5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Barista or Coffee Lovers please come in, Milk Discussion

ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 09:15 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM)
Eco yap? Not sure. Never seen one in KL.
Eco yap really that good? How much per L in sabah?
Baconateer
post Oct 13 2025, 09:18 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Usually i just use Dutch Lady Full Cream UHT

Farm Fresh Yarra Full Cream also nice
zstan
post Oct 13 2025, 09:30 AM

15,856 posts

Ecoyap milk tastes much better
mois
post Oct 13 2025, 09:35 AM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

Ecoyap pasteurized milk is the best one in the market. But their UHT version suck.
alexei
post Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

milk got few types, check the ingredients:
- recombined (full cream etc) - import as milk powder then mix back as milk to sell
- UHT (tahan kept outside fridge before open type)
- pasteurized (best flavor but lasts very few days after open, and flavor changes over time)

alexei
post Oct 13 2025, 09:54 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

barista milk is maybe recombined milk with added texture enhancer
some don't have

some shops chose their milk, then, ownself process to make cream
some shops use heavy cream to add texture (also must see made with fresh milk or recombined milk)
ycs

4,225 posts

i use farm fresh full cream, never tried UHT

for good foam, must use full cream
Chyan

4,222 posts

^ If I'm near Speedmart99

^ if I'm near premium grocers.

maxpudding
post Oct 13 2025, 10:04 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 09:15 AM)
Eco yap really that good? How much per L in sabah?
Fresh milk around rm7-8 per 1L

UHT milk i cant remember how much
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 10:19 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 10:04 AM)
Fresh milk around rm7-8 per 1L

UHT milk i cant remember how much
I see online selling it. But it can't last for few hours outside of fridge right? Then unlikely can buy and get it to be delivered by courier
sidthesloth
post Oct 13 2025, 10:30 AM

174 posts

Jaya Grocer Farm Fresh Milk from the bottle tap.
maxpudding
post Oct 13 2025, 10:48 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 10:19 AM)
I see online selling it. But it can't last for few hours outside of fridge right? Then unlikely can buy and get it to be delivered by courier
Yeah fresh milk bro

If I opened also need to finish within 2 days
Enjoise
post Oct 13 2025, 11:05 AM

462 posts

oatside
mr.gabanz
post Oct 13 2025, 11:21 AM

Usually im using Fresh Milk from Dutch Lady, Farm Fresh & Marigold (Yellow)...
FusionXY
post Oct 13 2025, 11:34 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 13 2025, 01:46 AM)
Use this milk
Wah got reported. No friend you. brows.gif
ry8128
post Oct 13 2025, 11:45 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,637 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 13 2025, 11:34 AM)
Wah got reported. No friend you. brows.gif
Sure get reported coz this is Serious K.
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 13 2025, 02:40 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 13 2025, 03:03 AM)
Used to be a barista for 4 years.

Really makes a lot of difference if you plan to do latte art if you use full cream milk/fresh milk vs low fat milk

Taste wise depend on how you heat up the milk, if you heat up the milk above 70c then the milk taste start to disappear already.

The milk I like the best is this UHT milk (picture below), but expensive, each at RM18+. I think now it's RM20+ already. The store I worked on before don't buy these barista milks as the store only buy this and also Magnolia fresh milk

Thats what i noticed as well, a lot of coffee shops use those normal milk like farmfresh or magnolia brands too. Farmhouse milk out of my budget, me and my mom usually skim through 1l of milk every 2 days as we make coffee from morning to night sweat.gif Thats why usually i will just buy lotus brand 1l x 12 pack cause its the cheapest available.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 13 2025, 06:40 AM)
Just marketing. If you want best health benefits, goat milk, DIY almond and soya milk..Do not buy ready make soya or almond milk.
I tried almond milk before (glico almond koka) and mix with espresso, taste damn weird lol.

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Oct 13 2025, 07:38 AM)
Yeah milk can change the tastes of coffee

I have tried many different brands of milk available on the market, from Australian brands to local brands.

Being in Sabah, I am fortunate to have access to sabah’s own brand of milk, desa fresh milk and eco-yap farm fresh milk.

Eco-yap bulldozed all those other brands by huge difference.

Didn’t surprise me when I saw a couple of coffee houses in KL bought few boxes of eco-yaps to try. It is really good.
I bought many malaysian brands before and usually i can only taste a mild difference. But its true that overseas brands can taste much more better. When i stay in japan, I bought their local life/topvalu milk and mix it with instant and espresso can really tell the difference. Maybe cause their milk is not as diluted as ours. Even when I used back the same coffee as in japan and make the same ratio back home, it just taste difference. Not sure if water plays a part as well.

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Oct 13 2025, 04:36 PM
TSHumanExtinction
post Oct 13 2025, 02:47 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 07:56 AM)
I presume it will depend on personal preference on which milk tastes best with your coffee. It's the same with which brand of coffee you like best, whether it's Nescafe Gold, Alta Rica, Moccona or something else.

Based on my experience and preference, Dutch Lady Full Cream milk tastes best when mixed with any coffee. The aroma of the milk is the strongest when compared to Farm Fresh milk and Lotus full cream milk. Farm Fresh milk comes in 2nd with its pure taste, the strength of the milk with Farm Fresh is less when mixed with coffee in other words the milk doesn't overpower the coffee too much. Coming in last is Lotus full cream milk as the impact it has to the coffee is the least. To exaggerate, adding milk to the coffee is like adding water to the coffee.

So in summary, if adding milk to coffee, for me it's Dutch Lady Full Cream > Farm Fresh > Lotus Fresh milk. Usually I consume Farm Fresh milk directly without adding the milk to any type of beverages whether it's coffee, Milo or tea. It's the same with Lotus full cream milk as I prefer to consume it directly. Unless I don't have Dutch Lady in the fridge, then I'll use whatever milk I have to coffee, tea or other beverages.

For pure milk taste, Farm Fresh is best so I consume it directly pure just like it is. Lotus full cream milk and Dutch Lady full cream milk are not as pure as Farm fresh milk as the taste is slightly different, not too sure what they add to the milk. Also, if you are sensitive, you will notice that Dutch Lady and Lotus milk is slightly thicker than the more diluted Farm Fresh milk. Likely some preservative is added to the milk as the expiry date is longer. Farm fresh milk I usually buy the chilled ones where the expiry is usually about 2 weeks. With Dutch Lady and Lotus full cream milk 1 litre packed, the expiry is 6 months to 1 year.
TBH I can't really tell the difference between these 3. I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not.

QUOTE(marvinben @ Oct 13 2025, 08:44 AM)
Barista milk got added some oil in it to stabilize microfoam. I dont like the taste at all. If you dont care about microfoam, these are UHT that I found taste best for latte:
1. Yarra UHT
2. Goodday UHT
3. Dutch Lady Full Cream UHT

These taste absolute shit but microfoam like a champ for latte art:
1. Milklab
2. Yarra Barista
3. Dutch Lady Professional

If you want fresh pasteurized and homogenized milk, go for these:
1. ECO YAP (I think this is East Malaysian thing)
2. Farm Fresh fresh milk

Desa Milk from Sabah doesnt taste good for latte.
Dont really care much about foam and latte art at home, never try yarra and milklab b4. Will get it next time. Milklab really that bad? Saw their advertising everywhere, price also quite competitive to dutch lady and ff.

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM)
I tried the Dutch Lady "Professional" milk before several years ago and it actually tastes worse than the common Dutch Lady full cream milk sold in supermarkets.
Thinking of grabing one or two just to taste and see if can tell the difference confused.gif
marvinben
post Oct 13 2025, 02:55 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 02:47 PM)
TBH I can't really tell the difference between these 3. I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not.
Dont really care much about foam and latte art at home, never try yarra and milklab b4. Will get it next time. Milklab really that bad? Saw their advertising everywhere, price also quite competitive to dutch lady and ff.
Thinking of grabing one or two just to taste and see if can tell the difference  confused.gif
You'll be able to tell the difference with a good medium roast coffee bean. There's a specialty grade coffee shop around my area, but somehow EcoYap no more stock, they switched to Desa. I no go there anymore.

Ramjade
post Oct 13 2025, 03:07 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 02:40 PM)
Thats what i noticed as well, a lot of coffee shops use those normal milk like farmfresh or magnolia brands too. Farmhouse milk out of my budget, me and my mom usually skim through 1l of milk every 2 days as we make coffee from morning to night sweat.gif Thats why usually i will just buy lotus brand 1l x 12 pack cause its the cheapest available.
I tried almond milk before (glico almond koka) and mix with espresso, taste damn weird lol.
I bought many malaysian brands before and usually i can only taste a mild difference. But its true that overseas brands can taste much more better. When i stay in japan, I bought their local life/topvalu milk and mix with it with instant and espresso can really tell the difference. Maybe cause their milk is not as diluted as ours. Even when I used back the same coffee as in japan and make the same ratio back home, it just taste difference. Not sure if water plays a part as well.
You haven't try homemade almond milk. DIY home made damn nice.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:16 AM