125 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

zamans98
post Oct 15 2009, 11:25 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 15 2009, 11:19 PM)
Haha. I'll be holding ETFC unless there's any adverse news on it.

Btw, what other earnings report is slated for tomorrow aside from GE?
My internet line was down. but I Q earlier. When its alive, its too late. But hey, no loss, MBTrading earned $10..

Reload when it hit lower at 168 or lower.

I wanna reload UYG or URE

Only GE. By the way, ETFC will result will be next week.
rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 01:08 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Today I make 4% in DYN
3% WPTE

MOT started to move up again after being hammered

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 16 2009, 01:12 AM
cloud9_lee
post Oct 16 2009, 08:18 AM

369 posts

i lost 5.63% in LVS yesterday sad.gif
zamans98
post Oct 16 2009, 08:24 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Oct 16 2009, 08:18 AM)
i lost 5.63% in LVS yesterday sad.gif
Re-enter again today?

C is being controlled by HEDGE fund and Options Traders. Haiya.

Aftermarket tanked to 4.68, down 0.07.

Re-entered x 500 @ 4.72 . Total x1500 @4.77

rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 08:39 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 08:24 AM)
Re-enter again today?

C is being controlled by HEDGE fund and Options Traders. Haiya.

Aftermarket tanked to 4.68, down 0.07.

Re-entered x 500 @ 4.72 . Total x1500 @4.77
For C just hold until making money . It will be up in just a matter of a short time.

I make the mistake in taking losses in AIG after they merge the share 20 to 1 . I got panic and sell too fast.
zamans98
post Oct 16 2009, 09:08 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 16 2009, 08:39 AM)
For C just hold until making money . It will be up in just a matter of a short time.

I make the mistake in taking losses in AIG after they merge the share 20 to 1 . I got panic and sell too fast.
True, plus the quarterly result is impressing. brows.gif

Re-enter again tonight, after the OPTION expiry. Expect vitality today for DOG JONES
mynewuser
post Oct 16 2009, 09:29 AM

2,549 posts

LVS wait till Singapore open la.
mrPOTATO
post Oct 16 2009, 12:39 PM

2,113 posts

HI guys, what are the minimum units must buy in us stocks ? I see some of you buy 500. Is it same for all types of stocks ? Thx.
ozak
post Oct 16 2009, 12:43 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 16 2009, 12:39 PM)
HI guys, what are the minimum units must buy in us stocks ? I see some of you buy 500. Is it same for all types of stocks ? Thx.
1 unit share.
mrPOTATO
post Oct 16 2009, 12:56 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2009, 12:43 PM)
1 unit share.
Oh that good !
Even poor ppl like us can play then rclxm9.gif

edit - i mean invest

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Oct 16 2009, 12:57 PM
zamans98
post Oct 16 2009, 06:00 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

WARNING

Just2trade sucks big time.

FAKE claim on :

- Streaming Quotes > None
- Level II Quotes > None
- J2trader as claim on the website, ie JavaBased - none > J2trader

As what being claimed on website.
FeaturesAll-in-one tool with streaming Level 1, Level 2, and Time/Sales data as well as Order Entry – Watch your portfolio in real-time and place trades all from the same page
Create up to 5 watch lists with 15 symbols in each list
Level 1 streaming data includes inside Bid/Ask quotes, day’s % change, day’s $ change, day’s high/low, previous close, day’s volume, and tick trend
Level 2 streaming data includes more in depth bid/ask and size levels for each market participant
Time/Sales streaming data includes the last price, size, and execution time
Adjustable columns within the streaming data screens allow for customization

Final WORD: Stay Away - unless you don't care, just punch in buy/sell, and wait the best. ECN my DI*K. Super faker. I'm also not sure if the execution is good even.
Worst ever platform I ever seen, EVER. Feels like I'm in pre-2000 internet interface.

Interface : 1/5
Customer Support : 1/5
Account Activities (opening/transfer): 3/5
Tools/Research : 1/5 (using 3rd party)
Protection : FINRA / SIPC

Final Rating : 1/5
mH3nG
post Oct 16 2009, 06:09 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 16 2009, 12:56 PM)
Oh that good !
Even poor ppl like us can play then  rclxm9.gif

edit - i mean invest
I wouldn't take it that way though. Buying in small quantities can actually hurt you more even with low brokerage fees.
Take for example you buy one share of C at USD 4.70. Add the brokerage fee of USD6 (Sogotrade) and you'll end up with a share what needs to go past USD10.70 to breakeven. laugh.gif

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 06:00 PM)
WARNING

FAKE claim on :

- Level II Quotes > None

FeaturesAll-in-one tool with streaming Level 1, Level 2, and Time/Sales data as well as Order Entry – Watch your  portfolio in real-time and place trades all from the same page
Level 1 streaming data includes inside Bid/Ask quotes, day’s % change, day’s $ change, day’s high/low, previous close, day’s volume, and tick trend
Level 2 streaming data includes more in depth bid/ask and size levels for each market participant

Final WORD: Stay Away - unless you don't care, just punch in buy/sell, and wait the best. ECN my DI*K. Super faker. I'm also not sure if the execution is good even.
Worst ever platform I ever seen, EVER. Feels like I'm in pre-2000 internet interface.

Protection :  FINRA / SIPC

I think you're just too generous. With that kind of service you ought to give them a 0.
Level 1 quotes should be available for free. If they can't provide even the most basic streaming quotes then... doh.gif

GHz
post Oct 16 2009, 06:46 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 16 2009, 06:09 PM)
I wouldn't take it that way though. Buying in small quantities can actually hurt you more even with low brokerage fees.
Take for example you buy one share of C at USD 4.70. Add the brokerage fee of USD6 (Sogotrade) and you'll end up with a share what needs to go past USD10.70 to breakeven.  laugh.gif
For me it depends, if buy lower price share yes I agree definitely loose but if you higher price shares such as GOOG. current price ~$530, brokerage fee $6, only need to increase to 536 to break even. its easily achievable, eg premarket today alone GOOG up $19.

This post has been edited by GHz: Oct 16 2009, 07:45 PM
epalbee3
post Oct 16 2009, 08:55 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 06:00 PM)
WARNING

FAKE claim on :

- Level II Quotes > None

FeaturesAll-in-one tool with streaming Level 1, Level 2, and Time/Sales data as well as Order Entry – Watch your  portfolio in real-time and place trades all from the same page

Protection :  FINRA / SIPC

Have you banked in at least USD2500?
This is the minimum to open an account.

I think at this point, we all can make a conclusion that Sogotrade is the best!
at least it gives you a month free trade.

If I want to play, I will use Sogo.. All the time..

Added on October 16, 2009, 9:02 pmBelieve me..
C will drop until < RM4.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Oct 16 2009, 09:02 PM
mH3nG
post Oct 16 2009, 09:16 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Oct 16 2009, 06:46 PM)
For me it depends, if buy lower price share yes I agree definitely loose but if you higher price shares such as GOOG. current price ~$530, brokerage fee $6, only need to increase to 536 to break even. its easily achievable, eg premarket today alone GOOG up $19.
You're right. I totally forgot about shares which are on the other end of the scale.
Though I wonder, who's rich enough to buy one share of BRK.A. smile.gif

Added on October 16, 2009, 9:18 pmEarnings: Fri. Before Open

* Bank of America (BAC): Q3 EPS of -$0.26 misses by $0.05. Revenue of $26.04B (+32.7%) vs. $27.61B. Adds $2.1B to credit loss reserves. "Obviously, credit costs remain high, and that is our major financial challenge going forward. However, we are heartened by early positive signs, such as the leveling of delinquencies among our credit card customers." (PR)
* GE (GE): Q3 EPS of $0.27 beats by $0.07. Revenue of $37.8B (-20%) vs. $40.03B. CEO Jeff Immelt on GE Capital: "While it remains a tough environment for GE Capital, we are seeing signs of stabilization. Every segment at GE Capital was profitable with the exception of Real Estate, which is experiencing a tough environment but where we believe the risks are well understood and manageable." (PR)
* First Horizon National (FHN): Q3 EPS of -$0.24 beats by $0.08. Revenue of $495M (-6.4%) vs. $504M. (PR)
* Halliburton (HAL): Q3 EPS of $0.31 beats by $0.05. Revenue of $3.59B vs. $3.42B. "Overall market dynamics remained difficult in North America... Although I am more confident in our view of the international markets than I was last quarter, project deferrals together with pricing pressure, driven by our customers’ desire to reduce input costs, cause us to continue to expect a softer near-term margin outlook for international markets." (PR)
* Mattel (MAT): Q3 EPS of $0.63 in-line. Revenue of $1.79B (-8.2%) in-line. ""As expected, revenues continue to be challenging this year due to the overall economic environment, retailers tightly managing inventory, foreign exchange rates and the lack of entertainment-inspired toy lines." (PR)

This post has been edited by mH3nG: Oct 16 2009, 09:18 PM
zamans98
post Oct 16 2009, 09:57 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 16 2009, 08:55 PM)
Have you banked in at least USD2500?
This is the minimum to open an account.

I think at this point, we all can make a conclusion that Sogotrade is the best!
at least it gives you a month free trade.

If I want to play, I will use Sogo.. All the time..

Added on October 16, 2009, 9:02 pmBelieve me..
C will drop until < RM4.
Of course I already put in cash. Please revert to my posting.

I think you all better stick with SOGO rather than J2trade ... sux

What is your basis for CITI to go under 4?
rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 10:14 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

I think it is going to be a bad day tonite..
My whole screen is painted red
Only one miserable green on my list: DUG
DUG is the ETF short for oil. ( DIG is the ETF long for oil)
zamans98
post Oct 16 2009, 10:42 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 16 2009, 10:14 PM)
I think it is going to be a bad day tonite..
My whole screen is painted red
Only one miserable green on my list:  DUG
DUG is the ETF short for oil. ( DIG is the ETF long for oil)
True > mine all red as well. Bad news from BAC and GE, Sony Ericsson.. coupled with Bad Prelim UoM Consumer Sentiment, and Expiry of OPTIONs plus its Friday. All the bad news in 1 day.
epalbee3
post Oct 16 2009, 11:15 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 09:57 PM)
Of course I already put in cash. Please revert to my posting.

I think you all better stick with SOGO rather than J2trade ... sux

What is your basis for CITI to go under 4?
Rumours were overcome by bad news.
losses are still losses.. people can't expect C to go USD 8, so they will throw it instead of waiting another half year..
I think C will have at least another one week down.

Even BAC has losses. US economy is not good.

aa1234
post Oct 16 2009, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 10:42 PM)
True > mine all red as well. Bad news from BAC and GE, Sony Ericsson.. coupled with Bad Prelim UoM Consumer Sentiment, and Expiry of OPTIONs plus its Friday. All the bad news in 1 day.
Hi guys... i been following this thread for past 2 weeks & US market seems rather interesting to watch....

checked out Bloomberg & it really seems sh*tty right now... everything is so -ve.... WTH?? everything was painted rosy up till today... just when the 10,000 barrier was broken yesterday.... damn.....

sure hope this does not bring another round of declines around the globe....

This post has been edited by aa1234: Oct 16 2009, 11:24 PM

125 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:25 AM