Should I park my duit in usd or sgd?

TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 09:59 AM, updated 10 months ago

345 posts

So I got like 500k ringgit in liquid form..

Looking at msia economy and devalue in terms of usd.

I figure it's better to park in usd or sgd

Easiest way is to buy sgd and bank in my sg cimb account

But I live in penang, quite difficult,

Another way is I wise transfer to my ibkr but transaction is 0.2%, later change back ringgit again 0.2%?

Is there any other way?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 10:50 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 14 2025, 10:36 AM)
u can open rhb multi currency account (got both conventional and islamic)

no currency conversion fee (33 currency only)

just that, debit card annual fee is 20/year

notworthy.gif
What's the exchange rate? Only can put ringgit then covert usd, then usd convert back ringgit?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:20 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 12:11 PM)
https://www.rhbgroup.com/treasury-rates/mul...card/index.html if you already paid for the RM20 annual debit card, can look at Multi Currency Account/-i Debit Card Special Counter Rate*

btw, use sunway money for IBKR (via sg banks). cheaper
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?targe...SGD&track=false

user posted image user posted imageuser posted image
How to fund my sg account?

Previously I funded my ibkr account using sgd

I buy with my closed friend who are working in Singapore, after awhile, they also don't layan already.

Is there anyway to buy sgd with ringgit online?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Feb 14 2025, 11:52 AM)
Don’t worry about the fees. Aim for convenience.

I use HSBC. With that amount, open premier account, then call relationship manager say you want preferential rates.

Try to change mindset from picking pennies to looking at big picture. Pay for the convenience and security.
Can I use the account to receive in USD?

My salary is received via usd then auto convert to ringgit now with maybank savings account.

If I use HSBC, would it retend as USD?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 12:25 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 14 2025, 11:54 AM)
exchange rate by rhb,

as usual, bank like to use word "attractive interest rates" haha

u can convert, or u can also use that currency with the debit card.
example u buy gbp, and when in london, it will deduct ur gbp balance (provided u have enough balance of gbp), if less, it will deduct myr balance + 1% conversion fee.
Can I use the account to receive in USD?

My salary is received via usd then auto convert to ringgit now with maybank savings account.

If I use HSBC, would it retend as USD?
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 04:57 PM

345 posts

Sunway money I have account but last I tried the exchange rate not as good as wise
TSParadigmata
post Feb 14 2025, 05:46 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Feb 14 2025, 05:01 PM)
Paradigmata their rates got way way better 4-5 months ago. my screenshot is live comparsion as of 12pm today want to format it this way but malas

wise usdwise sgdsunway money
|| |user posted image|
I check with ringgit to usd isn't that much different

0.0161sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:15 AM