ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

ellimist
post Jun 5 2008, 07:42 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Wah,still got confidence to pass,respect man notworthy.gif

I did Q5. And tried Q4 but ran out of time b4 I could get to it.

Yea,I wonder if I can even get 40 lawl
ellimist
post Jun 6 2008, 12:08 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(seeker118 @ Jun 5 2008, 11:37 PM)
But i heard ppl said that we need to elaborate for the paper, i worry that i elaborate not long enough rclxub.gif
Just used 9-10 pages for all 5 questions sweat.gif
U don't need to be long winded to pass. For both my audit papers I reached the halfway mark of booklet,think that's bout 10 pages
ellimist
post Jun 7 2008, 06:41 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pink_hippo @ Jun 7 2008, 05:53 PM)
I'll be sitting for P1 & P2 also.. I've no confidence for both of the paper.
Esp P2, i'm not strong with the group accounts; this is the main area of the exam.
Hopefully can pass at least 1 paper la..  blush.gif
Don't give up,just stay calm and do what you know how to do.

I got through P2 without knowing how to do groups. Honestly. I just copied the balance sheet, (adding the parent and subsidiary figures) tried to do one or two adjustments (no idea if those were right) and then moved on. Not advising you to do so obviously,just saying it's possible to get through the paper even if you're not that good in groups.
ellimist
post Jun 8 2008, 01:03 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Probably u could look at the exam timetable and decide? Having days in between papers are kinda useful.Well it is to me at least tongue.gif
ellimist
post Jun 8 2008, 03:17 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(dreamerJD @ Jun 8 2008, 12:24 PM)
thx for the advises.. another ques.. if i do f5,7,9.. (if i dun fail anything.. touch wood!) this means i'll b doing f8 together wif p1,p2... f8 is the basic for p1 izzit? would it be difficult if tt is the case? since i dun any basic knowledge in audit & doing 2 of them wif different lvl of difficulty at the same time...
F8 is not exactly the foundation of P1. Certain things will be similar I suppose,but F8 is really the foundation for P7 I suppose.

imo u'll be fine doin the 2 together,but that's just me laugh.gif
ellimist
post Jun 10 2008, 11:50 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

It's not over till it's over ppl. Just pick up marks wherever u can. Make sure you don't dwell too long on a part you don't know. The first few marks of any question is usually easier to score then the last few marks.

And if you can't calculate,there's always the theory. At least you can try to crap then not knowing how to calculate at all.

All the best P2 students =)
ellimist
post Jun 10 2008, 08:02 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Out of curiousity,what was the full theory/current issue question about?
ellimist
post Jun 10 2008, 08:52 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Yes,P4 is difficult. Why would u choose it? I mean,it use to be a core paper,but now u have the option to avoid it tongue.gif

Haha on a serious note,I suppose it's not an impossible paper. No idea who's a good lecturer though
ellimist
post Jun 11 2008, 12:39 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

P3 today,then it's all over for this sitting. All the best ppl~
ellimist
post Jun 11 2008, 09:54 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Jun 11 2008, 04:24 PM)
now my turn to think wat to take for next sitting

which paper easy? for self study which is better?

p 3, p 4 , p 5 , p 6 ?

is advance taxation very hard ? i no knowledge about it at all actually.. as my f6 taxation was exempted b4....

kindly advise

thanks alot
out of the selection if I must pick one,probably p3? Required you have good manuals and what nots.

I would actually say P7 is a pretty decent paper for self studying,but like most have said here,it's a professional paper and the lack of real world experience would probably make certain things seem vague. Thus the lecturer helps.

P3...don't know what to say. Spent alot of time figuring out models to use,ended up bullcrapping alot instead. Whatever la >_>
ellimist
post Jun 11 2008, 11:24 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Jun 11 2008, 03:48 PM)
mayb i hav now decided to take F1-F4 ..hopefully it's managable for me.. sad.gif
sumone advised me tat'" Once u hav registered for a professional course, there's no social life until u finish ur exam, then onli can u take a rest for 2-3 weeks.." umm..gud advice for me..

Added on June 11, 2008, 3:54 pm

ya ya..all of u r discussing how tough P2 is though i know nothing of it since i havent started my course yet ^^lll
class wil b conducted even on Sunday for skill n professional level ..

Added on June 11, 2008, 3:59 pm

they seem liike pushing themselves to quick-graduation from acca..
i think taking 3 papers per sitting is considered tough..let alone 4..
i m worrying for the future..i reli dun hav a clue on how to select for papres taking..
wil our lecturers guide us ?
If you ever plan to take 4 papers,you should definately have a better shot at it with the earlier papers than the later ones. Plus the first 3 papers are rather knowledge based papers and relatively easy. So F1-F4 sounds good imo. Just don't slack off and I think you'll do find.

Lol you'll still have your social life,you can't be studyin all day long can you? =.= You'll just get less of it as exams draw near.

Don't worry bout P2 now,although yea,it's rather...difficult tongue.gif

I think it's part of the "ACCA gives u a quick route thing" If you're really focused and work hard consistently,depending on your own capabilities taking 4 papers is actually to a certain extent possible.

As for the future,as you move along in the papers you'll get a feel for it. Since you'll be taking F4 (which is considered as a part 2 paper so to speak) you'll probably have a rough idea as to how many papers u can handle.
As for selection,in order is fine. Papers that go well with each other...probably audit n accounts? Colleges generally have standard paths for you to take. Apart from that,u can look at exam timetables (just google ACCA exam timetable) Having days in between papers really help,imo
ellimist
post Jun 13 2008, 02:08 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Jun 12 2008, 04:47 PM)
oo..thx for ur reply =)
ya ya..i won slack off since my dad used to anticipate me of getting satisfactory results..it's rather stressful though presurizing myself could b  a motivation  sad.gif  sad.gif
err..the manager of my college seems to keep emphasizing not to carry a perfunctory attitude towards acca..umm..i noe well and i certainly wil b serious..he oso advised me not to hav too much sociial life and focus more on study..lol ><
now i wonder wat the difference btw study hard and study smart is ..i reli doubt my ability to cope wif acca since there's a great deal of case study..
in fact, i hav never been trained to answer case study b4..  sad.gif  sad.gif

the acca exam timetable would not be released so early rite? i mean b4 v fill out the exam form and select how many papers to take..propably v wil follow the sequence rite? like F5,F6,F7, F8...
huh..reli get stumped ><
Yea,pressure as a motivation can be really annoying (and pressurizing lol) at times,but it does help.

Well your manager has no way of knowing your capabilities right? So that's really just a general "play safe" statement,so he won't be misguiding the weaker ones,so to speak. You'll get a hang of it really,then you can decide how much social life you can or cannot have.

Erm,studyin smart is,well,studyin smart laugh.gif Don't worry too much bout the case studies,those are mostly in the professional level. Or probably there're shorter ones in part 2,but u should get the hang of it after doin questions in classes.Tutorials and stuff.

Click for exam timetable. Exams start every first Monday of June/December i.e. Day 1. This continues till Friday (Day 5) and Day 6 onwards resumes after the weekends.

Just a suggestion,the whole have days in between. Following the sequence is perfectly fine as well. (But u can't jump in between modules,like not completing F papers but taking P papers) The sequence of the module is important,not the paper sequence,iianm.

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 12 2008, 05:29 PM)
4 papers is manageable on lower level papers. Higher level, I really don't advise anyway to do so, unless you are THAT good.
Only take 4 professional papers if you're Thanatos brows.gif

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 12 2008, 11:12 PM)
those who taken P4 this sitting...please vote WORST for the paper and examiner with the hope of sacking Bob Ryan after 2 sittings  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Haih yea,that stupid paper shakehead.gif
ellimist
post Jun 13 2008, 04:17 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 13 2008, 02:42 AM)
hey, actually how did u guys feel after exam? i started my holidays today. feel kinda empty without exam. life is like no target d. anyone feeling the same way too? hmm.gif

have to start looking for job d. lazy niaaaaa  wink.gif
Haha I get what you mean. Especially since we have long breaks (till results) Tryin to occupy myself tongue.gif

QUOTE(formulaoag @ Jun 13 2008, 02:45 AM)
hey man...do u hv any idea, if i'm left wit p3 n 2 optional papers, can i do 1 optional paper 1st before doing p3? thx in adv
QUOTE(roy_pck @ Jun 13 2008, 04:03 AM)
if i'm not mistaken, you can't take optional paper before core paper. meaning if you wanna take optional paper, you must take it along with at least 1 core paper. correct me if i'm wrong.
I think roy is correct. You have to sit papers in module order,although not in paper chronological order
ellimist
post Jun 13 2008, 10:06 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(kuntaker @ Jun 13 2008, 09:08 AM)
but i heard tat IAS is related le..
You'll probably need good knowledge in the various IAS for P2,but not so much in F8
ellimist
post Jun 13 2008, 01:31 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Jun 13 2008, 10:14 AM)
i wanna ask about p4 and p5
which more easy?
both is easy and no calculation?
kindly advice thanks alot hehe
blur on both subjects
From those taking both papers,I've heard P5 is easier.

I think both papers involve calculations. P4 calculations can be tedious but once again that depends on the paper. Like P4 this sem didn't have an overload of calculations I think,but was still very tough (both calculation and theory)

I would say go for P5.Not saying it's easy,since it's a professional paper,but shouldn't be as tough as P4 (especially under this new examiner)
ellimist
post Jun 13 2008, 05:56 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Jun 13 2008, 05:29 PM)
oo..i c..the exam timetable is fixed..juz tat the date is different..thx for ur info =)
wat do u mean by the module and paper sequence? err..i din quite catch u.. sad.gif  sad.gif
You've got two levels right? Namely :
Fundamentals
Professional
If u click the links above,you'll see there's 2 modules each per level.

So let's take your situation as an example. You're taking F1-F4.
That's perfectly fine,as you're completing the Knowledge module and taking a paper from Skills module. Other possible combinations are F1-F3 and F5/6/7 for example.Here you're not following paper sequence but you're definately following module sequence.
What you can't do however, is say take F1+F2+F5 (leaving out F3). The reason being you must attempt all papers in a module before being able to attempt papers for another module (Not that you need to already pass it,you just need to be attempting it,as per examples)

Hope the examples were not too confusing >_>

ellimist
post Jun 14 2008, 12:27 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(aR87 @ Jun 13 2008, 06:09 PM)
Need advice on this matter....how would i fare if i took p5 without basics from f5/2.4? as i passed 2.1 in the june 07 session, i was exempted from taking f5. As such, the last time i had anything to do with costing was cat paper 7 sleep.gif...

Also, anyone know's about the teaching style for p5 of Salleh Mohammad in FTMS?
I'm not too sure bout P5's syllabus,I think it's probably not too tied up to 2.4. But either way,I think as long as you work hard,it shouldn't be too big a deal (not having 2.4 knowledge)

QUOTE(formulaoag @ Jun 13 2008, 11:36 PM)
actually is p4 impossible to pass??? im interested in finance but after reading da comments on da past p4 exam, im thinking twice now...
Lol there're no impossible to pass papers,it's just rather difficult,compared to the other papers.

I find finance interesting as well,and therefore I chose this paper. On hindsight,I kinda feel that I "dug my own grave" in the sense that finance was once a core paper,and now it's an optional. I had the choice not to take it,but went ahead of it. Securing a pass is probably more important than interest imo.
But then again this is coming from an inconsistent student,so if you really work hard,I think u could still pursue it since you like finance.
ellimist
post Jun 24 2008, 03:34 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

@carlosandy,I've seen you're "arguement" with Jackson and he's definately perfectly entitled to his opinion as much as you are.

But if he strongly feels that his is right,why can't he make a case out of it? So hypothetically even if his certain that his view is correct and yours is wrong,he can't make his case clear just because "everyone is entitled to their opinion?" Now that's bollocks. There definately is a right and a wrong,that's for u ppl to argue. If someone is of the opinion that robbery is right,he should go out and steal?

And it's a forum,the whole point is to discuss or argue as you put it. What right do you have to ask him to stop "arguing"? If you strongly feel that he is wasting your time,skip his posts,don't reply;not call him crazy
ellimist
post Jun 25 2008, 10:24 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

This damn thread is derailing,and to stop further derailment can we freakin drop the JvC issue.

@craby123 : mind your language,don't go bout calling another forumer and idiot. Express your opinion like a future professional.

@Jackson : U should start ignoring them. By their manner of replies and structure of arguement,I'm sure by now you can see their erm,level of thought so to speak. It's pointless trying to convey a point to such people.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0476sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:29 PM