125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

zamans98
post Sep 2 2009, 04:43 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 2 2009, 04:25 PM)
Would september be low generally?

Can't load my bullet fast enough. Hope it can stay low till end september.
same here, bullet on the way. Next week hopefully can trade.
rclxm9.gif
ozak
post Sep 2 2009, 08:08 PM

17,021 posts

Today BAC ex-dividend date. $0.01/share. Just go in last week.
mynewuser
post Sep 2 2009, 08:41 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 2 2009, 08:08 PM)
Any suggestion on FREDDIE MAC (FRE)? Last quarter profit back by US gov.
mH3nG
post Sep 2 2009, 08:51 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 2 2009, 08:08 PM)
But don't you have to pay taxes if you repatriate your dividend earnings back to msia?
danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 09:05 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 2 2009, 08:51 PM)
But don't you have to pay taxes if you repatriate your dividend earnings back to msia?
Yes, dividends are taxable (or withhold) up to 30% for non-US residents.

Most Malaysians (who aren't US residents) who invest in US stocks mainly go for capital gain (not taxable),
not dividends. biggrin.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 2 2009, 08:41 PM)
Yes, the only suggestion is STAY AWAY from FRE or FNM.
These two pigs are NOT invest able.

But, for speculation and trading.. and if you want to take some risk, sure feel free. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 2 2009, 09:07 PM
ozak
post Sep 2 2009, 09:07 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 2 2009, 08:41 PM)
I not sure bro. I m just a beginner. notworthy.gif Maybe sifu danmooncake or sifu zamans98 can help you.
danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 09:09 PM

10,124 posts

Tonight, we'll have another down day for US stocks.. Bears are roaming!! biggrin.gif

I'm watching Oil stocks tonight. Riding on the bear train!

DUG
ERY <- got some at around 16.80 last week tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 2 2009, 09:15 PM
mynewuser
post Sep 2 2009, 09:23 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 09:05 PM)
Yes, dividends are taxable (or withhold) up to  30% for non-US residents. 

Most Malaysians (who aren't US residents) who invest in US stocks mainly go for capital gain (not taxable),
not dividends. biggrin.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 9:07 pm

Yes, the only suggestion is STAY AWAY from FRE or FNM.
These two pigs are NOT invest able. 

But, for speculation and trading.. and if you want to take some risk, sure feel free.  nod.gif
This counter drop from very high lo. Now housing show recovery. So good to take?
zamans98
post Sep 2 2009, 09:29 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

FAZ rising fast, the BEAR is having a feast.

DUG +17c
FAZ +76c and fast rising

Another 3 digits crash of DJIA?
GHz
post Sep 2 2009, 09:32 PM

1,139 posts

a lot of financial stock drop fast now. FRE, FNM drop ~15%
danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 09:38 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 2 2009, 09:32 PM)
a lot of financial stock drop fast now. FRE, FNM drop ~15%
That is why true investors stay away from those. These two are for traders play or "goreng" only.
Traders just buy it, after it has gone up 30% and dump it on the late comers and they're holding the bag. biggrin.gif

Here're some bad news for US banks stability in future:

Source:
http://finance.yahoo.com/tech-ticker/artic...Cs-Funds-Shrink

The failure of some of the nation's largest banks in 2008, including Washington Mutual, Wachovia and IndyMac, and scores of smaller banks this year came at a price. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation's fund that insures the country's deposits now stands at $10.4 billion, down from $45.2 billion the prior year.

Jim Bianco, president of Bianco Research in Chicago doesn't believe depositors need worry, because the government has the power of the printing press to make good on FDIC insurance. But he is troubled. "As a taxpayer you should be concerned because this could be another potential drag and possibly a significant drag on the U.S. Treasury and bloat the already record federal deficit," he says, echoing a Wall Street Journal editorial on Tuesday, suggesting the FDIC may be the next entity in need of a bailout.

84 banks have failed this year, and the problem list of banks continues to grow, 416 as of the end of June. "They've got a bunch of huge open ended liabilities should the banking system continue to deteriorate and it could get ugly very, very fast for them," Bianco worries. As we learned during this banking crisis, these things can pick up steam in a hurry.

With that in mind the FDIC is forced to raise their insurance fees, putting added pressure on already struggling smaller and regional banks. Community bankers Bianco speaks to, he claims are being punished twofold. "They're livid about it because a lot of these guys are just barely hanging on and their net incomes are pretty much equal to the fees they have to pay to the FDIC." Plus, the troubles facing the FDIC are a result of toxic assets, "that a lot of community banks never, not only trafficked in, but don't understand to this day."

The economic impact is significant: Without local banks lending, hopes of a V-shaped recovery are slim to none. Community banks are the ones "lending on Main Street USA" and Bianco says, if they're stressed the financial system won't return to full health "for the foreseeable future."

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 2 2009, 09:41 PM
GHz
post Sep 2 2009, 09:42 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 09:38 PM)
That is why true investors stay away from those. These two are for traders play or "goreng" only.
Traders just buy it, after it has gone up 30% and dump it on the late comers and they're holding the bag.  biggrin.gif
I agree with you. C drop below 4.5 now, do you buy any?
mH3nG
post Sep 2 2009, 09:42 PM

534 posts

Perhaps there will be another short sqeeze on FRE, FNM and AIG which will see traders scrambling to cover their shorts.
Then maybe we'll see more fireworks then. brows.gif
zamans98
post Sep 2 2009, 09:47 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Bear-Bull pulling each others...

danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 10:00 PM

10,124 posts

For those who wanted more info current view on FNM and FRE, go to THESTREET.COM
Search on the articles: Watching Fannie and Freddie (many different parts), just read all of them.

GHz
post Sep 2 2009, 10:02 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 10:00 PM)
For those who wanted more info current view on FNM and FRE, go to THESTREET.COM
Search on the articles: Watching Fannie and Freddie (many different parts), just read all of them.
Yes just read it. If they break up what happen to the shareholder?
danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 10:03 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 2 2009, 10:02 PM)
Yes just read it. If they break up what happen to the shareholder?
As we use this phrase in Malaysia "GONE TO HOLLAND!" biggrin.gif
Muliku
post Sep 2 2009, 10:08 PM

274 posts

Any takers or comments on sin stocks like LVS and MGM?
Am thinking of collecting some LVS for long-term. Thanks
danmooncake
post Sep 2 2009, 10:12 PM

10,124 posts

I just bought a small block of DRV pre-market this morning with stop loss 1 point.
This is bear share for real estate (3x) just for quick money and fun. biggrin.gif

zamans98
post Sep 2 2009, 10:14 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 2 2009, 10:12 PM)
I just bought a small block of DRV pre-market this morning with stop loss 1 point.
This is bear share for real estate (3x) just for quick money and fun.  biggrin.gif
SRS is better in that respect. Slightly lower priced, but moving good as well. brows.gif

Added on September 2, 2009, 10:21 pmfor those who keen to play financial sector, another hidden gem is
BX - Blackstone Group.

http://www.blackstone.com/

This post has been edited by zamans98: Sep 2 2009, 10:21 PM

125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:17 AM