Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

rosdi1
post Oct 1 2009, 04:29 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

I had being tradin in the US market for more than 5 years both in equities and options.
I am happy to share information. Please PM me if you need more information.
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 10:35 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 1 2009, 07:42 PM)
Great n fantastic. By the way, appreciate if you can share some important ideas. PM will hinder a healthy discussion.

Like TAXATION issue raised by some. DIVIDEND etc.

or your STRATEGY.

Last 5 years is very interesting. Come' on..
Taxation
If you signed the WBEN form and you don't have any US address you will not be taxed in US both in capital gain and dividen.
Logicall if you declare the dividen in Malaysia you will be taxed in Malaysia.
The capital gain is not taxable in Malaysia today.
Interactive Brokers give the best tarding rate at $0.005 per share traded or a minimum of $1.00 per trade. U need to deposit $10k to open an account.
Other broker like TD, ThinkorSwim, Option Xpress, need jut around $2k to open an account but the trade cost at aroubd $10 per trade depending on the Volume or commulitive volume.
for comparison go to:
http://www.brokebrokers.com/compare-stock-brokers.php
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 11:42 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(motolola @ Oct 2 2009, 10:46 AM)
hey rosdi are you still actively trading on the states markets? i just signed up with sogotrade but i'm worried whether it's reputable or not, have u heard of this discount broker?

did you find manage to find your pot of gold from the US markets? biggrin.gif
Sorry I am not familiar with Sogotrade and I guess it should be ok. All share and share option brokers in US are very much regulated not like the Forex broker.
Your fund are deposited to a trust accont in the bank. If the amount is less than $100K it dhould be quite save.

I had not got my million in fact...I am still -ve in the US market.javascript:emoticon(':cry:')
smilie

I think if you want to be full time trader.. trading the FCPO and FKLI futures is still the best.
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 10:14 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

I had run out 50% last nite and now happily 100% out.
It will be the start of another waiting game for me.
I will not move in until Dow make another 150 swing in a day.
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 10:51 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 2 2009, 10:30 PM)
what do you mean by "150 swing in a day."?
Example:
If last close at 9509.3 and at the end of the day the market close 9659.3
or the market had dropped to 9450 and close at 9600.
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 11:10 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Yes .. the index is less -ve now ,, it was green for a while but turn red again All my stopped was triggered earlier.
It look like early teh tarik for me tonite.
rosdi1
post Oct 2 2009, 11:46 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

I keep a list of cheap well known names like, AMD, EK, SIRI, CTIC, C, ODP,F, ALU, BZ. AMR, XRX, SPRT, s, q and a few more
I will group 4 together at a total price of around $20 and buy them together.
Manually I will monitor the net and if drop 5% from the previous closing total I will sell 2 of the worst stock and if it drop 5% again I will sell the other 2.

Is this a good technique?... it work for me on a bullish market.
I will sideline myself on a bearish market and keep my cash.
At no time I have more than 4 stocks in the market.
rosdi1
post Oct 3 2009, 12:34 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 2 2009, 11:55 PM)
I got 4 stocks only in my PORTFOLIO.

Like many sifu n expert, they said the strategy mostly work when the market is bullish.

AMD - possible bankruptcy in 12-18 month time
SIRI - possible de-listed
I know that most of them are no more good and that why they are dirt cheap.
they also move a lot more interm of percentage for example AMD. EK, UAUA, AMR had move more than 60% from the low in a very short time.
I bought 4 at a time so that; like a racing car if one tyre burst I can stil move to the pit with the other 3.
Unlikely 2 burst at the same time.
rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 01:08 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Today I make 4% in DYN
3% WPTE

MOT started to move up again after being hammered

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 16 2009, 01:12 AM
rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 08:39 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 16 2009, 08:24 AM)
Re-enter again today?

C is being controlled by HEDGE fund and Options Traders. Haiya.

Aftermarket tanked to 4.68, down 0.07.

Re-entered x 500 @ 4.72 . Total x1500 @4.77
For C just hold until making money . It will be up in just a matter of a short time.

I make the mistake in taking losses in AIG after they merge the share 20 to 1 . I got panic and sell too fast.
rosdi1
post Oct 16 2009, 10:14 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

I think it is going to be a bad day tonite..
My whole screen is painted red
Only one miserable green on my list: DUG
DUG is the ETF short for oil. ( DIG is the ETF long for oil)
rosdi1
post Oct 17 2009, 12:20 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(aa1234 @ Oct 16 2009, 11:18 PM)
Hi guys... i been following this thread for past 2 weeks & US market seems rather interesting to watch....

checked out Bloomberg & it really seems sh*tty right now... everything is so -ve.... WTH?? everything was painted rosy up till today... just when the 10,000 barrier was broken yesterday.... damn.....

sure hope this does not bring another round of declines around the globe....
One of an indicator for a market crash is the value of VIX index. Attached a 4 years weekly chart
Market will crash when VIX is higher than 40
stable when lower than 20
in between 20 to 40 means on unstable ground. ( todayVIX = 22.37)

When market crash we should have the list of ETF ready to trade . Attach is the list of Ultra short ETF.

hope this help my friend

rosdi1
post Oct 18 2009, 11:12 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 18 2009, 11:00 PM)
These few days I tried to study on FOREX trading, which I discovered that is a lot risky than stock trading. At first I thought it is a fast-earning way, where as later I found out that the forex broker is usually at the other side of investors. That means they usually play against the investor.

Just like casino.

What do you think about stock? For stock, we still can make analysis and trade rite? When the price down, we still have time to wait right?

That's y, I am happy that our government has blocked short selling for stock. If not, the broker will play against us.. wink.gif

Added on October 18, 2009, 11:02 pmPlaying on margin is something like gamble; if you play with cash, as long as you choose a stock that will not bankrupt, you still have chance to recover, may be a few years later.

But using margin, you may lose everything.
Yes I think forex brokers are not even regulated.
We had even tried to put the quote screens of the same currencies pairs from 2 different brokers side by side.
Guess what they are not the same......

If you are day trading on Forex the chance that you will lose money are very high.
But for a longer term trading I think it should be ok as at some point the rate had to be synchronize.

rosdi1
post Oct 20 2009, 12:03 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

These counters from my list move significantly

JAV, EROC,LGDI, BBW,

others from my list

DSCO, ARNA, KERX, CNTF,VTG

The old list that move..
MOT, THC, GNW, F

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 20 2009, 12:09 AM
rosdi1
post Oct 20 2009, 09:47 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Today is another bad day have to cut loss again... 5 % loss

only JAV, EROC, LGDI, CAW and UAUA (9% move) still positive
rosdi1
post Oct 20 2009, 10:42 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Oct 20 2009, 10:18 PM)
5% already cut loss. My FRE 50% down still no cut loss. Only cut my stem.
I mention my strategy earlier:

I bought a bundle of 4 or 5 very high risk stock. I will be out whenever it move 5% down or 20% up.
It work for me after the crash.....but lately I had to cut twice in a row... which is bad...

Added on October 20, 2009, 10:52 pmToday the air;ines are up
UAUA, AMR, JBLU. CAL, but LUV a bit down.
That can be an indication oil is going down

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 20 2009, 10:52 PM
rosdi1
post Oct 20 2009, 10:58 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 20 2009, 10:55 PM)
Remember to BUY the dip.  This small pullback won't last.  laugh.gif
Go ahead if that is your strategy.. mine is a bit different
rosdi1
post Oct 21 2009, 12:36 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

Another 7 down the DJ will be back to the 4 figures

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:40 amIt is 4 figures now... Bye to 5 figures????

Added on October 21, 2009, 12:50 amk ... Obama want DJ to be kept at 5 figures...

This post has been edited by rosdi1: Oct 21 2009, 12:51 AM
rosdi1
post Oct 22 2009, 06:53 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

DJ changing colors
Open Dark Green
Midday turning yellow
Close on dark red

CI... open red?
Midday... Yellow?
Close....green?

Is this just a fat hope?
rosdi1
post Oct 24 2009, 09:24 AM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

DJ dropped back 100 pt
3 days ago on CNBC I heard when a floor trader was asked:
Which will be seen first, a dow 11K or 9K.
and in front of the world audience he said dow 9K
So be mindful.

0.0243sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:18 PM