103 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

Brotherjoe
post Aug 8 2009, 08:09 PM

2,215 posts

Any views on cycle and carriage bintang? their dividen payout is coming soon..
Kamen Rider
post Aug 8 2009, 10:19 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
Technical or fundamental analysis, people will lose in the bear market. You have just started during the bull run, so got analysis or not, you still will earn. Just like when I started out 10 years ago, it was just after the 1997-98 crash and the market was recovering. I hopped on without any knowledge and without analysis, still able to earn 30% in that year. But I learned my lesson soon after that during 911 that no matter what analysis you do, in such a sell-off, EVERYONE will lose.

Confidence is good in the market, but overconfidence is bad for young people like you. Survive for one year is NOTHING in stock market. You must be able to survive ALL the time to prove that you're good. Those technical analysts will only show themselves during bull run, but they hide themselves during bear market. It's all the same if you have noticed, so do not pray them like some kind of God.

Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times.... brows.gif

So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers..... i always wanted to become a investor and always remind myself to apply whatever investment philosophy from the gurus.... but yet...the emotion always triggered me to sell off and fear and greedy cry.gif always the evils that controlling my movement.....
now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon......... rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

So far what i can see that APOLLO volumen very slims.... and i couldn't believe that their products are those chocolates cakes...in small packets that targeting school kids... and yet they can pay so good dividend....

i have tried to search around like Public bank, bjtoto, tanjong, amway, bat, apollo, mamee, jti, carlbergs, ytl-power, guiness etc.... and yet to find one.......... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Aug 8 2009, 10:38 PM
Jordy
post Aug 9 2009, 12:21 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Aug 8 2009, 12:45 PM)
Hi Jordy,

Just to clarify, one would get free Genting vouchers by investing in Genting or GENM (formerly RESORTS)?
Yes. As a GENTING shareholder, you would be invited to Genting's shareholders dinner as well.

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Aug 8 2009, 03:13 PM)
I don really agree with the idea... invest in a company in order to get those "free vouchers"  sweat.gif Actually if you think carefully .... you have to spend more after getting the voucher....
QUOTE(mynewuser @ Aug 8 2009, 05:51 PM)
The voucher can sell at what price?
Visit Garage Sales section, search for "Genting vouchers".

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Aug 8 2009, 10:19 PM)
Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times....  brows.gif

So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years   icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour  sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers..... i always wanted to become a investor and always remind myself to apply whatever investment philosophy from the gurus.... but yet...the emotion always triggered me to sell off and fear and greedy  cry.gif  always the evils that controlling my movement.....
now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon......... rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
So far what i can see that APOLLO volumen very slims.... and i couldn't believe that their products are those chocolates cakes...in small packets that targeting school kids... and yet they can pay so good dividend....

i have tried to search around like Public bank, bjtoto, tanjong, amway, bat, apollo, mamee, jti, carlbergs, ytl-power, guiness etc.... and yet to find one.......... smile.gif
"now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon"

5 years is not long. It is the shortest possible period for long-term investing. I would like to hold my counters for few generations if possible.

"So far what i can see that APOLLO volumen very slims.... and i couldn't believe that their products are those chocolates cakes"

Have you checked their financial statements? They make huge profits from selling kids stuffs. I love eating those as they remind me of my childhood moments.

"i have tried to search around like Public bank, bjtoto, tanjong, amway, bat, apollo, mamee, jti, carlbergs, ytl-power, guiness etc.... and yet to find one"

I don't know what you are looking for, but for me, I would buy PBBANK, AMWAY, BJTOT and JTI.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Aug 9 2009, 12:21 AM
dreamer101
post Aug 9 2009, 12:52 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Aug 8 2009, 10:19 PM)
Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times....  brows.gif

So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years   icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour  sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers..... i always wanted to become a investor and always remind myself to apply whatever investment philosophy from the gurus.... but yet...the emotion always triggered me to sell off and fear and greedy  cry.gif  always the evils that controlling my movement.....
now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon......... rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif

Kamen Rider,

<< Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times.... brows.gif >>

This is a bunch of BS.

Let me give you a few example of how much of BS this is.

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET?? Of course, not.

B) What happened if you put in 500K in stock market? Now, will you sweat?? Can you sleep at night??

<<Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable,>>

A SMART person know their limit and take necessary precaution and insurance.

At this point of time, I am having 3 years worth of EMERGENCY FUND so that if I lose my job and no income, I can survive for 3 years. With that, then, I have confident in investing. I believe that my investment strategy is sound but I keep enough reserve for me to survive.

Know your limit. Know what you DO NOT KNOW. Know that you can be wrong. Take precaution so that even if you are WRONG, you do not get killed.

<< So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers...>>

Basically, you have NO STRATEGY.

A strategy required you to KNOW

A) When to buy aka what price to buy

B) When to sell aka what price to sell

C) How you can make money?? Dividend?? Capital gain?? How much?? What is your target??

D) How you can LOSE MONEY?? Under what condition will you sell??

And, you need to know (A) to (D) before you buy something.

A long time ago, I LOST 50% of my asset in stock market. I sold in a panic. I have NO STRATEGY. I could not sleep at night. I have to sell.

Now, I LOST 30% of my asset in recent bear market. I sleep like a baby. I expected this to happen one time or another. I did not change my portfolio.

Dreamer

P.S.: In this thread, we are talking about high dividend counter. In this case, you NEVER sell as long as the counter giving out the expected and reasonable dividend.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 9 2009, 12:55 AM
darkknight81
post Aug 9 2009, 09:00 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 9 2009, 01:21 AM)
Yes. As a GENTING shareholder, you would be invited to Genting's shareholders dinner as well.
Visit Garage Sales section, search for "Genting vouchers".
"now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon"

5 years is not long. It is the shortest possible period for long-term investing. I would like to hold my counters for few generations if possible.

"So far what i can see that APOLLO volumen very slims.... and i couldn't believe that their products are those chocolates cakes"

Have you checked their financial statements? They make huge profits from selling kids stuffs. I love eating those as they remind me of my childhood moments.

"i have tried to search around like Public bank, bjtoto, tanjong, amway, bat, apollo, mamee, jti, carlbergs, ytl-power, guiness etc.... and yet to find one"

I don't know what you are looking for, but for me, I would buy PBBANK, AMWAY, BJTOT and JTI.
If i want to do business, surely i will do those type of businesses that everyone needed the most no matter during recession or not... which is their basic needs.

And i think consumer products are what ppl always needed no matter what situation.... wink.gif

Kamen Rider
post Aug 9 2009, 08:19 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 9 2009, 12:52 AM)
Kamen Rider,

<< Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times....  brows.gif >>

This is a bunch of BS.

Let me give you a few example of how much of BS this is.

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET??  Of course, not.

B) What happened if you put in 500K in stock market? Now, will you sweat?? Can you sleep at night??

A SMART person know their limit and take necessary precaution and insurance.

At this point of time, I am having 3 years worth of EMERGENCY FUND so that if I lose my job and no income, I can survive for 3 years.  With that, then, I have confident in investing.  I believe that my investment strategy is sound but I keep enough reserve for me to survive.

Know your limit.  Know what you DO NOT KNOW.  Know that you can be wrong.  Take precaution so that even if you are WRONG, you do not get killed.

<< So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years  icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour  sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers...>>

Basically, you have NO STRATEGY.

C) How you can make money?? Dividend?? Capital gain?? How much?? What is your target??

And, you need to know (A) to (D) before you buy something.

A long time ago, I LOST 50% of my asset in stock market.  I sold in a panic.  I have NO STRATEGY.  I could not sleep at night.  I have to sell.

Now, I LOST 30% of my asset in recent bear market.  I sleep like a baby.  I expected this to happen one time or another.  I did not change my portfolio.

Dreamer

P.S.: In this thread, we are talking about high dividend counter.  In this case, you NEVER sell as long as the counter giving out the expected and reasonable dividend.
thanks for the feedbacks...

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET?? Of course, not.

For (A) & (B), I know that when putting 1 million, the fear emotion will circulate us, and if the will power not strong, we probably will cut lost during the bear market...., however, if the counter is fundamental strong and we have the ability to hold it...... and this is provided those money is a spare money....
thus, i would said that whether 1 million or 10k, the key thing is ourselves who believe that the counters we choose are based on our stock selection criteria and i still believe only solid fundamental counters can sail smoothly during bear market...... thus either 1 million or 10k, it is not the matter of amount, it is matter on the strategy we use.... if 10k shrink to 5k, even though we lose only 5k, but yet we lose 50% our capital in our port folio....
cool2.gif

And, you need to know (A) to (D) before you buy something.[I]

A long time ago, I LOST 50% of my asset in stock market. I sold in a panic. I have NO STRATEGY. I could not sleep at night. I have to sell.

Now, I LOST 30% of my asset in recent bear market. I sleep like a baby. I expected this to happen one time or another. I did not change my portfolio.

Thanks for above A) to D) , these are the good questions that i need to continue to ask my self and understand what shall i do and plan ....

Ya for me i lost before investing in warrant, penny stocks previously and ..... at least i know there are ppl who succeed in using fundamental analysis....a lot of well know gurus like WB, Benjamin Graham, ... thumbup.gif ..... and i believe that invest in share market is not an science, it is a philosophy, a investment philosophy which very abtracts and some time very clear.... which we need to experience it....

i think this is the good thread i am following, as i need to learn from you guys and use the information as reference and i will judge which are the information are able to guide me to sail smoothly....

and as for 5 years, you guys would have laughing smile.gif mad.gif vmad.gif that this is not a long term, it is consider very very short for a long term smile.gif

dreamer101
post Aug 9 2009, 10:35 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Aug 9 2009, 08:19 PM)
thanks for the feedbacks...

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET??  Of course, not.

For (A) & (B), I know that when putting 1 million, the fear emotion will circulate us, and if the will power not strong, we probably will cut lost during the bear market...., however, if the counter is fundamental strong and we have the ability to hold it...... and this is provided those money is a spare money....
thus, i would said that whether 1 million or 10k, the key thing is ourselves who believe that the counters we choose are based on our stock selection criteria and i still believe only solid fundamental counters can sail smoothly during bear market...... thus either 1 million or 10k, it is not the matter of amount, it is matter on the strategy we use.... if 10k shrink to 5k, even though we lose only 5k, but yet we lose 50% our capital in our port folio....
cool2.gif

Kamen Rider,

<< if the will power not strong, we probably will cut lost during the bear market...., however, if the counter is fundamental strong and we have the ability to hold it......>>

Do you KNOW the difference between

A) You THINK you know

versus

B) You KNOW.

In (A), you have not experience it. In (B), you have EXPERIENCE it.

There is NO we here. Until you FACE something, you DO NOT really know how you will REACT / BEHAVE. So, protect yourself from your own emotion.

Somebody that I know is one of the SMARTEST financial person. Worked in Wall Street. Master of Economy from University of Chicago. MD of one of the largest bank in the world. During Internet bubble, he was sitting at USD 10 millions worth of paper profit. His rational mind tell him that he should sell some and take profit. But, the stock is going up so fast and he stayed greedy. In the end, he lost it all.

I was CAUGHT in a similar and smaller amount. I could not get out in time either.

We are ALL greedy. It is just DEPENDENT on what amount that we are talking about. At some number, we will lost our coolness. Emotional TOUGHNESS count as much as intelligence in financial stuff.

Basically, you DO NOT KNOW how much will power that you have. Me too.

If your stock is going up by $X per day, will you sell some and take profit??

At certain $X, you will break down and not do it. Some people's number is smaller and others is larger.

I GAMBLE on some stocks. I put in less that 5% of my asset on those stocks. I either lose it all or I expect 10X to 20X return. For those stocks, I have a rule to sell half when it is triple (3X). When that (3 X) happened, I have made double my original investment even if I lose the remaining half.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Aug 9 2009, 10:38 PM
cherroy
post Aug 9 2009, 11:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Aug 9 2009, 08:19 PM)
cool2.gif
[/color]

Ya for me i lost before investing in warrant, penny stocks previously and ..... at least i know there are ppl who succeed in using fundamental analysis....a lot of well know gurus like WB, Benjamin Graham, ... thumbup.gif ..... and i believe that invest in share market is not an science, it is a philosophy, a investment philosophy which very abtracts and some time very clear.... which we need to experience it....

i think this is the good thread i am following, as i need to learn from you guys and use the information as reference and i will judge which are the information are able to guide me to sail smoothly....

and as for 5 years, you guys would have laughing smile.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif that this is not a long term, it is consider very very short for a long term smile.gif
[/color]
Even you are confidence your stock selection is good, but in the market, fundamental of a company can change from time to time.

Nobody ever taught AIG such a strong insurance company can stumble because of greediness.

So it is important to adjust according to fundamental issue.

Just like Carlsberg, for the last 10 years or so, it was a steady dividend stock with profit stay at high level. But since lately few year, its market share has been eaten by Guiness Tiger beer, so after relishing the poor EPS they are delivering, I decided to sell it at 5.00 as its EPS no longer can sustain at high level of dividend.

So don't too stubborn (no offence) of believing your stock pick must be good or fall in love with the stock. If they are doing poorly in financial term, then one needs to adjust the strategy accordingly. But if financial term is ok while share price is plunging, then yes, just like you said, can have confidence can sail through the difficult period.

Some stocks have good history, which generally they will do as well, but we can say for sure 100%, some might be no longer as well as before due to changing fundamental.

Added on August 10, 2009, 12:00 amFor individual investors, if one has 1 million then invested in 1 million in stock market, is not something very wise to do disregard those stocks are rock solid or stock will go up.

As you have no spare cash for any unforseen circumstannces, either to counter the risk as well as has ability to capture opportunity when market plunge, asset allocation is very important.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 10 2009, 12:00 AM
DanielW
post Aug 10 2009, 07:46 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Aug 8 2009, 08:09 PM)
Its earnings, DPS and share price in the past 10 years has been a roller coaster..
cherroy
post Aug 10 2009, 11:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Aug 10 2009, 07:46 PM)
Its earnings, DPS and share price in the past 10 years has been a roller coaster..
If not mistaken, because they lose the distributorship of Benz at some year, so affect its financial.
SKY 1809
post Aug 11 2009, 08:24 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(DanielW @ Aug 10 2009, 07:46 PM)
They are in "Cycle " businesses , so do expect the up and down .

DanielW
post Aug 11 2009, 08:32 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 11 2009, 08:24 AM)
They are in "Cycle " businesses , so do expect the up and down .
Haha.. laugh.gif That's a good one SKY..
mazda626
post Aug 14 2009, 09:26 PM

2,335 posts

What is the best price SPSetia to enter ? Currently at 4.62. Any potential for it coming down for correction ?

Should enter now or later ?

Please advise anyone. icon_question.gif

Added on August 14, 2009, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(VyvernS @ Aug 6 2009, 05:00 PM)
I very agree with this point smile.gif

That is because I practice it...Hehehe smile.gif

.............PBBank buy medium lots............
Chief, what is medium lots ?

big lot =1000 units
small lot = 100
medium lot = ?

Added on August 18, 2009, 1:35 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 29 2007, 03:05 PM)
That's why I had kept it for 7-8 years now.  icon_rolleyes.gif
(To be honest, I also forget which year I bought it already, need to search out from the stack of contract note to know, don't bother much already, biggrin.gif, should be around 1999-2000)

The tax exemption because it is giving out its reserves cash also got lot of tax credit.

Based on my lastest known, Panamy has about RM7.++/share in cash. It is a cash rich company that's why it able to give out generous dividend in term of special dividend.

Not meant to recommend it, judge your own.
This year they pay Final 35cents + Special 55cents rite ? ! nod.gif

Added on August 18, 2009, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Aug 8 2009, 08:09 PM)
Saw it at OSK about 0.9 cents, need to recheck.

This post has been edited by mazda626: Aug 18 2009, 11:55 PM
lclee
post Aug 19 2009, 02:09 PM

48 posts

YILAI, ACOSTEC & UCHITEC seem to give high dividend (avg 7 to 9%) from 2004 till 2008, may I know why not much ppl talk about these 3 counters?
TSpanasonic88
post Aug 19 2009, 02:15 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(lclee @ Aug 19 2009, 02:09 PM)
YILAI, ACOSTEC & UCHITEC seem to give high dividend (avg 7 to 9%) from 2004 till 2008, may I know why not much ppl talk about these 3 counters?
this is called hidden gem lor. biggrin.gif

Yilai & Uchitec has been mentioned. Acostec is new to me. need to study first.
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:16 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(lclee @ Aug 19 2009, 02:09 PM)
I got uchitec. thumbup.gif
TSpanasonic88
post Aug 19 2009, 02:24 PM

37,028 posts

without checking back my trading system

Uchitec used to give 12 sens dividend annually.

6 sens + 6 sens. TE.

at current share price, definitely can classified as "high DY stock". thumbup.gif
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:26 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:24 PM)
without checking back my trading system

Uchitec used to give 12 sens dividend annually.

6 sens + 6 sens. TE.

at current share price, definitely can classified as "high DY stock".  thumbup.gif
wanna join? if not mistaken the next dividend is on Dec.
TSpanasonic88
post Aug 19 2009, 02:28 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Aug 19 2009, 02:26 PM)
wanna join? if not mistaken the next dividend is on Dec.
april & december. constantly de.

i have a handful of good DY counters liao. tongue.gif
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:30 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:28 PM)
april & december. constantly de.

i have a handful of good DY counters liao. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

103 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:05 AM