Travel All About Sabah..., Kota Kinabalu & surroundings

fLeA
post Nov 9 2010, 10:49 PM

422 posts

Anyone dive at SIpadan before?

Any dive resort to recommend? Not to expensive kinda...

Thank you.
wormyx
post Nov 15 2010, 01:32 PM

306 posts

Hi Guys,

Planing for a holiday with family towards end of the year, any recomendated places,hot spots, hotels you guy can spare some infos on.

Regards,
Max
Nosense
post Nov 17 2010, 08:57 PM

Just back from KK today. Spent 5 days 4 nights there.
Stayed at Beverly hotel.
Below were the places that I had travelled, with the help of Garmin GPS.

Day 1
Reach KK Terminal 1 (Jetstar)
Rent a car Viva (A) at RM$120/day (Total: RM$480 for 4 days, Collision damage liability RM$2,000)
Check in to Beverly hotel
Lunch at Lintas (Jia Shiang)
Visit Monsopiad Cultural Village
Tea break at Lintas (Yoyo Bubble Tea)
Shopping at 1Borneo
Dinner at Salut Seafood

Day 2
Gaya Sunday Market
Island hopping (Sapi and Manukan islands)
Dinner beside Pilipino Market

Day 3
Drive to Tamparuli (for the Tamparuli Suspension bridge)
Eat at Tampauli (Wun Chiap)
Kinabalu Park
Kundasang War Memorial
Poring hot spring (Canopy walk and spend 1 hour in the hot spring standard tub at RM 15/hour)
Dinner at Gayang Seafood

Day 4
Green Connection
Tuaran mee at Restaurant Chow Hing
Ling San Pagoda Tuaran
Drive around Mengkabong (trying to look for Mengkabong water village)
Puh Toh Tze Temple
Signal hill observatory
Pilipino Market
Shopping and dinner at KK town
Drinks at KK Waterfront

Day 5
Return car at KK terminal 2.
Home sweet Home by Airasia.
rehtselei
post Nov 19 2010, 09:41 AM

29 posts

Had just returned from KK. For budget traveller, there is another option to reach Kinabalu Park via minivan near merdeka field for RM15. The minivan destination is ranau but they will drop you off in front of Kinabalu Park. The journey took around 1.5 hours.

If you would like to go Poring HotSpring too(according to the driver), you might need to take the earliest minivan to Ranau at 7am, being dropped for a visit at Kinabalu Park and from Kinabalu Park catch another minivan to Ranau. And from Ranau, you need to catch another minivan to Poring. It is time consuming, but if you are travelling alone and budget is limited, you can try this. I met some foreign travellers did this too.
ahchak
post Nov 20 2010, 03:10 AM

Well...
558 posts

hi guys. i'm going to sabah next year by AA. but since we (6 of us) didnt buy any extra luggage to sabah ( we only buy for return), means that we have to carry all hand luggage.. we'll be thr for around 5 days. am planning to go kinabalu park. was thinkin is it ok if we rent a kancil? and 6 of us cramp into the mini kancil? is the law strict over thr? since we're on a tight budget.. tongue.gif
Nosense
post Nov 20 2010, 08:02 PM

My opinion on the car rental at the airport.

When I reached KK airport T1, immediately I start searching for car rental. There are only about 4-5 car rental shops at the airport.

The standard price for a Viva (M) is $120/day and $18/day for insurance. After bargaining, the lowest they quote is $110/day and with insurance it will be $128/day. Try to go to other shops but most small cars are not available. At the end, one shop recommended me another company at $120/day (inclusive of insurance) for Viva (A).

Call the company and wait at the airport for them to deliver the car. Need to photocopy your identity and driving licence. Pay RM$2 to photocopy at level 3 at the airport.

However, when I enquire one week before I reach KK. I was quoted by a rental company for a Viva (M) at $100/day (inclusive of insurance), which is much cheaper.
I did not confirm the booking because thinking that the rental at airport will be cheaper, but I am wrong.

So my advice is to book in advance if you are going during the weekend as most of the cars are taken and the price is steep.

This post has been edited by Nosense: Dec 1 2010, 03:34 PM
ahchak
post Dec 11 2010, 11:08 PM

Well...
558 posts

oh... thank you very much.. but i think i'll find rental company thru the internet first since the rate at the airport will be slightly higher imo.

btw, any interesting places at the tip of borneo? worth the 3 hours plus visit thr from kk?
whsam89
post Dec 13 2010, 10:01 AM

35 posts

well..u can take picture at the tip there..

on the way to tip of borneo..u will pass by Kota Belud..there's pasar pagi over there u can go to visit where the natives sell their products..but i forgotten wat day it is held..u need to check for this..

then after to tip of borneo u can go to have seafood at kudat..most of the fish sold in kota kinabalu comes from there..
koinibler
post Dec 13 2010, 06:43 PM

2,050 posts

Car Rental from airport is definitely more expensive.
You can get more choice from internet e.g: mudah.com

Here is some car rental from MAS Airport as guideline;

link: bigger pic;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/29629823@N07/...in/photostream/

This post has been edited by koinibler: Dec 13 2010, 06:46 PM
Listiani
post Dec 16 2010, 12:56 PM

6 person in 01 Kancil?? You got to be joking. How to fit in?? Then drive up to National Park with 6 passenger in 1 Kancil?? National Park is gunung area. Just use your imagination to drive up to mountain road with Kancil and 6 passenger.

QUOTE(ahchak @ Nov 20 2010, 03:10 AM)
hi guys. i'm going to sabah next year by AA. but since we (6 of us) didnt buy any extra luggage to sabah ( we only buy for return), means that we have to carry all hand luggage.. we'll be thr for around 5 days. am planning to go kinabalu park. was thinkin is it ok if we rent a kancil? and 6 of us cramp into the mini kancil? is the law strict over thr? since we're on a tight budget.. tongue.gif
buntutwoman
post Dec 16 2010, 03:14 PM

182 posts

hahaha kancil . i dun think the car rental agency will rent to you if u tell them 6 ppl going to be in it.
anilin
post Dec 17 2010, 11:00 AM

240 posts

Is this the place where we can find the Lokan Panggang and Kelapa Bakar?

Along the way from 1borneo to Karambunai Resort, Jalan Sulaman

or follow the way to Tuaran from 1borneo??

where is the stall actually located at??

I searched everywhere and the only direction i got is "along Jalan Sulaman", "near Politeknik"... but where is it?

This post has been edited by anilin: Dec 17 2010, 02:41 PM
azzudagreat
post Dec 17 2010, 10:02 PM

15 posts

hi,
i will be going to KK 24 jan & straight heading to kundasang for 1 nite spend.
is there anyone interested to pool car with me?pls pm

koinibler
post Dec 18 2010, 10:31 AM

2,050 posts

@anilin
It's located on both side of the road from roundabout to salut seafood .
anilin
post Dec 18 2010, 12:31 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Dec 18 2010, 10:31 AM)
@anilin
It's located on both side of the road from roundabout to salut seafood .
Thank you koinibler! thumbup.gif
Can't wait to go KK in 3 weeks time.

idunnolol
post Dec 19 2010, 06:48 PM

1,044 posts

Hi Guys

I will be going to KK from Friday ( Jan 14th ) to Sunday ( Jan 16th ) a total of 9 Pax
We will reach KK on 1 PM and leave at around the same time also

I haven't draw up the itinerary yet so i need your opinion,

Is there any budget hotel that is within the same price range of Tune hotel? Dont really prefer tune hotel because its not in town center
Any idea on the car rental fee?

Appreciate if anyone could share their 3D / 2N itinerary else i have to modify from Nosense 5D itinerary

Sky.Live
post Dec 19 2010, 07:07 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Regarding Sipadan, do you recommend to get there without a diving qualification? can I do my diving cert there?
koinibler
post Dec 19 2010, 07:17 PM

2,050 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Dec 19 2010, 07:07 PM)
Regarding Sipadan, do you recommend to get there without a diving qualification? can I do my diving cert there?
yes, you can learn and get the cert there.
I've seen some tour at Tawau airport offer that.
Sky.Live
post Dec 19 2010, 07:23 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Dec 19 2010, 07:17 PM)
yes, you can learn and get the cert there.
I've seen some tour at Tawau airport offer that.
I am a Sabahan living in KL now, but never been to the west and southern part yet.

I guess a 4 ~ 5 days trip in Sipadan would cost roughly RM2k+ right? When is the high / low season? Izzit open all year round or subject to monsoon weather?
mzack1104
post Dec 20 2010, 11:25 AM

256 posts

Hi all travelers...

I used to lived in sabah before (KK, ranau and kota belud). Now I already in semenanjung for almost 13 years already and think to return back to sabah for holiday.

I assumed many things must be change already since past 13 years. But they assuming I used to lived in sabah b4, so i can be their guide. Thats a problem sweat.gif .

My frens and I plan to go around july next year, 4D3N.

My plan is to bring them to kundasang, ranau and maybe semporna.
We are not going there to shopping or what, just wanna find a nice place for taking photos and spent time together and also have some seafood.

Or maybe u guys can suggest something nice for 4D3N? BTW, we dont dive.

Thanks! biggrin.gif

133 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:07 AM