Priority Banking, Everything about Priority Banking

bbgoat
post Jan 23 2017, 07:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 23 2017, 07:05 PM)
How high is possible if one puts in 1M?
For foreign banks, for large amts like 1 mil, what they can give u in FD is still limited. May not be higher than their promo rate. Others like BR or MBSB may entertain u better. biggrin.gif
matrix88
post Jan 23 2017, 07:33 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 23 2017, 07:05 PM)
How high is possible if one puts in 1M?
depends on tenure too, right?
drbone
post Jan 23 2017, 07:34 PM

1,754 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 23 2017, 07:31 PM)
thumbsup.gif

That is an interesting way of putting it !  thumbup.gif
I have invested in bond funds which claimed to give >5.5% yield and capital protected. At the end get something like 3.7% due to bla bla reasons. Also enticed with short term high interest FD.  laugh.gif
I have one product invested with CIMB which gives 7.5% p.a ONLY if the market performs,it's an FRNID product, it has been 5 months and I am yet to see a deposit into my account. If I can get even 3% average from this, I would be happy. LOL

bbgoat
post Jan 23 2017, 07:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 23 2017, 07:33 PM)
depends on tenure too, right?
It does. But nowadays, not as good as 1 or 2 years ago.
bbgoat
post Jan 23 2017, 07:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(drbone @ Jan 23 2017, 07:34 PM)
I have one product invested with CIMB which gives 7.5% p.a ONLY if the market performs,it's an FRNID product, it has been 5 months and I am yet to see a deposit into my account. If I can get even 3% average from this, I would be happy. LOL
I think u should head to other investment forums to discuss about these topics. tongue.gif
matrix88
post Jan 23 2017, 07:37 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 23 2017, 07:35 PM)
It does. But nowadays, not as good as 1 or 2 years ago.
off course. firstly because our ringgit is so low now, and secondly out economy is at a sad state.

it will always be rewarding when the economy is booming
gark
post Jan 23 2017, 08:00 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 23 2017, 07:31 PM)
thumbsup.gif

That is an interesting way of putting it !  thumbup.gif
I have invested in bond funds which claimed to give >5.5% yield and capital protected. At the end get something like 3.7% due to bla bla reasons. Also enticed with short term high interest FD.  laugh.gif
Another way HNWI can get guaranteed rates higher than FD will be investing in MGS and/or AAA rated bonds.

These are usually guaranteed by government of Malaysia, (AAA are guaranteed by rock solid companies)... your RM CAN arrange to buy these bonds, but they might give lots of excuses as the fee is quite low (0.5%-1%). Each bond is traded in min RM 250K. To get the guaranteed amount you MUST hold the bond until maturity (value can fluctuate in between).

Currently MGS10Y is trading around 4.219%, AAA bonds are traded higher around 4.5%-5.5%.

Comparing purchasing through bond funds, which value fluctuates as there are no set maturity, hence value is not guaranteed AND you pay yearly fees.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 23 2017, 08:05 PM
bbgoat
post Jan 23 2017, 08:12 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 23 2017, 08:00 PM)
Another way HNWI can get guaranteed rates higher than FD will be investing in MGS and/or AAA rated bonds.

These are usually guaranteed by government of Malaysia, (AAA are guaranteed by rock solid companies)... your RM CAN arrange to buy these bonds, but they might give lots of excuses as the fee is quite low (0.5%-1%). Each bond is traded in min RM 250K. To get the guaranteed amount you MUST hold the bond until maturity (value can fluctuate in between).

Currently MGS10Y is trading around 4.219%, AAA bonds are traded higher around 4.5%-5.5%.

Comparing purchasing through bond funds, which value fluctuates as there are no set maturity, hence value is not guaranteed AND you pay yearly fees.
Last Dec I ventured out to buy CIMB bonds with coupon yield of 5.5% (but eff yield lower due to 1% sales charge). Intend to buy more issued by solid companies. Even to venture out to foreign retail bonds.

I kind of scare of local bond funds. Though I know some will swear by it. biggrin.gif
drbone
post Jan 23 2017, 09:21 PM

1,754 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 23 2017, 07:36 PM)
I think u should head to other investment forums to discuss about these topics.  tongue.gif
Was offered as a CIMB preferred customer that's why I wanted to get opinions from others here who might have invested in this product. Anyway, looks like might have to look into AAA bonds.
bbgoat
post Jan 24 2017, 08:56 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 20 2017, 05:55 PM)
U don't ask, they give it to u !  biggrin.gif

From what I know, the branch will draw up a list based on the amt a depositor has with the branch. Then based on their budget, they will say no. 1 to no. 20 depositors will get the gift.

So Xclusive members may not get it if there are too many heavy weights in the same branch. That is what I think.  biggrin.gif

I was shown a list by the ABM few years ago.  thumbup.gif
Shown in FD thread, share share here ! thumbup.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=83473563

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 24 2017, 08:58 AM
bbgoat
post Jan 24 2017, 09:11 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jan 20 2017, 05:49 PM)
I never managed to get hampers from BR. How do you ask them? I asked the Xclusive hotline, they said they don't give so I'm thinking of calling up the branch level.
For BR Xclusive members,
This is roughly what I could catch over the phone for FD placement:
1. RM5k & above: pen
2. RM10k & above: towel
3. RM50k & above: flask
4. RM100k & above: trolley bag

To get it, call the hotline at 03-26173800, they will arrange & send the gifts to your respective branches.
Did u ask BR's branch on hampers ?
henrytanck
post Jan 25 2017, 07:20 PM

31 posts

Start from January 2017, Citibank increases their Priority and Citigold AUM requirements as well:
Priority: 100K
Citigold: 400k
edcyf
post Jan 25 2017, 07:48 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Jan 25 2017, 07:20 PM)
Start from January 2017, Citibank increases their Priority and Citigold AUM requirements as well:
Previously was 200k , then increased to 300k if not mistaken. Then now is 400k

If i have 400k, i rather join 2 banks' priority which requirement is 200k each
bbgoat
post Jan 25 2017, 08:02 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Jan 25 2017, 07:20 PM)
It seems to me not many Citigold customer in this forum or they are being quiet about it.

I have been a surviving one but have to have investment product with them. Their FD rate is just plain board rate. Lets see if I can survive the 400k limit ! tongue.gif
henrytanck
post Jan 25 2017, 08:05 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 25 2017, 08:02 PM)
It seems to me not many Citigold customer in this forum or they are being quiet about it.

I have been a surviving one but have to have investment product with them. Their FD rate is just plain board rate. Lets see if I can survive the 400k limit ! tongue.gif
Thanks for your clarification. How you find CitiGold service? Is it good?
bbgoat
post Jan 25 2017, 08:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Jan 25 2017, 08:05 PM)
Thanks for your clarification. How you find CitiGold service? Is it good?
I would say pretty good. More in terms of phone banking, lounge, counter service. RM wise, depends on your luck. Have been changing quite often. biggrin.gif
henrytanck
post Jan 25 2017, 08:16 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 25 2017, 08:10 PM)
I would say pretty good. More in terms of phone banking, lounge, counter service. RM wise, depends on your luck. Have been changing quite often.  biggrin.gif
I'm now considering which premier banking should I join, CitiGold's 400K seems to be to hard for me to join them.

Do you have any suggestion on PB which AUM is below 250K?
bbgoat
post Jan 25 2017, 08:20 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Jan 25 2017, 08:16 PM)
I'm now considering which premier banking should I join, CitiGold's 400K seems to be to hard for me to join them.

Do you have any suggestion on PB which AUM is below 250K?
I am PB with various banks. Some 200k, UOB up to 500k. But I do not really make use of their service, occasionally only. Only because of the priority service in the lounge or jump queue. tongue.gif RM wise normally want u to buy investment products. biggrin.gif

Depends on your need whether local or foreign banks, near to ur residence, convenience, your profile etc. Hard to recommend.
henrytanck
post Jan 25 2017, 08:27 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 25 2017, 08:20 PM)
I am PB with various banks. Some 200k, UOB up to 500k. But I do not really make use of their service, occasionally only. Only because of the priority service in the lounge or jump queue.  tongue.gif RM wise normally want u to buy investment products.  biggrin.gif

Depends on your need whether local or foreign banks, near to ur residence, convenience, your profile etc. Hard to recommend.
Well, only UOB, MBB and PBB is in my list that meets my requirements (especially AUM part, hehe)! smile.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 25 2017, 08:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(henrytanck @ Jan 25 2017, 08:27 PM)
Well, only UOB, MBB and PBB is in my list that meets my requirements (especially AUM part, hehe)! smile.gif
UOB AUM is 500k. But their team seems solid, my RM has been trying to get me to buy some investment products. PBB do not have PB facility in Penang. MBB wise, I am tagged as their PB but actually nothing in there. tongue.gif

127 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:18 PM