Uht milk got some taste vs farm fresh better
Barista or Coffee Lovers please come in, Milk Discussion
Oct 13 2025, 03:24 PM
6,617 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Uht milk got some taste vs farm fresh better
Oct 13 2025, 03:36 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,022 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 02:47 PM) TBH I can't really tell the difference between these 3. I saw someone post before that lotus milk they partner up with farm fresh so the milk for lotus and ff are identical, just different packaging. Not sure true or not. Hmm, it's very easy to tell the difference between Farm Fresh milk 1L or 2L (chilled, expiry date 2-3 weeks), Dutch Lady full cream milk 1L (unchilled, expiry date 6-12 months) and Lotus full cream milk 1L (unchilled, expiry date 6-12 months). The chilled milk you find in the fridge section will be different quality and taste different from the unchilled milk you find on the shelves. It's a short expiry date for this chilled milk normally not more than 3 weeks. The usual unchilled milk 1L packets you find on the shelves with long expiry date, these milk will surely taste different as I presume they put in preservatives, otherwise they won't last long. Also, if you check the ingredients, Dutch Lady full cream milk has a rather high sugar content, so they actually add sugar and some flavouring inside the milk. Farm Fresh is pure milk and based on their advertising nothing is added though I'm not sure how true is that. From the taste itself, Lotus full cream milk is already quite different to both Dutch Lady and Farm Fresh so whether Lotus has teamed up with Farm Fresh or not, they taste different to me although I can understand you find all of these milk to taste the same. I guess everyone is different, and if you have found the milk to taste the same, then good for you since you can just buy the cheapest milk and enjoy!~ Lotus full cream milk is only RM4.99 per packet, cheapest. To me, the taste with Lotus is the worst compared to Dutch Lady and Farm Fresh as it is a bit tasteless, though it's better than the rest ie. Fernleaf and the rest which have a weird taste. DM3 liked this post
Oct 13 2025, 03:53 PM
499 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
As for myself. I drink 4x Espresso shots, so creamy milk is a must for me. I've tried all, except Yarra and Eco-Yap.
In the end, I made my own milk formulation Farm Fresh+Anchor Whipping Cream at 50:50 ratio. This post has been edited by beverlykho: Oct 14 2025, 06:45 AM |
Oct 13 2025, 04:12 PM
194 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 12:41 AM) Hi everyone, would like to ask generally what brand of Milk do you use for latte or any other milk based coffee drinks? I use this brand for latte art. I've tried all except coconut. Lately, I've been thinking of switching from normal milk to barista milk. Normally I would just buy lotus or Dutch lady brand full cream milk and use it for my latte. I've been wondering all these time is there any differences between the two? Saw online people comparing barista milk will taste more balanced and normal milk will overpower the coffee and thus made the coffee more sour. Other than that I can't really find any more info. Have anyone can taste the difference? Cause from time to time I saw cafes or coffee chain store they will also only use normal milk like farm fresh brand to make latte/cappuccino etc. ![]() ![]() ![]() » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 13 2025, 04:20 PM
1,150 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: KBR-BKI |
Taste wise I dont see any difference. But as for frothing the milk fr Capucino using a normal fresh milk(ingredients need to state 100% milk) eg; green box from dutch lady to get the best bubble consitency without having to buy the more expensive "barista milk"
Oct 13 2025, 05:13 PM
912 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Infinity & Beyond |
QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Oct 13 2025, 12:41 AM) Hi everyone, would like to ask generally what brand of Milk do you use for latte or any other milk based coffee drinks? the cafe nearby is using Farm Fresh » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i find 1 particular milk will overpower the beans (at least for my tastebuds) - HL Milk - very funky dairy taste |
Oct 13 2025, 08:00 PM
1,594 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Farm house > good day > farm fresh > the rest
Stick with fresh milk ONLY |
Oct 13 2025, 08:18 PM
783 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Oct 13 2025, 08:11 AM) Can you differentiate the taste of various milk if you consume it directly rather than adding to the tea? In my experience the taste of milk varies and I can easily tell them apart. I've forgotten the brand of milk I've "banned" due to the weird or poor taste. The 1L milk packed in boxes, among them are Fernleaf, Goodday and Marigold, I stopped buying after trying them many years ago, likely more than 15 years ago. Nowadays I only buy 3 brands which are Farm Fresh fresh milk (chilled in the fridge with expiry 2 to 3 weeks), Dutch Lady Full Cream milk 1L and Lotus full cream milk. These milk taste best to me without any weird taste. Farm Fresh milk tastes most pure and is best consumed directly, followed by Dutch Lady which is the best milk to be added to beverages such as coffee, tea or Milo (there is some flavouring added I guess), and lastly Lotus full cream milk which is the cheapest milk without any weird taste. Of the handful of brands I've tried, yea can taste some difference. But HL milk has the biggest difference. I stick to Farm Fresh now mainly because of convenience. The taste is pretty good as well so no reason to buy other types, which sometimes out of stock. QUOTE(ben_ang @ Oct 13 2025, 08:56 AM) Oh didn't know it is low lactose milk |
Oct 13 2025, 08:44 PM
Oct 13 2025, 08:58 PM
1,594 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Oct 13 2025, 10:27 PM
Oct 13 2025, 10:55 PM
2,828 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM) milk got few types, check the ingredients: OIC.- recombined (full cream etc) - import as milk powder then mix back as milk to sell - UHT (tahan kept outside fridge before open type) - pasteurized (best flavor but lasts very few days after open, and flavor changes over time) I can’t take milk. Usually ayam wife buys those lactose free type |
Oct 13 2025, 10:58 PM
2,828 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Oct 13 2025, 11:36 PM
224 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
I use V-Soy low sugar.
Oct 14 2025, 12:34 AM
931 posts Joined: Jan 2017 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I once used milk where on the box it got written ‘professional’ on it, but when I heat the milk using a steamer, it foams way too quickly and turns to curdles.
Now, just stick to full cream instead. |
Oct 14 2025, 08:22 AM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
I use Dutch Lady full cream milk. Since I don't put sugar to the coffee.
Oct 14 2025, 09:31 AM
593 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
in sg they always use Meiji or Pauls
Oct 14 2025, 11:27 AM
2,022 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(knumskul @ Oct 13 2025, 08:18 PM) I stick to Farm Fresh now mainly because of convenience. The taste is pretty good as well so no reason to buy other types, which sometimes out of stock. DM3 liked this post
Oct 14 2025, 11:30 AM
215 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
QUOTE(waters @ Oct 13 2025, 07:51 AM) QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 13 2025, 09:49 AM) I think I could be mistaken the price with promo, buy 2 at RM18 instead of each RM18, also 1L |
Oct 14 2025, 12:47 PM
| Change to: | 0.0156sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:42 AM |