post Nov 10 2008, 12:22 PM

1,214 posts

jtinter ex date? Thank you.
espree
post Nov 10 2008, 11:31 PM

1,214 posts

Hi all sifus.. Can anyone recommend me a website or two that I can read about Capital Repayment and the dynamic behind it?

Thank you thank you.
espree
post Nov 11 2008, 08:20 AM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Nov 11 2008, 12:04 AM)
just give u a layman's term of what capital repayment is...

Normally this companies are cash rich, because most of their assets have already been paid in full and they have very little or no liabilities.

So what do you do when u have too much money?
1. A company can declare a dividend
2. or a Capital Repayment

Why companies choose capital repayment over dividend because most likely the sum itself is significantly larger and the company will have to dig into the shareholders fund to return this excess capital money. Which requires S/H approva and also the courts approval for such action to be carried out.

Since the company is neither expanding or in need of capital, money sitting in the bank wont do the company any good (i.e. whether for tax purposes, s/h will make noice becoz the co is hoardin all the cash etc...).

What companies that r likely to undertake Cap Repayment?
Bjtoto for instance, Genting, Jinter, BAT, Magnum etc...

Notice that all this companies generate a significant amt of cash.
I see. I think I kinda understand now. Just that.. Take Jinter for example,
Lets say they repay 75cent of its 1ringgit value, and their stock it currently at rm4.30. then after the repayment.. how much the stock price will become? izzit rm4.30 - 75%??
espree
post Nov 11 2008, 08:45 AM

1,214 posts

"The Proposed Capital Repayment involves a capital repayment via cash on the basis of RM 0.75 for every one (1) JTI Share to the Entitled Shareholders (as defined below), via a reduction of the share capital of JTI pursuant to Section 64 of the Act. Upon completion of the Proposed Capital Repayment, the par value of the ordinary shares in the Company will be reduced from RM1.00 to RM 0.25 each and the Memorandum and Articles of Association of the Company will be amended accordingly."

above extracted from Jinter announcement.

can anyone explain it. I want to know if i have jinter stock at rm4.30.. how much will i receive and what price will my stock become.. and what does rm0.25 par mean?
espree
post Nov 11 2008, 08:57 AM

1,214 posts

htt, thank you very much. Thanks all sifus.
espree
post May 18 2009, 01:43 AM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(impedance @ May 18 2009, 01:37 AM)
hi, sorry newbie here trying to get into investment. to be entitled to dividend, the share must be purchased before certain date is that correct? If yes where can i check for the date?
http://www.klse.com.my/website/bm/listed_c...ments/index.jsp
espree
post Aug 5 2009, 11:30 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Aug 5 2009, 10:16 PM)
Wow.... useful thread as my target is counters with high div as well as a buy & hold. Makes me realize how much effort full time investors must put in. Thinking of entering share market directly for the first time, but still v. nervous. So far am focusing on PBBANK, BJTOTO, YTL, Magnum, Mah Sing & Hicom. I'm limiting it to those with price <5 (except PBBANK!). Any thoughts/ other counters too look at?
Guiness, Panamy, Bkawan, Tanjong and not forget Reits counters.
espree
post Aug 6 2009, 07:26 AM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 6 2009, 03:14 AM)
espree,

Read, he needs counters priced lower than RM5.
Soulsareworthless,

Dividends do not present only as cash, it's present in other forms as well. Unless you have invested in GENTING, you wouldn't know the perks you get as its shareholder.
aiyo i didn't read it carefully doh.gif sorry.

Jordy, u meant genting vouchers huh? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by espree: Aug 6 2009, 07:27 AM
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:16 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(lclee @ Aug 19 2009, 02:09 PM)
YILAI, ACOSTEC & UCHITEC seem to give high dividend (avg 7 to 9%) from 2004 till 2008, may I know why not much ppl talk about these 3 counters?
I got uchitec. thumbup.gif
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:26 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:24 PM)
without checking back my trading system

Uchitec used to give 12 sens dividend annually.

6 sens + 6 sens. TE.

at current share price, definitely can classified as "high DY stock".  thumbup.gif
wanna join? if not mistaken the next dividend is on Dec.
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 02:30 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 19 2009, 02:28 PM)
april & december. constantly de.

i have a handful of good DY counters liao. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
espree
post Aug 19 2009, 08:34 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 19 2009, 08:00 PM)

espree,

An advice for you. Do not buy just because the dividend looks good. Find out how they are paying the dividends and if they will be sustainable in the future.
Noted, thank you for your advice.
espree
post Feb 26 2010, 09:28 PM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(sohkeong @ Feb 26 2010, 05:34 PM)
So after final financial report out , which counter is the 2009 top 10 divy eh??

maybulk , jaycorp and litrak still on the rank?

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...30&sec=business

This post has been edited by espree: Feb 26 2010, 09:30 PM

0.0221sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:06 AM