The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~

R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 10 2008, 12:00 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

most zoom lens tend to get soft on the longer end.

So was wondering, if i stop down the aperture to f11 will it help to compensate that problem? I know most lens tends to be sharp at f11 but the softness on the other end of the lens made me confused over this matter biggrin.gif

oh yeah, what's the price for a brand new 16-35mm F2.8L II?

This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Jan 10 2008, 12:01 AM
goldfries
post Jan 10 2008, 12:02 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you step the aperture that for meh? f11 and maximum tele, then your ISO and exposure would be? smile.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 10 2008, 12:06 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 12:02 AM)
you step the aperture that for meh? f11 and maximum tele, then your ISO and exposure would be? smile.gif
really depends on the scene lo, lets say i go 125th ss and iso 100.
wjie20
post Jan 10 2008, 12:17 AM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

ss..whats that?

8 more pages people!
goldfries
post Jan 10 2008, 12:20 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 10 2008, 12:06 AM)
really depends on the scene lo, lets say i go 125th ss and iso 100.
hehe. no idea on how far aperture to contribute to sharpness. definitely not at the widest la. just drop a few stops should be sufficient. f11 is damn far man.

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Jan 10 2008, 12:17 AM)
ss..whats that?

8 more pages people!
SS = shutter speed a.k.a. exposure lor

btw 8 pages to? 2000 posts? start v2 at 2,500 mah. but no la we don't spam like Kopitiam retards. their posting speed is on hyperdrive when it's a few pages away from 2,500. nutsos.
wjie20
post Jan 10 2008, 12:23 AM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 12:20 AM)
hehe. no idea on how far aperture to contribute to sharpness. definitely not at the widest la. just drop a few stops should be sufficient. f11 is damn far man.
SS = shutter speed a.k.a. exposure lor

btw 8 pages to? 2000 posts? start v2 at 2,500 mah. but no la we don't spam like Kopitiam retards. their posting speed is on hyperdrive when it's a few pages away from 2,500. nutsos.
haha...8 pages to 100... oh...shutter speed...ok...its now on my dictionary haha..
matt2001
post Jan 10 2008, 12:49 AM

298 posts

i thinking of get a 50mm f1.8 from a lyn member...
no warranty edi, Rm170

juz need to test the auto focus, n feel anything stuck inside the lens or not...
this it need to check this 2 thing only??

COD at wangsa maju...

This post has been edited by matt2001: Jan 10 2008, 12:50 AM
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 10 2008, 12:51 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

^yes, check it, and check for fungus or mold inside the lens too, dont forget to take a few test shots before you buy it. smile.gif
Shoot@M3
post Jan 10 2008, 12:59 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Eh I'm also still looking for this
Don't see selling in siewkahhow thread
Anyone else selling this in LYN? Wana check the price
Plus what's the diff between the kitlens and this?
sorry noobie question
QUOTE(matt2001 @ Jan 10 2008, 12:49 AM)
no warranty edi, Rm170

juz need to test the auto focus, n feel anything stuck inside the lens or not...

COD at wangsa maju...
goldfries
post Jan 10 2008, 01:02 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

on. different la. kit lens you cover 18-55 usually. (Canon la)

the 50mm f1.8 is fixed-focal length lens, meaning you can't zoom.

they're used for different purpose.
spoil_
post Jan 10 2008, 01:03 AM

Kacang Illuminatus
687 posts

no warranty edi, Rm170

COD at wangsa maju...
waah..that price ah? drool.gif
can give link to the thread..
matt2001
post Jan 10 2008, 01:09 AM

298 posts

ya price nego until cheap edi, but scare after new shot, tat thing KONG edi~
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:11 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 9 2008, 11:44 PM)
sigma 20-200 OS
Just wondering if have good experience with the OS from sigma. How it compare with Canon IS?
This lens should be much cheaper than canon original lens right?

Hmm.. I also read that you have a 70-300 Is this the hidden L lens from canon? How is it? You like it? Any good comments?
Me very confused as to what lens to get esp since the new 55-250 is so cheap and with IS!

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 10 2008, 01:14 AM
goldfries
post Jan 10 2008, 01:13 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eh, since when i mentioned 20-200? smile.gif 18-200 OS.

from what i read, Sigma's OS is good.

then again what are you comparing with?
Shoot@M3
post Jan 10 2008, 01:15 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

thx for the explanation goldfries rclxms.gif
will go google up more info now hehe
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:02 AM)
on. different la. kit lens you cover 18-55 usually. (Canon la)

the 50mm f1.8 is fixed-focal length lens, meaning you can't zoom.

they're used for different purpose.
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:16 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:13 AM)
eh, since when i mentioned 20-200? smile.gif 18-200 OS.

from what i read, Sigma's OS is good.

then again what are you comparing with?
Sorry... I just saw some posts about the sigma lens @ 1.2K and I read that you have used something of that sort.

I believe you have sigma and canon lenses right? So how about comparing between them?
valho
post Jan 10 2008, 01:16 AM

4,967 posts

no warranty edi, Rm170

COD at wangsa maju...
wow so cheap, remember to test kaw kaw before u buy
matt2001
post Jan 10 2008, 01:18 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Jan 10 2008, 01:16 AM)
wow so cheap, remember to test kaw kaw before u buy
will do so, but still scare after buying back, thn sot sot...
goldfries
post Jan 10 2008, 01:21 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Jan 10 2008, 01:16 AM)
Sorry...  I just saw some posts about the sigma lens @ 1.2K and I read that you have used something of that sort.

I believe you have sigma and canon lenses right? So how about comparing between them?
how to compare la.

my Canon lens are kit lens 18-55, 50mm f1.8 II
my Tamron lens 70-300mm
my Sigma 18-200 OS

as you can see, all also different class. price also different.

it's like RM 300 vs RM 300 vs RM 700 vs RM 1700 leh. biggrin.gif

edited : pricing above are estimated la......... but the 18-200 OS was really RM 1.7k

anyway seriously, CANON wins la when the L appears. the others, you get them either because they're cheaper or.........well usually because they're cheaper, or no better option. like Sigma 10-20 on full-frame.

want to compare, should compare similar functionality la. like say Canon EF 70-200 F2.8L vs Sigma 70-200 F2.8 , the Canon will be the winner la. more pricey but the results are better.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 10 2008, 01:22 AM
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:27 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:21 AM)
how to compare la.

my Canon lens are kit lens 18-55, 50mm f1.8 II
my Tamron lens 70-300mm
my Sigma 18-200 OS

as you can see, all also different class. price also different.
I see.. I thought the 70-300 was the canon hidden L @2.5K which was my initial target before the 55-250 came out.

The 70-200 F2.8L IS USM is great, but price is also very great @USD1.5+K

So.. no one here has the 55-250 (except for that one guy who didn't go to the zoo outing?)

125 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:22 PM