125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V5<<, The Journey Continues Here!

TSraymond5105
post Nov 18 2007, 10:50 PM

5,341 posts

Maybe your try on default timing first.I tried my KVR before running on 5:4 also can't boot up.I also can't understand why.
kabukiawie
post Nov 18 2007, 10:50 PM

2,039 posts

@raymond
229mhz 1:1 is quite hard for me to reach there. mine only get till 225, not prime stable somemore. doh.gif at 5:4 not reach 248 stable. haiz....really have no luck in ocing. maybe next rig in the future la(3 years later? laugh.gif ). hahaha...

@pengster
OMG!!!! drool.gif i LOVE the psu. looks damn sweet! how much?? brows.gif

but if you get the parts slowly, then when your whole system completed, many some parts already half warrenty gone. tongue.gif

as for me, i will plan a list for the rig i want and keep an eye on the price and technology change. at the same time collect $. only budget available, update the required list then 1 go hamtam. just my 2 cents

@fylon
hoho....now you are buzy gaming la? hahahaha....
sang_karim
post Nov 18 2007, 10:52 PM

:: sάής ЌάЯΐм ::
1,557 posts

ok .. set the ram timing to auto and now can boot normally ... laugh.gif ..gonna try push more .. brows.gif
kabukiawie
post Nov 18 2007, 10:57 PM

2,039 posts

wahaha...as expected, your ocz ram dont want to run too loose at low speed!!! wahaha...At 212mhz, it can tun at 2-2-2-6 la.

just set to SPD for ram 1st and vcore to 1.5v. then start push it slowly till it hit the wall. now your ram shouldnt be big problem. wink.gif
TSraymond5105
post Nov 18 2007, 11:00 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(sang_karim @ Nov 18 2007, 10:52 PM)
ok .. set the ram timing to auto and now can boot normally ...  laugh.gif ..gonna try push more ..  brows.gif
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Nov 18 2007, 10:57 PM)
wahaha...as expected, your ocz ram dont want to run too loose at low speed!!! wahaha...At 212mhz, it can tun at 2-2-2-6 la.

just set to SPD for ram 1st and vcore to 1.5v. then start push it slowly till it hit the wall. now your ram shouldnt be big problem. wink.gif
Like that i bet my RAM is also behaving like the OCZ RAM?Loose timing won't boot at 5:4 divider? brows.gif
sang_karim
post Nov 18 2007, 11:09 PM

1,557 posts

i'm done ... i think my proc hit the wall oredi .. can boot normally at FSB = 255MHz (3.84GHz) .. beyond that will hang after loading windows

Vcore : 1.5V
Vdimm : 2.65V
Vagp : 1.6V
Ram timing = Auto

Now running dailly with 3.6Ghz with 2.5-3-3-5 timing .... fylon, u r the man rite now .... icon_rolleyes.gif
kabukiawie
post Nov 18 2007, 11:18 PM

2,039 posts

maybe thats true. raymond, your ram just pass a message to me. "DONT UNDERESTIMATE ME!!! I CAN RUN AT TIGHT TIMING~~~" laugh.gif jk jk

wahahahaha.....mine last time have face this problem, running at cas3 dont boot at all, at least must run at cas2.5 or cas2. that time was running at speed below stock speed. once get over 200mhz, then running at cas3 no problem. but also quite useless, cant even get pass trought 230mhz. doh.gif

@sang_karim
you try run it at 5:4, i think you should get higher. since you can get near to 3.8GHz 1:1, i believe get pass 4GHz with 5:4 is not a hard work. at 4ghz you can run at 2-x-x-x timing. smile.gif i htnk the performance will be better than your current 3.6GHz thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kabukiawie: Nov 18 2007, 11:27 PM
sang_karim
post Nov 18 2007, 11:33 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Nov 18 2007, 11:18 PM)
maybe thats true. raymond, your ram just pass a message to me. "DONT UNDERESTIMATE ME!!! I CAN RUN AT TIGHT TIMING~~~" laugh.gif jk jk

wahahahaha.....mine last time have face this problem, running at cas3 dont boot at all, at least must run at cas2.5 or cas2. that time was running at speed below stock speed. once get over 200mhz, then running at cas3 no problem. but also quite useless, cant even get pass trought 230mhz. doh.gif

@sang_karim
you try run it at 5:4, i think you should get higher. since you can get near to 3.8GHz 1:1, i believe get pass 4GHz with 5:4 is not a hard work. at 4ghz you can run at 2-x-x-x timing. smile.gif i htnk the performance will be better than your current 3.6GHz thumbup.gif
oredi tried with 5:4 divider .. that was the result i got ... i thought i can easily reach 4Ghz with 5:4 but i'm wrong .... set vcore, vdimm , ram timing at auto and vagp at 1.6V incase needed for stability but only manage to boot windows normally at FSB = 255Mhz (3.84Ghz) only ... almost the same with 1:1 divider which can boot at FSB = 254Mhz only ... so my conclusion is the proc hit the wall oredi .... nod.gif
fylon
post Nov 18 2007, 11:45 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Wah... 1 hrs dint refresh thread is flooded. shocking.gif

@sang_karim
Haha.. I never tried with 5:4 before as i can hit 4G with 1:1 ratio i think it should be enough for me. As for the timing 2.5-3-3-6 @ 4G i gain around 7k bandwidth for my system. drool.gif Most of it, as Ray & kabu has says, ur ram need to be tighten up during high speed. Btw.. Ur proc hit the wall already wth 255mhz @ 1:1 ratio? sweat.gif Not done yet.. Maybe vAGP not enough for high speed. Since u had pump more then 250mhz.. vAGP might be one of the concern which limiting u get beyond ur current speed.

@Ray & Kabu
Yup.. Busing gaming now. drool.gif Hand itchy now.. Game more important than OC now. laugh.gif Spend 3hrs on ProStreet but only mange to dominate 2 race day! OMG! The game is kinda long! I only finish 3%.... shocking.gif

P/s: ProStreet full version takes me 7GB of space to install. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 18 2007, 11:47 PM
sang_karim
post Nov 18 2007, 11:54 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 18 2007, 11:45 PM)
Wah... 1 hrs dint refresh thread is flooded. shocking.gif

@sang_karim
Haha.. I never tried with 5:4 before as i can hit 4G with 1:1 ratio i think it should be enough for me. As for the timing 2.5-3-3-6 @ 4G i gain around 7k bandwidth for my system. drool.gif Most of it, as Ray & kabu has says, ur ram need to be tighten up during high speed. Btw.. Ur proc hit the wall already wth 255mhz @ 1:1 ratio? sweat.gif Not done yet.. Maybe vAGP not enough for high speed. Since u had pump more then 250mhz.. vAGP might be one of the concern which limiting u get beyond ur current speed.
dude .. not 5:4 la .. 4:5 one ... brows.gif .. it will show 500MHz at DRAM Frequency in bios ... if i set the FSB 200Mhz at bios with 4:5 divider .. i'm gonna get proc run at stock (3Ghz) while ram at 250MHz ... i'm wonder how it's gonna be if u apply it ... ur stock ram is 250Mhz rite? which means it's still got plenty of room for ocing ... if u set the FSB = 225Mhz .. ur proc gonna run at 3.6Ghz and ram at 281Mhz ... is it wonderfull if u can run at that speed ... tongue.gif ... please correct me if my calculation is wrong ... sweat.gif
blonely
post Nov 18 2007, 11:58 PM

212 posts

hihi all
want to ask about the proc northwood p4 3.0ghz, stepping 9,revision D1
wat the meaning of the stepping and the revision?
is it good? icon_question.gif
fylon
post Nov 18 2007, 11:58 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Sorry! Got flooded with game on mind. Owh yup. Tried that before actually, due my ram was PC4200 = 500mhz but unfortunately i cannot boot my system what that setting. Thats why i stick to 400mhz.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 19 2007, 12:17 AM
sang_karim
post Nov 19 2007, 12:13 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 18 2007, 11:58 PM)
Haha.. Sorry! Got flooded with game on mind. Owh yup. Tried that before actually, due my ram was PC4200 = 533mhz but unfortunately i cannot boot my system what that setting. Thats why i stick to 400mhz.
dude .. ur stock ram speed is 266Mhz aa?
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 12:18 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Stock is 250mhz, with PC4200 = 500mhz. But anyways, some surprise here. drool.gif I could boot my system with 4:5 ratio now.. By then, no matter how i disable the PAT, when i running at stock speed, it sure fully enable! sweat.gif

Addon: Correct some mistake! PC4200 = 500mhz! laugh.gif Not 533!

Screenie:

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 19 2007, 12:20 AM
pengster
post Nov 19 2007, 12:22 AM

eVoWei™
7,757 posts

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Nov 18 2007, 10:50 PM)
@raymond
229mhz 1:1 is quite hard for me to reach there. mine only get till 225, not prime stable somemore. doh.gif at 5:4 not reach 248 stable. haiz....really have no luck in ocing. maybe next rig in the future la(3 years later? laugh.gif ). hahaha...

@pengster
OMG!!!! drool.gif i LOVE the psu. looks damn sweet! how much?? brows.gif

but if you get the parts slowly, then when your whole system completed, many some parts already half warrenty gone. tongue.gif

as for me, i will plan a list for the rig i want and keep an eye on the price and technology change. at the same time collect $. only budget available, update the required list then 1 go hamtam. just my 2 cents

@fylon
hoho....now you are buzy gaming la? hahahaha....
ahha thanks i bought it at LYP today.600+.will set it up tomorrow. laugh.gif no cash to buy everything 1 shot mar.so slowly buy lor.better anyway,i can wait for the G92 8800GTS and Penryn that way.haha

oh yeah,disabling PAT makes my system stable @ 2700Mhz.no crashes whatsoever after 3 hours of gaming biggrin.gif silly that i forgot all about PAT.thanks guys!
blonely
post Nov 19 2007, 12:30 AM

212 posts

no bodies free to answer my question sad.gif cry.gif
jk jk tongue.gif
sang_karim
post Nov 19 2007, 12:31 AM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Nov 19 2007, 12:18 AM)
Stock is 250mhz, with PC4200 = 500mhz. But anyways, some surprise here. drool.gif I could boot my system with 4:5 ratio now..  By then, no matter how i disable the PAT, when i running at stock speed, it sure fully enable! sweat.gif

Addon: Correct some mistake! PC4200 = 500mhz! laugh.gif Not 533!

Screenie:

why don u try running at 4:5 divider ... high speed proc and high bandwith ram ... brows.gif ..see how much u can do with 4:5 ... brows.gif
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 12:38 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@sang
Ok.. Here is ur request sang. Just play around with it. And i found the max spot for my ram. 273mhz with 3-4-4-8 @ 2.75v vdimm. As my cpu were clock to 218fsb. sweat.gif Anything more then will make me stuck at POST. Meaning i was running at 3.48Ghz with my ram at 273mhz. Gain around 6.2k bandwidth. Not bad..

P/s: One thing i found that, by using 4:5 ratio, even i go beyond 200fsb my PAT were still on. brows.gif I set it to auto and it always fully enable shown in CTIAW.

Screenie:

@blonely
Actually u can search on the net to find about the stepping and revision thing.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 19 2007, 12:40 AM
blonely
post Nov 19 2007, 12:42 AM

212 posts

@fylon
already do so but still dun understand. as in wikipedia cant found. sweat.gif
fylon
post Nov 19 2007, 12:45 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@blonely

U sure cant find in wiki?

http://209.85.165.104/search?q=cache:C0ryS...clnk&cd=4&gl=us

Wanna know more about P4? Read this article.

http://www.hardcoreware.net/reviews/review-195-1.htm

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 19 2007, 12:47 AM

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:11 AM