Today I finally became a US citizen! 🇺🇸

diffyhelman2
post Mar 20 2025, 12:07 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Mar 20 2025, 11:25 AM)
i'm more interested to know how did you jump aeroplane? especially slip out to S'pore... takkan you swim over there geh? if you say thailand border could be easier
he had permission to travel to Sg to film a documentary, thats why courts gave him his passport back while out on bail.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/2015/09/court-i...ainst-alvin-tan

KUALA LUMPUR: An arrest warrant has been issued by a Sessions Court here today on controversial sex blogger Alvin Tan, who has since been missing after leaving to Singapore on May 18 to shoot a film documentary.

Judge Abdul Rashid Daud was informed by Tan's lawyer, Chong Joo Tian that his client could not be contacted and has yet to return his passport to the court.

Tan's partner Vivian Lee‎, however, was present in court and had handed over her passport to the court on June 3.

The duo had made an application to the court last month requesting for their passports to be released, as they were offered an opportunity to film a documentary in Singapore.

man ten years ago Alvin so ah beng look....

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Mar 20 2025, 12:10 PM
diffyhelman2
post Mar 20 2025, 12:28 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(boeing777 @ Mar 20 2025, 12:13 PM)
Correct, everything was dependent on the asylum grant.

PR and citizenship you'll get in due course so long as you behave yourself, but you must get asylum to begin with to solidify your legal status in the US.

This is why that hearing with the judge was so important.

Either I was going to become a citizen eventually, or I was going to get deported back to Malaysia with added charges and lengthier sentence.

There's no in-between.
When Biden initially denied your citizenship application, what was their intention? let you remain as PR or revoke your asylum?

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Mar 20 2025, 11:42 AM)
Great that it all turns out well.

That moment where you were granted asylum must have been the most important moment of your life.
I cannot imagine how the feeling must be when he was waiting for the judge to announce his decision....I probably heart attack...although I guess he can already have an idea whether the judge sympathetic or not during the hearing

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Mar 20 2025, 12:32 PM
diffyhelman2
post Mar 21 2025, 11:22 AM

863 posts

TS, not sure if this has been asked, but do you intend to walk into malaysia consulate and formally renounce your citizenship?

0.0137sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:01 PM