126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

aiman04
post Nov 25 2007, 07:18 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 25 2007, 05:39 PM)
im sorry, but i don see tat method in ps video 9
could u pls advice thoroughly
OK. Here it goes.

After you launched PS3 Video 9, click convert, and then current conversion.

Click on "Convert video" to browse for your file, for example Quicktime HD movie trailer, Transformers_trailer_1080p.mov.

In the profile (inside "new video to convert"), select "Quicktime HD MOV Passthrough". Then click "Start".

The remuxed video will be save on the location that you can set in the "Settings" area of the program, and go to "Devices" > PS3.

The same is true for .MKV videos, only you need to select the "MKV Passthrough" profile.

But like I said in the previous post, for .MOV videos, most of the times it works, but maybe 5% don't. If it don't, for a short video like a movie trailer you can do a full format conversion instead, choose any of the profiles that suits best. It will be much slower though.

And probablity of success for .MKV videos is much worse, so I suggest that you use the GOTSent program instead. Works all the time for me for .MKV 720p videos.

rx330
post Nov 25 2007, 08:40 PM

11,808 posts

i think mine isnt the latest version, no passthrough

tried the gotsent, but alas, kenot
some issues, but im not sure wat sad.gif
aiman04
post Nov 25 2007, 09:10 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 25 2007, 08:40 PM)
i think mine isnt the latest version, no passthrough

tried the gotsent, but alas, kenot
some issues, but im not sure wat sad.gif
Download the latest version here:

http://www.redkawa.com/videoconverters/ps3video9/

The GOTSent program is for MKV videos only. It is really easy. Just browse for your file, set destination folder, leave everything as default, and click convert.

http://sentry23.googlepages.com/

Maybe you need to install these first:

http://haali.cs.msu.ru/mkv/

http://ac3filter.net/project/1/releases

My method here doesn't change the video resolution, frame rate, etc at all. It just take it as it is and put it into an MPEG-4 container. So the picture quality remains as awesome. Hope you get it to work.
rx330
post Nov 26 2007, 09:01 AM

11,808 posts

install those aredi, but kenot biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Nov 26 2007, 09:57 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Really? Not really sure why...
jian5481
post Nov 27 2007, 05:28 PM

781 posts

Anyone using Samsung 2232BW or 2232BW with their PS3? I'm planning to get a 22' LCD monitor, but i'm not so sure whether it'll work with PS3 or not. If there are better LCD monitors to recommend, please do so too. Thanks.
aiman04
post Nov 28 2007, 08:41 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Finally, I have upgraded my HDD to 160 GB.

I bought the Hitachi 54000rpm SATA HDD at LY for RM290.

Backing up (32 GB), formatting, restoring, all took more than 2 hours.

All my downloaded games, demos, purchased restored OK.

Thanks everyone for your tips!
rx330
post Nov 28 2007, 09:44 AM

11,808 posts

wah, now socheap aredi.... only 290....
wen is the 1tb price gonna drop?
aiman04
post Nov 28 2007, 10:03 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 28 2007, 09:44 AM)
wah, now socheap aredi.... only 290....
wen is the 1tb price gonna drop?
Yeah, but Seagate is a little bit more expensive though.

I used the original PS3 HDD as my portable external HDD now.

Tried to connect to my laptop to see the content, but apparentlly PS3 uses a whole different formating itself. It is neither FAT32 or NTFS so Windows see it as unformatted.

I formatted the old HDD as NTFS now, I have checked out PSN forums saying it won't void the warranty. It was designed to be upgraded. No worries anymore.
rx330
post Nov 28 2007, 10:44 AM

11,808 posts

ur ps3 wont be able to read ur old HDD
aiman04
post Nov 28 2007, 10:49 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 28 2007, 10:44 AM)
ur ps3 wont be able to read ur old HDD
Yeah. I know. But everything's already been backed-up and restored to my new HDD. No files were lost. Working fine.
evoHahn
post Nov 28 2007, 10:50 AM

Mika !
1,711 posts

Blueray movie can only run on 1080p? or can it be played in 720p?
rx330
post Nov 28 2007, 10:53 AM

11,808 posts

no lar, i mean the externall kenot be use for ur hdd tats all, cos last time i reformatted mine to FAT 32 to support ps3

evo, i think now can aredi , early fw will allow either 480/576 or 1080 only
aiman04
post Nov 28 2007, 11:11 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 28 2007, 10:53 AM)
no lar, i mean the externall kenot be use for ur hdd tats all, cos last time i reformatted mine to FAT 32 to support ps3

evo, i think now can aredi , early fw will allow either 480/576 or 1080 only
Oh, yeah, I know about that. Forgot to mention I partitioned the old HDD to 2 partitions, one as FAT32 and the other one as NTFS.

Tried with PS3 as external, PS3 can detect the FAT32 part of the HDD. No problem. I can use it to transfer files to PS3. nod.gif
rx330
post Nov 28 2007, 11:20 AM

11,808 posts

aiks.. can detect partition ar?
i learn something new today
aiman04
post Nov 28 2007, 11:43 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 28 2007, 11:20 AM)
aiks.. can detect partition ar?
i learn something new today
Yes, it can. My other HDD that I used to backup the PS3 also had partitions, no problem. But of course, only the FAT32 partition, not the NTFS.
pmsoo
post Nov 28 2007, 12:51 PM

374 posts

I got a question; i cant seem to goggle it off

Apparently to play PS2 games via ps3, i need a ps2 memory card adaptor and a memory card?

Is that true?

This is a fresh game with me having no game saves on it at all.
rx330
post Nov 28 2007, 01:22 PM

11,808 posts

no, as long ur ps3 is ps2 compatible and the region is the same, can play liao
-milo-
post Nov 28 2007, 01:35 PM

284 posts

hi,sorry for noob question,how come the japan ps3 sells cheaper than the asian ps3?
and will there ever be an official ps3 launch here in malaysia?

This post has been edited by -milo-: Nov 28 2007, 01:48 PM
acougan
post Nov 28 2007, 01:57 PM

590 posts

hi, sorry all for lack of updates/QAs in the 1st few posts. forum still abit lagging for me to edit the posts, i'll try again tonight.

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:04 PM