when you carry expensive goods. next time just quickly grab your drink (bungkus /take-away) then go back to the van.
if not, then at least park where you can see.
3 of my Macs were stolen @ Pagoh R&R...
Dec 24 2007, 12:10 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
when you carry expensive goods. next time just quickly grab your drink (bungkus /take-away) then go back to the van.
if not, then at least park where you can see. |
Dec 24 2007, 12:35 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
Act.. perhaps be a better idea not to even stop ! *grins*
Dec 24 2007, 01:31 AM
6 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Sad to heard that, i also feel that pain, i lost my laptop last time also... what can do? hope on police? better hope ourself beware anytime anywhere when we carrying the laptop or valuable stuff!
Dec 24 2007, 01:41 AM
54 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
http://bak2u.blogspot.com/
can try this app for ur mobile devices in the future. am using it for my ipod and laptop. gives a peace of mind. |
Dec 24 2007, 07:53 AM
1,666 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
I also got the same incident, but those dumb thieves only managed to take PDA instead of my bag, which contains notebook and IPod. I still angry at those thieves because just buy the PDA 1 week ago priced RM4K. but its my mistake coz i put it at driver seat, easily people around to see
Dec 24 2007, 08:53 AM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
sad to hear tat
anyway, next time for notebook which are quite pricey, do buy insurance for them, i do |
Dec 24 2007, 12:30 PM
2,512 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Thanks again for those reply!!!
Heard a lot talking bout insurance...how much to insure a laktop?Sure c'ld be claim back while stolen?any other support s'ld have to makesure we claim it back? I'm sad as well...but i am also sad to the parents of the person who stole my stuff...Un-Educated children...maybe their parents the theif as well...who knows?! |
Dec 24 2007, 12:34 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(trashley @ Dec 24 2007, 01:41 AM) http://bak2u.blogspot.com/ Have u tried?can try this app for ur mobile devices in the future. am using it for my ipod and laptop. gives a peace of mind. Im seriously skeptic about this.. |
Dec 24 2007, 12:35 PM
1,140 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
the insurance coverage premium that i heard last time was 2% of the selling price value, how much they pay you is depend on the market price for that machine when the incident happened.
Dec 24 2007, 12:39 PM
As laptop is considered high risk, not all insurance takes it.
Dec 24 2007, 12:44 PM
425 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 24 2007, 12:10 AM) when you carry expensive goods. next time just quickly grab your drink (bungkus /take-away) then go back to the van. this method also not so secure, one of my friend lost her laptop infront of boutique that she went. she just leave her car about 5 mins and when she came back.. poof! its gone!if not, then at least park where you can see. |
Dec 24 2007, 01:25 PM
1,666 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
next time need to buy a good security car
Dec 24 2007, 01:33 PM
1,479 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Thieves can detect laptops in cars using "scanners" of some sort.
Is that true or just a myth? |
Dec 24 2007, 01:39 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -= Earth =- |
it is true... they have their own 'tools' to detect those electronics stuffs...
just we definitely won't have chance to see it, unless u know some of the 'theft' friends lor... |
Dec 24 2007, 01:47 PM
1,479 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Thanks for the response.
I would certainly like to know what technology they are using. |
Dec 24 2007, 02:35 PM
1,964 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: San Andreas |
even i took my old ibook with me n not to let in my fathers car, well a JPJ car.hahaha
Dec 24 2007, 02:39 PM
i bought insurance for my notebook
per annum i think its ard 300 or 150++ cant really remember for value rm 6999 there are many clause to it, if its place in the front sit they will not pay for it during claim, they will pay the equivalent model current price and dedcut rm 1k off the value |
Dec 24 2007, 02:44 PM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
I did this for my stolen VAIO last time n Sony Malaysia was willing to help. I made a police report for the stolen VAIO with serial numbers n all. Then I took the report to Sony service centre to notify them that the VAIO had been stolen. Sony said what they can do for me is to hold on to the laptop if it ever goes in to any Sony Malaysia service center for service or repairs. Then they'll call me in to sort it out with help from the police.
Apple should be able to do that for u too. This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 24 2007, 02:46 PM |
Dec 24 2007, 03:20 PM
@kwekeugene,
From what I been told, the detector detects the CMOS batt so even if we physically take the batt out of the notebook, it's still detectable. The best is to carry our laptops with us at all times. @rx330, Mine's insured too - only thing not insured are the information on the HDD. And now that I'm customising my desktop and stuff, I am most reluctant to lose mine - i wonder if i could tell the thief, go ahead and take the laptop but give me back my HDD *grins* |
Dec 24 2007, 03:52 PM
tinkerbel, yea i agree
like wallet missing, only hoping they would return back imnportant things like IC same like hphone, phone missign still fine, sim card is the thing tats important |
| Change to: | 0.0183sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:42 PM |