⚡️ 💵 TNB new ToU scheme for Domestic Low Voltage, To subscribe or not?

TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 03:08 PM, updated 2d ago

stars for what
12,409 posts

https://www.mytnb.com.my/tariff/index.html

Not much details yet eg:
Can opt out after applying?
How to apply?
Need additional deposit?

If don’t use much energy during the day and average monthly consumption is <500kwh, is it worth applying?

Let's discuss and share here

FAQS -

Which public holiday is included for off-peak rate -

Why my bill kena SST after switching to ToU -

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)
Whoever changing to TOU just putting it here so that don't get bill shock.

Everytime you change TOU, there will be cutoff and prorated bills.

Every prorated bill <28 days, all kWh will be charged SST 8%
I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 4 2025, 06:46 PM)
Found this at https://www.mytnb.com.my/faq
Applied to my examples:
1. 88 kWh no SST (28 days)1️⃣ & 9 kWh 9 got SST (3 days)2️⃣
2. 1310 kWh 710 got SST (31 days)1️⃣ & 40 kWh 40 got SST (1 day)2️⃣
3. 334 kWh 334 got SST (25 days):2️⃣ & 74 kWh 74 got SST (6 days)2️⃣

OK, settled lah. Lucky I haven't submitted my ticket yet.

ZeneticX
Conclusion: To avoid SST for those below 600 kWh, do the TOU change on(?) or after the 28th day. This will ensure no SST for the 1st interim bill but cannot avoid SST for the 2nd interim/final bill.

Alternatively, can move to Pulau Tioman, Pulau Langkawi or Pulau Pangkor. sweat.gif
This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 4 2025, 08:56 PM
jibpek
post Jun 23 2025, 03:22 PM

706 posts

What is the rate, and what is the time?

If peak = 5.0, off peak = 4.9. Then DLLM lah.
GalaxyV
post Jun 23 2025, 03:27 PM

772 posts

dunno why make many things so complex pi
zoozul
post Jun 23 2025, 03:31 PM

98 posts

Malam eletrik lagi murah? So tenaga ni sokong clubbing? Tolong halalkan bagi kito.
TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 03:32 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(jibpek @ Jun 23 2025, 03:22 PM)
What is the rate, and what is the time?

If peak = 5.0, off peak = 4.9. Then DLLM lah.
Added to first post

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 23 2025, 03:32 PM
TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 03:33 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(zoozul @ Jun 23 2025, 03:31 PM)
Malam eletrik lagi murah? So tenaga ni sokong clubbing? Tolong halalkan bagi kito.
Malam less industrial usage so technically should be cheaper

Serious /k btw
sam378
post Jun 23 2025, 03:35 PM

304 posts

this month bill very high sia, panas sia. hopefully this will change a bit lah
sunami
post Jun 23 2025, 04:18 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

the rate is floats rite? based on gas prices...
mcchin
post Jun 23 2025, 04:55 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So how?
My may-jun is 310kwh

Typeper kwhsubtotal
Electric charge0.2852RM88.41
Capacity charge0.0455RM14.105
Network Charge0.1285RM39.835
ICPT-0.25-RM77.50

So total is RM 64.85

Vs now is RM 77.25

nihility
post Jun 23 2025, 05:27 PM

1,595 posts

If you are away from house during weekday, children going to school during weekday - yes, opt in.

If you work from home, children at home regardless weekdays or weekend - perhaps opt out.
TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 05:32 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 23 2025, 05:27 PM)
If you are away from house during weekday, children going to school during weekday - yes, opt in.

If you work from home, children at home regardless weekdays or weekend  - perhaps opt out.
If at home but no use aircond? I believe the consumption from lights and fans should be negligible

mcchin
post Jun 23 2025, 05:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

If you work from home, children at home regardless weekdays or weekend  - perhaps opt out.
With calculation above even at standard cost, it's cheaper by more than RM 10

Home has parents, 2 person stay at home
12pm to 2pm tv, another 3.30 to 9pm tv

Fan usually on
Aircon have, but rarely use

Weekdays cook at home lunch dinner

Usually RM 70 to 90 per month

If cheaper by RM 10 is gooding
nihility
post Jun 23 2025, 05:37 PM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 23 2025, 05:32 PM)
If at home but no use aircond? I believe the consumption from lights and fans should be negligible
No other appliances like washing machine, dryer , water heater, iron , oven ?

If from light & fans - yes, very small consumption.
hkhk@kit P
post Jun 23 2025, 05:45 PM

Probation

i still dont get it, if during peak but already low consumption since no one at home, why opt in?

peak: 2pm-10pm
offpeak: 10pm-2am(typo in the image?)

weekend:offpeak all day(24hours)

mac_mac21
post Jun 23 2025, 05:51 PM

189 posts

Question is how to qualify insentif cekap tenaga?

All it says pengunaan tenaga cekap di luar waktu puncak

Means i can blast my 2.5hp inverter aircond until morning and get <600kwh per month and still qualify for this incentive?
TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 05:53 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 23 2025, 05:37 PM)
No other appliances like washing machine, dryer , water heater, iron , oven ?

If from light & fans - yes, very small consumption.
Washing machine - not using everyday, twice a week only. And I believe with inverter it shouldn't consume too much

Dryer - Combo with WM. Used once a month for drying bedsheets only

Water heater - Yes but I personally dont use it unless cold weather

Iron - steam iron, not using everyday also

Oven - seldom use also

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 23 2025, 05:56 PM
TSZeneticX
post Jun 23 2025, 05:55 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(hkhk@kit @ Jun 23 2025, 05:45 PM)
i still dont get it, if during peak but already low consumption since no one at home, why opt in?
So you get the lower off peak hour rate
kelvinlym
post Jun 23 2025, 06:10 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

You can download your hourly usage at TNB website and do your own calculations whether worth it.
dannychen
post Jun 30 2025, 06:57 PM

1,263 posts

Tnb tou applications now opened
yushin
post Jun 30 2025, 07:58 PM

3,327 posts

As my most power consumption is at night, I plan to get tou. But knowing how Malaysians do things and all the possible billing bugs and gov u-turn, I probably will only apply a few months later.

4 cen't difference really not so exciting if you compare to our neighbour country's tou.
watabakiu
post Jul 2 2025, 04:51 PM

1,572 posts

Super no0b question. So if not opting-in, the fare would be the same as previous months? e.g. dunno how many kw/h is 21.60cent, etccc
TSZeneticX
post Jul 2 2025, 06:34 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 2 2025, 04:51 PM)
Super no0b question. So if not opting-in, the fare would be the same as previous months? e.g. dunno how many kw/h is 21.60cent, etccc
Follow the standard rate after July revision

https://www.lowyat.net/2025/356689/tnb-tou-...u-need-to-know/

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 2 2025, 06:34 PM
soonwai
post Aug 9 2025, 02:40 AM

11,450 posts

Anyone changed to TOU already? What is your ratio of off-peak/peak usage?

I changed to TOU a few days ago. TNB took 2 days to complete the change. After that only I found out that I can download hourly usage from myTNB website (the "View Energy Usage" link.)

Based on 52 days of usage, I'm getting this.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 9 2025, 02:42 AM
annoymous1234
post Aug 9 2025, 01:30 PM

7,614 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 9 2025, 02:40 AM)

I changed to TOU a few days ago. TNB took 2 days to complete the change. After that only I found out that I can download hourly usage from myTNB website (the "View Energy Usage" link.)

Was the final bill cheaper compared to last time before TOU?
TSZeneticX
post Aug 9 2025, 02:17 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Based on the numbers alone, seems like you will benefit a lot from ToU. Can share what's your usage during peak hours like? Nobody at home during those hours?
N9484640
post Aug 9 2025, 08:58 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

how did you see the percentage? I can only read kWh usage
soonwai
post Aug 9 2025, 10:11 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 9 2025, 08:58 PM)
how did you see the percentage? I can only read kWh usage
Using the website (app dun have), you can download CSV file with daily usage data. After that, will need to paste into Excel and do some calc there.
soonwai
post Aug 9 2025, 10:28 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Aug 9 2025, 01:30 PM)
Was the final bill cheaper compared to last time before TOU?
Just changed only so have to see next month's bill which will be the first full month on ToU.

There's a very handy spreadsheet by mcchin https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5531435 Once you have an estimate of the %, you can use that to compare $$$ for old tariff vs new tariff vs ToU for x amount of kWh.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 9 2025, 02:17 PM)
Based on the numbers alone, seems like you will benefit a lot from ToU. Can share what's your usage during peak hours like? Nobody at home during those hours?
I think so too. Water heater in the morning & aircon at night are the bulk of the off-peak usage. Need to remember to ensure washing machine usage in the morning instead of afternoon. I WFH so only person in the house during the day and the only extra appliance that is on is the fan. My computer is on 24/7 so no difference there.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 9 2025, 11:02 PM
BieS2Mie
post Aug 10 2025, 02:33 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 9 2025, 10:11 PM)
Using the website (app dun have), you can download CSV file with daily usage data. After that, will need to paste into Excel and do some calc there.
Where can i download the csv? I can't find it in the website.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 10 2025, 02:34 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 9 2025, 10:28 PM)
I think so too. Water heater in the morning & aircon at night are the bulk of the off-peak usage. Need to remember to ensure washing machine usage in the morning instead of afternoon. I WFH so only person in the house during the day and the only extra appliance that is on is the fan. My computer is on 24/7 so no difference there.
Thanks. I'm WFH as well and was thinking maybe ToU is not for me.... but looking at your usage it seems we are quite similar. I seldom use aircond during afternoon as well unless really cannot tahan like heatwave few months back

I dont even use water heater when I bath biggrin.gif only my gf does in the morning

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 10 2025, 02:35 AM
mystvearn
post Aug 10 2025, 02:49 AM

6,638 posts

Wanted to change to ToU, but the bill rm 2 cheaper. So within margin of error. So not bothering to change to ToU. Using solar with 2 TNB street lights. So minimum of rm 20 for lights.

Last time month bill rm34, 2 months ago rm36. If bill goes up significantly, then will apply ToU.

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Aug 10 2025, 06:19 AM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 10 2025, 03:17 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 10 2025, 02:49 AM)
Wanted to change to ToU, but mee bill rm 2 cheaper. So within margin of error. So not bothering to change to ToU. Using solar with 2 TNB street lights. So minimum of rm 20 for lights.

Last time month bill rm34, 2 months ago rm36. If bill goes up significantly, then will apply ToU.
I think ToU will benefit those staying in high rise the most. Landed with solar probably dont need ToU in the first place
LDP
post Aug 10 2025, 10:43 AM

620 posts

My monthly usage is around 400 kwH...Monthly bill around 110 or so...not sure to change or not to change...I also cannot find any detailed split between off peak and peak in the portal...
soonwai
post Aug 10 2025, 12:41 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(BieS2Mie @ Aug 10 2025, 02:33 AM)
Where can i download the csv? I can't find it in the website.
Click on the "View Energy Usage" link on the Home page of myTNB.

This will open the Energy Dashboard (old web app is quite painful to use.) You should see Electric Usage, click Details button.

Once the next page, which defaults to monthly usage, loads up, click on "1 Day" to see daily usage and there'll be a "Download" link at the bottom to download the csv for that date.

The problem with this page is that it errors out a lot, refreshes on its own or just plain doesn't load. I seem to have the best luck when using Opera browser. Safari, Chrome & Firefox all cannot tahan the page.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 10 2025, 01:06 PM
LDP
post Aug 10 2025, 04:41 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 10 2025, 12:41 PM)

This will open the Energy Dashboard (old web app is quite painful to use.) You should see Electric Usage, click Details button.

Once the next page, which defaults to monthly usage, loads up, click on "1 Day" to see daily usage and there'll be a "Download" link at the bottom to download the csv for that date.

The problem with this page is that it errors out a lot, refreshes on its own or just plain doesn't load. I seem to have the best luck when using Opera browser. Safari, Chrome & Firefox all cannot tahan the page.
I dont see the old Energy dashboard..Hence cannot dload the csv file....

TSZeneticX
post Aug 10 2025, 07:00 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 10 2025, 04:41 PM)
I dont see the old Energy dashboard..Hence cannot dload the csv file....
What happen when you click on View Energy Usage?

If dont have maybe because you dont have smart meter?
BieS2Mie
post Aug 10 2025, 09:24 PM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 10 2025, 12:41 PM)

I guess it not available for me. I am using smart meter. Also already change to TOU tariff on 29 July.
LaiN87
post Aug 10 2025, 09:26 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

QUOTE(BieS2Mie @ Aug 10 2025, 09:24 PM)

I guess it not available for me. I am using smart meter. Also already change to TOU tariff on 29 July.
You need to make sure sign in as owner in myTNB.
If the address of myTNB "*, Jalan ...," and when you open the bill as "XX, Jalan ....," Then you didn't sign in as owner just as tenant.

In order to see smart meter data, need to be Owner.

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Aug 10 2025, 09:29 PM
LDP
post Aug 11 2025, 08:58 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 10 2025, 07:00 PM)
What happen when you click on View Energy Usage?

If dont have maybe because you dont have smart meter?
I have smart meter for years...

When I clicked on View Energy Usage, I am seeing this dashboard only

soonwai
post Aug 11 2025, 11:09 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 11 2025, 08:58 AM)
I have smart meter for years...

When I clicked on View Energy Usage, I am seeing this dashboard only

When I clicked on "View Energy Usage", the energy dashboard opens in a new tab. Is your browser blocking new popup windows?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 11 2025, 11:11 AM
LDP
post Aug 11 2025, 11:15 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2025, 11:09 AM)
When I clicked on "View Energy Usage", the energy dashboard opens in a new tab. Is your browser blocking new popup windows?
Browser not blocking anything...

It will redirect me to another tab showing the same dashboard that I shared just now...
soonwai
post Aug 11 2025, 11:45 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 11 2025, 11:15 AM)
Browser not blocking anything...

It will redirect me to another tab showing the same dashboard that I shared just now...
Try a different browser. For me, so far it works on Safari, Firefox, Chrome & Opera. Opera gives the least problems.
LDP
post Aug 11 2025, 12:39 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2025, 11:45 AM)
Try a different browser. For me, so far it works on Safari, Firefox, Chrome & Opera. Opera gives the least problems.
Tried Edge and Chrome. Same results. Scratching my head...
N9484640
post Aug 11 2025, 02:06 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

I can see my bill with peak and non peak usage. Using Safari iMac or iPad. Very good that we can easily calculate the difference between ToU and non-ToU. It won't save much but every ringgit counts

This post has been edited by N9484640: Aug 11 2025, 04:36 PM

Silfer
post Aug 11 2025, 03:01 PM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 11 2025, 02:06 PM)
I can see my bill with peak and non peak usage. Using Safari iMac or iPad
you already changed to TOU?
N9484640
post Aug 11 2025, 04:34 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Aug 11 2025, 03:01 PM)
you already changed to TOU?
Yes
romuluz777
post Aug 12 2025, 09:53 AM

2,204 posts

Do we need to head to a TNB outlet to apply for this TOU ?
dest9116
post Aug 12 2025, 11:42 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 12 2025, 09:53 AM)
Fill form and email je. Check tnb website for guidance
romuluz777
post Aug 12 2025, 11:56 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Aug 12 2025, 12:42 PM)
Noted, thanks bro
N9484640
post Aug 12 2025, 12:05 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

apply via your mytnb account (website not app)
press the Switch to ToU on the right panel
soonwai
post Aug 12 2025, 04:05 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Aug 12 2025, 11:42 AM)
So old fashioned you all. smile.gif
Click "Switch to ToU" and do online je.
But still need to scan IC back & front, maybe later got eKYC.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 12 2025, 04:06 PM
soonwai
post Aug 12 2025, 04:08 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 11 2025, 12:39 PM)
Tried Edge and Chrome. Same results. Scratching my head...
Try private window see can or not.
soonwai
post Aug 12 2025, 04:13 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 11 2025, 02:06 PM)
I can see my bill with peak and non peak usage. Using Safari iMac or iPad. Very good that we can easily calculate the difference between ToU and non-ToU. It won't save much but every ringgit counts
Unfortunately, cannot see that before changed to ToU. sad.gif

Have to download daily and calc myself.
romuluz777
post Aug 12 2025, 06:28 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2025, 05:05 PM)
Perfect ! Thanks for the heads up smile.gif
dest9116
post Aug 12 2025, 07:12 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2025, 04:05 PM)
Aiyo last time I check I don't think this button was there
N9484640
post Aug 12 2025, 07:14 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2025, 04:05 PM)

I gave them front of IC only....haha...
soonwai
post Aug 12 2025, 07:50 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Aug 12 2025, 07:12 PM)
Aiyo last time I check I don't think this button was there
Ya, online apply started August. Before that have to fill-in form and email.
LDP
post Aug 13 2025, 07:14 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2025, 04:08 PM)
Try private window see can or not.
Let me reconfirm this: I havent switch to ToU..So can I view the daily usage before switching ?
vez
post Aug 13 2025, 07:26 AM

4,620 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 13 2025, 07:14 AM)
Let me reconfirm this: I havent switch to ToU..So can I view the daily usage before switching ?
can if you already using smart meter
can see every 30mins consumption break down (only from PC web browser, app cannot), from the data you can estimate whether or not ToU suitable or not
Feliex
post Aug 13 2025, 01:29 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 12 2025, 04:13 PM)
Unfortunately, cannot see that before changed to ToU. sad.gif

Have to download daily and calc myself.
1. Download the daily usage from July till Now.
2. Merge the CS file into 1 CSV File.
3. Open Google Gemini and upload the Merge CSV file.
4. Select "Deep Research"
5. Given the prompt [This is my daily electricity consumption from July to August 13. Please help me analyze whether I am suitable for applying for TNB ToU.]
6. Just wait for the result.
7. Lastly double check the result.
ktek
post Aug 13 2025, 01:42 PM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 10 2025, 10:43 AM)
My monthly usage is around 400 kwH...Monthly bill around 110 or so...not sure to change or not to change...I also cannot find any detailed split between off peak and peak in the portal...
we same lvl. not yet apply.
ericong77
post Aug 13 2025, 02:59 PM

140 posts

After looking at my daily usage pattern, I've decided to apply see if new tariff can save money. My monthly bill before new tariff is around 140 ~ 180.

This post has been edited by ericong77: Aug 13 2025, 03:03 PM
LDP
post Aug 13 2025, 03:28 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 13 2025, 01:42 PM)
we same lvl. not yet apply.
Ok. I also not keen for now..
jimbet1337
post Aug 13 2025, 04:12 PM

meh
2,666 posts

Is it worth to apply ToU for low usage 190-210kwh?
TSZeneticX
post Aug 13 2025, 05:46 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 13 2025, 04:12 PM)
if your low usage is mostly during off-peak hours, why not

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 13 2025, 05:47 PM
soonwai
post Aug 13 2025, 06:38 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Aug 13 2025, 01:29 PM)
1. Download the daily usage from July till Now.
2. Merge the CS file into 1 CSV File.
3. Open Google Gemini and upload the Merge CSV file.
4. Select "Deep Research"
5. Given the prompt [This is my daily electricity consumption from July to August 13. Please help me analyze whether I am suitable for applying for TNB ToU.]
6. Just wait for the result.
7. Lastly double check the result.
Smart! Later I try.
soonwai
post Aug 13 2025, 07:50 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 10 2025, 10:43 AM)
QUOTE(ericong77 @ Aug 13 2025, 02:59 PM)
After looking at my daily usage pattern, I've decided to apply see if new tariff can save money. My monthly bill before new tariff is around 140 ~ 180.
Mine's about the same, average 439kWh for last 9 mths. If 450kWh and 14% peak, this is what I get using mcchin's spreadsheet. If haven't calculated your own yet, just agak-agak the % peak.

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 13 2025, 04:12 PM)
About 12% saving. Will take 3 months to recover back the stamp duty.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 13 2025, 08:05 PM
jimbet1337
post Aug 13 2025, 08:40 PM

meh
2,666 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 13 2025, 07:50 PM)
About 12% saving. Will take 3 months to recover back the stamp duty.
Nice. Thank you for sharing.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 03:24 AM

11,450 posts

Bill out. Cheap cheap again this month. Transition between non-ToU to ToU so usage was split to a lower tier of non-ToU and max discount for ToU. But only 6 days for ToU. Probably better if can time your changeover somewhere in the middle.

Oops, need to add RM10 for stamp duty.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 14 2025, 11:23 AM
kopiride
post Aug 14 2025, 04:09 AM

782 posts

All these change of T and NT is going to earn tnb a lot of money. 1 mil ppl doing that will just earn them 10mil out of thin air. Tnb should instead at the end of the month automatically apply the cheapest for everyone.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 04:24 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 14 2025, 04:09 AM)
All these change of T and NT is going to earn tnb a lot of money. 1 mil ppl doing that will just earn them 10mil out of thin air. Tnb should instead at the end of the month automatically apply the cheapest for everyone.
I think ToU should be better for most households. For 450kWh, you need to use 63% peak for both rates to be equal. Maybe that’s why TNB default to non-ToU since consumers will pay more.
mcchin
post Aug 14 2025, 09:53 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 14 2025, 04:24 AM)
I think ToU should be better for most households. For 450kWh, you need to use 63% peak for both rates to be equal. Maybe that’s why TNB default to non-ToU since consumers will pay more.
my guess
TOU is put out to be seen like there's an option

TOU works for those country with tethering energy supply, so proper Peak hours are like during industrial / office work hours
where energy is needed for business purposes

while home use should be normal
and true off peak is like the midnights, where lesser demand like passed 12am till morning 6/7am

plus the rates along with eh times are not really deterring or forcing bad habit changes
it is more like an afterthought

kopiride
post Aug 14 2025, 10:50 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 14 2025, 04:24 AM)
In theory yes. But now people have know in depth a out their usage. Then change once. All these testing and switching is just plain money grab. People should start complain about the rm10 charges. It should be free to change.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 11:21 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 14 2025, 10:50 AM)
In theory yes. But now people have know in depth a out their usage. Then change once.  All these testing and switching is just plain money grab. People should start complain about the rm10 charges. It should be free to change.
hahaha, my taman group already complain kaw-kaw:
1. Why need stamp duty? (ask LHDN for exemption)
2. Why not straight change to ToU?

TNB is scheming and very unprofessional in implementing tariff changes to benefit its consumers because I believe most if not all TNB customers are not aware of the need to apply for ToU. I opine there is no need to apply for ToU. It should be automatically activated without having to apply for ToU.  TNB is committing CBT.  Sigh...

Already sampai criminal breach of trust. sweat.gif I no heart tell him that stamp duty goes to LHDN.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 14 2025, 11:27 AM
kelvinlym
post Aug 14 2025, 11:33 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 14 2025, 04:09 AM)
Stamp duty is paid to LHDN. Tariff agreement between TNB and user is a binding contract.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 11:47 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 14 2025, 11:33 AM)
Stamp duty is paid to LHDN. Tariff agreement between TNB and user is a binding contract.
Actually when change from old (Residential) to new tariff (Domestic General), this is also a new contract right? Shouldn't this also have an RM10 stamp duty?

Is it that TNB pays the stamp duty since they're the one changing the contract?

Likewise, for ToU, we pay since we want to change the contract?

Ref Stamp Act: https://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Stamp_Ac...at_01072014.pdf

I suck at legal documents. For Agreements or Contracts it says, the person to pay duty is "The person by whom the
instrument is first executed"

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 14 2025, 11:54 AM
kopiride
post Aug 14 2025, 11:55 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 14 2025, 11:33 AM)
They should not even have implemented such thing where u can switch. Just bill us the cheapest of the 2. I believe lhdn and tnb is making money out of us. Tnb want to increase price, lhdn also greedy and want to make money out of it. They both win and citizens lose.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 12:05 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 14 2025, 11:55 AM)
They should not even have implemented such thing where u can switch. Just bill us the cheapest of the 2. I believe lhdn and tnb is making money out of us. Tnb want to increase price, lhdn also greedy and want to make money out of it. They both win and citizens lose.
Ya lor, why not straight change to ToU for everybody or at least everybody with a smart meter ?

TSZeneticX
post Aug 14 2025, 01:18 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

whatever TnB or the government do nowadays confirm you have people complaining on both sides....

if auto switch to ToU, will have a group of people complaining why not give the option to opt out, what if bill increased due to more usage during peak hours etc

really cannot satisfy everyone nowadays. IMO giving the option to switch is still the safest choice, up to you to decide whether to switch

but I agree the whole process should have been free

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 14 2025, 01:19 PM
kopiride
post Aug 14 2025, 03:44 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2025, 01:18 PM)
whatever TnB or the government do nowadays confirm you have people complaining on both sides....

if auto switch to ToU, will have a group of people complaining why not give the option to opt out, what if bill increased due to more usage during peak hours etc

really cannot satisfy everyone nowadays. IMO giving the option to switch is still the safest choice, up to you to decide whether to switch

but I agree the whole process should have been free
Not even auto switch. At the end of the month, their system should calculate which is the cheapest and bill us the cheapest. Why even need us to monitor ourselves and switch ourselves? Doesn't make sense. Now everyone has to be an 'expert' in metering their electricity usage. Pretty dumb imo
In other words for those who don't bother to study their usage, TNB will earn more if somehow you are in the wrong ToU. Can't believe the government let them go ahead with this nonsense.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 14 2025, 04:03 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Aug 14 2025, 03:44 PM)
Not even auto switch. At the end of the month, their system should calculate which is the cheapest and bill us the cheapest. Why even need us to monitor ourselves and switch ourselves? Doesn't make sense. Now everyone has to be an 'expert' in metering their electricity usage. Pretty dumb imo
In other words for those who don't bother to study their usage, TNB will earn more if somehow you are in the wrong ToU. Can't believe the government let them go ahead with this nonsense.
But how do you decide if someone is suitable for ToU or not? Everyone usage differs, someone might be using more power during peak period, obviously for someone like this ToU is unsuitable. Then you have those who rent our their properties where its hard to control tenant usage, and then those using solar.

Maybe there's way to calculate from our bills, but we are not experts so we dont know how complicated it is to implement such a function and how much does it costs. And as always, the costs will be reflected onto the consumers in the end anyway

The fair method would be to convert everyone to ToU so everyone follow the same peak and off peak rate. But again doing this someone who use more during peak period will complain also

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 14 2025, 04:15 PM
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 04:12 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2025, 04:03 PM)
But how do you decide if someone is suitable for ToU or not? Everyone usage differs, someone might be using more power during peak period, obviously for someone like this ToU is unsuitable.

Maybe there's way to calculate from our bills, but we are not experts so we dont have how complicated it is to implement such a function and how much does it costs. And as always, the costs will be reflected onto the consumers in the end anyway

The fair method would be to convert everyone to ToU so everyone follow the same peak and off peak rate. But again doing this someone who use more during peak period will complain also
For those in the know can help inform your friends/relative. Even just see one day usage can already get an idea of the peak %.

I think not many ppl will go download 122 days of csv files to find average peak usage. sweat.gif Mine is 18.32% peak btw. Earlier posts calculated 14%, got bug in formula.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 14 2025, 04:13 PM
TSZeneticX
post Aug 14 2025, 04:19 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 14 2025, 04:12 PM)
For those in the know can help inform your friends/relative. Even just see one day usage can already get an idea of the peak %.

I think not many ppl will go download 122 days of csv files to find average peak usage.  sweat.gif  Mine is 18.32% peak btw. Earlier posts calculated 14%, got bug in formula.
i think just from understanding your own usage you will know whether its suitable already, no need to calculate actually unless you want to know the numbers of how many % savings

High powered home appliances -
Aircond (especially non inverter)
Oven
Microwave
Water heater
Electric stove
Dryer
Washing machine

if you use any of these heavily every weekday during peak period (2pm - 10pm) obviously ToU is not for you

those staying own house then easy to know and adjust usage if needed..... but those doing rental property more complicated

lights and fans don't really consume much. If got PC then depending what kind of PC it is and what you're doing (simple browsing or high end gaming, rendering etc)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 14 2025, 04:24 PM
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 05:54 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2025, 04:19 PM)
i think just from understanding your own usage you will know whether its suitable already, no need to calculate actually unless you want to know the numbers of how many % savings

High powered home appliances -
Aircond (especially non inverter)
Oven
Microwave
Water heater
Electric stove
Dryer
Washing machine

if you use any of these heavily every weekday during peak period (2pm - 10pm) obviously ToU is not for you

those staying own house then easy to know and adjust usage if needed..... but those doing rental property more complicated

lights and fans don't really consume much. If got PC then depending what kind of PC it is and what you're doing (simple browsing or high end gaming, rendering etc)
Yeah true, for myself, end up the only thing I need to adjust is make sure laundry is done in the morning.
soonwai
post Aug 14 2025, 05:57 PM

11,450 posts

Hmm, I just realize that TNB rounds down the kWh just before the final bill. I was wondering why my calculations got extra 2 kWh. So generous of them.
mcchin
post Aug 14 2025, 08:22 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2025, 04:03 PM)
But how do you decide if someone is suitable for ToU or not? Everyone usage differs, someone might be using more power during peak period, obviously for someone like this ToU is unsuitable. Then you have those who rent our their properties where its hard to control tenant usage, and then those using solar.

Maybe there's way to calculate from our bills, but we are not experts so we dont know how complicated it is to implement such a function and how much does it costs. And as always, the costs will be reflected onto the consumers in the end anyway

As soonwai said earlier you need to use up to 65% on peak time (2pm to 10pm) be be not beneficial on TOU

Unless you are using your home as office from 1pm to 9pm exclusively
And not staying there

Then I would think even a 50-50 is not a problem yet
You'll still get some savings

A family that don't have anyone at home before 6pm 7pm
Should have problem getting below 40%peak
TSZeneticX
post Aug 14 2025, 08:25 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Aug 14 2025, 08:22 PM)
As soonwai said earlier you need to use up to 65% on peak time (2pm to 10pm) be be not beneficial on TOU

Unless you are using your home as office from 1pm to 9pm exclusively
And not staying there

Then I would think even a 50-50 is not a problem yet
You'll still get some savings

A family that don't have anyone at home before 6pm 7pm
Should have problem getting below 40%peak
I'm fully aware of how to take full advantage of ToU (refer my latest reply above)

My reply you quoted is for kopiride's suggestion that TnB should automatically decide ToU for users or apply the cheapest rate

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 14 2025, 08:34 PM
mcchin
post Aug 14 2025, 08:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2025, 08:25 PM)
I'm fully aware of how to take full advantage of ToU (refer my latest reply above)

My reply is for kopiride's reply that TnB should automatically decide ToU for users instead of us applying manually
Ooo

My own guess is that TOU
It's just an option to be seen like having options

Cause the new tariff give some savings
So most wouldn't care

And to those that would like to milk it more
TOU is the only options
Other than solar that is,

romuluz777
post Aug 15 2025, 10:08 AM

2,204 posts

I'm a heavy user during peak hrs from 8.00 to 4 pm due to WFH most days, I was considering TOU, but end up not signing up as it could cause my bills to rise further. Need to pay fixed RM10 per mth somemore.
Dont wanna be penny wise pound foolish.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 15 2025, 11:40 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 10:08 AM)
I'm a heavy user during peak hrs from 8.00 to 4 pm due to WFH most days, I was considering TOU, but end up not signing up as it could cause my bills to rise further. Need to pay fixed RM10 per mth somemore.
U mean 8am to 4pm?

Peak is 2pm to 10pm though

And the RM10 stamp duty is only on your first bill after switching iinm

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 15 2025, 11:42 AM
LDP
post Aug 15 2025, 12:21 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 11 2025, 11:45 AM)
Finally issue resolved. Hv to log a ticket and then a few days later it pops out...
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 10:08 AM)
Maybe calculate your actual usage. I work from home all the time and my wife 2 of 5 days. My average peak usage is 18.39% for the past 123 days.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM
romuluz777
post Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 15 2025, 12:40 PM)
U mean 8am to 4pm?

Peak is 2pm to 10pm though

And the RM10 stamp duty is only on your first bill after switching iinm
The RM10 1x time upfront is no issue, but I don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because I consume more than 600 kwh per mth.
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 03:54 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM)
The RM10 1x time upfront is no issue, but I don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because I consume more than 600 kwh per mth.
Non-ToU also pay the 600 kWh RM10 right?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 03:56 PM
The.Lucas.DaY
post Aug 15 2025, 04:08 PM

670 posts

Do you know why everytime i login to my brother's account (owner), i got this error, while no issue when i login using mine to view the same house's bill confused.gif

soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 05:42 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Aug 15 2025, 04:08 PM)
Do you know why everytime i login to my brother's account (owner), i got this error, while no issue when i login using mine to view the same house's bill  confused.gif

I get that all the time on Chrome & Firefox. Try private window.

Try other browsers. For me, Safari & Opera are ok.

Can also try to clear browser cache/cookies. I didn't try this.
romuluz777
post Aug 15 2025, 06:51 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 15 2025, 04:54 PM)
Non-ToU also pay the 600 kWh RM10 right?

Yes, its prorated starting from 1-July
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 08:45 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 06:51 PM)
Yes, its prorated starting from 1-July
Don't understand. Didn't you say you didn't change to ToU because "you don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because you consume more than 600 kwh per mth."

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 08:48 PM
The.Lucas.DaY
post Aug 15 2025, 10:01 PM

670 posts

No luck, tried normal & private window on Edge, chrome, safari in iPad, chrome mobile, even changed diff Dns.
Might contact cust service for this

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 15 2025, 05:42 PM)
I get that all the time on Chrome & Firefox. Try private window.

Try other browsers. For me, Safari & Opera are ok.

Can also try to clear browser cache/cookies. I didn't try this.
romuluz777
post Aug 15 2025, 11:09 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 15 2025, 09:45 PM)
Don't understand. Didn't you say you didn't change to ToU because "you don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because you consume more than 600 kwh per mth."
Never mind, I've just read up again on this TOU thing and how it compares to the previous regime.
I was mistaken on some points, now its clear. All is good smile.gif

xiaomoon
post Aug 16 2025, 11:50 AM

1,437 posts

anyone bill more expensive this month? last month usage 400kwh rm96, this month usage 402kwh but rm122...?
tonyvyp
post Aug 16 2025, 12:41 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 16 2025, 11:50 AM)
anyone bill more expensive this month? last month usage 400kwh rm96, this month usage 402kwh but rm122...?
under old tariff 400kwh should be around rm122. perhaps recheck any special rebate or discount you get from previous month?
or they mess something up last month as that's the transition month (partial old tariff partial new tariff)
LaiN87
post Aug 16 2025, 01:42 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

Don’t look at last month bill… last month is half half prorated.
They actually charge lower giving more rebate with the prorate here and there. If you take last month bill (full combined kWh) and put in old tariff calculator and new tariff calculator, you won’t get that low amount they charged.
Ramjade
post Aug 16 2025, 01:52 PM

24,324 posts

Worth taking if use less than 600kwh/month?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 16 2025, 01:52 PM
soonwai
post Aug 16 2025, 02:11 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 16 2025, 01:52 PM)
Worth taking if use less than 600kwh/month?
If 599 kWh and 64% peak usage, it'll be about equal. 23% peak usage, about RM10 savings each month.

What's your peak usage % ?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 16 2025, 02:12 PM
ktek
post Aug 17 2025, 09:48 AM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 13 2025, 03:28 PM)
Ok. I also not keen for now..
july usage rm130

june usage bill was too low rm109. july usage rm130 (normally this figure)
every month 400kwh above
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 12:54 PM

11,450 posts

Yeah, expect to be the same here. The transition bills are quite a bit cheaper.

kWh: 432 - 493 - 388 - 408

Jul is new tariff transition.
Aug is ToU transition.
Sep will be first full month on ToU. Expect 420 kWh or RM120.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 17 2025, 12:59 PM
Optizorb
post Aug 17 2025, 02:22 PM

1,244 posts

mahai my bill shoot from average 150 to 180 now..

normal tariff.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 17 2025, 07:44 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 17 2025, 02:22 PM)

normal tariff.
Your kwh usage same?

I actually pay slightly less now even without ToU

June 372kwh = RM108.55

Aug 389kwh = RM108.40

Extra 17kwh but same price almost

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 17 2025, 07:44 PM
N9484640
post Aug 17 2025, 08:08 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

my bill came today - only 15 days of usage
I calculated I save about RM5.85 for ToU. Not sure how to calculate KWTBB though
Hopefully will see a better picture next full month

soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 08:36 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:08 PM)
my bill came today - only 15 days of usage
I calculated I save about RM5.85 for ToU. Not sure how to calculate KWTBB though
Hopefully will see a better picture next full month
You can use mcchin's google sheet to calc. I think KWTBB is just flat 1.6% for 300 & above.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 18 2025, 01:55 AM
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 08:39 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 17 2025, 02:22 PM)

normal tariff.
You mean from May to Jun? My cousin also notice jump in kWh after change to smart meter.
NoNameSoldier
post Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM

283 posts

the faaking JMB have a rule saying they won't switch for smart meter .. impacting those who want to switch
N9484640
post Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 17 2025, 08:36 PM)
You can use mcchin's google sheet to calc. I think KWTBB is just flat 1.6%.
TNB website have their own calculator and its accurate. Can calculate both ToU and non ToU
Optizorb
post Aug 17 2025, 09:18 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 17 2025, 08:39 PM)
You mean from May to Jun? My cousin also notice jump in kWh after change to smart meter.
i change to smart meter quite some time ago.. not recently..

and yes from May to June jump.. but june was very hot month and memang got use more air-cond, so i can understand if bill higher..

but then July bill drop till 127 damn low.. and then now August jump back up to 187..

It feels like the smart meter damn wonky..

QUOTE(NoNameSoldier @ Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM)
the faaking JMB have a rule saying they won't switch for smart meter .. impacting those who want to switch
Bro you not smart meter consider good ler..

like the poster above said and including my own experience, i notice ever since change to smart meter my bill on average increased by about 10~20 bucks every month..

My condo not that old, 2016 till now.. Was changed to smart meter last year iirc..
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 10:43 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM)
TNB website have their own calculator and its accurate. Can calculate both ToU and non ToU
Yes, indeed, that's the first one I use. Very well done.
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 10:56 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 17 2025, 09:18 PM)
i change to smart meter quite some time ago.. not recently..

and yes from May to June jump.. but june was very hot month and memang got use more air-cond, so i can understand if bill higher..

but then July bill drop till 127 damn low.. and then now August jump back up to 187..

It feels like the smart meter damn wonky..
Bro you not smart meter consider good ler..

like the poster above said and including my own experience, i notice ever since change to smart meter my bill on average increased by about 10~20 bucks every month..

My condo not that old, 2016 till now.. Was changed to smart meter last year iirc..
Ya, July bill consider as bonus lah. Drop low bcos of the calculations involved in the tariff change. Look at your kWh instead.

As for smart meter, mine changed 2020, during the few months of relaxed MCO. My recorded kWh didn't differ much though.
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 11:15 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM)
Actually, do you have a link to TNB's calculator? I can't seem to find it now. blush.gif
toi
post Aug 18 2025, 12:14 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 17 2025, 11:15 PM)
Actually, do you have a link to TNB's calculator? I can't seem to find it now. blush.gif
https://www.mytnb.com.my/tariff/index.html?v=1.1.34

Scroll down to find the button Kalkulator bill anggaran.
N9484640
post Aug 18 2025, 01:36 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 17 2025, 11:15 PM)

On the right hand lower corner you will see the calculator blue button, just press it.
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 07:42 PM

11,450 posts

The energy usage dashboard has gone from bad to worse. Reload, reload, click, reload, reload, reload, reload then too many redirects.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 18 2025, 08:57 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2025, 07:42 PM)
The energy usage dashboard has gone from bad to worse. Reload, reload, click, reload, reload, reload, reload then too many redirects.
It was like that since my home got switched to Smart Meter donkey years ago

I use it almost daily and the thing is certain time it become very stable but most of the time you will have to be very patient reloading it until you get what you want

By the way, since you are now on Tou, did your myTNB portal Switch to ToU button now changed to Switch to Domestic Am?
joeblow
post Aug 18 2025, 09:00 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 18 2025, 08:57 PM)

I use it almost daily and the thing is certain time it become very stable but most of the time you will have to be very patient reloading it until you get what you want

By the way, since you are now on Tou, did your myTNB portal Switch to ToU button now changed to Switch to Domestic Am?
Yeah I like to know too. Recently TNB just switched to Smart Meter and I applied for TOU. Few days ago they charge me the rm10 and I paid it. But it doesn't show Switch to Domestic, still Switch to TOU. I guess come 22nd I will know via the bill how it works for this TOU.

For those with TOU, have you gotten bill and is there a breakdown peak vs non-peak kwh?
coolguy_0925
post Aug 18 2025, 09:05 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 18 2025, 09:00 PM)
Yeah I like to know too. Recently TNB just switched to Smart Meter and I applied for TOU. Few days ago they charge me the rm10 and I paid it. But it doesn't show Switch to Domestic, still Switch to TOU. I guess come 22nd I will know via the bill how it works for this TOU.

For those with TOU, have you gotten bill and is there a breakdown peak vs non-peak kwh?
TNB will have to

And I think it is readily available since soonwai also shared his daily energy usage breakdown from myTNB is now shown in peak & off peak
LaiN87
post Aug 18 2025, 09:06 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2025, 07:42 PM)
I always wait for it to load what’s on the page to finish first then only click my next point. If I click something while it’s still loading data, I will have redirect error.

Mine was switched to ToU manually (email). Now still mention as Switch to ToU

Before you start your ToU, you will get your last interim bill that cutout for your Domestic Am bill to Domestic ToU.

You can see it in your smart data history usage as well. Will change from 1 line 1 colour to 1 line 2 colour graph.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 18 2025, 09:16 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 18 2025, 09:06 PM)
Mine was switched to ToU manually (email). Now still mention as Switch to ToU
Sounds like no portal way if wanna switch back to Domestik Am
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 09:35 PM

11,450 posts

Dunnolah, maybe just luck but last week I managed to download CSV files for 122 days. Today, want to go in to just have a look also cannot. bangwall.gif

No "Switch to Domestic Am" button, just 1 button "View Account Details". Ya, how to change back if need be.
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 09:42 PM

11,450 posts

Did you received Application Success email? Mine is like this.

Day 1 AM: Apply
Day 1 PM: Received bill for RM10 stamp and paid. Followed by Application Success email.
Day 3: Received Interim Bill. Basically bill for non-ToU usage.
Few days later: Received ToU bill for the remaining days in my billing cycle.

Also, forgot which day, but Energy Usage dash changed to showing peak/off-peak.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 18 2025, 09:42 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 18 2025, 09:54 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2025, 09:35 PM)
Dunnolah, maybe just luck but last week I managed to download CSV files for 122 days. Today, want to go in to just have a look also cannot.  bangwall.gif

No "Switch to Domestic Am" button, just 1 button "View Account Details". Ya, how to change back if need be.
Ha ha you're very determined to get it done

Even if the website is stable I can't imagine myself downloading 122 different files and combining them rclxub.gif

I just took roughly few days to see the pattern, even without factoring in weekends the peak time only ~30% usage

BUT... I'm lazy to apply cause need to give IC etc because my savings will only be ~RM2 per month (monthly bill @ ~RM25)

Need 5 months to ROI damn grin.gif

This post has been edited by coolguy_0925: Aug 18 2025, 09:56 PM
joeblow
post Aug 19 2025, 12:04 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2025, 09:42 PM)
Did you received Application Success email? Mine is like this.

Day 1 AM: Apply
Day 1 PM: Received bill for RM10 stamp and paid. Followed by Application Success email.
Day 3: Received Interim Bill. Basically bill for non-ToU usage.
Few days later: Received ToU bill for the remaining days in my billing cycle.

Also, forgot which day, but Energy Usage dash changed to showing peak/off-peak.
Only got the bill for rm10 email. Need to wait for the Application Success email, not sure why so long since one week plus already.
cyberic
post Aug 19 2025, 01:24 PM

1,125 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 12:04 AM)
Only got the bill for rm10 email. Need to wait for the Application Success email, not sure why so long since one week plus already.
I received the application success email with enclosed bill for stamp duty. TNB came next day after I paid the bill. I wasn't at home but I checked cctv, took about 10 minutes to change the meter.
joeblow
post Aug 19 2025, 01:30 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Aug 19 2025, 01:24 PM)
I received the application success email with enclosed bill for stamp duty. TNB came next day after I paid the bill. I wasn't at home but I checked cctv, took about 10 minutes to change the meter.
Oh it is application success email, not change to TOU success email. Then I got the application success email together with the rm10 stamp duty. Are you saying that even though I am on smart meter, still need to change meter to enable TOU? I thought it was a configuration change at tnb backend.
cyberic
post Aug 19 2025, 01:43 PM

1,125 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 01:30 PM)
Oh it is application success email, not change to TOU success email. Then I got the application success email together with the rm10 stamp duty. Are you saying that even though I am on smart meter, still need to change meter to enable TOU? I thought it was a configuration change at tnb backend.
Mine was not a smart meter. Yours should be just config changes at backend. Did you pay the rm10? Need pay within 14 days, otherwise, they will cancel the application.
joeblow
post Aug 19 2025, 01:58 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Aug 19 2025, 01:43 PM)
Mine was not a smart meter. Yours should be just config changes at backend. Did you pay the rm10? Need pay within 14 days, otherwise, they will cancel the application.
Already paid a week ago but online portal smart meter still showing normal rate bar, ie no two colours bar. Also no email to indicate now I am on TOU.
soonwai
post Aug 19 2025, 04:04 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 01:58 PM)
Already paid a week ago but online portal smart meter still showing normal rate bar, ie no two colours bar. Also no email to indicate now I am on TOU.
What is the status of your "Change Tariff" application in "Apply"->"I want to check my application status" ? Must have got stuck for some reason.

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 01:58 PM)
I just checked another house. Even after application successful email, the "2 colour bar" doesn't show until after the interim bill has been issued.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 19 2025, 04:43 PM
joeblow
post Aug 19 2025, 05:06 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 19 2025, 04:04 PM)
What is the status of your "Change Tariff" application in "Apply"->"I want to check my application status" ? Must have got stuck for some reason.
It says last updated 9th Aug and status is Changing meter. I think some screw up since my meter just changed to Smart meter. I will just wait until the next bill see how. Especially if the rm10 I paid reflected in the upcoming bill, if not then messy.
soonwai
post Aug 19 2025, 05:35 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 05:06 PM)
It says last updated 9th Aug and status is Changing meter. I think some screw up since my meter just changed to Smart meter. I will just wait until the next bill see how. Especially if the rm10 I paid reflected in the upcoming bill, if not then messy.
Ya, looks like TNB screwed up there. After "Site Verified", mine was "Reading Interim Bill". Maybe somehow they couldn't get that done, that's why need to change the meter again.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 19 2025, 05:37 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 19 2025, 08:48 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 05:06 PM)
Sounds like TNB side record still not explicitly identified that you are now on smart meter

Well... shoot them a complaint e-mail lo otherwise don't know will hang there for how long
N9484640
post Aug 19 2025, 10:23 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

Got, can see the bill I posted previously
romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 03:12 PM

2,204 posts

If you subscribe to TOU, and then a few months later, decide to change back. Is it allowed ?
soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:12 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 03:12 PM)
If you subscribe to TOU, and then a few months later, decide to change back. Is it allowed ?
I believe so but I think have to go TNB shop to change. Can't find a way to change back to non-ToU on the website. Maybe can do via ticket?

Also every time change, need to pay Stamp Duty RM10.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 20 2025, 06:16 PM
soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:27 PM

11,450 posts

This is the Excel 365 Mac file that I use to calc my average usage. Thought I share it here.

• Noob spreadsheet. Before this I've only ever used +_/* and SUM in Excel.
• No VBA so it's safe. (sos: trust me bro)
• Get your daily usage from TNB Energy Dashboard - [View Energy Usage] button and paste into the table.
• You may need current versions of Excel since I use some relatively newer functions like TAKE.
• Ya, I know, I found out later that I didn't have to split DateTime to 2 separate columns.

20250821_1625: Updated xls - just more reference info and fix old tariff tab a bit.
20250829_1706: Cleaned up the xls. Fix some logic errors. Left a months sample data in the table. Delete and add your own.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 05:08 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TNB_Usage_Cost_20250829.xlsx.zip ( 241.02k ) Number of downloads: 9
romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 20 2025, 05:12 PM)
I believe so but I think have to go TNB shop to change. Can't find a way to change back to non-ToU on the website. Maybe can do via ticket?
Hopefully can change via the TNB app.
I will ask the smartmeter installer whether he knows when he comes to chg limpeh meter in a few weeks time.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 20 2025, 10:09 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM)
I will ask the smartmeter installer whether he knows when he comes to chg limpeh meter in a few weeks time.
Friendly reminder

You need to pay RM10 again
pillage2001
post Aug 20 2025, 10:26 PM

1,990 posts

The app on the phone seems retarded after some updates. Accessing the data on the webportal gives alot better granular data. QUite intersting how my usage is on a daily basis. lol
LaiN87
post Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
RiriRuruRara
post Aug 21 2025, 01:03 AM

1,009 posts

My most recent bill shot up a lot if I opt in for this tou will it help reduce the bill??

2. Also cannot opt in from the app??? Is the username and password the same for the website portal??

This post has been edited by RiriRuruRara: Aug 21 2025, 01:19 AM
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 01:04 AM

11,450 posts

+ RM10 stamp duty
Thanks for the heads up. Next month check. Already received non-ToU interim bill but it's only for 1-day, 40kWh so no SST. Expect remaining ToU days to be around 1100 kWh.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 21 2025, 04:34 PM
romuluz777
post Aug 21 2025, 07:48 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:09 PM)
Friendly reminder

You need to pay RM10 again
No problem.
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 21 2025, 01:03 AM)
My most recent bill shot up a lot if I opt in for this tou will it help reduce the bill??

2. Also cannot opt in from the app??? Is the username and password the same for the website portal??
Almost all ppl should get cheaper bills with ToU unless you go over approx 63% peak usage.

can use mcchin's google sheet to check your bills for old, new and ToU tariffs. What's your typical kWh for a month?

I posted an Excel spreadsheet to calc peak % based on the daily data that you can dl from TNB web.

So far, switch to ToU, app cannot, web only.
coolguy_0925
post Aug 21 2025, 03:45 PM

4,535 posts

+ RM10 stamp duty
Good sharing

Almost certain will get this 8% SST unless your timing + their processing time are really spot on (28 days or more)
jimbet1337
post Aug 22 2025, 09:52 AM

meh
2,666 posts

Sharing my average usage 200kWh thereabouts. The closest one to compare are Aug & May to see old tariff & new one.

Aug (new tariff): RM42.05 (211 kWh)
May (old tariff): RM42.75 (210 kWh)

Haven't apply ToU yet.
Kelefeh
post Aug 22 2025, 01:18 PM

105 posts

once applied tou cannot change back right
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 02:16 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Aug 22 2025, 01:18 PM)
once applied tou cannot change back right
Can. Pay RM10 stamp duty again.
RiriRuruRara
post Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM)
Almost all ppl should get cheaper bills with ToU unless you go over approx 63% peak usage.

can use mcchin's google sheet to check your bills for old, new and ToU tariffs. What's your typical kWh for a month?

I posted an Excel spreadsheet to calc peak % based on the daily data that you can dl from TNB web.

So far, switch to ToU, app cannot, web only.
Thanks for sharing. My kwh for last month was 850. Don’t understand what you mean by 63% peak usage but will try to read up about it tonight
TSZeneticX
post Aug 22 2025, 04:42 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM)
Thanks for sharing. My kwh for last month was 850. Don’t understand what you mean by 63% peak usage but will try to read up about it tonight
Basically if your entire month's usage (in kwh) consists of 63% usage during the peak hours (2pm - 10pm) on weekdays

If you use a lot of high energy consumption appliances eg: water heater, aircond, oven, dryer etc during these hours during weekdays, then perhaps ToU won't benefit. For most people out there especially if you're not WFH type, ToU will definitely reduce your bills, just see how much is the reduction

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 22 2025, 04:43 PM
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM

11,450 posts

You can go to TNB web to see your energy usage.
If your usage graph is something like this then worth already lah. If want to have a clearer idea, can download the daily usage for many days and calc in spreadsheet. I got attach one Excel a few posts up.

For 850kWh (AFA: -1.45 sen) using mcchin's Google Sheet.
I use 20% peak since that's mine. Of course, yours will be different.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 22 2025, 07:11 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 22 2025, 11:30 PM

4,535 posts

Like others had shared

The point is how heavy is your usage during the peak (2pm - 10pm weekdays) not so much on your total usage

If you are already on smart meter then very easy to track otherwise you need to agak agak liao

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM)
If your usage graph is something like this then worth already lah. If want to have a clearer idea, can download the daily usage for many days and calc in spreadsheet. I got attach one Excel a few posts up.

wow that pattern of usage chart looks really similar like mine... with that kWh you will save some real bucks going into ToU... good choice
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM)
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.

Mine is exactly like this.

Neighbour's old one had a bigger green button on the right in place of the 2 white ones and doesn't have that circle feature on the left.

The new one installed today looks similar to mine but has a smaller screen with the 2 white buttons moved up to the immediate right of the screen.

Macam TNB trying many different models. Maybe some not working so well.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 23 2025, 02:34 PM
coolguy_0925
post Aug 23 2025, 05:09 PM

4,535 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM)
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.

Mine is exactly like this.

Neighbour's old one had a bigger green button on the right in place of the 2 white ones and doesn't have that circle feature on the left.

The new one installed today looks similar to mine but has a smaller screen with the 2 white buttons moved up to the immediate right of the screen.

Macam TNB trying many different models. Maybe some not working so well.
My whole taman is using this exact same smart meter

Same display, same button, same brand name

It was changed around 2019

This post has been edited by coolguy_0925: Aug 23 2025, 05:10 PM
omron
post Aug 23 2025, 05:22 PM

204 posts

if on behalf owner how to subscribe tou
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 08:23 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(omron @ Aug 23 2025, 05:22 PM)
if on behalf owner how to subscribe tou
Can't do, have to be account owner. So need his IC (back & front) to verify as owner.

Can't do, myTNB login has to be owner verified. Otherwise no "Switch to ToU" button. Need his IC (back & front) to verify as owner.

If myTNB is already owner verified i.e.: has the "Switch to ToU" button then can do even with non-owner IC.

Updated answer, thanks to input from:
QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:41 PM)
do online...mytnb portal, click switch to tou, fill up owner info(my brother), but submit IC part i submit my own IC
This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 05:14 PM
RiriRuruRara
post Aug 24 2025, 02:15 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM)

Thank you for sharing this info. So far only using the TNB app, will try to get my fathers details to log into the TNB website since there more features there.

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 22 2025, 11:30 PM)
Like others had shared

The point is how heavy is your usage during the peak (2pm - 10pm weekdays) not so much on your total usage

As it is also my house only use aircond at night. 2pm -10pm mostly few ceiling fan and fridge is running.

This post has been edited by RiriRuruRara: Aug 24 2025, 02:18 AM
LDP
post Aug 25 2025, 09:26 AM

620 posts

My monthly usage is dropping to 375 kwh...as per latest bill...for now, not keen to switch to the new scheme...
TSZeneticX
post Aug 25 2025, 10:46 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Aug 25 2025, 09:26 AM)
My monthly usage is dropping to 375 kwh...as per latest bill...for now, not keen to switch to the new scheme...
It's not about monthly usage but your usage during peak hours
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 02:08 PM

11,450 posts

TIL while helping neighbour with ToU. He already have IC verified myTNB login but forgot password so proceeded to setup another new login. Verifying this new account again as owner with IC will not work. TNB didn't inform and just marked the service request as Solved. No house number, no energy usage, no switch to TOU button.

In the end, just reset the password for the old login.
xiaomoon
post Aug 29 2025, 02:56 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2025, 08:23 PM)
Can't do, have to be account owner. So need his IC (back & front) to verify as owner.
i submitted my ic instead of my brother(tnb bill owner), tnb approved also
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 03:34 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 02:56 PM)
i submitted my ic instead of my brother(tnb bill owner), tnb approved also
That's good, please elaborate what you did so we can learn from you. Did online or at Kedai Tenaga?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM
xiaomoon
post Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 29 2025, 03:34 PM)
That's good, please elaborate what you did so we can learn from you.
normal step...but when upload IC part i upload my IC
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 03:39 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM)
More details please.
xiaomoon
post Aug 29 2025, 03:41 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 29 2025, 03:39 PM)
More details please.
do online...mytnb portal, click switch to tou, fill up owner info(my brother), but submit IC part i submit my own IC
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 04:39 PM

11,450 posts

Thanks boss. That'll make it easier for ppl to apply.
TSZeneticX
post Aug 29 2025, 11:53 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Did TnB ask for additional info eg: proof of relationship or authorisation letter from owner etc?

Because got potential for issue here if anyone can just login, sign up switch to ToU but submit different IC from owner....
xiaomoon
post Aug 30 2025, 11:19 AM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 29 2025, 11:53 PM)
Did TnB ask for additional info eg: proof of relationship or authorisation letter from owner etc?

Because got potential for issue here if anyone can just login, sign up switch to ToU but submit different IC from owner....
no ask at all...but my name and my brother name only 1 word different
hihihehe
post Aug 31 2025, 06:47 AM

13,773 posts

Does tnb apps works for u guys?
soonwai
post Aug 31 2025, 12:55 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 31 2025, 06:47 AM)
Does tnb apps works for u guys?
Working but can't apply ToU.
Optizorb
post Aug 31 2025, 07:27 PM

1,244 posts

WTA: Tomorrow is public holiday replacement.. Will it be counted as whole day off peak rate or will it be the normal off-peak/peak rate?
enduser
post Aug 31 2025, 09:19 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 31 2025, 07:27 PM)
WTA: Tomorrow is public holiday replacement.. Will it be counted as whole day off peak rate or will it be the normal off-peak/peak rate?
Only this holiday is gazetted, replacement day not counted

*Nota: Cuti Umum adalah 15 hari berikut:
Tahun Baharu
Hari pertama Tahun Baharu Cina
Hari kedua Tahun Baharu Cina
Hari pertama Hari Raya Aidilfitri
Hari kedua Hari Raya Aidilfitri
Hari Pekerja
Hari Wesak
Hari Keputeraan YDP Agong
Hari Raya AidiladhaAwal Muharram
Hari Kemerdekaan
Hari Malaysia
Maulidur Rasul
Hari Deepavali
Hari Krismas

soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:47 AM

11,450 posts

AFA for Sep 2025 is -1.10 sen/kWh.

Less discount sad.gif than forecasted -1.23.

Forecast:
1 – 31 Oct 2025-0.0231
1 – 30 Nov 2025-0.0106
1 – 31 Dec 2025-0.0288

*600 kWh and below exempted from AFA.

Source: https://www.mytnb.com.my/tariff/index.html?v=1.1.39#afa

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 2 2025, 10:53 AM
soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 03:24 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM)

Update to this. Now I know why TNB changed my neighbour's meter (digital) to new smart meter.

Turns out back in 2020, when the whole road changed to smart meter, my neighbour got caught with tampered meter. So TNB installed another meter to monitor. Now want to change to ToU so TNB installed smart meter. I guess the monitoring meter wasn't a smart meter.

No idea what happened with regard to the tampering.

Interestingly, I told another neighbour, with smart meter (can see usage in web, change to ToU) also installed in 2020, about ToU. He's not going to change because his smart meter is modified. Man, I think 50% of the houses on road have modified meters, old or new. Mine, of course, is innocent.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 2 2025, 05:30 PM
toi
post Sep 2 2025, 04:21 PM

30 posts

Submit the TOU application on 28 Aug 2025, then received an email for my application for payment on 29 Aug 2025.

Then I make payment via myTNB app on 30 Aug 2025.

Today received the status update, my application got cancelled.
Has anyone encountered this before? What's went wrong?

soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 05:28 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(toi @ Sep 2 2025, 04:21 PM)
Submit the TOU application on 28 Aug 2025, then received an email for my application for payment on 29 Aug 2025.

Then I make payment via myTNB app on 30 Aug 2025.

Today received the status update, my application got cancelled.
Has anyone encountered this before? What's went wrong?

Better call them and ask. Did they call you? No email also?

When I wanted to do Change of Tenant, I accidentally did Owner Verification. Obviously not going to work since bill owner is different from MyKad name. TNB actually called to inform that the request failed because names are different.
toi
post Sep 2 2025, 06:16 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 2 2025, 05:28 PM)
Better call them and ask. Did they call you? No email also?

When I wanted to do Change of Tenant, I accidentally did Owner Verification. Obviously not going to work since bill owner is different from MyKad name. TNB actually called to inform that the request failed because names are different.
Ya, called TNB, the CS checked and call me back and told me that she was not able to find out why the application got cancelled.
Hence she help to raise a report, so need 3 working days for TNB to respond and call me.

Just minutes ago while I typing this, weird thing happened, I received the same payment email I received on 29 Aug again, while the case status remains as cancel.
Really tak tau apa sudah jadi.. haha...
TSZeneticX
post Sep 3 2025, 06:30 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

sharing this incase someone ask again. added to first post also

soonwai
post Sep 3 2025, 07:06 PM

11,450 posts

+ RM10 stamp duty
Confirm this. Just looked at 3 sets of non-ToU -> Tou interim bills with SST charged even though low kWh. Later I check and update with more details.

Non-ToU -> ToU Bills
1. 88 kWh no SST (28 days) & 9 kWh 9 got SST (3 days)
2. 1310 kWh 710 got SST (31 days) & 40 kWh 40 got SST (1 day)
3. 334 kWh 334 got SST (25 days) & 74 kWh 74 got SST (6 days)

more to come...

Earlier old tariff to new tariff, no such problems right?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 06:22 PM
LaiN87
post Sep 4 2025, 08:03 AM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 3 2025, 07:06 PM)
Confirm this. Just looked at 3 sets of non-ToU -> Tou interim bills with SST charged even though low kWh. Later I check and update with more details.

Non-ToU -> ToU Bills

more to come...

Earlier old tariff to new tariff, no such problems right?
Yeah. Old tariff / new tariff (June / July bill) is prorated SST even both sides 14 days for me. Meaning 300kWh is without SST for each bill.

So it’s matter if they want to do it or not. I guess everyone is very sensitive during old tariff to new tariff, if all charge SST sure will show price increase.

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Sep 4 2025, 08:03 AM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 05:30 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Sep 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
Yeah. Old tariff / new tariff (June / July bill) is prorated SST even both sides 14 days for me. Meaning 300kWh is without SST for each bill.

So it’s matter if they want to do it or not. I guess everyone is very sensitive during old tariff to new tariff, if all charge SST sure will show price increase.
kes #2 above, I can understand since 1310 kWh for sure kena SST. Cannot brain why total 88 kWh also kena for the 2nd interim bill of 3 days 9 kWh.

Have raised a ticket to TNB. See what they say.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 05:31 PM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 4 2025, 06:04 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 4 2025, 05:30 PM)
kes #2 above, I can understand since 1310 kWh for sure kena SST. Cannot brain why total 88 kWh also kena for the 2nd interim bill of 3 days 9 kWh.

Have raised a ticket to TNB. See what they say.
Actually dont really understand the whole pro-rated bill kena SST situation. Can help explain with example? Is there a way to avoid the SST if want to switch to ToU?
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 06:11 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 4 2025, 06:04 PM)
Actually dont really understand the whole pro-rated bill kena SST situation. Can help explain with example? Is there a way to avoid the SST if want to switch to ToU?
I also don't understand why. I only have the 3 examples of it happening and can't find any pattern to it. Could be mistake in TNB's calculation logic.

For #3 above, both bills kena SST. mad.gif

The only thing I know for sure is SST only charged for usage above 600 kWh. Stated on website and bill.

Exact words on bill are:
Cukai Perkhidmatan 8% dikenakan kepada pelanggan Domestik bagi penggunaan melebihi 600 kWh untuk tempoh bil 28 hari dan ke atas.

inb4: so little money, also make so much noise. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 06:40 PM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 06:46 PM

11,450 posts

1. What are the tax charges that is applicable for electricity services?

Under the Service Tax Act 2018, provision of electricity is prescribed as a taxable service under the Service Tax. However, not all TNB customers are subject to Service Tax. Service Tax is only applicable to residential customers (Tariff A - Domestic) subject to the following conditions:

1️⃣ Total electricity consumption which exceeds 600 kWh; and the billing period is 28 days or more; OR
2️⃣ If the billing period is less than 28 days, Service Tax will be imposed on your entire electricity consumption
Note: TNB customers residing in Pulau Tioman, Pulau Langkawi and Pulau Pangkor are not subject to Service Tax.

Applied to my examples:

ZeneticX
Conclusion: To avoid SST for those below 600 kWh, do the TOU change on(?) or after the 28th day of your billing period. This will ensure no SST for the 1st interim bill but cannot avoid SST for the 2nd interim/final bill. Can also do at the beginning 1st, 2nd or 3rd day of your billing period but gg if application is delayed.

Alternatively, can move to Pulau Tioman, Pulau Langkawi or Pulau Pangkor. sweat.gif

Update:
For Jun/July bill (old-new tariff transition), dun have less-than-28-days-SST-charge as billing for both before and after were merged into one bill so the bill was 30 days.

Update:
Old style bill actually had this info.
Cukai Perkhidmatan 8% akan dikenakan kepada pelanggan Domestik bagi:
(A) Penggunaan tenaga yang melebihi 600 kWh untuk tempoh bil 28 hari dan ke atas atau
(B) Jumlah keseluruhan penggunaan tenaga sekiranya tempoh bil adalah kurang daripada 28 hari

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 5 2025, 01:23 AM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 4 2025, 07:52 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 4 2025, 06:46 PM)
Applied to my examples:

ZeneticX
Conclusion: To avoid SST for those below 600 kWh, do the TOU change on(?) or after the 28th day. This will ensure no SST for the 1st interim bill but cannot avoid SST for the 2nd interim/final bill.

Thanks for the research and explanation. Will add this to first post also
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 08:51 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 4 2025, 07:52 PM)
Thanks for the research and explanation. Will add this to first post also
Actually credit to LaiN87. If you look back at his post, he already gave the answer. I just didn't pick up on that.

coolguy_0925
post Sep 4 2025, 10:38 PM

4,535 posts

Once upon a time before Smart Meter the meter reader came to read my meter shorter than 28 days

My bill kena SST

I complaint this is not my problem who asked the interval you come to read so inconsistent

at the back they sure said

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 4 2025, 06:11 PM)
so little money, also make so much noise. tongue.gif
grin.gif

This post has been edited by coolguy_0925: Sep 4 2025, 10:39 PM
omron
post Sep 6 2025, 12:44 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM)
so can on behalf good
soonwai
post Sep 10 2025, 11:52 AM

11,450 posts

20250910_1147:
• Updated Excel file.
• Now accounts for off-peak public holidays.
• The single cell formulas are on the Tariff sheet.
• Now includes formulas for old, non-ToU & ToU.

I will post future updates to this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5538397

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TNB_Usage_Cost_20250910.xlsx.zip ( 268.38k ) Number of downloads: 10
TSZeneticX
post Sep 10 2025, 11:46 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Are we supposed to see how many kwh we used during peak and non peak hour on the usage graph on myTNB app after switching to ToU?

Already successfully switched over on Tuesday. Check the app just now and can see there's a separation on the graph for yesterday's usage.... but the tariff rate still showing the normal domestic rate

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 10 2025, 11:50 PM
soonwai
post Sep 11 2025, 12:32 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 10 2025, 11:46 PM)
Are we supposed to see how many kwh we used during peak and non peak hour on the usage graph on myTNB app after switching to ToU?

Already successfully switched over on Tuesday. Check the app just now and can see there's a separation on the graph for yesterday's usage.... but the tariff rate still showing the normal domestic rate

Just that little break in the daily barchart to indicate the peak/off-peak.

You're right, it doesn't show the peak/off-peak rates. Didn't realise that before.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 11 2025, 12:34 AM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 11 2025, 01:03 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 11 2025, 12:32 AM)
Just that little break in the daily barchart to indicate the peak/off-peak.

You're right, it doesn't show the peak/off-peak rates. Didn't realise that before.
Hopefully they improve it soon.... no point we see the normal rate when we already on ToU

So for the bar I would assume the big portion is off peak.... small portion is peak? They didn't specify a colour to indicate what it means also... probably it's still work in progress for TNB and the next app update can see some improvements

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 11 2025, 01:07 AM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 11 2025, 10:56 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 10 2025, 11:46 PM)

The view smart meter usage on myTNB website is better (if it works correctly), hopefully we able to view the ToU usage on myTNB app soon as well

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 11 2025, 12:01 PM
TSZeneticX
post Sep 14 2025, 08:33 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

I wonder whether tomorrow 15th public holiday is counted for whole day off peak or normal peak/off-peak rate?
soonwai
post Sep 15 2025, 02:24 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 14 2025, 08:33 PM)
I wonder whether tomorrow 15th public holiday is counted for whole day off peak or normal peak/off-peak rate?
I think no, only 16/9 off-peak.
amirsubhi
post Sep 15 2025, 12:32 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

If I Opt in for ToU, Can I Opt Out back?
TSZeneticX
post Sep 15 2025, 12:51 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Sep 15 2025, 12:32 PM)
If I Opt in for ToU, Can I Opt Out back?
can, but need pay stamp duty again and your next prorated bill will be charged SST again

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 15 2025, 12:52 PM
LuckyBai
post Sep 15 2025, 12:54 PM

422 posts

not all electricity supply are managed by TNB..

I wonder why the ST not make it mandatory for all Licensee in the country to comply.

It is extremely frustrating that these Licensees say it is not mandatory for them to implement smart meter. hence, no TOU for the payor. That's ridiculous!
kezsz
post Sep 18 2025, 07:24 AM

168 posts

Got my 1st month bill under TOU. I can say it's more savings for me.. allot of my usage is off peak so I guess it made sense for me to switch. Calculated my EV charge for the month is also around 175kwh.

Did a comparison between my non TOU bill for the same kwh usage and with TOU it's still cheaper.

TSZeneticX
post Sep 18 2025, 11:46 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(kezsz @ Sep 18 2025, 07:24 AM)

Got my 1st month bill under TOU. I can say it's more savings for me.. allot of my usage is off peak so I guess it made sense for me to switch. Calculated my EV charge for the month is also around 175kwh.

Did a comparison between my non TOU bill for the same kwh usage and with TOU it's still cheaper.
How much savings approx if comparing your bill under normal tariff vs ToU?
kezsz
post Sep 18 2025, 03:55 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 18 2025, 11:46 AM)
How much savings approx if comparing your bill under normal tariff vs ToU?
Close to RM 10.00 savings... RM 9.85
TSZeneticX
post Sep 18 2025, 05:28 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(kezsz @ Sep 18 2025, 03:55 PM)
Close to RM 10.00 savings... RM 9.85
Not much but savings are savings
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 20 2025, 06:52 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Even without TOU my 3 phase bill hikes up a lot, got plenty of hidden charges. Eg usage only RM 15 but add all the hidden charges become RM 50++. @#$&-+ this Madani & TNB
yeapsc73
post Sep 20 2025, 09:21 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 06:52 AM)
Even without TOU my 3 phase bill hikes up a lot, got plenty of hidden charges. Eg usage only RM 15 but add all the hidden charges become RM 50++. @#$&-+  this Madani & TNB
You sure not because hot weather you on aircond more?

Show your bills then only talk
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Sep 20 2025, 09:29 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Sep 20 2025, 09:21 AM)
You sure not because hot weather you on aircond more?

Show your bills then only talk
TNB app under maintenance later I screen shot for you

max_cavalera
post Sep 20 2025, 10:12 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

One of my rented out props, 3 of the room tenant using aircond mostly to sleep at night.

Tnb bill really high 800-1000kwh monthly. It would be best to use this scheme

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Sep 20 2025, 10:12 AM
max_cavalera
post Sep 20 2025, 02:12 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 07:52 AM)
Even without TOU my 3 phase bill hikes up a lot, got plenty of hidden charges. Eg usage only RM 15 but add all the hidden charges become RM 50++. @#$&-+  this Madani & TNB
Same here. Used to be billed rm400 max. Then suddenly last month get a suprised rm470+ from almost similar 1000kwh usage… sad.gif before i change to TOU for this month…
soonwai
post Sep 20 2025, 02:32 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Sep 20 2025, 06:52 AM)
Are you using solar?
soonwai
post Sep 21 2025, 01:11 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Sep 20 2025, 02:12 PM)
Same here. Used to be billed rm400 max. Then suddenly last month get a suprised rm470+ from almost similar 1000kwh usage… sad.gif before i change to TOU for this month…
Interesting. The only time I've seen unexpected* increases are for non-tou->tou transition bills where both bills were charge 8% SST for kWh used due to a TNB rule which states that bills which have a billing period of less than 28 days are charged SST irregardless of kWh.

*unexpected because we weren't aware of this rule, not because it's a hidden rule. It's stated on TNB's website and is printed on the old format bills but not printed on the new format bills.
pillage2001
post Sep 23 2025, 10:17 PM

1,990 posts

Anybody has issues like me trying to view the hourly usage of my home? The website is either slow, can't connet or keep bouncing back to the main page. It's been like this for a while now. If I am lucky, i would be able to view it.
soonwai
post Sep 23 2025, 10:54 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Sep 23 2025, 10:17 PM)
Anybody has issues like me trying to view the hourly usage of my home? The website is either slow, can't connet or keep bouncing back to the main page. It's been like this for a while now. If I am lucky, i would be able to view it.
It's always been like that. I started using the dashboard mid of August for the usage.csv files. Always, reload, reload, pusing, too many redirects, etc...

There was a good day where I downloaded usage files for 100+ days. Other days, it's 10-15 mins of trying then giving up and coming back later for another 10-15 mins before I can download the usage for yesterday.

Last few days not accessible since TNB has been doing maintenance. Hopefully they'll improve it. That is, if they get it back up. Whatever maintenance they did has totally screwed up the dashboard.

Anyway according to the notices on myTNB web, the maintenance is scheduled to end on:
1. 21 Sep 4PM
2. 22 Sep 11:30PM
3. 24 Sep 11:30PM
4. no more date given... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 23 2025, 10:54 PM
pillage2001
post Sep 24 2025, 01:14 AM

1,990 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 23 2025, 10:54 PM)
It's always been like that. I started using the dashboard mid of August for the usage.csv files. Always, reload, reload, pusing, too many redirects, etc...

There was a good day where I downloaded usage files for 100+ days. Other days, it's 10-15 mins of trying then giving up and coming back later for another 10-15 mins before I can download the usage for yesterday.

Last few days not accessible since TNB has been doing maintenance. Hopefully they'll improve it. That is, if they get it back up. Whatever maintenance they did has totally screwed up the dashboard.

Anyway according to the notices on myTNB web, the maintenance is scheduled to end on:
1. 21 Sep 4PM
2. 22 Sep 11:30PM
3. 24 Sep 11:30PM
4. no more date given... sweat.gif
It's really sad that they can't keep it functional. It is a very good dashboard.

TSZeneticX
post Oct 1 2025, 10:19 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Good news - myTNB app latest update finally shows peak and off peak usage for those who converted to ToU

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Oct 1 2025, 10:24 AM
soonwai
post Oct 11 2025, 05:36 PM

11,450 posts

Finally managed to download all my usage data from TNB energy dashboard. 803 days. Oldest I have is 30/7/2023 but incomplete so 31/7/2023.

What is the oldest data available for yours?

Smart meter was installed Nov 2020.

May as well graph all that data.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 12 2025, 12:35 AM
NightFelix
post Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

ToU button missing pulak. Is it only applicable for Smart Meter?
unknown_2
post Oct 29 2025, 03:16 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM)
yes.
cuz only new smart meter can track the time of use & send live data directly bck to TNB server.
soonwai
post Oct 30 2025, 01:59 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 29 2025, 01:04 PM)
Smart meter AND owner verified login then only the button will appear.
TSZeneticX
post Oct 30 2025, 08:20 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

first dilemma for ToU users.... whether to switch on aircond at night before 10pm sweat.gif
mikhaC
post Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 11 2025, 05:36 PM)
Finally managed to download all my usage data from TNB energy dashboard. 803 days. Oldest I have is 30/7/2023 but incomplete so 31/7/2023.

What is the oldest data available for yours?

Smart meter was installed Nov 2020.

May as well graph all that data.
Wanna ask is there possible a miscalculation by tnb?

Aug - Peak is 74.054
Off Peak is 266.201
Total 340.255
RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
Off Peak is 270.037
Total 349.095
RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
Off Peak is 275.478
Total 358.596
RM 93.45

is it possible the charges increased so much for October even though the kwh not increased a lot? Tq
TSZeneticX
post Nov 18 2025, 06:35 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM)

Aug - Peak is 74.054
         Off Peak is 266.201
         Total 340.255
         RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
         Off Peak is 270.037
         Total 349.095
         RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
         Off Peak is 275.478
         Total 358.596
         RM 93.45

is it possible the charges increased so much for October even though the kwh not increased a lot? Tq
what does the calculation and charges breakdown show on your bill?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 18 2025, 06:36 PM
soonwai
post Nov 19 2025, 04:43 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 18 2025, 04:51 PM)

Aug - Peak is 74.054
         Off Peak is 266.201
         Total 340.255
         RM 75.10

Sep - Peak is 79.058
         Off Peak is 270.037
         Total 349.095
         RM 76.70

Oct - Peak is 83.118
         Off Peak is 275.478
         Total 358.596
         RM 93.45

Possible because once you go even 1 kWh above 350 kWh, your ICT discount decrease by 4 sen per kWh. 358 x 0.04 is already RM14.32. If you look at the ICT table, you'll see there's a big decrease in the discount after 350 kWh.

For example, at 20% peak,
350 kWh is RM76.98
351 kWh is RM91.46

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 19 2025, 04:59 AM
mikhaC
post Nov 19 2025, 09:53 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 19 2025, 04:43 AM)
Possible because once you go even 1 kWh above 350 kWh, your ICT discount decrease by 4 sen per kWh. 358 x 0.04 is already RM14.32. If you look at the ICT table, you'll see there's a big decrease in the discount after 350 kWh.

For example, at 20% peak,
350 kWh is RM76.98
351 kWh is RM91.46
Ic.. Below is the bill, is it confirm your explanation?

contestchris
post Nov 19 2025, 02:34 PM

5,508 posts

"Service Tax of 8% is applicable in the bill when billing days is less than 28 days for any change of tariff. This includes switching to ToU as new tariff will be effective immediately upon completion of required processes."

Can somebody explain this please based on your actual experience. Assume my billing date is 10th of every month, and I changed today.

Thanks!
contestchris
post Nov 19 2025, 02:39 PM

5,508 posts

QUOTE(mikhaC @ Nov 19 2025, 09:53 AM)
Ic.. Below is the bill, is it confirm your explanation?

TNB calculation is correct. There is a step-down of the rebate at 350kWh. Your best bet is to target usage under that.
kkkw80
post Nov 19 2025, 03:10 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,014 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 30 2025, 08:20 PM)
first dilemma for ToU users.... whether to switch on aircond at night before 10pm  sweat.gif
if need to use, use sparingly during peak hours maybe 1 aircond but on more during off peak
soonwai
post Nov 19 2025, 05:20 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Nov 19 2025, 02:34 PM)
"Service Tax of 8% is applicable in the bill when billing days is less than 28 days for any change of tariff. This includes switching to ToU as new tariff will be effective immediately upon completion of required processes."

Can somebody explain this please based on your actual experience. Assume my billing date is 10th of every month, and I changed today.

Thanks!
So your bill date is 10th therefore your billing period is 10th to 9th.

If your change happens today which is 19th, you'll get 2 bills. 10th-19th (10 days) and 20th-9th (20 days). Since both bills are less than 28 days, both will kena SST ie: rugi.

You'll need to time it so that the change occurs 2/3 days (depending on 30 or 31 days in that month) before the bill date. And hope the change is smooth and not delayed.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 19 2025, 05:21 PM
omron
post Nov 23 2025, 03:36 PM

204 posts

Very confius this calculation takbolebale , i want to know , if i only turn on aircond after 10PM , is it good for me or not ?

This post has been edited by omron: Nov 23 2025, 03:37 PM
TSZeneticX
post Nov 23 2025, 04:24 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(omron @ Nov 23 2025, 03:36 PM)
Very confius this calculation takbolebale , i want to know , if i only turn on aircond after 10PM , is it good for me or not ?
Weekdays after 10pm for off peak rate. Off peak rate starts from 10pm - 2pm next day. 2pm - 10pm is peak rate

Weekends and public holiday (refer tnb website or first post for included holidays) whole day off peak rate

Off peak rate = cheaper tariff = cheaper bills (if you utilise your high power appliances eg: aircond during this period only)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Nov 23 2025, 04:26 PM

0.0691sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:11 PM