CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

hye
post Mar 23 2008, 01:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 23 2008, 01:04 PM)
so far, my transaction of paying Pound to my UK body using CC dun have any charges on the transactions fee.
i thinks it's depend on the merchant. some do not wan to pay the fee, then they pass it to customer to pay the fee.
Agreed ... some merchants absorb the fees and some pass it on back to the customer. This is universal - same scenario all over the world.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 23 2008, 01:20 PM
hye
post Mar 24 2008, 02:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Mar 24 2008, 12:11 PM)
Credit limit is nothing.  I know someone with a credit limit of 100k and yet the card is just a classic card from Citibank. Even then Citibank keep wanting to upgrade the credit limit and the card status just that the owner refuses to accept it
This is what I call true class. thumbup.gif Most can't resist the lure of a Gold card let alone a Platinum card. Hanging on to a Classic card but yet the credit limit so high. Wow !

I hope nobody here will start asking how to push up their credit limit to 100k out of thin air.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 24 2008, 02:29 PM
hye
post Mar 25 2008, 05:33 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Mar 25 2008, 12:43 AM)
Maybank has just introduced its American Express Platinum Credit Card. Annual income requirement is RM 130k. The card looks like Amex Platinum Credit Card as issued in other countries. The privileges look quite exciting!
Card design looks exciting I would say and I agree on the attractiveness of the privileges and not to mention the 10x on the selected merchants!

hye
post Mar 26 2008, 01:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 26 2008, 12:29 AM)
I would recommend HSBC Mastercard. Good customer service. You can enjoy many privileges with HSBC credit card, from shopping to dinning. The validity of the reward points is 3 years. Wider range of gift redemption, special point knockdown on certain items from time to time. Maybank Mastercard is not bad too, but sometime customer careline very hard to get through.
I second HSBC customer service quality. Good, polite and very helpful - if the CS is a lady, they sound like they are smiling when they are talking to you over the phone and the guys sounds like Patrick Teoh. blink.gif (Well ... at least from my experience )

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 26 2008, 12:39 AM)
I'm not sure about the Maybank Petronas cc. But last year I applied for Maybank Visa Gold, it takes a month for processing from the day you submit the application form.
My Maybank Petronas cc took more than 1 month to approve. Letter haven't arrived yet but I saw the card appeared in my M2U.
hye
post Mar 26 2008, 06:21 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 26 2008, 06:15 PM)
UOB ONE Platinium can easily get RM8k combined limits.

btw, if i cancel my master card for UOB, meaning that my combined limit will falls to 4k?
No lah. Combined limit provide the bank the capability to control the credit limit assigned to the customer irrespective of the number of card issued. If you cancel one of the cards, your credit limit will still be retained @ RM8k.
hye
post Mar 26 2008, 09:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yks8845 @ Mar 26 2008, 09:22 PM)
How u saw the card appeared in ur M2U ? smile.gif enlighten me  smile.gif cos i applied maybank petronas cc also along with citibank and cimb cc last month. I

got credit card from both bank already except maybank one blink.gif
I already have an existing account with MBB and all my old cc with them are also listed there as well. If you read the previous threads, other members also had the same experience - they had an MBB acct & M2U, card appears once it is approved.

Not sure why someone said that they didn't see it coz it was not linked. What I suspect is that most members have a preexisting card with MBB and linked with their "credit cards". The Petronas card simply appears as an additional card to whatever card they already have. If I remember correctly all of my products with MBB appears in the M2U system from Day 1 I had it.

BTW ... I had the same experience with my CIMB card as well. It appears in my CIMBClicks and then my card arrives!

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 26 2008, 09:34 PM
hye
post Mar 26 2008, 11:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(yks8845 @ Mar 26 2008, 11:10 PM)
i see,thanks for ur info smile.gif  i did have an account with MBB & M2U, i just checked it and seem nothing  about credit card info  in my account summary.. i guess application rejected maybe hmm.gif since already one month... shakehead.gif
Don't be too hard on yourself. Maybe your application is still in a queue but until you get a letter or the CS tells you that your application has been rejected then don't give up hope yet.

Rejection is normal when applying for a credit card. I went through 2-3 rejections from StandardChartered before getting their card. (I no longer hold their card now) So ... if a bank doesn't give you the card - just apply another one or continue to use your existing one further. And then ... try applying again. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 26 2008, 11:30 PM
hye
post Mar 26 2008, 11:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

BTW ... does anyone here knows whether the banks here practice a temporary credit application blackout after you have canceled your cards with them ?

- Which banks practices this ?
- What's the duration of the blackout before you can attempt to make a fresh application for their card again ?
hye
post Mar 27 2008, 07:12 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Mar 27 2008, 02:31 AM)
Hi, I think there is no gold/plat class for MTV card. It is a just a classic card on its own with privileges mostly for mtv events, clubs, parties etc.
Check out the link : http://www.hlb.com.my/mtv/ccmtv.jsp?flag=ccmtv
Plz correct me if I'm wrong  notworthy.gif
Yes ... you are right about the MTV card. It's a "Classic" level card.
hye
post Mar 27 2008, 01:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Mar 27 2008, 01:46 PM)
Do you have to pay annual fee ?
By default - YES. However, if your spending and payments are consistent - I don't see why the bank will not consider your annual fee waiver request.
hye
post Mar 27 2008, 08:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 27 2008, 07:17 PM)
How about Maybank? Will they waive annual fee? My MBB is coming to its 1st year soon and if they don't waive for me, I'll cancel the card but before this I need to redeem all my TP.
Yes, there's a possibility they'll waive your annual fee waiver - if you have utilized the card and made regular payments. I'm not sure whether they'll look at the total annual spendings as one of the considerations.

Let me share my recent experience - 1 or 2 months back. I recently helped my friend to cancel his MBB card which he had for years. (I even helped to write the cancellation letter). MBB called him later and offered to waive the annual fee waiver for 5 years. (Hope I heard him right) Different people may get different offers I think.

David83, if I'm not mistaken you also have another MBB Petronas card if I'm not mistaken ? In my recent conversation with their CS, they told me that you could move any outstanding balance to the Petronas card and the points will be migrated as well to the new card.

Added on March 27, 2008, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 27 2008, 08:25 PM)
That's what I think... so free for life credit card still suit me most tongue.gif
Yup ... seems Free for Life cards getting more popular with consumers as no one needs to worry about annual fees anymore.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 27 2008, 08:30 PM
hye
post Mar 27 2008, 08:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 27 2008, 08:44 PM)
I also had a recent conversation with the CS. They said if I cancelled the card, all the oustanding balance (inclusive of the 0% installament programme) will be transfered to the other card. However the TP won't be "migrated".
Won't argue on the TP issue. If I'm not mistaken that's what the CS told me but you could be right on this issue - any confirmation from the other members here ?

hye
post Mar 27 2008, 10:55 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 27 2008, 10:22 PM)
Since I don't have any HSBC CC and don't maintain any saving/current account with HSBC, I'm wondering that what am I going to do with the security device? So I return it back to HSBC and at the same time cancel the Internet Banking account?
Good question. I had the same scenario as yours until recently when I picked up the HSBC card again. The device came in handy again. But if you plan not to have anything to do with HSBC in the future then maybe you can cancel the security device & cancel the Internet Banking account.

The security device is powerful but it's something I dislike carrying around.
hye
post Mar 28 2008, 10:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 28 2008, 10:50 AM)
Wow, u are so royalty to Maybank  tongue.gif
It's loyalty lah not "royalty". Different people have different preferences - it's perfectly alright.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 28 2008, 10:53 AM
hye
post Mar 28 2008, 12:20 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Anyone here has an AEON credit card ?

I used to have this card but I canceled it after 2 months of use. I made payment and they said they didn't receive my payment although I furnish them with proof of bank transfer. This went on for 2 months and I gave up and just cancel the card - I can't believe they have a bad system in tracking down customer's payment. Apparently several of my friends had similar experience as well so I felt good canceling the card. It's perhaps the shortest time I use a credit card from an institution - normally I'll use it at least for 1 year before considering to continue or cancel.

AEON credit card is the only non-financial institution to issue credit card in Malaysia if I'm not mistaken. Customers need to bank-in their credit card payments to bank accounts.
hye
post Mar 28 2008, 12:31 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 28 2008, 11:02 AM)
Good question. I also not sure. In fact, a quite similar device I also have for my office VPN access.
Device has a serial number on it and this is tracked on your server as well as it need to recognize the device you are holding is valid and registered with the server. Rogue devices are useless because the server no longer tracks them although you are still able to generate the random 6 digit number. When you press the button on the device, it generates a 6 digit number based on either random or a specific algorithm known to the authenticating server.

The number generated on the device would be similar (in sync) with the number in the authentication server for your particular device. However the number changes every now and then and this provides the additional layer of security for you and the bank. (Unique - no 2 device can generate the same number)

hye
post Mar 28 2008, 01:00 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 28 2008, 12:38 PM)
hmmm, are you regret of cancelling it after 2 months?

or wan to alert AEON CC user???
Didn't regret canceling it. rclxms.gif I'll never come back to apply this card again the future because the banks these days are very competitive and in terms of overall offerings then AEON loses out hands down. The biggest benefit would only be their Jusco Points but other than that nothing much.

Perhaps they are better already now but would like some feedback from any AEON credit card users to see whether it's me alone who's having this problem.

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 28 2008, 01:13 PM
hye
post Mar 28 2008, 01:16 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(nicholas84 @ Mar 28 2008, 01:12 PM)
HLB cc sales convinced me into getting 2 cards from them
it's gold master and mtv visa
they came recently
i don wan to use it
should i just leave it be or call them up to cancel?
It's entirely up to you. Weigh the benefits that you are supposed to get from the 2 cards and if it's something that you don't use often then maybe you want to do something about it.

Bank CC sales will sometimes go all out to make you sign up for their card - consumers need to be clear on what their needs are and need some willpower to say No if needs to be! icon_idea.gif
hye
post Mar 28 2008, 11:13 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Mar 28 2008, 02:48 PM)
until now.........
I still havent got my card approve on banks:-
1. UOB
2. Affin
3. AEON
4. PBB

Most of my cards were 10k credit limit but i still dont know why they the bank above reject my application?
Personally I won't apply for Affin and AEON.

AEON - For the reasons mentioned before, See thread AEON CC
Affin - My friend is using this card. You can't pay for this card via GIRO coz GIRO only accept transfers for normal Affin bank accounts. CS only up to certain hours (if I'm not mistaken normal working hours) - it's not a 24 hours availability unless you lost your card and you wish to block it. They (all banks I believe) provide a dedicated number.

Did you try to apply for all these cards in one go ? Most probably they'll reject your application if you

- Apply for too many cards at the same time.
- Past Payment problems with other banks
- Blacklisted in the CCRIS

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 28 2008, 11:14 PM
hye
post Mar 29 2008, 09:15 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bee993 @ Mar 29 2008, 09:04 AM)
can i change the name on my cc?

are there any charges?

Yes ... but they have to be reflective of your name. Supposedly no charges but bear in mind high possibility this means that your credit card account numbers will also change - be prepared to fully justify this change to the bank. Of yes, probably easier if your card is due for a change.

They'll ask a million questions sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Mar 29 2008, 09:16 AM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0731sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:36 AM