24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Today I finally became a US citizen! 🇺🇸

BL98
post Mar 20 2025, 11:41 AM

743 posts

wait.... this means he has to denounce his Malaysian citizenship? might as well just keep quiet and keep both passport.
gashout
post Mar 20 2025, 11:41 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Mar 20 2025, 10:51 AM)
I needed to participate in this thread.

Firstly, congrats and continue your hustle. Really a nice comeback and also a great reminder how fast time passed.

Its been 10 years since and many of us in /k are already reaching late 30s or 40s liao.
10 years is a long time.

hopefully he behaves now?

ts, any regrets? if you could replay your past, will you do it again?
hoonanoo
post Mar 20 2025, 11:42 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 20 2025, 11:40 AM)
his road is definitely not easy.

10 years starting from scratch, im happy for him.

we must eventually own up the shit we make.
true, definitely not easy.

but to those that worship his success.

it was not necessary at all. He has potential, actually. He could have graduated and went to USA as he is smart.

All this was so unnecessary.

WhatMan

1,623 posts

Oh well

This post has been edited by WhatMan: Mar 20 2025, 11:43 AM
LegendLee

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

Great that it all turns out well.

That moment where you were granted asylum must have been the most important moment of your life.

emburrar
post Mar 20 2025, 11:43 AM

14 posts

Maga
BL98
post Mar 20 2025, 11:43 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 20 2025, 10:33 AM)
goodluck paying tax until no tomorrow. migrated to other countries also need to pay US tax.
many ways to game the tax system if you know how
cms
post Mar 20 2025, 11:44 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 20 2025, 10:33 AM)
goodluck paying tax until no tomorrow. migrated to other countries also need to pay US tax.
Banyak kah their tax ?
fantasy1989
post Mar 20 2025, 11:45 AM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Mar 20 2025, 11:44 AM)
Banyak kah their tax ?
depend on which state you stay but generally quite jialat

JasonthegreatTWO
post Mar 20 2025, 11:47 AM

323 posts

Paris Bakueteh everywhere now.
y500
post Mar 20 2025, 11:48 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Mar 20 2025, 11:38 AM)
I am just saying this because many people here hail him as a successful hero.

But can you imagine the sacrifices he made? He can't see his parents or his siblings. He would have to fly to Spore to see them, or they fly to USA, or they meet mid way in Japan.

Are all that necessary? what he did? He was an ASEAN scholar. I do not doubt he is smart. As an undergraduate from NUS, by the way, not easy to get in, mind you, leave alone on scholarship.

Screwed up over a video and then later BKT.

Was all that necessary?

He could have just played naughty a little, go have sex but no need to tape and publicise lah. Then graduate, then worked his way up in Spore, probably can get green card in USA. And still be able to fly back and visit his family.

All this for what? why glorify ? But at least he has his saving grace that everything worked well for him.

True everyone thought it is almost impossible to get green card. But if you follow the politics closely, there is a battle between leftist and conservative in USA. Leftist are trying to make it easy for refugees to come, because they want to create more democrat supporters. The playing field in the election is almost even. maybe 60m voters on democrats, 60m on republicans and another 30m fence sitters. So the democrats are trying to create more democrat voters.

I watched youtube, before Trump took over, refugees just stop by the mexican border, download app, and apply, then can masuk. Once masuk, they've got all those NGO provide free food, lodging....of course not easy life lah, its still hard. But better than now, Trump now shut down totally.
cms
post Mar 20 2025, 11:48 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Mar 20 2025, 11:45 AM)
depend on which state you stay but generally quite jialat
Like how jialat ? 50% kinda jialat or 70% kind of jialat ?

Also need to consider its in USD. So not quite comparable to MYR bracket kan ?
brkli
post Mar 20 2025, 11:54 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Mar 20 2025, 11:38 AM)
I am just saying this because many people here hail him as a successful hero.

But can you imagine the sacrifices he made? He can't see his parents or his siblings. He would have to fly to Spore to see them, or they fly to USA, or they meet mid way in Japan.

Are all that necessary? what he did? He was an ASEAN scholar. I do not doubt he is smart. As an undergraduate from NUS, by the way, not easy to get in, mind you, leave alone on scholarship.

Screwed up over a video and then later BKT.

Was all that necessary?

He could have just played naughty a little, go have sex but no need to tape and publicise lah. Then graduate, then worked his way up in Spore, probably can get green card in USA. And still be able to fly back and visit his family.

All this for what? why glorify ? But at least he has his saving grace that everything worked well for him.

True everyone thought it is almost impossible to get green card. But if you follow the politics closely, there is a battle between leftist and conservative in USA. Leftist are trying to make it easy for refugees to come, because they want to create more democrat supporters. The playing field in the election is almost even. maybe 60m voters on democrats, 60m on republicans and another 30m fence sitters. So the democrats are trying to create more democrat voters.

I watched youtube, before Trump took over, refugees just stop by the mexican border, download app, and apply, then can masuk. Once masuk, they've got all those NGO provide free food, lodging....of course not easy life lah, its still hard. But better than now, Trump now shut down totally.
zakir naik is more successful than him in seeking asylum in another country..
leeaunc
post Mar 20 2025, 12:00 PM

66 posts

First congrats bro to your new US citizenship

I might not get TS reply but I really wants to know how you foreseen Malaysia in this coming 5 years and 10 years time?
chuan88
post Mar 20 2025, 12:01 PM

40 posts

If let you all to choose,

Will you stay at M'sia or immigrate to USA?

I might choose staying at M'sia.
james.6831
post Mar 20 2025, 12:03 PM

937 posts

Congrats ts with the balls of steel…
diffyhelman2
post Mar 20 2025, 12:07 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Mar 20 2025, 11:25 AM)
i'm more interested to know how did you jump aeroplane? especially slip out to S'pore... takkan you swim over there geh? if you say thailand border could be easier
he had permission to travel to Sg to film a documentary, thats why courts gave him his passport back while out on bail.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/2015/09/court-i...ainst-alvin-tan

KUALA LUMPUR: An arrest warrant has been issued by a Sessions Court here today on controversial sex blogger Alvin Tan, who has since been missing after leaving to Singapore on May 18 to shoot a film documentary.

Judge Abdul Rashid Daud was informed by Tan's lawyer, Chong Joo Tian that his client could not be contacted and has yet to return his passport to the court.

Tan's partner Vivian Lee‎, however, was present in court and had handed over her passport to the court on June 3.

The duo had made an application to the court last month requesting for their passports to be released, as they were offered an opportunity to film a documentary in Singapore.

man ten years ago Alvin so ah beng look....

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Mar 20 2025, 12:10 PM
Bill888
post Mar 20 2025, 12:09 PM

America is becoming like shithole, it's stupid wanting to be American unless you comes from an even more shithole country like yindia. 😅
ieatchickens
post Mar 20 2025, 12:09 PM

111 posts

live in a stand your ground, castle doctrine state make no enemies burn no bridges and live well knowing every single one of us are in envy. And come visit soon mfr !
TSboeing777
post Mar 20 2025, 12:13 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 20 2025, 11:42 AM)
Great that it all turns out well.

That moment where you were granted asylum must have been the most important moment of your life.
Correct, everything was dependent on the asylum grant.

PR and citizenship you'll get in due course so long as you behave yourself, but you must get asylum to begin with to solidify your legal status in the US.

This is why that hearing with the judge was so important.

Either I was going to become a citizen eventually, or I was going to get deported back to Malaysia with added charges and lengthier sentence.

There's no in-between.

24 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:15 PM