4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

ellimist
post Mar 13 2008, 11:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(jactval @ Mar 13 2008, 09:46 PM)

Added on March 13, 2008, 9:54 pm
I am just curious. What is TARC internal-assessed mean? Does it mean TAR College students can obtain ACCA qualification after they pass their college exam without taking the real ACCA paper from UK(like most of us taking)? They can obtain OBU Degree In Applied Accounting as well? If so, OBU+Sheffield Hallam=2 degree drool.gif  Got such great benefit offer to Tarcians?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Internally assessed means their papers are not sent to the UK for marking and grading. As to which papers they take,I'm not too sure,but I suppose they take a different one.

I'm not sure if they can take the OBU since their part 2 is internally assessed,but even if they could,why would anyone do so? Who needs 2 same/similar degrees sweat.gif

QUOTE(kockroach @ Mar 13 2008, 10:31 PM)
Hi, does anyone know is there any changes in syllabus for P2 compare to last sitting? Thanks
So far,I've heard of the IAS 1 change. All the statements now start of with the word "statement",namely :

Statement of Comprehensive Income (income statement + statement of recognized income and expenses iianm)
Statement of Financial Position (balance sheet)
Statement of Cash Flows

I've heard the change in IAS 1 affects some other standards as well,but as to how,I'm not too sure.

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 13 2008, 11:35 PM
ellimist
post Mar 14 2008, 10:12 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(edith @ Mar 14 2008, 12:25 AM)
may i know when is the due date for exam entry?
15 April for this coming session

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Mar 14 2008, 01:04 AM)
need help from u guys..
i'm doing my cost accounting assignment..
hahaa..
i'm need the definition, example and description for some terms.
the terms are varible, fixed, semi-varible and semi-fixed.
any refferencing website or??any idea?
thanks for helping...i think these terms should be quite easy for u guys:D
You could try searching for the term at http://financial-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/. It comes up with multiple results from various sources iianm,not sure if it'll be useful to u
ellimist
post Mar 15 2008, 11:10 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Mar 15 2008, 10:50 PM)
I've just finish my SPM... well i mean is just receive my SPM's result... Now i currently studying in TARC's A level...
Guess what... I'm withdrawing my admission(and my teacher + relative say:'TARC is super duper good!!!')...
After i found this forum(always in IT zone..) I gain interest in ACCA ...

i need some rough info bout CAT -> ACCA...
CAT/ACCA,being a professional qualification course,is fully exam based,which is to say whether u get through or not solely depends on the CAT/ACCA exams u sit (think SPM,etc,sorta)

Exams are held every 6 months,in June and December,generally in the first 2 weeks. Colleges may have other tests and what nots,but those count for nothing towards your final marks.

CAT is the foundation for ACCA. You'll have to sit and pass 9 papers (passing marks being around 40-50 iirc depending on the paper) to complete CAT. Ppl generally take a year to complete this part,taking something like 5 in the first sitting and 4 in the next. For the first few papers,u can take computer based exams (multiple choice questions) which are available in other months,leaving you with less papers for the written exams in June/December.

For ACCA,you're supposed to sit for a total of 14 papers,but you're exempted from the first 3 if you complete CAT. Passing marks for these papers are 50 marks. You can take a maximum of 4,but most ppl take 3 per sitting. With 11 papers,you'll either finish it in 1 1/2 year (4,4,3) or 2 years (3,3,3,2)

Upon completing the entire course,you'll have to gain 3 years relevant working experience (namely in the field of audit) before being accepted as an ACCA member. So yea,once you're done with the course,you can come out and work for monies smile.gif
ellimist
post Mar 15 2008, 11:34 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Mar 15 2008, 11:28 PM)
Thx ellimist for da info...
I've got some crazy idea (after recieve advice from xcrue and hikari )
After my CAT can i take the part2 paper example 2.4 in systematic and 2.5 in other institution??
Possible?? i know some institution can... like ftms or kasturi... is TARC and sunway and UCSI able to do that??(staying in kl easy for me to go there)

Really need advice since I'm gona withdraw my admission from TRAC(A level science)
Yea,you can take in various institutions.

Not sure bout TARC,but for Sunway,well,they're obviously not too happy with such students. You don't have to tell Sunway that you actually intend to take certain papers elsewhere,just sign up for the ones you want. (I know off ppl who do this)
ellimist
post Mar 16 2008, 08:08 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Mar 16 2008, 12:21 AM)
which means like i can take 3 paper from sunway then another 3 to other institution and 3 paper from sunway again???

BTW CAT harder or diploma in accountancy harder?? erm... make it this way... if i finish my CAT will it make me easier to further my ACCA??? since CAT is the foundation of ACCA... if so... what about diploma?
Hmm,I haven't really seen the diploma...so it's hard to say. But yea,CAT will definately be useful as a foundation for ur ACCA studies. Plus the time taken for CAT is relatively short. So if you have ur mind set on ACCA,you might as well take CAT
ellimist
post Mar 22 2008, 12:18 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(smacky @ Mar 21 2008, 01:37 PM)
i wanna ask, if i go for tarc's CAT/ACCA programme, will i still get a degree?
iianm yes. somethin like you have to spend the last 3 months of ur course in UK,doin some stuff there to obtain the degree
ellimist
post May 16 2008, 10:53 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Felicia - HL @ May 15 2008, 02:16 PM)
i'm going crazy......the more i study F8 the more i get frustrated as i wonder why all the pass year answer can get so detail and long. One single point have to elaborate for so long.....i cant even make it leh.....hai...that's why i always fail for this subject!(3 times)They said the more u write u got more chance to get pass........but i got nothing to write except straight to the point...anyone can help?
Chill,the answers provided by the examiner is for tutorial purposes. You don't have to elaborate as long as the examiner,just get the essential points.

Have you attended any tutorial or revision class? I doubt the lecturers would require you to answer as long as the examiners' answers.

Apart from notes and questions,you could probably look at examiner's requirement and his comments on previous sittings,to understand why students fail. (or even do well)

QUOTE(soul_project @ May 15 2008, 05:47 PM)
anyone here taking P4 ?
izzit very tough ? cos i'm considering taking this paper next semester
pls advice
I'm taking P4 here. Yea,it's rather tough.

1st off,I've heard P5 is the easiest,relatively speaking,so you might wanna take that.
2ndly,do you like F9/2.4? If you do,it should be ok to take P4.Plus,P4 and P5 kinda go hand in hand.

If not,you could probably take audit if you don't mind it. I heard the tax paper is real tough.

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 16 2008, 10:54 AM
ellimist
post May 16 2008, 11:04 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 16 2008, 04:53 PM)
Hahaha, i'm doing P4 too.. XD
QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ May 16 2008, 06:37 PM)
dont forget to share tips with me, pls.
Got tips better share with me too brows.gif

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ May 16 2008, 09:00 PM)
I'm just curius, what so special bout ACCA?
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 16 2008, 09:22 PM)
Nothing much. It's a professional qualification, widely recognized, primarily in commonwealth nations, and have rather fair and transparent (comparatively) marking systems.

And for the same level of international mobility, it's much cheaper than foreign degrees.
In short,it's like the cantonese expression "peng,leng,zeng" laugh.gif

And of course the duration course is rather short as well,once again compared to certain/majority of the usual pre-u--> degree paths

Having said that,as Thanatos has pointed out,there's nothing particularly "special" about ACCA itself. A "special" equivalent of it would probably be something like ICAEW or the sorts

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 16 2008, 11:06 PM
ellimist
post May 16 2008, 11:16 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ May 16 2008, 11:14 PM)
Well, may be you are rite if you can pass all the papers in one short. tongue.gif I know some people study ACCA for more than 6 years but still unable to complete the course.
Haha yea,I suppose I should have mentioned that the course duration is relatively short if you attempt sufficient papers and as far as possible continuosly pass
ellimist
post May 16 2008, 11:34 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ May 16 2008, 11:19 PM)
so ellimist, you are in the final stage of ACCA? what you plaanning to work after this?

Added on May 16, 2008, 11:26 pmOnce more thing, other than "peng, leng, zeng", what is the main reason you all take ACCA? just because of the word of "chartered" accountants?  rclxub.gif
Yea,if I don't fail then this will be my final stage. (Thanatos also whistling.gif) Er..one of the big four,haven't really decided which though.

Erm yea. I chose accounting coz...there's always gonna be jobs for accountants,and supposedly the pay is decent. Then I took ACCA over a degree because of the speed + "peng,leng,zeng" tongue.gif
ellimist
post May 16 2008, 11:51 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ May 16 2008, 11:39 PM)
Well, life as an accountant is not easy, most of the accountant that i know always look moody, stress, low, and down. If you want an easy life, i think accoutant is not a good choice.  icon_idea.gif
Well,easy lifes in general are not too rewarding.There're exceptions of course tongue.gif
ellimist
post May 17 2008, 08:18 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Felicia - HL @ May 17 2008, 01:16 PM)
Thanks for the advise, Carlosandy & Ellimist!

i'll attend the revision class on tomorrow, hope that i can get my motivation back again. i've been losing my way all the while cos i choose to self study....Hope that after the revision, i can know how and where to focus on the coming exam .......
No prob.

Study hard and all the best thumbup.gif
ellimist
post May 25 2008, 02:11 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Stakeholder mapping? That sounds like P3,the one where u consider stakeholder interest and powers
ellimist
post May 29 2008, 09:51 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ May 28 2008, 11:10 PM)
i just receive my exam docket and it states that change of venue from sunway college to Sekolah Seri Sedaya

now i just received email saying change back to sunway college and not sekolah seri sedaya

hmm.... so it is still sunway college ??? sweat.gif

Added on May 28, 2008, 11:13 pm

same here
i shouldnt have took 2 papers this sitting sweat.gif cry.gif
Try checking the docket online,they should have updated that one.

QUOTE(kotarosan @ May 29 2008, 12:07 AM)
hi.
i'd like to ask about entry into sunway for ACCA course.
is there july 2008 entry? i check on the website, but i found no july 2008, only jan 2008
Yes,there should be a July 08 intake,probably they didn't update the website
ellimist
post Jun 2 2008, 04:57 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(kotarosan @ Jun 2 2008, 03:42 PM)
hi guys. i want to ask something. im about to study ACCA at sunway this july entry. but they tell me full-time classes are full so i have to take part-time classes. to sunway students: can u tell me differences between the two classes? PM or reply here. thanks
Part time classes are usually on weekends or certain nights. Full time classes,are well,usual hours. (Day time,mostly weekday)
ellimist
post Jun 3 2008, 08:47 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(lawrence1437 @ Jun 2 2008, 09:26 PM)
tml p7 sad.gif
no confidence at all ~
don wan to failed 3rd times  cry.gif  cry.gif
any advice ??
Calm down,make sure your answers are "tailor made" to the case study,and just do your best smile.gif
ellimist
post Jun 3 2008, 08:05 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 3 2008, 07:45 PM)
today's audit was manageable, but i suspect the marking will be quite strict. joint audit came out for 7 marks, and consolidation schedule adjustment came out for 4 marks.

and due diligence came out for about 16 marks.

Q1 was a business risk question. sleep.gif

---

Hopefully can get about 60s..
Biz risk question,bestnyer... tongue.gif
ellimist
post Jun 4 2008, 12:49 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Doubt the core papers are necessarily more difficult than the optional papers.

Apart from that,it was transitional period last sem,so most students moved on to the core papers (frm part 2 n frm passing optionals before that),leaving less ppl doin optionals,so last sem was not necessarily an accurate representation.
ellimist
post Jun 4 2008, 10:20 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Tmrw the 2 finance papers,F9 and P4,all the best ppl~
ellimist
post Jun 5 2008, 07:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

P4 was in a nutshell was retarded

Nuff said.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top