general purpose processor more parallel with dedicated purpose processing in its execution units for acceleration. Its all about simplified and efficient architecture and multi-core in nature. IBM and Sun's UltraSparc T1 processor has been leading the way to parallelism. AMD is going with its Fusion and we can see Intel will definitely progressing to it too with its simplified 80-core experimental processor. Its going to be multi-core with multiple acceleration units for the future. Just remember that a DSP is more powerful and consumes lesser power than any general processing platform for a given dedicated task.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jan 28 2008, 08:25 AM
nightc
post Jan 28 2008, 10:28 AM

360 posts

By the time more softwares support quad core, the quad core processors would be cheap... and Q6600 most probably be obselete.
a4-paper
post Jan 28 2008, 10:45 AM

38 posts

why q6600 obsolete??dont understand
davidmak
post Jan 28 2008, 10:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(nightc @ Jan 28 2008, 10:28 AM)
By the time more softwares support quad core, the quad core processors would be cheap... and Q6600 most probably be obselete.
The most important thing is the segment of cheap performance per price ratio will always be there from both AMD and Intel. Doesn't matter if today Q6600 is cheap today and obsolete tomorrow. There will always be such a product available for consumers who want something new for a good deal. The value for price product will always be consumer's highest priority and the manufacturers will not leave it out of their offerings. 101 marketing rule, do not reduce price but introduce higher value by giving more features.

During the introduction of dual-core processor, Intel offered Pentium D 805 which was best bang for the buck and OC-able. Then we have a few value for money dual-core processor which was on the Core 2 architecture. Today, that same segment is now represented by Q6600 for quad-core processor product. In a few months, we will have Penryn replacements for quad-core which will be very popular.

Today, software for multi-core (not only quad-core) support (at least for what I am doing) is matured. By the time it is widespread to consumer software, I would have something new to replace Q6600 because its gonna be cheap as chips. Again, I can still hold on a few months or a year or two with that Q6600 because at least I'm still using it, squeezing every last value from it. I don't think you could do the same with a single-core or a low-end dual-core processor though. You'll be on the verge of upgrade sooner. I don't care if my Q6600 is obsolete and become of no value, at least I am still using it for its intended purpose, multi-core processing. At least I will be satisfying the requirement of my work.
general_odin
post Jan 28 2008, 11:28 AM

no work, no money
904 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Jan 28 2008, 05:35 AM)
Correct. A program can only utilize a dual or quad core 'if' it was written to utilize it. That's why a single core (Pentium 4) 3.8Ghz can win Dual Core 1.6Ghz in certain games unless you wanna play games while chatting in IM and doing some Excel sheets wink.gif. But in the future, I'll bet the designers will write a game which utilizes multi-core processor. Plus, multi-core uses lower power. wink.gif
agreed... singel core processors gives more respond to users, while multi cores processors better of with running heavy loads.
its like a Lotus Elise (representing netburst proc) VS a Lambourghini Murcielago (representing Multi core proc)

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 28 2008, 08:58 AM)
at the time of this thread, multi-core optimized OS and games has existed. 4 cores of course is better than 2 cores. In Vista, at any time u can find the number of threads is around 900 to 1000, although not all are active at the same time but it do helps by alleviating the kesesakan by handling 4 threads at one time. U can choose which task belongs to which core "CPU" in Vista task manager, have folding run at one core, HD movie run for another, the rest leave to windows.
VISTA S**, takes in more than 1GB of ram or paging file shich provide super slow responds,
too graphically advanced which will slow down your computer...

QUOTE(nightc @ Jan 28 2008, 11:28 AM)
Q6600 will not be obselete so soon... all the netburst processor will obselete earlier...
it will be the basic level of quad core processor, the 1st batch, which will be the best bang for buck coz it will last you maybe another 4-5 years... till 6 cores processor came out.
the first batch is always the best bang for buck. (well... not all la)
normeck
post Jan 28 2008, 11:38 AM

3,158 posts

can someone clear me on this?...i played GE..but why only one core that processing?...the second core can go only 50%...it should be 50~50 isnt?
availyboy
post Jan 28 2008, 11:55 AM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUAD CORE IS MY DREAM it rocks
fun_feng
post Jan 30 2008, 01:26 PM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Different ppl different needs
Get me QUADCORE!!
webbie
post Jan 30 2008, 01:29 PM

Loving OHE
2,381 posts

i think with quadcore....we can do more things and gaming? icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSjoe_star
post Jan 30 2008, 01:32 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Jan 28 2008, 11:38 AM)

can someone clear me on this?...i played GE..but why only one core that processing?...the second core can go only 50%...it should be 50~50 isnt?
Coz GE is a single threaded game. It does not take advantage of a dual core. So basically you would get the same performance as that of a single core proc of the same speed, although the dual core will be slightly better as other tasks can be handled by the other core smile.gif
davidmak
post Jan 30 2008, 01:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Jan 30 2008, 01:32 PM)
Coz GE is a single threaded game. It does not take advantage of a dual core. So basically you would get the same performance as that of a single core proc of the same speed, although the dual core will be slightly better as other tasks can be handled by the other core smile.gif
I think this is the confusion with the software written for single thread or multiple thread processing. Like you say software designed for single core processing and multiple core processing. I really think there's a good way to solve all these confusions. Right now we have problem with single thread processing software not scaling effectively with a multi-core processing. This problem can be worked around with 'reversed Hyper Threading' concept.

Hyper Threading was a concept to make the system acknowledge 2 processing cores where in actual fact there is only 1 real physical core. The fact it could handle more than one thread is because of its additional set of registers to hold an extra thread. The processing still goes one by one but with Hyper Threading you could ensure less idle states in the registers when work is actually done.

Reversed Hyper Threading however is still a very theoretical concept in which to make the system acknowledge multiple processing cores are one. Where two or more cores could combine to speed up a single threaded process. Some of the program instructions sets that goes into multiple level of processing could be done in parallel with the cores assigned. Or the system is smart enough to assign a few cores for this process while the remaining does the rest.

One of Intel's testing approach is the Core 2 architecture where it attempts to combined a few similar instruction sets to be executed as one. This is pretty ironic because the CPU always breaks instructions into micro instructions for 'easy digestion' but these micro instructions can be combined to be executed at once.
xdeer
post Jan 30 2008, 03:07 PM

178 posts

i'll go with quad mainly be'cuz it have.......quad cpu!
TristanX
post Jan 30 2008, 05:09 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

Current new games already start utilizing quad core. Hopefully more software would do it too.
Liuteva
post Jan 30 2008, 05:28 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

Sure go for quad core smile.gif

So style ..
SeaMonster
post Jan 30 2008, 09:00 PM

2,056 posts

Quad Core Of Coz.. smile.gif
Ezonizs
post Jan 30 2008, 09:20 PM

~*~Freak~*~
1,055 posts

ppl are always like this doh.gif

if nehalem launch sure you ppl say of cause nehalem better bcs of 8 Cores doh.gif
SeaMonster
post Jan 30 2008, 09:22 PM

2,056 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Jan 30 2008, 09:20 PM)
ppl are always like this  doh.gif

if nehalem launch sure you ppl say of cause nehalem better bcs of 8 Cores  doh.gif
new technology maaaa...

why u sold ur 8800gts and buy new launched GC?

reason?
Ezonizs
post Jan 30 2008, 09:23 PM

~*~Freak~*~
1,055 posts

QUOTE(SeaMonster @ Jan 30 2008, 10:22 PM)
new technology maaaa...

why u sold ur 8800gts and buy new launched GC?

reason?
cop cop !!! havent sold yet ~~still thinking haha laugh.gif
SeaMonster
post Jan 30 2008, 09:26 PM

2,056 posts

hahaaaa..

new genaration..new technology maaaa

those before antient liao
ac_N1
post Jan 30 2008, 09:45 PM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

Dual core is good enough for me. 4 cores = overkill nod.gif
general_odin
post Jan 30 2008, 09:49 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

4 cores and 8 cores MAKAN POWER like shit...

especially the Q6600... DAMM 105W
my Core 2 Duo E8200 only takes in 65W le

but if you compare the quad with Pentium Extereme and Pentium D...
Quad saves more power la...
SeaMonster
post Jan 30 2008, 09:53 PM

2,056 posts

Pentium D stuck! take alot of power
cky80

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

its a chicken and egg story.

u need hardware before the software....and right now the egg has come 1st. laugh.gif
nglg212

312 posts

quad core - 4 processors, multitasking/multithread, good. thumbup.gif
general_odin
post Jan 30 2008, 10:05 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

yaya... multitask good with quad core...
BUT think twice... what kind of task we do?
gaming and chatting on MSN ? well not much task that fully utilize all 4 cores don't u all think?
cstkl1
post Jan 30 2008, 10:09 PM

6,799 posts

more and more games are using quad cores

GOW around 75 percent and that means all the unreal engines including bioschock

Crysis Patch 1.1 uses around 70 percent of all cores depending on how much action..

so .. hmm quad core is it?? except the games will be rolling out pretty slow for pc ..

arjuna_mfna
post Jan 30 2008, 10:15 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Jan 30 2008, 09:49 PM)
4 cores and 8 cores MAKAN POWER like shit...

especially the Q6600... DAMM 105W
my Core 2 Duo E8200 only takes in 65W le

but if you compare the quad with Pentium Extereme and Pentium D...
Quad saves more power la...
u comparing quad 65nm with dual 45nm proc of coz dual 45nm use less power then quad 65nm proc, u should compare quad with quad see how big diff
Ezonizs
post Jan 30 2008, 11:41 PM

~*~Freak~*~
1,055 posts

AIYOOO doh.gif doh.gif so how give me an opinion Q6600 or E8500 ~~ i play intensive games , blogging , msn , yahoo , surf net nia ~~ which one to choose ??? my brain still confuse over Quad vs Dual thingy doh.gif wink.gif
xdeer
post Jan 31 2008, 01:12 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Jan 30 2008, 11:41 PM)
AIYOOO  doh.gif  doh.gif  so how give me an opinion Q6600 or E8500 ~~ i play intensive games , blogging , msn , yahoo , surf net nia ~~ which one to choose ??? my brain still confuse over Quad vs Dual thingy  doh.gif  wink.gif
i'll say go for 6600,multitasking easy and fast and save money for the future upgrade also smile.gif
fcuk90
post Jan 31 2008, 01:53 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

sure quad core lar.....phenom maybe??since the price cheaper than intel quad's....but i m still stick with single core haha
davidmak
post Jan 31 2008, 11:12 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jan 31 2008, 01:53 AM)
sure quad core lar.....phenom maybe??since the price cheaper than intel quad's....but i m still stick with single core haha
Yeah agree. Especially the current AMD owners using AM2/AM2+ motherboards. Its a cheap upgrade to the quad-core experience and the associating performance boost. Although the performance isn't as what we all expect to be, but its a nice performance boost. Significant I would say, nothing fantastic however.
xen0
post Jan 31 2008, 01:20 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

quad core for me..i do a lot of video editing..vfx..video encoding..its all about video works laaa.. heheheh
S4PH
post Jan 31 2008, 05:35 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 31 2008, 11:12 AM)
Yeah agree. Especially the current AMD owners using AM2/AM2+ motherboards. Its a cheap upgrade to the quad-core experience and the associating performance boost. Although the performance isn't as what we all expect to be, but its a nice performance boost. Significant I would say, nothing fantastic however.
will need to use new socket for phenom 2 utilise the hypertransport 3 if just use AM2 no point not much performance increase and phenom is still new lotsa room for improvement.Just give amd some time and they will start drafting behind core 2 quad thumbup.gif

SeaMonster
post Jan 31 2008, 10:18 PM

2,056 posts

phenom launched abit late i think

general_odin
post Feb 1 2008, 01:37 AM

no work, no money
904 posts

way too late...
how does a tri core compare to a quad...

still prefer core 2 duo, coz saves more power
tkh_1001
post Feb 12 2008, 01:42 AM

2,547 posts

guys..a noobie question here... what if we were to compare dual and quad at the same clock? e.g: e6850 and q6600 both @3.2ghz...which one will give better performance?
SSJBen
post Feb 12 2008, 06:09 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Feb 12 2008, 01:42 AM)
guys..a noobie question here... what if we were to compare dual and quad at the same clock? e.g: e6850 and q6600 both @3.2ghz...which one will give better performance?
Multimedia apps(mostly) and multi-tasking = Q6600
Gaming and raw performance apps = A close one between the Q6600 and E6850, too identical to call a performance difference really.

The extra cache on the Q6600 may help in certain games, as well as the extra cores will also come into play for games which utilize multi-core CPU usage.

Of course, the E6850 will run significant cooler and consume less power.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Feb 12 2008, 06:10 AM
Lipyueng
post May 10 2008, 03:33 AM

442 posts

More core saved more power i do think so... i vote for quad core... simple... i m a laptop user... i do think multi core consume less power because i feel that when i m not heavy tasking the computer... i think it will last more longer then my old laptop... C2D user here...
magna_voxx
post May 11 2008, 03:19 PM

-Maximum Game-
1,071 posts

well.i'm voted for quad one.even not own one...but look like it got more advantage for forthcoming gaming,multi-tasking,benchmarks,bla,bla.... happy.gif
likito
post May 11 2008, 05:54 PM

1,468 posts

quad getting cheaper ,high C/P , is worth to get more core less job
Liuteva
post May 11 2008, 06:04 PM

Empty.
2,991 posts

Yup.. RM 5xx can grab a OEM quad smile.gif
riku2replica
post May 11 2008, 08:12 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

rm5xx?! shocking.gif u gotta be kidding... market price not sure coz never been to low yat for weeks.... sweat.gif
tkh_1001
post May 11 2008, 08:20 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Liuteva @ May 11 2008, 06:04 PM)
Yup.. RM 5xx can grab a OEM quad smile.gif
QUOTE(riku2replica @ May 11 2008, 08:12 PM)
rm5xx?! shocking.gif u gotta be kidding... market price not sure coz never been to low yat for weeks.... sweat.gif
from pinpinmiao? laugh.gif btw.. her stock is brand new ones kan?
fcuk90
post May 11 2008, 08:23 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ May 11 2008, 08:20 PM)
from pinpinmiao?  laugh.gif  btw.. her stock is brand new ones kan?
zhen wei got sell around rm520 if i not wrong for q6600
riku2replica
post May 11 2008, 08:27 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

zhen^wei ones rm550 lah....
seamonster is the 1 which is rm520 include postage.
nelienuxe_sara
post May 12 2008, 12:12 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

rm30 only diff
just grab if got cash ma
shoduken
post May 12 2008, 01:49 AM

1,741 posts

i actually own a quad core now.. the phenom 9550.. how come i didn't notice speed / games improvement over my old amd64 3000+ zzz

btw I have 4gb ram, and 9600gt512ddr3 somemore zzz.. is it maybe i'm using xp? i've installed the chipset and amd driver for this =(
SUSjoe_star
post May 12 2008, 01:51 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Hmm.........thread still going. I have to say dual core is still more than enough for the average joe. And must forget that I'm typing this offa single-core machine icon_idea.gif
clawhammer
post May 12 2008, 01:54 AM

///M
8,788 posts

There are so many reviews between Quad VS Dual on the Internet and they clearly show at what areas which the Quad would be better compared to Dual. If you don't do any of those tasks then forget about the Quad and use the money for a better graphics card or LCD smile.gif
hagiwara
post May 12 2008, 06:54 AM

- YUI -
777 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ May 12 2008, 01:49 AM)
i actually own a quad core now.. the phenom 9550.. how come i didn't notice speed / games improvement over my old amd64 3000+ zzz

btw I have 4gb ram, and 9600gt512ddr3 somemore zzz.. is it maybe i'm using xp? i've installed the chipset and amd driver for this =(
the problem is whether the games/applications can utilize quad core processors .. for gaming i think high end dual core is enough ..
D-Zire
post May 12 2008, 12:40 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 12 2008, 01:54 AM)
There are so many reviews between Quad VS Dual on the Internet and they clearly show at what areas which the Quad would be better compared to Dual. If you don't do any of those tasks then forget about the Quad and use the money for a better graphics card or LCD smile.gif
QUOTE(hagiwara @ May 12 2008, 06:54 AM)
the problem is whether the games/applications can utilize quad core processors .. for gaming i think high end dual core is enough ..
what they have said are very true...so the best bet is to get a dual core and spend the extra money on something else like better gc or better mobo..=)
teromen
post May 12 2008, 08:48 PM

help me.. then .. what should i buy? Quad6600... or the new C2D E8400?? which one better? i want better.. and perfect.. dont care if more power usage or anything.. what i want to know which one good.. coz i doing heavy job... like adobephotoshop.. programing and so on...

then can somebody propose to me what motherboard brand is suitable for this core... coz for me..gigabyte is such!.. any others? TQ

i already used athlon64 3500 with gigabyte mother board SLI..always hang!!...

Added on May 12, 2008, 8:52 pmthe prob is.. Quad 6600 only 2.40Ghz.. but C2D E8400 is 3.0GHz... for me E8400 is higher than Quad 6600... any ideal? which one good in term of performance? or Quad6600 much better?

This post has been edited by teromen: May 12 2008, 08:52 PM
Hongraphics
post May 13 2008, 11:07 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(teromen @ May 12 2008, 08:48 PM)
help me.. then .. what should i buy? Quad6600... or the new C2D E8400?? which one better? i want better.. and perfect.. dont care if more power usage or anything.. what i want to know which one good.. coz i doing heavy job... like adobephotoshop.. programing and so on...

then can somebody propose to me what motherboard brand is suitable for this core... coz for me..gigabyte is such!.. any others? TQ

Added on May 12, 2008, 8:52 pmthe prob is..  Quad 6600 only 2.40Ghz.. but C2D E8400 is 3.0GHz... for me E8400 is higher than Quad 6600... any ideal? which one good in term of performance? or Quad6600 much better?
Actually im deciding what machine to buy also, wanna buy it for better photoshop, flash, video editing/rendering and some gaming.
I read some reviews somewhere, E8400 is better in gaming such as crysis.. but lose in 3d/video rendering and photoshop.
Correct me if wrong smile.gif

dstl1128
post May 13 2008, 11:18 AM

4,464 posts

The way that the whole industry is moving, the more cores are going to be utilized. Obviously. It need not to be just for video rendering or folding.

Even Tim Sweeney is thinking back about software rendering - which have consistent output across display card. Even GPU is moving to multi-core + general purpose. So having 'software' rendering entirely in CPU or GPU might happen sooner.

I often max out a dual-core when testing multi-threaded programs on both host and wmware-ed environment. By that time, the whole response were sluggish.

The most suitable CPU right now should be those have the most cores as well as a good power-saving performance-on-demand features.

clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 11:39 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Hongraphics @ May 13 2008, 11:07 AM)
Actually im deciding what machine to buy also, wanna buy it for better photoshop, flash, video editing/rendering and some gaming.
I read some reviews somewhere, E8400 is better in gaming such as crysis.. but lose in 3d/video rendering and photoshop.
Correct me if wrong  smile.gif
"photoshop, flash, video editing/rendering" = Quad core smile.gif
If you don't do all these, get the Dual Core

Added on May 13, 2008, 11:43 am
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ May 13 2008, 11:18 AM)
The way that the whole industry is moving, the more cores are going to be utilized. Obviously. It need not to be just for video rendering or folding.

Even Tim Sweeney is thinking back about software rendering - which have consistent output across display card. Even GPU is moving to multi-core + general purpose. So having 'software' rendering entirely in CPU or GPU might happen sooner.
I often max out a dual-core when testing multi-threaded programs on both host and wmware-ed environment. By that time, the whole response were sluggish.

The most suitable CPU right now should be those have the most cores as well as a good power-saving performance-on-demand features.
It is always case by case basis and if everyone runs vmware then perhaps everyone should go Quad core. If a typical PC user that only does Microsoft Office, Internet surfing and gaming then a Dual Core works just as well. It's not easy to max out 100% CPU usage all the time unless we're doing something very extensive.

However, if the person has extra cash to spend then by all means get the most expensive CPU out there smile.gif

This post has been edited by clawhammer: May 13 2008, 11:43 AM
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 11:45 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(teromen @ May 12 2008, 09:48 PM)

Added on May 12, 2008, 8:52 pmthe prob is..  Quad 6600 only 2.40Ghz.. but C2D E8400 is 3.0GHz... for me E8400 is higher than Quad 6600... any ideal? which one good in term of performance? or Quad6600 much better?
u shud get a quad....get q6600, great value!!! thumbup.gif

those application dat u mention is design 2 utilized full potential of quad core.....................
u could always OC ur q6600..................
skymyxe
post May 13 2008, 11:47 AM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 11:45 AM)
u shud get a quad....get q6600, great value!!!  thumbup.gif

those application dat u mention is design 2 utilized full potential of quad core.....................
OC it to get a performance that can match those Extreme processors at stock. icon_rolleyes.gif
bryanyeo87
post May 13 2008, 11:47 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 11:45 AM)
u shud get a quad....get q6600, great value!!!  thumbup.gif

get a dual and get a quad raptor raid 0 array.

i would assume the .BMP files are larger then 1gb

but seriously, quad doesnt have much use in everyday usage. unless you wanna run megui and convert stack of dvd's to h264 la.

in gaming, well, its never utilized to the max, most i see on rivatuner would be like say, 75% maximum per core on crysis and assasins creed.

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: May 13 2008, 11:49 AM
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 11:59 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 12:47 PM)

but seriously, quad doesnt have much use in everyday usage. unless you wanna run megui and convert stack of dvd's to h264 la.

in gaming, well, its never utilized to the max, most i see on rivatuner would be like say, 75% maximum per core on crysis and assasins creed.
crysis & assassin's creed is built 4 dual core....dis is y..............
the only game dat i know which fully support quad is supreme commander & lost planet..............

the fact is, wen u use ur pc, u dun just run 1 application @ a time...........
u might run game, antivirus scan, nero, browser &............@ da same time........
dis is wen more cores come in2 play...............
clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 11:59 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 11:47 AM)

The statements are indeed very true and that being said, there are many reviews showing comparison on this. Many people had a misconception that more cores would give you a big boost in performance which isn't true. Again, it is very case and task specific to realize the gains of a Quad Core.
skymyxe
post May 13 2008, 12:12 PM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 13 2008, 11:59 AM)
The statements are indeed very true and that being said, there are many reviews showing comparison on this. Many people had a misconception that more cores would give you a big boost in performance which isn't true. Again, it is very case and task specific to realize the gains of a Quad Core.
Couldn't agree more. The advantages will be to those really using applications that will help boost performance during their working task. Usually dual-core would be sufficient enough but having those quads will really help on certain areas and applications needs.
goldfries
post May 13 2008, 12:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the only reason I'm eyeing on 4 cores is cos i plan to OC and run folding@home on all 4 cores. smile.gif or at least keep 2 cores running while i play games.
skymyxe
post May 13 2008, 12:23 PM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 13 2008, 12:16 PM)
the only reason I'm eyeing on 4 cores is cos i plan to OC and run folding@home on all 4 cores. smile.gif or at least keep 2 cores running while i play games.
That's pretty nice idea. Contribute to the environment nevertheless icon_rolleyes.gif
OC4/3
post May 13 2008, 12:30 PM

4,746 posts

Quad Core only if use heavily multithread application and folding.For normal usage,dual core definitely win.Quad Core is good for f@h brows.gif
bryanyeo87
post May 13 2008, 12:31 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 11:59 AM)
crysis & assassin's creed is built 4 dual core....dis is y..............
the only game dat i know which fully support quad is supreme commander & lost planet..............

the fact is, wen u use ur pc, u dun just run 1 application @ a time...........
u might run game, antivirus scan, nero, browser &............@ da same time........
dis is wen more cores come in2 play...............
crysis doenst even optimize 4 cores, when running the cpu benchmark of crysis, iw as looking at rivatuner on my 2nd monitor.

max it used was 75% 50% 25% 25% on all 4 cores at a particular time in the benchmark.

supreme commander is the same too, it will only ramp up to all 4 cores when u have like 8 players spammed across the map with 500 units each.

lost planet is 4 core optimized? recheck your facts pls.

assasin's creed uses like 90% 90% on a dual core. that i cannot confirm now, unless someone is willing to report back

AV scan uses 20% max, and that is for norton crapvirus, a better solution would be to get a raid0 array, since there will be more read/write access to the hdd. Nero conversion afaik, uses single thread. browser? wow, we need cpu powah to surf LYN D:

bottemline, what will you ever do with a quad? is it truly worth it or does it seem to be worth it.

and does the E8400 vs E2160 vs q6600 @ 3ghz differ much in everyday usage? hell no, in gaming? maybe a lil, but you barely notice it unless you're a dual monitor junkie like me keeping an eye on task manager and rivatuner

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: May 13 2008, 12:39 PM
goldfries
post May 13 2008, 12:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 13 2008, 11:39 AM)
"photoshop, flash, video editing/rendering" = Quad core smile.gif

oh. one thing about Photoshop. most of the time the core runs at like <4%.

only useful when applying filers and / or manipulating huge documents IMO.

quite often it doesn't actually utilize quad-core, not even dual-core capacity - especially when all you do is manipulate a few layers, cut here, crop there, apply filters over small area. smile.gif more RAM and more HDD space would actually be more helpful.

*yes, I use photoshop on nearly daily basis*
bryanyeo87
post May 13 2008, 12:35 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 13 2008, 12:33 PM)

quite often it doesn't actually utilize quad-core, not even dual-core capacity - especially when all you do is manipulate a few layers, cut here, crop there, apply filters over small area. smile.gif more RAM and more HDD space would actually be more helpful.

no you dont need more space, you need 4x raptors in raid 0

or as much as your sata ports raid 0 on 320gb hdd's D:

coz afaik, .BMP files are a real pita when using photochop. its like 900mb files D:
goldfries
post May 13 2008, 12:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 12:31 PM)
supreme commander is the same too, it will only ramp up to all 4 cores when u have like 10 players spammed across the map with 500 units each.

up to 8 players only leh. smile.gif units is one thing, the thing is that in order to reach the # of unit, the game has to go pretty long.

I've compared using A64 2800+@2.5ghz, X2 3600+@2.5ghz and E2140@3.2ghz

the difference is not noticeable at the start of the game.

it's during the later parts of the game that you appreciate the processing power.

the game lags. in the end 1 second in the game translates to 3 secs in real life, it could stretch even more meaning everything goes like 3x slower.

from my findings, when i was on single-core, i'll face the slowdown signficantly faster than on dual-core systems.

and comparing the my OCed X2 and PDC, i also saw the difference. took much longer before the PDC OCed system starts to slowdown.

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 12:31 PM)
and does the E8400 vs E2160 vs q6600 @ 3ghz differ much in everyday usage? hell no, in gaming? maybe a lil, but you barely notice it unless you're a dual monitor junkie like me keeping an eye on

the E2160 would lose out quite a fair bit. AFAIK it has to go a bit more in mhz to be comparable to the E8400 / Q6600 on a particular speed, due to the stripped down features like lacking of cache for example.

Added on May 13, 2008, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 12:35 PM)

coz afaik, .BMP files are a real pita when using photochop. its like 900mb files D:
space for the SWAP / TEMP files la. smile.gif it can grow pretty big.

of course, i won't be wanting 4x RAPTORS la. if you consider my usage, it doesn't warrant 4x RAPTORS on RAID 0. you can consider that should your files be like what you mentioned, 900MB where a lot of R/W. not in my case. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: May 13 2008, 12:39 PM
ikanayam
post May 13 2008, 12:47 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 13 2008, 12:33 AM)

Most photoshop filters will probably be GPU accelerated soon. If you have a decent GPU it will likely be many times faster than a CPU. There are already beta CUDA photoshop filters. http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtop...=0&#entry367663
wKkaY
post May 13 2008, 01:09 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 13 2008, 12:35 PM)

Stop giving bad advice. RAID-0 is unsafe as primary storage. Save a few seconds for each file IOP? So what? When one drive fails, the whole array gets taken with it and the user is left screwed. Depending when his last backups were made, he may have to catch up with a week's lost work. Not to mention the time spent reinstalling the OS and applications.

Repeat: RAID-0 is unsafe as primary storage.

Not to mention, getting more space can result in getting more (sequential) speed due to the increased platter density. New 500G drives are competitive with Raptor 150's sequential speed, while being 3x larger and 1/2 as cheap.
clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 02:07 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I think it's a never ending debate and what a person should do is to read up some reviews and understand what a Dual vs Quad core can do in different tasks, programs, games then decide what's best for himself. Honestly, there are plenty of them around the Internet and all we need is to "google" it up smile.gif I've read it myself too and base on that, I decide not to go for Quad core at this point in time. Not to mention that the Wolfdale's are better overclockers for now (in terms of performance VS money)
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 02:24 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

i've tested lost planet.......
there is an option 2 set either 2 o 4 cores...............

if u hav quad, set it to 4........den only ur c da performance of quad............

quad gives u more flexibility..........
as i said in previous post, u pc dun just run a single application @ a time...............

p/s: quad hav more OC potential den dual...............

dun compare OC for q6600 & 8xxx..........
it is just not fair, 65nm vs 45nm............

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 13 2008, 02:25 PM
skymyxe
post May 13 2008, 02:27 PM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 13 2008, 02:07 PM)
I think it's a never ending debate and what a person should do is to read up some reviews and understand what a Dual vs Quad core can do in different tasks, programs, games then decide what's best for himself. Honestly, there are plenty of them around the Internet and all we need is to "google" it up smile.gif I've read it myself too and base on that, I decide not to go for Quad core at this point in time. Not to mention that the Wolfdale's are better overclockers for now (in terms of performance VS money)
Nicely said there. I guess it all depends on user's specific tasks and usage as mentioned earlier. And performance/price ratio is the best guide to be referred to have a quality CPU that can save money and still deliver the perofrmance you need.
clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 02:50 PM

///M
8,788 posts

tech3910, what has 65nm vs 45nm got to do with performance of the CPU?
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 02:57 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 13 2008, 03:50 PM)
tech3910, what has 65nm vs 45nm got to do with performance of the CPU?
45nm has more OC potential.....................

basically(usually) smaller is better @ OC....
dstl1128
post May 13 2008, 03:20 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 13 2008, 11:39 AM)
It is always case by case basis and if everyone runs vmware then perhaps everyone should go Quad core. If a typical PC user that only does Microsoft Office, Internet surfing and gaming then a Dual Core works just as well. It's not easy to max out 100% CPU usage all the time unless we're doing something very extensive.

However, if the person has extra cash to spend then by all means get the most expensive CPU out there smile.gif
A trend on the web is that, javascript is getting the spotlight, and should the js vm making good use of threads... quad cores might be needed. You can try on website with full animation on js it could choke the entire browser but too bad it just utilizes 1 cores.

Other than that, well most 'office' task even a single core is enough. icon_rolleyes.gif
clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 03:37 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I had my C2D overclocked and did not have problems in almost everything I do including Java websites smile.gif If you open up a log to track CPU usage, you'll be suprised how hard it is to hit 100% all the time. Of course there are always exceptions which is why I say case by case basis. If we don't need it, don't get it and why not use the cash for something else. Those 27" LCD's are sweet, lol.
nelienuxe_sara
post May 13 2008, 04:22 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

30 inch more sweet ^^
riku2replica
post May 13 2008, 05:17 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

however... how long can core 2 duo last in market... which curious me....
clawhammer
post May 13 2008, 06:28 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ May 13 2008, 05:17 PM)
There would always be a new line, family of CPU's and this would depend on Intel's roadmap.
Core_Tracer
post May 13 2008, 06:55 PM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

my c2d still doing a good job......so far so good.....
really like to try the quad but dont have the budget right now
riku2replica
post May 13 2008, 07:39 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

the only thing i like about my current c2d is... the speed when extracting rar file.. but... my e6420 seems to have so heat porblem so still thinking of some solution... might want to try back that intel original hsf.
OC4/3
post May 13 2008, 08:18 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 02:57 PM)

basically(usually) smaller is better @ OC....
Not really.Q6600 vs Q9450,Q6600 win in max oc biggrin.gif Because 8x vs 9x multiplier sweat.gif
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 10:02 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 13 2008, 09:18 PM)
Not really.Q6600 vs Q9450,Q6600 win in max oc biggrin.gif Because 8x vs 9x multiplier sweat.gif
dis is b cause q9450 has less cache den 6600..............
try 9550 insted...........
sHawTY
post May 13 2008, 10:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 10:02 PM)
dis is b cause q9450 has less cache den 6600..............
try 9550 insted...........
Wrong.
Dude, stop posting nuts again and again.

Q9450 losses to Q6600 in overclocking is because of low multiplier, not because of the cache.
Cache has nothing to do with overclocking.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: May 13 2008, 10:09 PM
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 10:24 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 13 2008, 11:04 PM)
Wrong.
Dude, stop posting nuts again and again.

Q9450 losses to Q6600 in overclocking is because of low multiplier, not because of the cache.
multiplier & cache both is essential in OC.........
i nvr test the 9k series b4 (no sample)...............

anyway.....9450 & 9550 both has 12mb cache, 9550 shud do better @ OC....................

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 13 2008, 10:28 PM
tech_frix
post May 13 2008, 10:33 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

tech3910,May 13 2008, 10:24 PM]
i nvr test the 9k series b4 (no sample)...............

anyway.....9450 & 9550 both has 12mb cache, 9550 shud do better @ OC....................

u never tested it and u dare to give suggestion??? shocking.gif shocking.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by tech_frix: May 13 2008, 10:33 PM
tech3910
post May 13 2008, 10:38 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ May 13 2008, 11:33 PM)
u never tested it and u dare to give suggestion??? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif
i just got mix up wit da 9300 spec.......dats all............
tkh_1001
post May 13 2008, 11:17 PM

2,547 posts

even if u refering to q9300 specs u shud noe it still cant OC better than a q6600 right tongue.gif

n hope u can enlighten me on how cache affects OC notworthy.gif
goldfries
post May 14 2008, 12:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 10:24 PM)

right. my E2140 got 100% OC. tell me, what's the E2140's cache size if OC is sooooooo dependant on it?

and do you remember Celeron 300A? damn nice OCer.

do you remember AthlonXP 1700+? damn nice OCer.

and what was their cache? perhaps you didn't realize people that people (like myself) who personally hunted down such processors only looked at batch / stepping numbers? no one even bothered to look at their cache size. why? because it's not related to OCing!

Added on May 14, 2008, 12:07 am
QUOTE(riku2replica @ May 13 2008, 05:17 PM)
long time some more. it's just that games would probably the only application that's pushing for multiple cores most of the time.

graphic related application next.

web-browsing and office productivity suites, single core actually works really well. smile.gif and it'll be so for years to come.

This post has been edited by goldfries: May 14 2008, 12:07 AM
phunkydude
post May 14 2008, 12:18 AM

2,403 posts

voted quad ftw! coz quad gives 1 fold compares to dual, on folding output @ the same frequency.

-

just ignore that techxxx , u can ask him wat's cache for?
i bet he 100% no idea wat cache is.
but he'll never give up to argue on it. lolz

-

c2d will definitely lasts for few years more in market,
since there's no rival on its performance unless amd comes out with smthg. / or intel phase out c2d series (jk) tongue.gif
clawhammer
post May 14 2008, 01:18 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 14 2008, 12:05 AM)
right. my E2140 got 100% OC. tell me, what's the E2140's cache size if OC is sooooooo dependant on it?

and do you remember Celeron 300A? damn nice OCer.

do you remember AthlonXP 1700+? damn nice OCer.

and what was their cache? perhaps you didn't realize people that people (like myself) who personally hunted down such processors only looked at batch / stepping numbers? no one even bothered to look at their cache size. why? because it's not related to OCing!
+1 on that and yes, the cache is probably the last thing to worry about when it comes to overclocking. Well, I guess he probably got confused with the rest of the stuffs smile.gif
sHawTY
post May 14 2008, 01:19 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 10:24 PM)
ROFLMAOBBQSAUCESTALEMARSHMALLOWS

Stop talking nonsense before you hurt yourself.

If you're not sure about something, ask, don't make up stupid assumptions like that.
gamers maniac
post May 14 2008, 01:33 AM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 14 2008, 01:19 AM)
ROFLMAOBBQSAUCESTALEMARSHMALLOWS

Stop talking nonsense before you hurt yourself.

If you're not sure about something, ask, don't make up stupid assumptions like that.
for OCer what is important is how high u can OC ur proc regardless what cache or stock speed. thats y 2160 is more popular than e4xxx eventhough the cache is bigger and better. notworthy.gif . the target is to get the max out of the chip wif the lowest cost of money. cache and etc come 2nd. flex.gif
tech3910
post May 14 2008, 02:05 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ May 14 2008, 12:17 AM)
even if u refering to q9300 specs u shud noe it still cant OC better than a q6600 right tongue.gif 
n hope u can enlighten me on how cache affects OC notworthy.gif
flash bck..................
i did not mention 9300 will beat 6600 in OC
goldfries
post May 14 2008, 03:14 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 14 2008, 02:05 AM)
no one said you did either.

did you note that tkh_1001 used the words "EVEN IF". smile.gif

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 02:57 PM)

but this statement sort of implies that.

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 13 2008, 02:24 PM)
p/s: quad hav more OC potential den dual...............

and can you explain this?
toughnut
post May 14 2008, 08:35 AM

3,239 posts

this thread derailed for quadcore advantage to OC stuff... lol

anyway, i will go for quadcore if given the chances. OC it to the max and time to encode video for my PMP biggrin.gif
tech_frix
post May 14 2008, 09:33 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 14 2008, 02:05 AM)
sudah la bro...
stop sitting nonsense k?
just admit that u r wrong...
and i oso surprise when u mentioning cache for OCing...
my E2160 @3ghz can tapau E4xxx series on several games and benchmark...
using same card tho... sweat.gif sweat.gif
its ok to make mistake but at least admit it k??
xen0
post May 14 2008, 10:17 AM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

that tech guy, coming from where? from the future? year 3910?
Federer
post May 14 2008, 10:19 AM

290 posts

So for gaming now E8400 is a better choice than Q6600?What about for future games in 1 or 2 years?
skymyxe
post May 14 2008, 10:24 AM

1,047 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ May 14 2008, 10:19 AM)
So for gaming now E8400 is a better choice than Q6600?What about for future games in 1 or 2 years?
Better focus on your GC for games. The GPU would differentiate the game performance significantly.

Added on May 14, 2008, 10:25 am
QUOTE(xen0 @ May 14 2008, 10:17 AM)
Just pardon him aite. Let's not flame no one. Even he makes mistakes, ain't we all did. So let's just focus to the main topic right back aite.

This post has been edited by skymyxe: May 14 2008, 10:25 AM
clawhammer
post May 14 2008, 05:41 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ May 14 2008, 10:19 AM)
Even an E2140 overclocked with a 8800GT will rip a Q6600 overclocked with a 8600GT. The graphics card would play an important role in games. In the earlier days, we often refer to 3dmark scores but today, higher 3dmark scores doesn't mean that card would do well in a particular game. It all comes down to benchmark which is done in the game itself.

Future for games in 1-2 years? It's still very hard to predict - technology is moving too fast biggrin.gif
tech3910
post May 14 2008, 11:26 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 14 2008, 04:14 AM)
and can you explain this?
quad is generally clocked @ lower speed den dual........
by comparison, it can reach higher oc percentage compared 2 n already high clock speed dual core..........

generally speaking also, quad tend 2 kick dual core ass wen both r OC 2 da max.......
tech_frix
post May 14 2008, 11:28 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 14 2008, 11:26 PM)
by comparison, it can reach higher oc percentage compared 2 n already high clock speed dual core..........

generally speaking also, quad tend 2 kick dual core ass wen both r OC 2 da max.......
what is that going to do with OCing????!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
heizad
post May 15 2008, 12:08 AM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ May 14 2008, 11:28 PM)
what is that going to do with OCing????!!! rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
let him be...
tech_frix
post May 15 2008, 12:15 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ May 15 2008, 12:08 AM)
let him be...
ok la abang...
will listen to u and will let him be... sleep.gif sleep.gif ph34r.gif bruce.gif grumble.gif
riku2replica
post May 15 2008, 12:20 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

dual and quad arguments still goes on... dragging...
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:28 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ May 15 2008, 12:28 AM)
what is that going to do with OCing????!!! rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
ie.

c2d 3.0 can OC till 4ghz = 33.33% improvement compared 2 original 3.0

c2q 2.4 can oc till 3.6ghz = 50% improvement compared 2 original 3.0

dun get me wrong, wad i'm saying is quad achieve better ratio not highest speed.........

ya, i compared using similar performing processor.........

b cause dual core originally clock @ such high speed, it cannot go higher due 2 heat..........
tkh_1001
post May 15 2008, 12:30 AM

2,547 posts

ah bro ar.... u compare highest end dual vs lowest end quad where got fair leh?

n then do u know lowest end e2140 G0 stepping can OC from stock 1.6ghz to 3.8ghz? smile.gif

i guess those how many percent already ya?

visit overclockers united e2xx OCing thread if u dont believe thumbup.gif

tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:30 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ May 14 2008, 11:17 AM)
i wish i could live till 3k...........
just 2 c how technology is by dat time........ha ha ha laugh.gif

Added on May 15, 2008, 12:33 am
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ May 15 2008, 01:30 AM)
ah bro ar.... u compare highest end dual vs lowest end quad where got fair leh?

n then do u know lowest end e2140 G0 stepping can OC from stock 1.6ghz to 3.8ghz? smile.gif

i guess those how many percent already ya?

visit overclockers united e2xx OCing thread if u dont believe thumbup.gif
i know, dats y i'd mention i compared similar performance processor.................

bt it is true, quad totally kick ass wen it is OC.........

go quad!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 15 2008, 12:34 AM
sHawTY
post May 15 2008, 12:39 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Stop talking crap already.
Dude, i don't want to say this but, you don't know anything. So stop acting like you know everything already.

Have you ever looked at the highest overclocked e6600?

Someone managed to overclock an E6600 to 4.5GHz, but the maximum a Q6600 can do is only 4GHz, and that's very rare.
While there are a lot of E6600 that can do 4GHz.

E6600 & Q6600 is on the same clock speed and they has the same number of multiplier and they have the same FSB and bus speed.
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:43 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 15 2008, 01:39 AM)
Stop talking crap already.
Dude, i don't want to say this but, you don't know anything. So stop acting like you know everything already.

Have you ever looked at the highest overclocked e6600?

Someone managed to overclock an E6600 to 4.5GHz, but the maximum a Q6600 can do is only 4GHz, and that's very rare.
While there are a lot of E6600 that can do 4GHz.

E6600 & Q6600 is on the same clock speed and they has the same number of multiplier and they have the same FSB and bus speed.
i said generally...........
i accept criticism, cause i'm in good mood 2day...ha ha ha laugh.gif

anyway, i'm talking bout max on air cooled..............

bt 1 fact u cannot deny is quad kick ass........ notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 15 2008, 12:43 AM
Melfice
post May 15 2008, 12:49 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 12:43 AM)

mostly u talking everything is Quad's kick ass ... because u're using Q6600 ?? .. i bet there still other Processor than can beat urz .. and even a dual-core ... I admit that i did not know anything about OC .. but at least i did not pretend like i know it ~ ~ perhaps i nid to learn more before making any assumptions tongue.gif
E-J@1
post May 15 2008, 01:00 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

omg, i really can't believe this guy rclxub.gif doh.gif

so now its "i said generally..." la pulak to save ur arse? doh.gif

please la stop posting Shit.Pointless.Annoying.Message.

please la, i'm begging ya, u disgrace this forum

maybe next time its good to report ur post if its a SPAM rolleyes.gif
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 01:01 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Melfice @ May 15 2008, 01:49 AM)
mostly u talking everything is Quad's kick ass ... because u're using Q6600 ?? .. i bet there still other Processor than can beat urz .. and even a dual-core ... I admit that i did not know anything about OC .. but at least i did not pretend like i know it ~ ~ perhaps i nid to learn more before making any assumptions  tongue.gif
yeah, there is some dual core is better den quad in stock speed.............
but quad tek bck da lead wen oc till max...................

seriously, i do recommend quad, great value.......
after all, the topic here is quad advantage........... icon_rolleyes.gif
Melfice
post May 15 2008, 01:04 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 01:01 AM)

wow , okay ~ great value is for someone with money la .. tongue.gif
okok , just stop posting pointless thing okay biggrin.gif
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 01:06 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Melfice @ May 15 2008, 02:04 AM)
wow , okay ~ great value is for someone with money la ..  tongue.gif
okok , just stop posting pointless thing okay  biggrin.gif
k k, bt quad nowadays also quite cheap edi.........
OC4/3
post May 15 2008, 01:08 AM

4,746 posts

Seem like you know nothing about oc.Do you know how hard is it to oc a quad??Do you know dual die(intel quads) need more power,usually the mofset design is 180W, that is for the average board?Do you know how hard is it to get a quad to run at 500FSB laugh.gif

Go Here

This post has been edited by OC4/3: May 15 2008, 01:20 AM
bryanyeo87
post May 15 2008, 01:12 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 12:28 AM)
ie.

c2d 3.0 can OC till 4ghz = 33.33% improvement compared 2 original 3.0

c2q 2.4 can oc till 3.6ghz = 50% improvement compared 2 original 3.0

dun get me wrong, wad i'm saying is quad achieve better ratio not highest speed.........

ya, i compared using similar performing processor.........

b cause dual core originally clock @ such high speed, it cannot go higher due 2 heat..........
to get 3.6ghz, not many can be done, either due to heat, or wall. and in malaysian weather, non aircond, water is only barely enough, and that is water with a custom loop.

try it and you will know. smile.gif

max on air is not 3.6ghz, in malaysian weather using TRUE 120 ex with a nmb screamer, temps touched 68c at 3.4ghz, and i decided to called it quits, time to slap some water. dont believe? ask the Q6600 oc thread smile.gif

unless ofc you run aircond@ 20c , which is pretty much not fair laugh.gif

Added on May 15, 2008, 1:14 am
QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 01:06 AM)
k k, bt quad nowadays also quite cheap edi.........
that is true, but only if you multi task that is, and multi task on multi threaded apps smile.gif

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: May 15 2008, 01:14 AM
goldfries
post May 15 2008, 01:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 12:28 AM)

E2140 @ 100% easily. already proves your statement wrong.

your justification so far does not hold water.

judging by your posts so far, you're posting a bunch of nonsense. and i can see the hostility towards you, all because of the crap you posted.

so now, here's what i think

1. you better stop posting crap before i issue you a 10% warn
2. as to the rest - ignore the fella............NOT. if you see wrong information, kindly CORRECT IT. just do it in a polite way. simple as that.
bryanyeo87
post May 15 2008, 01:16 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

it depends, if you run multi threaded programs, then of course there is an advantage, but there is not that many programs that run multi thread at the moment smile.gif

what is max oc? for daily 24/7? i would give LYN forumers about say 3.4ghz max? its either due to heat or wall that they do not go higher

Added on May 15, 2008, 1:16 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ May 15 2008, 01:15 AM)
E2140 @ 100% easily. already proves your statement wrong.

your justification so far does not hold water.

judging by your posts so far, you're posting a bunch of nonsense. and i can see the hostility towards you, all because of the crap you posted.

so now, here's what i think

1. you better stop posting crap before i issue you a 10% warn
2. as to the rest - ignore the fella............NOT. if you see wrong information, kindly CORRECT IT. just do it in a polite way. simple as that.
yes boss notworthy.gif

respect the red tagged people, they usually whoop ass tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: May 15 2008, 01:16 AM
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 01:19 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 15 2008, 02:16 AM)
it depends, if you run multi threaded programs, then of course there is an advantage, but there is not that many programs that run multi thread at the moment smile.gif

what is max oc? for daily 24/7? i would give LYN forumers about say 3.4ghz max? its either due to heat or wall that they do not go higher

Added on May 15, 2008, 1:16 am

yes boss  notworthy.gif

respect the red tagged people, they usually whoop ass tongue.gif
i dun OC 24/7...........
u shud b able 2 reach 3.6 in n air con room.........
after all, q6600 can reach 90+ degree.............
OC4/3
post May 15 2008, 01:23 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ May 15 2008, 01:19 AM)
i dun OC 24/7...........
3.6ghz cannot be done on stock hsf,at least for 24/7.3.4ghz and above need liquid cooler or else temp sure sky rocket to 80+ C even use IFX14 whistling.gif
bryanyeo87
post May 15 2008, 01:25 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

i dun OC 24/7...........
yea, i did reach 3.6ghz on a air cooler, xigmatek s1283 with nmb screamer to be exact.

volts were 1.375v, measured with a DMM,

guess the temps?

Throttle starts at about 75~85c
Intel max specified temp for G0 is 71c
OC4/3
post May 15 2008, 01:28 AM

4,746 posts

3.6ghz cannot be done on stock hsf,at least for 24/7.3.4ghz and above need liquid cooler if you value your cpu.3.4ghz is pretty much the max on air without sky rocket temperature as bryanyeo87 show. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by OC4/3: May 15 2008, 01:30 AM
phunkydude
post May 16 2008, 03:24 PM

2,403 posts

i dun OC 24/7...........
my god@!!
now he thinks " tjmax = intel recommended temps. for processor!!!?!?!?!?!?!! "

i'm pretty sure he got alot more craps to post in this thread later.
ikanayam
post May 16 2008, 03:29 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ May 14 2008, 01:25 PM)
yea, i did reach 3.6ghz on a air cooler, xigmatek s1283 with nmb screamer to be exact.

volts were 1.375v, measured with a DMM,

guess the temps?

Throttle starts at about 75~85c
Intel max specified temp for G0 is 71c
Did you check whether any throttling is happening? Pretty sure core1 is already throttling at that temp, since you're measuring the external temperature. Where exactly is the thermometer placed?
Onyx_black
post May 16 2008, 04:08 PM

449 posts

Assume you have the NVIDIA 8800 Ultra and cranking up the resolution up to 1280X1024 in Crysis will be extremely GPU bound, doesn't matter if you have a quad-core and dual ones. In other words, the CPU is powerful enough to churn out those video data to your GPU very rapidly; the GPU on the other hand can't keep up with the CPU.
http://www.guru3d.com/article/cpu-scaling-...re-processors/1

Speaking 'bout cores in a CPU, http://www.steampowered.com/status/survey.html
...this goes to show that core solo ownzzz. laugh.gif
gregy
post May 16 2008, 04:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 15 2008, 01:23 AM)
3.6ghz cannot be done on stock hsf,at least for 24/7.3.4ghz and above need liquid cooler or else temp sure sky rocket to 80+ C even use IFX14  whistling.gif
Well to his credit he didn't say stock cooling to 3.6 smile.gif

As for needing water, your mileage will vary depending on individual processor. I think it's fair to say that few here have extensive experience with many different Quads to accurately represent a generalised result of how high a Quad can go on air.

I've done it with a TRUE in an enclosed CM Stacker without air cond, but then again I have four 12cm (65cfm) fans blowing in from the side, plus a 12cm (110cfm) fan exhausting from the rear. Two FM-121s were doing a push-pull on the TRUE. Noise levels? Walau-eh smile.gif

The only reason I switched to water is to reduce the noise pollution for watching movies smile.gif

Anyway, my point is, if someone can't achieve 3.6 on air, doesn't mean *all* Quads aren't able to do so. By that same token I can't say all Quads can run 3.6 on air based on my own experience.

xen0
post May 16 2008, 04:49 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

i dun OC 24/7...........
i want u to be our lab rat first... whistling.gif
i asked 'otai-otai' OCer (like kmarc..) in oc thread..try not to reach over 70c..but hey, who wants to go that far? doh.gif

QUOTE(phunkydude @ May 16 2008, 03:24 PM)
my god@!!
now he thinks " tjmax = intel recommended temps. for processor!!!?!?!?!?!?!! "

i'm pretty sure he got alot more craps to post in this thread later.
perhaps.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: May 16 2008, 05:11 PM
Terence573
post May 16 2008, 04:55 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

bcoz I do almost 24/7 for my com....never dare to OC to stay at that temp....Wats the highest can q6600 can go paired with DDR800 ram?
xen0
post May 16 2008, 05:15 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ May 16 2008, 04:55 PM)
bcoz I do almost 24/7 for my com....never dare to OC to stay at that temp....Wats the highest can q6600 can go paired with DDR800 ram?
me 24/7 too...400x8=3.2Ghz kinda mild OCing smile.gif

talk about highest, its 4Ghz..but really rare..hardwares and cooling solution must be good..
hmm..3.6-3.8Ghz is a good achievement.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: May 16 2008, 05:18 PM
LExus65
post May 16 2008, 05:49 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

xeno, 3.2ghz on G0 q6600 is kacang lol............ but still pack a punch to lots of stuff quickly.......

xen0
post May 16 2008, 05:56 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 16 2008, 05:49 PM)
xeno, 3.2ghz on G0 q6600 is kacang lol............ but still pack a punch to lots of stuff quickly.......
thats why i called it "mild" wink.gif

This post has been edited by xen0: May 16 2008, 05:57 PM
riku2replica
post May 16 2008, 06:58 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

but maybe not for Q6600 b3 stepping 7
night killer
post May 16 2008, 07:03 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 16 2008, 05:49 PM)
blush.gif the Q6600 stable runing 24 /7 is wat actually ... or get the Q6700 better? icon_question.gif
tkh_1001
post May 16 2008, 07:32 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(night killer @ May 16 2008, 07:03 PM)
blush.gif the Q6600 stable runing 24 /7 is wat actually ... or get the Q6700 better? icon_question.gif
24/7= 24 hours ,7 days a week tongue.gif

q6700 have higher multiplier... but that doesnt mean u can OC a lot more higher....

jsut get a q6600 is good enuf for ur bucks thumbup.gif
-pWs-
post May 16 2008, 07:58 PM

8,545 posts

Seconded. Q6600 really a budget quad smile.gif

-pWs-
mrpac_187
post May 16 2008, 09:02 PM

85 posts

quad core is suitable for designer heavy metal hardrock core crazy biggrin.gif but really, it serves me very well XD
xen0
post May 19 2008, 03:54 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

http://209.85.171.104/translate_c?hl=en&u=...ficial%26sa%3DN

for those who wonder the significant of cpu cores quantity in pc gaming....
ir1z
post May 19 2008, 04:26 PM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

hahaha quad core user here q6600 running at 24/7 3.6Ghz 400x9 temp around 50+ with no air cond even with high gaming running(supreme com with full blast army 1000 unit with 8 players) wont go beyond 62C.

with air cond on can go as low as 40C on my rig using HSF red scorpion(full blast stock fan)

And for the record its running great since first installed in january 08

This post has been edited by ir1z: May 19 2008, 04:26 PM
riku2replica
post May 19 2008, 06:56 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

i dun OC 24/7...........
a Q6600(B3) did gets to 90c++ with stock hsf(used, some old thermal paste still stuck on the hsf) without applying a new thermal paste... doh.gif
public_bank
post May 24 2008, 01:07 PM

90 posts

right.i wonder if i can use all the quad core.hehe
Braynumb
post Jun 22 2008, 09:17 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

Guess different people have different needs for pc usage.. I'm using mine for Games, Web designing photo editing and audio mixing.. so, Quad core is essential for me.. so, I vote for Quad core... hehehe
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 22 2008, 09:33 PM

1,533 posts

woot!! still got ppl vote for single core... haha... single core seems not enough for me... dual core more than enough... quadcore 4x more than enough... haha
Vor
post Jun 22 2008, 11:18 PM

388 posts

My Q9450 is serving me very well for 3D Designing, rendering, video encoding/rendering as well as doing multiple stuff without wasting my time. Quad 4 t3h winrar smile.gif
ristikol
post Jun 23 2008, 01:24 PM

\~*Grand Belial's Key*~/
1,049 posts

Quad Core FTW!
hussam_o_r
post Jun 23 2008, 02:43 PM

NOT IN MALAYSIA ANYMORE
517 posts

Quad is good
wiNd
post Jun 23 2008, 03:18 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

you will see "advantage" when you starts doing video encoding & photo editing with a Quad.

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jun 23 2008, 03:18 PM
Kagaya
post Jun 23 2008, 09:13 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(drgadgets @ Jan 3 2008, 07:48 PM)

Eventhough I'm still a single core user, I believe those who adopt a multicore rig, as high as quad core, is rather wasteful. Only if you are into HD content, wide-screen gaming and multitasking.

Waiting for a true MAINSTREAM program that can truly harness the raw power of a multicore processor is futile. MP3 player? Office productivity suit? It'll never reach that stage. Perhaps some serious number cruncher, 3D rendering and programming, or as a mainframe serving multiple thin clients, that I believe the more core the better.

If user now felt that their multi-core processor isn't fully utilized, perhaps they should start playing with Processor Affinity; where user will set all SYSTEM task to Core 0, while user task to Core 1, and separate it as those processes are multi-thread but non-SIMD. icon_rolleyes.gif
glen_cct
post Jun 23 2008, 09:24 PM

.:: [ 仁.義 ] ::.
584 posts

@Respond to 1st post

A friend of mine using a Quad Core, less ram than i had but smoother than i got. (lol this is nonsense XD sure smoother tongue.gif)

Anywhere, thinking to get 1 also, but intel got announced it will come out 6-cores this year right~ (see see first)

PLUS, recently in forum had found out, not every program are fully utilize Quad Core...

This post has been edited by glen_cct: Jun 23 2008, 09:25 PM
tech3910
post Jun 23 2008, 11:20 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

4get about dual o quad.........

how bout 2++ cores? nVidia CUDA any1?
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 23 2008, 11:34 PM

1,533 posts

@Kagaya
thanks for the idea... now then i know about the affinity and playing it now... i notice that core0 doesnt have any usage when i set all the system to that core... i wanna ask will it be lag if the usage in 2nd core is high?
anyway i dont think it will be wasteful for me as i do play HD content and those graphic things... hehe

This post has been edited by Aquariusdenz: Jun 23 2008, 11:36 PM
awang
post Jun 25 2008, 11:22 AM

478 posts

whatever u guys said, i still think HDD makes everything slow be it on dual or quad when fully utilised..i just cant stand it..haih
Aquariusdenz
post Jun 25 2008, 01:13 PM

1,533 posts

hmm come to think of it... it make sense also... my HDD always lag and loading so slow...
NOX
post Jun 25 2008, 10:56 PM

278 posts

^but today's SSD (solid state disc).. so no more slow hdd..

its depend on software.. if u still using xp and not a hardcore video encoder/gamer, then single core is enough.. dual core mean gaming for me..

<sorry for bad english>..
ameque
post Jun 25 2008, 11:11 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 25 2008, 10:56 PM)
^but today's SSD (solid state disc).. so no more slow hdd..

its depend on software.. if u still using xp and not a hardcore video encoder/gamer, then single core is enough.. dual core mean gaming for me..

<sorry for bad english>..
for me dual core already enough. yeah hdd thing is the annoying thing.
but if quad core price is as low as rm499, who wouldnt want one rite? whistling.gif

Federer
post Jun 26 2008, 01:26 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 23 2008, 11:20 PM)
4get about dual o quad.........

how bout 2++ cores? nVidia CUDA any1?
Is it a cpu?
tech3910
post Jun 26 2008, 03:39 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ Jun 26 2008, 02:26 AM)
Is it a cpu?
its GPU, which nVidia will use 2 challenge intel domination.....

its actually 2 c how these 2 completely different architecture goes up against each other...........
brian12988
post Jun 26 2008, 09:02 AM

1,263 posts

i am currently using a dual core...and running illustrator sometimes it just hangs... laugh.gif so i would really go for quad core...but no money buy..so must use mental support... doh.gif

using a GPU to challenge a CPU...its like a bear and a silver back gorilla.....who will win??
Federer
post Jun 26 2008, 09:48 AM

290 posts

I wonder why the core can't past 3++ GHz at the factory
k!nex
post Jun 26 2008, 10:43 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ Jun 26 2008, 09:48 AM)
coz the factory has lots of factors to be considered:
1.the heat it produced(higher frequency produce more heat),since stock coolers are generally not good enuf especially for quads.
2.the amount of power it draws,the higher ur frequency, the more current it draws from TNB(very true during OC)
3.the warranty it gives u,manufacturers need to assure close to 100% stability(no system in the world has 100% stability) and good life span of the chip.
4.Quota of production.Example:intel feels tht not many Kentsfield procs can pass 3.0Ghz(they test it throughly before they brand it, thts y u get Q6600,Q6700-->its the same chip) while maintaining the same TDP of 130W with all other Kentsfield proc,maintain the same Vcore used by Q6600 and maintain the same amount of stability and predicted lifespan of Q6600. its true, some might be able to do it but the quantity wise is very little,how to sell the product then considering additional cost of packaging for new variant of the proc and other factors. like dat might as well scrap the plan for 3ghz version.
tech3910
post Jun 26 2008, 12:18 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Federer @ Jun 26 2008, 10:48 AM)
dis thread already answer u.............
b couse people figure out dat having multicore is a better solution den having faster proc.......
aminius
post Jun 26 2008, 12:53 PM

104 posts

going for Quaddie~~

Weeee!
Vor
post Jun 27 2008, 12:20 AM

388 posts

How about using Intel Death Trail mobo & equip it with two quad extreme ftw!! ur gonna own a 8x core!!
k!nex
post Jun 27 2008, 02:12 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Vor @ Jun 27 2008, 12:20 AM)
How about using Intel Death Trail mobo & equip it with two quad extreme ftw!! ur gonna own a 8x core!!
i've read news about intel bringing back the hyper threading technology in P4 days to its upcoming CPU production.quad core become virtual 8 cores.just wish more applications will make use of so many cores.
tech3910
post Jun 27 2008, 05:12 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 27 2008, 03:12 PM)
i've read news about intel bringing back the hyper threading technology in P4 days to its upcoming CPU production.quad core become virtual 8 cores.just wish more applications will make use of so many cores.
nehalem is actually quad core wit 8 threads..............
so it will simulate 8 cores, nice

0.1223sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:45 PM