126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

aiman04
post Dec 3 2007, 07:47 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(deitylord @ Dec 1 2007, 08:17 PM)
yo aiman
i tried the method u posted before using GOTSent
but it took like 3 hours to do it and didnt work
whenever i tried opening the folder my comp hangs =.=

anyway, those blu rays you downloaded audio is 4.1 or 5.1?
i read you have to set the lvl from 5.1 to 4.1 or else no audio or something
3 hours? That's too long. Remuxing technique shouldn't take that long. What is the duration of the video? I have done it more than 20 times, all ran perfectly fine. I used the program for a 4.3 GB, 100 minutes video, took me less than 2 hours. I have also done it for a 8.2 GB, 143 minutes video, took me less than 3 hours, even that maybe because I also split the output video to two 4 GB MP4 files.

Do you have enough HDD space? The program will create files with the total size equivalent to the original MKV file. So to be save, ensure you have free space at least double the original MKV file. If you doing split, better have 3 times the size.

Or, was the video 1080p? Because as I stated in my post 1080p video is not guaranteed to work. Even if you successfully remuxed to MP4 using GOTSent, the most common case is that you will hear the audio but seeing black screen when played in PS3. But there are still some cases that it did work. These are mostly for high profile h264 AVC.

Which comes to your next question. The level 4.1 and 5.1 in this case is NOT the audio channels. The program will convert the audio to 2 channel AAC anyway because as of the current firmware, PS3 can't play multi-channel audio MP4 yet (I think so, haven't tried since the 2.01 update). The 4.1 / 5.1 here refers to the AVC.h264 main profile. This is the technical part of the codec, no need to know further about that as the program will do it for you. Do not change any settings in GOTSent. Just browse for your MKV file, set the output destination, if the original file is bigger than 4 GB, toggle on "split", and click "convert" and that's it.

Hope that will help.
munak991
post Dec 3 2007, 09:45 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Can i ask how to change Ip address for PS3?
aiman04
post Dec 3 2007, 09:59 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Dec 3 2007, 09:45 AM)
Can i ask how to change Ip address for PS3?
If not mistaken you can do that through manual connection setting in PS3. Not sure if there's extra steps to do, like setting the router etc.

Never bothered to look because I don't really mind about my PS3's IP, always use automatic.

rx330
post Dec 3 2007, 10:35 AM

11,809 posts

go internet settings, @ ip addressselect custom to set ur own ip
-=mayatsan=-
post Dec 3 2007, 12:26 PM

191 posts

PS3 for Beginers
deitylord
post Dec 3 2007, 02:11 PM

248 posts

managed to convert it
can play in my pc
now my ext hdd gone kaput =.=

pmsoo
post Dec 3 2007, 04:50 PM

374 posts

If i buy ps3 games/ Blu rays from amazon.com,

Are these the charges Per disc?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...8&nodeId=537734

It is charged at US$12.29 per disc kah? Oh no...
rx330
post Dec 3 2007, 06:11 PM

11,809 posts

tat one is for market place, i dun think it applies

http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...8&nodeId=596188

pls pin this link as well, a lot ppl asking abt shipping from amazon

and another, i dun think they ship the games to our country
friendly_ip
post Dec 4 2007, 05:50 PM

221 posts

Eh, i want to ask,

Currently i failed to connect to the internet through the wireless network.

My error is the DNS error.

Will it solve if i use a wire connection?

Biggest problem is i dont have the access to the rounter, damn sad.gif
aiman04
post Dec 5 2007, 07:12 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(friendly_ip @ Dec 4 2007, 05:50 PM)
Eh, i want to ask,

Currently i failed to connect to the internet through the wireless network.

My error is the DNS error.

Will it solve if i use a wire connection?

Biggest problem is i dont have the access to the rounter, damn sad.gif
Got that problem before.

What I did, I disconnect the power cable for the modem and/or router for 5 minutes, and then re-connect. Worked for me.
rx330
post Dec 5 2007, 10:15 AM

11,809 posts

u dun have access to the router???
u stealing wifi signal ar?
ps360
post Dec 5 2007, 11:37 AM

137 posts

Can I save my PS3 game at a certain point and play it on an another PS3 without starting from the beginning? Will having units from different region be a problem? So far, I can't seem to copy my gamesaves from a JP unit to continue playing on a SG unit. Any advice? Thanks.
rx330
post Dec 5 2007, 11:43 AM

11,809 posts

certain games can, some cant
and most importantly same region console sure can

aiman04
post Dec 5 2007, 11:53 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(ps360 @ Dec 5 2007, 11:37 AM)
Can I save my PS3 game at a certain point and play it on an another PS3 without starting from the beginning? Will having units from different region be a problem? So far, I can't seem to copy my gamesaves from a JP unit to continue playing on a SG unit. Any advice? Thanks.
Maybe backup utility. But it will backup everything and when you restore to different PS3 than the data on that PS3 will be removed. OK, not a good choice. Plus game saves are unique to each ID, you must have same ID for the other PS3 too.

Not sure about region, should be OK I think.

Or you can just take your HDD to the other PS3 and swap.

Anyone got idea?
ps360
post Dec 5 2007, 12:07 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 5 2007, 12:43 PM)
certain games can, some cant
and most importantly same region console sure can
So far, tried Heavenly Sword, Call Of Duty 4 and Uncharted. All can't.
My guess is the console's region.

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 5 2007, 12:53 PM)
Maybe backup utility. But it will backup everything and when you restore to different PS3 than the data on that PS3 will be removed. OK, not a good choice. Plus game saves are unique to each ID, you must have same ID for the other PS3 too.

Not sure about region, should be OK I think.

Or you can just take your HDD to the other PS3 and swap.

Anyone got idea?
ID is definite. Tried it. Different IDs showing different progress.
Swopping HDD, too much of a hassle.
The funny thing is, under Game Saves Folder, the file is there.
But it just doesn't sync with the game.
No option to continue.
Always just Start A New Game.
Weird ....

rx330
post Dec 5 2007, 12:14 PM

11,809 posts

tats the problem with 2 many units of ps3 biggrin.gif
acougan
post Dec 5 2007, 03:11 PM

590 posts

@ps360, eh? gamesaves are incompatible across SGP and JP sets? very weird for them to program it that way. maybe the violence censor codes creating a glitch?
ps360
post Dec 5 2007, 10:44 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 5 2007, 04:11 PM)
@ps360, eh? gamesaves are incompatible across SGP and JP sets? very weird for them to program it that way. maybe the violence censor codes creating a glitch?
Been surfing the web for solutions but can't seems to find any clues.
Sighhhhhhhhh .....

James831
post Dec 7 2007, 01:17 AM

152 posts

just got my PS3 today, got 1 question,
how do u charge your controller?
is it connect your controller to your PS3 then put the console on standby mode for 8 hour???
Muchi
post Dec 7 2007, 01:28 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Dec 7 2007, 01:17 AM)
just got my PS3 today, got 1 question,
how do u charge your controller?
is it connect your controller to your PS3 then put the console on standby mode for 8 hour???
I connect mine and leave it on to charge. Never tried turning it to standby to charge.

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0594sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:58 PM