Should I park my duit in usd or sgd?

TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 09:59 AM, updated 10 months ago

345 posts

So I got like 500k ringgit in liquid form..

Looking at msia economy and devalue in terms of usd.

I figure it's better to park in usd or sgd

Easiest way is to buy sgd and bank in my sg cimb account

But I live in penang, quite difficult,

Another way is I wise transfer to my ibkr but transaction is 0.2%, later change back ringgit again 0.2%?

Is there any other way?
stormer.lyn
post Feb 14 2025, 10:32 AM

1,132 posts

Actually, what is the reason to do this against say, just putting in EPF or local bank? I also have a little extra funds, but I also think about the conversion rates to and from the currency of choice, and then think if it is worth it. Is it because you think the other currency will have higher interest rate, or it won't devalue so much over time?
erry-
post Feb 14 2025, 10:36 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

u can open rhb multi currency account (got both conventional and islamic)

no currency conversion fee (33 currency only)

just that, debit card annual fee is 20/year

notworthy.gif
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 10:50 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 14 2025, 10:36 AM)
u can open rhb multi currency account (got both conventional and islamic)

no currency conversion fee (33 currency only)

just that, debit card annual fee is 20/year

notworthy.gif
What's the exchange rate? Only can put ringgit then covert usd, then usd convert back ringgit?
rx330
post Feb 14 2025, 11:08 AM

11,809 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 10:50 AM)
What's the exchange rate? Only can put ringgit then covert usd, then usd convert back ringgit?
with 500k u can get the premier acc, which has better rates
after conversion you can even opt to put tat currency in FD

the rate now is rm 4454.50 = usd 1000

FD for usd 3 months 4.25%, 6 months is 4%, 9 month 3.8%, 12 months 3.6%
kelvinlym
post Feb 14 2025, 11:52 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Don’t worry about the fees. Aim for convenience.

I use HSBC. With that amount, open premier account, then call relationship manager say you want preferential rates.

Try to change mindset from picking pennies to looking at big picture. Pay for the convenience and security.
erry-
post Feb 14 2025, 11:54 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 10:50 AM)
exchange rate by rhb,

as usual, bank like to use word "attractive interest rates" haha

u can convert, or u can also use that currency with the debit card.
example u buy gbp, and when in london, it will deduct ur gbp balance (provided u have enough balance of gbp), if less, it will deduct myr balance + 1% conversion fee.

Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM

3,491 posts

https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...card/index.html if you already paid for the RM20 annual debit card, can look at Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate*

btw, use sunway money for IBKR (via sg banks). cheaper
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?targe...SGD&track=false

user posted image user posted imageuser posted image
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:20 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM)
https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...card/index.html if you already paid for the RM20 annual debit card, can look at Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate*

btw, use sunway money for IBKR (via sg banks). cheaper
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?targe...SGD&track=false

user posted image user posted imageuser posted image
How to fund my sg account?

Previously I funded my ibkr account using sgd

I buy with my closed friend who are working in Singapore, after awhile, they also don't layan already.

Is there anyway to buy sgd with ringgit online?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Feb 14 2025, 11:52 AM)
Don’t worry about the fees. Aim for convenience.

I use HSBC. With that amount, open premier account, then call relationship manager say you want preferential rates.

Try to change mindset from picking pennies to looking at big picture. Pay for the convenience and security.
Can I use the account to receive in USD?

My salary is received via usd then auto convert to ringgit now with maybank savings account.

If I use HSBC, would it retend as USD?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 14 2025, 11:54 AM)
exchange rate by rhb,

as usual, bank like to use word "attractive interest rates" haha

u can convert, or u can also use that currency with the debit card.
example u buy gbp, and when in london, it will deduct ur gbp balance (provided u have enough balance of gbp), if less, it will deduct myr balance + 1% conversion fee.

My salary is received via usd then auto convert to ringgit now with maybank savings account.

Ramjade
post Feb 14 2025, 12:27 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 09:59 AM)

Another way is I wise transfer to my ibkr but transaction is 0.2%, later change back  ringgit again 0.2%?

Is there any other way?
If you are going to park your ringgit overseas
Rule 1
1. Don't itchy hand convert here and there. Treat your money as one way ticket, not going to come back Malaysia for few years. Make it minimum of 10 years. The exchange rate movement can kill you in you think short term (within 1y)
Rule 2
2. Don't put in bank account. They are not earning you any returns. Please put it to work.
Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 12:30 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 12:20 PM)
How to fund my sg account?
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM)
sunway money
already given hint. Open Sunway money account and send online to sg

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM)

should receive salary with RHB MCA. Won't be auto converted

Actually, if you receive salary in USD, why not ask them to send to your Wise acct? Straightaway deposit into IBKR. Unless your employers are not based in USA

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Feb 14 2025, 12:55 PM
kelvinlym
post Feb 14 2025, 12:35 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM)

Yes.
heinlein
post Feb 14 2025, 12:38 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Feb 14 2025, 09:59 AM)

Another way is I wise transfer to my ibkr but transaction is 0.2%, later change back  ringgit again 0.2%?

Is there any other way?
sgd saja la
apieh23
post Feb 14 2025, 12:40 PM

148 posts

Sgd is about 60-70% pegged to USD so should be it’s convenient for u just do it
rx330
post Feb 14 2025, 02:14 PM

11,809 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:30 PM)
already given hint. Open Sunway money account and send online to sg

should receive salary with RHB MCA. Won't be auto converted

Actually, if you receive salary in USD, why not ask them to send to your Wise acct? Straightaway deposit into IBKR. Unless your employers are not based in USA
I dont remember RHB MCA can received funds, can advice?
Medufsaid
post Feb 14 2025, 02:26 PM

3,491 posts

rx330 https://www.rhbgroup.com/-/media/Assets/Cor...account-faq.pdf

Pain4UrsinZ
post Feb 14 2025, 02:33 PM

1,860 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Feb 14 2025, 02:38 PM
rx330
post Feb 14 2025, 03:40 PM

11,809 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 02:26 PM)
this one apply to corporate kan? not for personal

0.0226sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:04 PM