7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Using CIMB ATM Card Overseas, Activated...but which ATMs can use?

fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 12:56 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 12:51 AM)
oh, I forgot, you must go get the coolest Debit Card on Planet Earth where I believe it should have the Plus logo and this card will be accepted even if your company sent you on a intergalactic assignment  laugh.gif 

I wanted the Superman Maybank card. laugh.gif
Sorry, quick and noob question... Since Debit Card directly deducts from my bank account balance... How to ensure that if I lost my card today and somebody picks it up, will this person able to swipe anything and deduct from my balance? Any security measurement will be applied before any charges can be charged to debit card? I know if credit card, will need to block card and raise dispute but at least it is a credit card, so no actual payment is deducted from me yet...

Apologies for this stupid question because I only have normal ATM and credit cards. blush.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:00 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 12:56 AM)
Sorry, quick and noob question... Since Debit Card directly deducts from my bank account balance... How to ensure that if I lost my card today and somebody picks it up, will this person able to swipe anything and deduct from my balance? Any security measurement will be applied before any charges can be charged to debit card? I know if credit card, will need to block card and raise dispute but at least it is a credit card, so no actual payment is deducted from me yet...

Apologies for this stupid question because I only have normal ATM and credit cards. blush.gif
The beauty of a Debit Card is that you can control your damage, i.e. only deposit the amount you need into the account that is linked to the card. Not sure for China but it Australia we need to key in the PIN number when using Debit Card to pay for stuff at outlets; however, recently at Woolworths (one of the 2 biggest supermarket in Oz) one do not need to key in the PIN if amount less than AUD30.

Just like credit cards, guard your debit cards with your life tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2013, 01:02 AM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:00 AM)
The beauty of a Debit Card is that you can control your damage, i.e. only deposit the amount you need into the account that is linked to the card. Not sure for China but it Australia we need to key in the PIN number when using Debit Card to pay for stuff at outlets; however, recently at Woolworths (one of the 2 biggest supermarket in Oz) one do not need to key in the PIN if amount less than AUD30.

Just like credit cards, guard your debit cards with your lifeĀ  tongue.gif
sweat.gif Pretty dangerous isn't it if I lost the card? sweat.gif
hmm.gif Maybe I will need to open a new Maybank savings account and just use it for debit card purpose.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 15 2013, 01:04 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:10 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:03 AM)
sweat.gif Pretty dangerous isn't it if I lost the card? sweat.gif
hmm.gif Maybe I will need to open a new Maybank savings account and just use it for debit card purpose.
Yes, I think that is best. Go open new MBB Savings Acct (in another branch) and get another Debit Card.

ICBC UnionPay Debit Card.

Citibank Visa Debit Card with Plus Logo - new Savings Acct nominal amount to open. Just go deposit RM50 when the Personal Banker ask you how much you want deposit. Say you will transfer later from M2U.

Hong Leong Bank Transformer Visa Debit Card with Plus Logo - new Savings Acct with RM1K deposit but you can withdraw next day I believe but must maintain RM10 but better you check with them, I might be wrong here.

UOB MasterCard with Cirrus Logo - New Savings Accout with RM450 deposit I think but can go withdraw next day. This card good if lost, withdrawal limit only RM1K/day.

Transfer only the amount required from M2U account to the above related Savings Acct.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2013, 01:14 AM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:13 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:10 AM)
Yes, I think that is best.

ICBC UnionPay Debit Card.

Citibank Visa Debit Card with Plus Logo - new Savings Acct nominal amount to open. Just go deposit RM50 when the Personal Banker ask you how much you want deposit. Say you will transfer later from M2U.

Hong Leong Bank Transformer Visa Debit Card with Plus Logo - new Savings Acct with RM1K deposit but you can withdraw next day I believe but must maintain RM10 but better you check with them, I might be wrong here.

UOB MasterCard with Cirrus Logo - New Savings Accout with RM450 deposit I think but can go withdraw next day. This card good if lost, withdrawal limit only RM1K/day.

Transfer only the amount required from M2U account to the above cards.
Good points and well noted. smile.gif
Then, I don't need to get a Maybank Debit Card yet since it is my main bank, I really don't want to risk it for unnecessary risky things. sweat.gif
Just let it use for ATM and Giro purpose only. sweat.gif

Looks like it is Citibank and UOB now since I will get Plus and Cirrus. Of course ICBC for UnionPay.
Anymore other choices besides UOB For Cirrus?

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 15 2013, 01:14 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:13 AM)
Good points and well noted. smile.gif
Then, I don't need to get a Maybank Debit Card yet since it is my main bank, I really don't want to risk it for unnecessary risky things. sweat.gif
Just let it use for ATM and Giro purpose only. sweat.gif

Looks like it is Citibank and UOB now since I will get Plus and Cirrus. Of course ICBC for UnionPay.
Anymore other choices besides UOB For Cirrus?
I just edited my earlier post. Open MBB account at another branch and get a new debit card. Maybe open a joint account where the first name is not yours? MBB is MasterCard so it should be Cirrus.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2013, 01:17 AM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:22 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:16 AM)
I just edited my earlier post. Open MBB account at another branch and get a new debit card. Maybe open a joint account where the first name is not yours? MBB is MasterCard so it should be Cirrus.
Actually besides for Cirrus, what could be the reason I should go for Maybank Debit Card? Assuming if I don't want to open any joint account for the trouble and also there is a risk of my bank account could be exploited? For any other convenience?

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 15 2013, 01:23 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:30 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:22 AM)
Actually besides for Cirrus, what could be the reason I should go for Maybank Debit Card? Assuming if I don't want to open any joint account for the trouble and also there is a risk of my bank account could be exploited? For any other convenience?
None.

I guess you got no reasons now for not accepting the China assignment since your concern in respect to access to cash there is solved with you having debit cards from our local incorporated banks. There goes my chance to replace you for the China assignment but it is getting brighter for me to stand in for you here, hahahahaha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2013, 01:31 AM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:36 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:30 AM)
None.

I guess you got no reasons now for not accepting the China assignment since your concern in respect to access to cash there is solved with you having debit cards from our local incorporated banks. There goes my chance to replace you for the China assignment but it is getting brighter for me to stand in for you here, hahahahaha
laugh.gif Let's see how it goes, I have been really unlucky with all these applications lately.
My plan:
1) Open savings account in ICBC to get their debit card that comes with UnionPay
2) Open savings account in Citibank to get their debit card that comes with Plus
3) Open savings account in UOB to get their debit card that comes with Cirrus (optional if I'm not too busy laugh.gif)
4) Status quo for my Maybank, let it continue in ATM now, not changing it to debit card. laugh.gif

I guess with my plan, I hope I can execute whatever I intended in China with no interruption. I shall report here for updates.
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:36 AM)
laugh.gif Let's see how it goes, I have been really unlucky with all these applications lately.
My plan:
1) Open savings account in ICBC to get their debit card that comes with UnionPay
2) Open savings account in Citibank to get their debit card that comes with Plus
3) Open savings account in UOB to get their debit card that comes with Cirrus (optional if I'm not too busy laugh.gif)
4) Status quo for my Maybank, let it continue in ATM now, not changing it to debit card. laugh.gif

I guess with my plan, I hope I can execute whatever I intended in China with no interruption. I shall report here for updates.
And don't forget, you still got your OCBC and MBB 2 Cards. And if really really in deep shit, call your boss.

And also after you are back, you are invited as a guest columnist at my blog wink.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 15 2013, 01:39 AM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:40 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:38 AM)
And don't forget, you still got your OCBC and MBB 2 Cards. And if really really in deep shit, call your boss.

And also after you are back, you are invited as a guest columnist at my blogĀ  wink.gif
Yes, and I still have company's supplied Citibank corporate credit card as well. blush.gif
And the not in use Stan Chart (for their cash back sake). laugh.gif

laugh.gif Ok, if I'm not too lazy. Man, this thing is really forcing me to do a lot of research on cards. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 15 2013, 01:41 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 01:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:40 AM)
Yes, and I still have company's supplied Citibank corporate credit card as well. blush.gif

laugh.gif Ok, if I'm not too lazy. Man, this thing is really forcing me to do a lot of research on cards. sweat.gif
Sis, now that you mentioned you got Citibank corporate credit card, that means Citibank got your personal info in their system? If yes, I foresee that you opening the Citi Savings Account without any hassle.

Good luck and have fun in China.
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 01:52 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 01:46 AM)
Sis, now that you mentioned you got Citibank corporate credit card, that means Citibank got your personal info in their system? If yes, I foresee that you opening the Citi Savings Account without any hassle.

Good luck and have fun in China.
Yes, they have my information in their system and I'm also the Program Administrator for my company. smile.gif
Thanks a lot and sorry for nagging you for days for this issue. notworthy.gif
Gen-X
post Oct 15 2013, 11:56 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:52 AM)
Yes, they have my information in their system and I'm also the Program Administrator for my company. smile.gif
Thanks a lot and sorry for nagging you for days for this issue. notworthy.gif
It is always a pleasure discussing stuff with another fellow kiasu bro/sis, better still if with a kiasi person, can learn more, haha. And I did learned a thing or two last two days from the above postings.
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 03:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 15 2013, 11:56 AM)
It is always a pleasure discussing stuff with another fellow kiasu bro/sis, better still if with a kiasi person, can learn more, haha. And I did learned a thing or two last two days from the above postings.
I learnt a lot as well. biggrin.gif
Just submitted my interest for Citibank savings account, I'm waiting for their officer to call me.
I don't think I have the time to visit them that soon, let's see what they can do for me over the phone. nod.gif
digilife
post Oct 15 2013, 03:11 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 12:56 AM)

Ever heard of this before ?

CPP

All my cards , my wife's , my bro-in-law's and sis-in-law's are protected and its only rm118.00 per year.

Even our NRIC can be included. laugh.gif

You can have 4 users in one ac.

You are insured and protected for any misdeed by the person/s that stole/misuse you card.

Recommended by HSBC, and they have a local office in KL.

Anyone who want the KL contact no can PM me.

This post has been edited by digilife: Oct 15 2013, 03:11 PM
fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 03:13 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 15 2013, 03:11 PM)
Ever heard of this before ?

CPP

All my cards , my wife's , my bro-in-law's and sis-in-law's are protected and its only rm118.00 per year.

Even our NRIC can be included.  laugh.gif

You can have 4 users in one ac.

You are insured and protected for any misdeed by the person/s that stole/misuse you card.

Recommended by HSBC, and they have a local office in KL.

Anyone who want the KL contact no can PM me.
They offered me when I just got my Maybankard2Card.
But nah, not interested with this service. smile.gif

Just need more effort to cancel my card.
digilife
post Oct 15 2013, 03:26 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 01:40 AM)

Does your CiTi cc have the 'PLUS' logo ?

My MB2U card and CiTi cc have them, I guess our local banks charge you rm5 for ATM withdraw overseas and 'Cirrus' charges rm15 for each transaction ?

Pls correct me if i am wrong.

fruitie
post Oct 15 2013, 03:30 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
Does your CiTi cc have the 'PLUS' logo ?

My MB2U card and CiTi cc have them, I guess our local banks charge you rm5 for ATM withdraw overseas and 'Cirrus' charges rm15 for each transaction ?

Pls correct me if i am wrong.

I'll not use my credit card to withdraw money. smile.gif
digilife
post Oct 15 2013, 03:40 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 15 2013, 03:30 PM)
I'll not use my credit card to withdraw money. smile.gif
Open CiTi Savings ac, then link that SA feature into the CiTi cc, thus save the hassle of carrying an extra card laugh.gif

Cause you have lots of camera equipment to carry too laugh.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0221sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:46 AM