4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

QuantumEdge
post Jul 18 2025, 04:01 PM

1,583 posts

My 6 months free bill is over, I dont think TM would entertain me if I tell them Astro is offering me something cheaper?
Paying the full RM149 for 500Mbps at the moment
QuantumEdge
post Jul 28 2025, 10:59 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Jul 28 2025, 09:56 AM)
I got a spare wifi6 router that i want to configure to replace my original tm wifi router. How can i get the PPoE username and password to configure myself? Is there a way to get it without having to call to unifi?
Login to TM's router and see if you can get the credentials or not
Combo box wise, skyworth is the easiest (either untick a box or use the inspect element method)
Same goes to fibrehome
QuantumEdge
post Aug 2 2025, 08:11 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Braxton @ Aug 2 2025, 08:06 AM)
Hi want to ask can we using own router with TM new registration combo box?
Example like TIME 2in1 router can set to bridge mode and configure own router pppoe ourself later.
Just ask the technician abang politely, maybe with a bottle of cola ready as well
Ask him for the admin access and pppoe credentials
Often times they will help
QuantumEdge
post Aug 3 2025, 07:38 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Aug 3 2025, 01:01 PM)
So just found out that my parent's house is still using the old Huawei HG850a modem and it's limitting them to 100mbps even though they have been on the 300mbps plan for a year or so.

I have a spare TIME optical modem ( HG8145X6 )  at home that I am not using. Am wondering if there are any settings I would need to configure?

Else can I just buy one off lazada?
You can give it a try, but you will to figure out how to get the PLOAM pwd and serial from the old box
Just remember to change the serial number for the HG8145X6 to the old box as well (If I remember correctly you can do this on huawei ONU)

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Aug 3 2025, 08:14 PM
QuantumEdge
post Aug 4 2025, 05:57 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Aug 4 2025, 04:23 PM)
Finally got my 500Mbps-RM90, Unifi technician come and setup this Skyworth Combo Box AX3000 today, I only realized now no longer use ONU. I tried setup back my own old router + old ONU, still able to online as usual, still able to get 500Mbps.

Question:
1) Do ONU already obsolete and no long use?
2) What's the max speed ethernet port that ONU support? 1Gpbs?
3) If I plan to buy own better router or mesh, I still need ONU running alone, right?
4) What if my ONU broken, still can claim from Unifi? Because today they just setup with Skyworth Combo Box AX3000.
5) Is Skyworth Combo Box AX3000 good router ? Performance ? Able to handle > 20 devices?  hmm.gif
1. Nope, ISP switched to combo unit because it is cheaper and they can centralise control (eg more difficult for customer to upgrade their devices), just look at TIME where you need to request CS to change your 2 in 1 into bridge mode and they refused to give out any admin credentials.

2. For anything below 1Gbps plan, 1Gbps max. Unless you subscribed to anything faster then you will get 2.5G 2 in 1/ONU

3. You can switch that combo box into bridge mode, no need to get an ONU

4. They will only support the newest device installed

5. Uhhhh for me I faced ping spikes and bad signal coverage, ended up switching back to my old ONU+router setup

Steps to switch skyworth box into bridge mode is here, credits to Blacktubi

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Aug 4 2025, 06:01 PM
QuantumEdge
post Aug 4 2025, 06:35 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Aug 4 2025, 06:21 PM)
current status ..

Package - UniFi 300Mbps
Device - Skyworth GN630V Combo Box
Connected Devices - Laptop, Smartphones x 2, Astro Ultibox, Android TV and Outdoor CCTV x 1 unit .. all connected at 5GHz

Tested speed via WiFi using laptop which is about 10 metres from the router .. all above stated devices is now connected when speedtest;

You are testing the speed of the router to the test server
Not your wireless device's speed to test server
QuantumEdge
post Aug 4 2025, 08:59 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(MarcoFromTropoja @ Aug 4 2025, 05:46 PM)
Guys

Does anyone use ViewQwest ISP & How Was It Compare To Unifi ?

Just got a call from their representative offering RM159 for 1gbps and 6month free, 3 years contract

They just covered my area In Taman Ehsan, Kepong
You can take a look at their FB and Google review, pretty much all negative comments

QuantumEdge
post Aug 8 2025, 12:19 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 8 2025, 12:20 AM)
For people with slow internet problem, are you using Cloudflare DNS?
Try switching to Google DNS and see if it helps.

Also while you are having problem, try to speedtest with Kuala Lumpur - MyIX server and see if you are having problem.

Share your result here so we all can compare.

Edit:
Also do your speedtest here:
https://speed.cloudflare.com/

Note the location of server being used.
Preferably all test be done using wired connection.
Controld DNS here, having slow downs as well
Tried Cloudflare speed test, it was bad...

QuantumEdge
post Aug 8 2025, 01:18 PM

1,583 posts

QuantumEdge
post Aug 8 2025, 05:38 PM

1,583 posts

Sorry, I'm not that tech savvy. May I know what you meant screenshot of MyIX?
Been comparing my DNS host to someone that is using controld as well
Turns out his traffic gets routed to xsp-h03 while mine get tossed to xssp-h05 consistently
Singapore host vs Tokyo host
At the moment cloudflare is normal for me, no high latency or packet loss
Going to test with cloudflare DNS in a moment, these are with controld

fl=56f175
h=speed.cloudflare.com
ip=2001:e68:5453:4bf1:7d7e:812d:19bf:86f7
ts=1754645744.24
visit_scheme=https
uag=Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/138.0.0.0 Safari/537.36
colo=KUL
sliver=none
http=http/1.1
loc=MY
tls=TLSv1.3
sni=plaintext
warp=off
gateway=off
rbi=off
kex=X25519MLKEM768

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 2001:e68:5453:4bf1::1
2 5 ms 3 ms 3 ms 2001:e68:402c:8001::b3
3 12 ms 12 ms 10 ms 2001:e68::b:4010
4 44 ms 44 ms 42 ms 2400:8800:1f01:19::1
5 108 ms * * 2400:8800:1f11:59::1
6 98 ms 100 ms 100 ms 2400:8800:1f11:59::2
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 100 ms 100 ms 99 ms 2403:2500:400::3
9 97 ms 99 ms 98 ms controld-edge1-tyo.anycast.net [2403:2500:400:20::ce5]
10 100 ms 98 ms 100 ms freedns.controld.com [2606:1a40::22]

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Aug 8 2025, 05:38 PM
QuantumEdge
post Aug 8 2025, 06:12 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 8 2025, 05:52 PM)
What I mean is speedtest to MyIX, like this:

Looks like you are connected to KUL speed.cloudflare.com which is the same as mine but have no problem?
In your previous cloudflare speedtest screenshot which server you were connected to? It did have high latency and packet loss
Here you go
That I'm not sure, restarted router a few times and it fixed by getting a different IP
QuantumEdge
post Aug 9 2025, 05:10 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Aug 7 2025, 02:13 PM)
Actually, I'm helping a fren to ask  sweat.gif
Well, I already got SWU 5.0 last week as my contract ended 1 year+
Any luck?
QuantumEdge
post Aug 10 2025, 11:53 AM

1,583 posts

Fixed the high ping to DNS by disabling IPV6, YouTube loads faster as well.
Can't believe Unifi still couldn't get their IPV6 and international routing right, gonna switch ISP again once contract ended...RM90 500Mbps be damned
QuantumEdge
post Aug 13 2025, 11:53 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Aug 13 2025, 11:38 AM)
Reboot my ONU and router for a fresh today, the WAN IP show up 60.x.x.x, never notice Unifi WAN IP, is this normal?
Try to ping google and found out there are some missing pieces (broken) and I assume Unifi line not stable or because of IP.

Wondering what is normally Unifi IP, I'm using the SWU 5.0 package.

Also quick check for the setting for MTU/MRU, PPP Echo Interval/ Echo Max Failures ... am I set correctly? (screenshot as show below)

WAN IP normal lah
I just default everything

This post has been edited by QuantumEdge: Aug 13 2025, 11:54 AM
QuantumEdge
post Aug 13 2025, 05:13 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Aug 13 2025, 04:44 PM)
freedns.controld.com IPv6 ping from Maxis

CODE

PING 2606:1a40::11 (2606:1a40::11) with 64 bytes of data:
64 bytes from 2606:1a40::11 ttl=56 time=13ms
64 bytes from 2606:1a40::11 ttl=56 time=12ms

Control D Troubleshooting - Wed, 13 Aug 2025 09:06:24 UTC
---------------------------------------------------------
IPv4 Address | xxxxxxxxxxxxx
IPv4 ISP | 4788 (TM Net, MY)
IPv6 Address | N/A
IPv6 ISP | N/A
Using Control D | XSP
Resolver | xxxxxxxxx
DNS Protocol | DNS-over-TLS
DNS Latency | 9.07ms
DNS Host | xsp-h04
DNS Source IP | xxxxxxxxx
Proxy Authorized | No
Null Routed | No
Proxy Latency | 7.76ms
Proxy Host | xsp-h02
Proxy Source IP | xxxxxxxx

Switched to IPV4, perfectly fine now
Still, once contract finished I'm going to switch back to Maxis
At least I dont need to deal with weird routing issues
QuantumEdge
post Aug 19 2025, 09:54 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Aug 19 2025, 08:56 AM)
Not planning to get Unifi SWU plan? Usually people stay on for special SWU plan like the Rm90 500mbps.
I prefer better routing than cheaper price
RM90 500Mbps means nothing to me if the websites I’m using wouldn’t load in the night
QuantumEdge
post Aug 26 2025, 03:49 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Aug 26 2025, 03:42 PM)
Anyone can recommend me which router do support DoH NextDNS?
Asus supports DoT (Wifi 6 and 7)
Certain models of Tplink supports both DoT and DoH
Archer C59( V4 V4.6 V4.80 ) , Archer BE5000 , Archer AX55( V1 ) , Archer A64( V1 ) , Archer C64( V1 ) , Archer C86( V1 ) , Archer BE550( V1 V1.60 ) , Archer GE650( V1.60 ) , Archer C80( V1 V2.20 ) , TL-WR1502X( V1 ) , Archer BE800( V1 V1.60 ) , Archer A6( V4 ) , Archer C6( V4 ) , Archer A8( V1 V2.20 )

QuantumEdge
post Aug 26 2025, 06:34 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Aug 26 2025, 04:17 PM)
Thanks for your info.

Do Asus merlin or openwrt support DoH nextdns? Compared tplink stock firmware or open-source router firmware which one reliable?
I'm only a merlin user so I cant give you a proper feedback
Merlin wise, more frequent updates with more features
QuantumEdge
post Aug 26 2025, 07:41 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Aug 26 2025, 07:08 PM)
Unifi cannot use again? Some website and game server cannot connect, ios cannot update etc.

Life of an Unifi user, get used to it mega_shok.gif
QuantumEdge
post Aug 26 2025, 08:17 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Aug 26 2025, 08:16 PM)
Planning to switch to time soon, contract end this year  hmm.gif
I switched from Maxis to Unifi because of the 6 months bill rebate
The biggest mistake of my life so far rclxub.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:08 PM