Microsoft Windows 7 Beta

linkinstreet
post Jan 9 2009, 04:52 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 9 2009, 04:19 PM)
Context: Linkin was reffering to the beta of Vista. I had the unfortunate experience of using it, and it is just stupid. Deleting ANY INF file had more prompts than my mother when she grills my sister. And moving a file has something like 5 prompts, asking me if I really wanted to move the file, activate the file copy program, activate the file copy API, change the time stamp, and finally write the file to the disk. Now imagine copying 10 files. Multiply by 10. That was how bad it was.

Even when RTM, UAC still drove me nuts. SP1 was a step in the right direction, but I still go crazy when it asks do I really want to open Event Viewer. YES I DO DAMNIT!

UAC in Windows 7 is slightly less, but I am still miffed that I have to open Notepad as Administrator to edit it. I've been spoilt by being able to have a shortcut in my sidebar, open with Notepad, and edit!

well it's meant for those noob users that don't know shit of what file they are opening and can't tell the difference between desktop.ini and autorun.inf
Considering that it was the first time UAC was created, I think it was a good idea, having been used to it in Unix

JuzJoe
post Jan 9 2009, 06:09 PM

101 posts

icon_question.gif hmm.gif Noobie here, I got a few questions that need clarification:

1. Reading from TS post, I get the impression that I need a running windows either xp or vista (32-bit/64-bit?) to run windows 7; where windows 7 will be like an expansion of windows vista? Am I right or wrong?

2. Windows 7 will have no problem with compatibility issues like windows vista 32/64bit?

Thx in advance~

This post has been edited by JuzJoe: Jan 9 2009, 06:18 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 9 2009, 06:58 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Not quite. In my case, GTA IV, Ultramon, and .NET refused to execute. There will be compatibility issues, kindly lower your expectation.
dlwl
post Jan 9 2009, 07:02 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 9 2009, 04:46 PM)
Not quite big if you're referring to the whole world, it'll add up pretty fast and the next time you know it, it's already closed for download for a later date... sweat.gif
yeah, i'm thinking of staying up to wait for the download. and hopefully at that time my hostel line is fast enough for me to get into one of the 2.5million slots laugh.gif

but there's always a possibilty of people who downloaded it already, and host it on other websites and also torrents, rite?
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 9 2009, 07:56 PM

2,281 posts

I don't think I can afford to pour another 3.2gig for a copy of it. Still, I'm going to wait for the key though. Wish me luck. Kekeke.

Edit: Is the 200MB really necessary? Read something about it at My Digital Life.

This post has been edited by LEVIATHAN: Jan 9 2009, 07:59 PM
dylanchan1688
post Jan 9 2009, 08:20 PM

PuLu™
125 posts

QUOTE(JuzJoe @ Jan 9 2009, 06:09 PM)
icon_question.gif  hmm.gif Noobie here, I got a few questions that need clarification:

1. Reading from TS post, I get the impression that I need a running windows either xp or vista (32-bit/64-bit?) to run windows 7; where windows 7 will be like an expansion of windows vista? Am I right or wrong?

2. Windows 7 will have no problem with compatibility issues like windows vista 32/64bit?

Thx in advance~
starting memang prob... after sp's n updates den no prob
aii
post Jan 9 2009, 08:22 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Jan 9 2009, 08:20 PM)
starting memang prob... after sp's n updates den no prob
are u sure??
vista still got problm what?
FarCry3r
post Jan 9 2009, 08:33 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 9 2009, 06:58 PM)
Not quite. In my case, GTA IV, Ultramon, and .NET refused to execute. There will be compatibility issues, kindly lower your expectation.
What do you mean .NET refused to execute? .NET is part of Windows7 OS, how come it can't execute? hmm.gif I have GTA IV installed/uninstalled using compatibility mode as the Setup bootstrapper won't install on "unknown" OS and the game runs without any problem hmm.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(JuzJoe @ Jan 9 2009, 06:09 PM)
icon_question.gif  hmm.gif Noobie here, I got a few questions that need clarification:

Thx in advance~
1. No you don't, you can always do a clean install instead of upgrading. Upgrading in the other hand, need at least Vista (32bit/64bit) with SP1 installed. Windows7 is not an expansion, it's a new OS (not totally) improved on Vista core (the NT6 kernel). You are wrong.

2. The compatibility issues will be narrowed down as it's was based on Vista (NT6) kernel. There might be few issues, but as far, almost apps/games worked OK for me, and remember, this is still beta and you should never expect an unfinished product to work flawlessly. Heck, even finished product sometimes didn't work.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 9 2009, 07:56 PM)
I don't think I can afford to pour another 3.2gig for a copy of it. Still, I'm going to wait for the key though. Wish me luck. Kekeke.

Edit: Is the 200MB really necessary? Read something about it at My Digital Life.
I'm not worry about not getting into the 2.5 mils queue as I can download using my TechNet+, but hell, I don't want to miss the key,moar keys are better.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:39 pm
QUOTE(aii @ Jan 9 2009, 08:22 PM)
are u sure??
What problem(s)? You've might as well provide an example to back up your statement there... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Jan 9 2009, 08:39 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 9 2009, 08:49 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(aii @ Jan 9 2009, 08:22 PM)
are u sure??
yeah...like XP has NO PROBLEMS AT ALL....rolleyes.gif
Irishcoffee
post Jan 9 2009, 08:50 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

nothing is prefect
if its prefect then m$ will bankrupt
astria
post Jan 9 2009, 08:52 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

thinking of putting an alarm clock to wake myself up at 3.45am...
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 9 2009, 08:56 PM

2,281 posts

About GTA IV. Install, yes no problem (compatibility mode). Play, nope. RGSC was up though. When I hit PLAY, cursor turned to spinning SecuROM, black cmd window poped and straightaway terminated. No error, no nothing. Change the compatibility mode to various OS, still fail. Black cmd came up, and terminated instantly.

I'm using 64-bit 7.

Company of Heroes works liek charm. Installed and played. Tested working on 7.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 9 2009, 08:57 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2009, 08:52 PM)
thinking of putting an alarm clock to wake myself up at 3.45am...
Why?? Tidur-lar friend!
Irishcoffee
post Jan 9 2009, 08:58 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

today i dun wan sleep lo
astria
post Jan 9 2009, 09:01 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

cannot la, i am the type that if i dun sleep next day confirm KO one...

This post has been edited by astria: Jan 9 2009, 09:01 PM
FarCry3r
post Jan 9 2009, 09:02 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jan 9 2009, 08:50 PM)
nothing is prefect
if its prefect then m$ will bankrupt
No they won't, but they might charge a license of Windows for USD$666666666, since it's perfect. Btw, you spelled perfect wrong... sweat.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 9 2009, 08:56 PM)
About GTA IV. Install, yes no problem (compatibility mode). Play, nope. RGSC was up though. When I hit PLAY, cursor turned to spinning SecuROM, black cmd window poped and straightaway terminated. No error, no nothing. Change the compatibility mode to various OS, still fail. Black cmd came up, and terminated instantly.

I'm using 64-bit 7.

Company of Heroes works liek charm. Installed and played. Tested working on 7.
Then apply the retak as you owned original license of the game, no problem mah...

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Jan 9 2009, 09:03 PM
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 9 2009, 09:04 PM

2,281 posts

64-bit 7 uses more RAM compared to 32-bit counterpart. I used 32-bit 2 days ago, the usage was 700meg. Currently on 64-bit, 1.2gig.

Thinking of buying an Atom netbook and install 7 32-bit. Surfing on the go with 7 is going to be nais.
FarCry3r
post Jan 9 2009, 09:04 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 9 2009, 09:01 PM)
cannot la, i am the type that if i dun sleep next day confirm KO one...
I'm the kind of when sleeping, sure tido mati wor... won't wake up until next morning... sweat.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Jan 9 2009, 09:04 PM)
64-bit 7 uses more RAM compared to 32-bit counterpart. I used 32-bit 2 days ago, the usage was 700meg. Currently on 64-bit, 1.2gig.

Thinking of buying an Atom netbook and install 7 32-bit. Surfing on the go with 7 is going to be nais.
Maybe the extra RAM was used to emulate those 32-bit apps counterpart... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Jan 9 2009, 09:06 PM
aii
post Jan 9 2009, 09:25 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 9 2009, 08:33 PM)

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:39 pm
What problem(s)? You've might as well provide an example to back up your statement there... hmm.gif
vista still got bsod.
while vista was released, i was hoping that blue screen of death will never come again.
but, yeah.
it is still exist.
LEVIATHAN
post Jan 9 2009, 09:43 PM

2,281 posts

BSOD is essential and necessary to prevent your system from further damage. According to the screen lah. Be thankful for that.

100 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:05 PM