3,486 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Feb 14 2025, 03:50 PM
rx330
post Feb 14 2025, 03:51 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 03:45 PM)
rx330 refer to item 3. is this a document for corporate account?

ok thanks
last time I check with my banker, told me cannot
cos there is not specific acc number for the foreign currency

let me check again, thanks for the info
Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 04:03 PM

3,486 posts

rx330 ok you might be right. /media/Assets/Corporate-Website/Document/Multi-Currency-Docs/multi-currency-account-faq.pdf

RHB bank might be that lousy. i'm trying to find TnC under personal. common sense might be uncommon in malaysia

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Feb 14 2025, 04:03 PM
rx330
post Feb 14 2025, 04:05 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 04:03 PM)
rx330 ok you might be right. /media/Assets/Corporate-Website/Document/Multi-Currency-Docs/multi-currency-account-faq.pdf

RHB bank might be that lousy. i'm trying to find TnC under personal. common sense might be uncommon in malaysia
hahahahah true true

cimb can receive, just tat their multi currency card not so soon, maybe this year or next I think
jaapers
post Feb 14 2025, 04:55 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM)
https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...card/index.html if you already paid for the RM20 annual debit card, can look at Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate*

btw, use sunway money for IBKR (via sg banks). cheaper
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?targe...SGD&track=false

user posted image user posted imageuser posted image
Why you say use sunway money but link to wise?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 04:57 PM

345 posts

Sunway money I have account but last I tried the exchange rate not as good as wise
Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 05:01 PM

3,486 posts

Paradigmata their rates got way way better 4-5 months ago. my screenshot is live comparsion as of 12pm today
QUOTE(jaapers @ Feb 14 2025, 04:55 PM)
Why you say use sunway money but link to wise?
want to format it this way but malas

wise usdwise sgdsunway money

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Feb 14 2025, 05:05 PM
jaapers
post Feb 14 2025, 05:06 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 05:01 PM)
Paradigmata their rates got way way better 4-5 months ago. my screenshot is live comparsion as of 12pm today want to format it this way but malas

|| |user posted image|
So basically means just use wise to convert right? What's the purpose of sunway money here?
Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 05:09 PM

3,486 posts

jaapers don't know how good your comprehension skills are, or just trolling

if i send SGD8000 via wise, i have to pay RM26,573.61. if i send SGD8000 via sunway money, i have to pay RM26,489.52

which is more value for money?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 05:46 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 05:01 PM)
Paradigmata their rates got way way better 4-5 months ago. my screenshot is live comparsion as of 12pm today want to format it this way but malas

|| |user posted image|
I check with ringgit to usd isn't that much different

Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 05:48 PM

3,486 posts

can send SGD to IBKR, convert to USD, and buy BIL etf, 4.55%p.a.
QUOTE(TOS2 @ Feb 10 2025, 04:08 PM)
I am looking at a 4.55% p.a. IRR with this latest 30% WHT refund, pretty close to the average short-term USD rate for 2024.

DoomCognition
post Feb 14 2025, 10:26 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM)
Can I use the account to receive in USD?

My salary is received via usd then auto convert to ringgit now with maybank savings account.

If I use HSBC, would it retend as USD?
If you have salary in USD, no point to convert to RM. Keep it in USD in a Multi Currency Account.

Secondly, to park money overseas, better to find out how to open an account in SG, VN or KH. Then you can keep your money out of view of the grubby hands of our government. No point keeping USD / SGD in Malaysia as you cannot withdraw it without converting to MYR and the rate sucks when compared to other countries. One time effort for wealth preservation.
DoomCognition
post Feb 14 2025, 10:32 PM

737 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5489885&hl=

From my previous thread. May be of interest to you TS.
cuddlybubblyteddy
post Feb 15 2025, 07:24 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 01:20 PM)
How to fund my sg account?

Previously I funded my ibkr account using sgd

I buy with my closed friend who are working in Singapore, after awhile, they also don't layan already.

Is there anyway to buy sgd with ringgit online?
Convert to crypto?

Or HSBC premier account
hoonanoo
post Feb 15 2025, 10:02 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 09:59 AM)
So I got like 500k ringgit in liquid form..

Looking at msia economy and devalue in terms of usd.

I figure it's better to park in usd or sgd

Easiest way is to buy sgd and bank in my sg cimb account

But I live in penang, quite difficult,

Another way is I wise transfer to my ibkr but transaction is 0.2%, later change back  ringgit again 0.2%?

Is there any other way?
ringgit so weak, when you park all your money in SGD

don't you think you will rugi ?

or your plan is not to rugi further, right?

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Feb 15 2025, 10:03 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2025, 12:07 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 15 2025, 10:02 PM)
ringgit so weak, when you park all your money in SGD

don't you think you will rugi ?

or your plan is not to rugi further, right?
Is weak. But it will become weaker in the future. Matter of time before SGD1=RM4
genesic
post Feb 16 2025, 05:52 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 06:09 PM)
jaapers don't know how good your comprehension skills are, or just trolling

if i send SGD8000 via wise, i have to pay RM26,573.61. if i send SGD8000 via sunway money, i have to pay RM26,489.52

which is more value for money?
yes wo. this also got me puzzled. All this while i compared Wise and Sunway Money, Sunway Money still cheaper for me.
i pay less to get the same amount of SGD across. Aint this the goal ?
hirano
post Feb 17 2025, 12:21 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,333 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM)

maybank got or not?
darosha
post Feb 17 2025, 10:39 AM

469 posts

why not park on gold or yuan
Medufsaid
post Apr 17 2025, 10:36 AM

3,486 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 14 2025, 03:51 PM)