Samsung S22 pink vertical line - they won't fix!
ry8128
Dec 28 2024, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 28 2024, 10:05 PM) I mean thousands of people are experiencing this specific issue all over the world. Samsung themselves have had a free screen replacement program even for out of warranty S20/21/22 devices earlier this year. Quite obvious there is some QC lapse or defect in the manufacturing process. No parts are build to last a life time, hence this is where the 1 year warranty comes in. The free replacement program is something like a goodwill/promotion from them to attract more customers and give confidence, not to correct or compensate their customers.
DoomCognition
Dec 28 2024, 10:10 PM
I don't have screen issue, but I have 4G issue. I looked it up and apparently it is also a common problem. 4G connection is weak after some time using it. It is very unstable now.
Same issue with Note 4, S9 and now S22. Note 4 and S9 are not mine, belongs to my family. I went back to Samsung after Huawei got nuked. As someone else said above, apart from Samsung, other phones are really not that attractive.
Now am considering to change phone, and am really trying to avoid Samseng.
ry8128
Dec 28 2024, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Dec 28 2024, 10:10 PM) I don't have screen issue, but I have 4G issue. I looked it up and apparently it is also a common problem. 4G connection is weak after some time using it. It is very unstable now. Same issue with Note 4, S9 and now S22. Note 4 and S9 are not mine, belongs to my family. I went back to Samsung after Huawei got nuked. As someone else said above, apart from Samsung, other phones are really not that attractive. Now am considering to change phone, and am really trying to avoid Samseng. Just go for iphone
TScontestchris
Dec 28 2024, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 28 2024, 10:08 PM) No parts are build to last a life time, hence this is where the 1 year warranty comes in. The free replacement program is something like a goodwill/promotion from them to attract more customers and give confidence, not to correct or compensate their customers. I don't disagree. Everything electronic is bound to fail eventually. However, in the case of the pink/green line on thr Galaxy S 20/21/22, it appears to be significantly more widespread than the "design failure rate". That is indicative of some sort of design flaw or manufacturing defect. I mean, more iPhones are sold globally every year compared to Samsung's S series phones. iPhones also use Samsung AMOLED screens. But even then, this issue is not anywhere near as widespread among iPhone users. This post has been edited by contestchris: Dec 28 2024, 10:54 PM
mafioso
Dec 28 2024, 10:55 PM
S2, Note 5, note 8, note 9, note 10+, s21u, s22u
No issues
All past on and continue using for 3-4 years btw
This post has been edited by mafioso: Dec 28 2024, 10:56 PM
ShadowR1
Dec 28 2024, 10:59 PM
Ive use a couple of note and S, no such problem wor.
mafioso
Dec 28 2024, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Dec 28 2024, 10:59 PM) Ive use a couple of note and S, no such problem wor. Most of the time its due to usage style Maybe no drop but phone case trap the heat while updating. Prolonged usage of android auto while phone overheats Prolonged usage of waze/google maps while phone overheats without ac as the phone holder is no where near the ac Usually when i update my phone i make sure ac is on. Just in case And using android auto i make sure to make it a habit to blow ac to it once in a while to prevent overheating This is not ideal and i prefer not to so it if possible. But thats just how i do my best to ensure my phone doesn't have all these pink green line bs
ktek
Dec 28 2024, 11:39 PM
fedup 99
mitodna
Dec 31 2024, 11:29 AM
bump
TScontestchris
Dec 31 2024, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 31 2024, 11:29 AM) Samsung already agreed to repair FOC after sending in a strongly worded letter to the CEO office. Must pay abour rm86.
mmohdnor
Dec 31 2024, 07:54 PM
mine is s22 import HK set .. first got the green line mid-2024. Then a pink line in a few weeks gap.. :sad:
melz84
Sep 8 2025, 03:19 PM
Did anyone managed to get their screen replaced for free recently ? my phone had the pink line popped up out of the sudden, just a while ago.. there was an update done yesterday i'm unsure how would is be related. never had any issue with the phone prior to this.
TScontestchris
Sep 8 2025, 03:28 PM
Yes I got mine replaced for free earlier this year. I had to write some strongly worded email to Samsung Malaysia CEO. Also probably helped that my past few phones have been Samsung flagships. And of course, phone must have zero physical damage.
wertty
Sep 8 2025, 03:32 PM

Get yourself a Nothing Phone
i used mine since release, this thing just dont break... if break also i can afford the replacement
ahchat
Sep 8 2025, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(melz84 @ Sep 8 2025, 03:19 PM) Did anyone managed to get their screen replaced for free recently ? my phone had the pink line popped up out of the sudden, just a while ago.. there was an update done yesterday i'm unsure how would is be related. never had any issue with the phone prior to this.  my s22 ultra got roundish deal pixel on top left of the phone screen...it is getting bigger and bigger...not covered for free replacement...if want to change screen, kena rm800...might as well invest on new phone je... as long as still can use, just use liao
ahchat
Sep 8 2025, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 8 2025, 03:28 PM) Yes I got mine replaced for free earlier this year. I had to write some strongly worded email to Samsung Malaysia CEO. Also probably helped that my past few phones have been Samsung flagships. And of course, phone must have zero physical damage. share me CEO email, and those other emails as well...mine was bought under maxis though, can this work?
SUSifourtos
Sep 8 2025, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 20 2024, 02:58 PM) Guys, my S22 (base model) is now showing pink vertical line on the left side of screen. I bought it in April 2022. Never dropped it – the screen is otherwise in a flawless condition. I went to Samsung express service center. They claim it cannot be replaced FOC. This is a premium phone, how can the screen kaput so quickly? I'm not the only one - it seems many on the S20/21/22 lines have experienced it! I updated the Oct and Nov updates back to back on 16th December 2024, but only saw the pink line this morning when I woke up. I don’t use fast charging – only charge using Apple iPad’s 20W charger. I also turn on battery saver to conserve the shitty battery life. I was going to upgrade to the S25, but unlikely now as even my previous S10e suffered display issues towards the end (the screen would have a yellowish tint - luckily it was intermittent and wasn't present when I performed the trade-in). https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5429056/allTitle = SAMSUNG USER NEVER LEARN. NEVER. post this 2 years ago, if you quickly sell your SAMSUNG in perfect condition and change to chinaphone or iphone you are saved
coyouth
Sep 8 2025, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 20 2024, 02:58 PM) Guys, my S22 (base model) is now showing pink vertical line on the left side of screen. I bought it in April 2022. Never dropped it – the screen is otherwise in a flawless condition. I went to Samsung express service center. They claim it cannot be replaced FOC. This is a premium phone, how can the screen kaput so quickly? I'm not the only one - it seems many on the S20/21/22 lines have experienced it! I updated the Oct and Nov updates back to back on 16th December 2024, but only saw the pink line this morning when I woke up. I don’t use fast charging – only charge using Apple iPad’s 20W charger. I also turn on battery saver to conserve the shitty battery life. I was going to upgrade to the S25, but unlikely now as even my previous S10e suffered display issues towards the end (the screen would have a yellowish tint - luckily it was intermittent and wasn't present when I performed the trade-in). i've been using a lot of samsung high end phones. many of them got various flaws. they're just lucky that some people who buy this brand have the money to just buy a new one when shit happens. samsung phones don't last. This post has been edited by coyouth: Sep 8 2025, 03:47 PM
lerijiso
Sep 8 2025, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 20 2024, 02:58 PM) Guys, my S22 (base model) is now showing pink vertical line on the left side of screen. I bought it in April 2022. Never dropped it – the screen is otherwise in a flawless condition. I went to Samsung express service center. They claim it cannot be replaced FOC. This is a premium phone, how can the screen kaput so quickly? I'm not the only one - it seems many on the S20/21/22 lines have experienced it! I updated the Oct and Nov updates back to back on 16th December 2024, but only saw the pink line this morning when I woke up. I don’t use fast charging – only charge using Apple iPad’s 20W charger. I also turn on battery saver to conserve the shitty battery life. I was going to upgrade to the S25, but unlikely now as even my previous S10e suffered display issues towards the end (the screen would have a yellowish tint - luckily it was intermittent and wasn't present when I performed the trade-in). S22? Now already S25, u think they want to entertain S22 user?
TScontestchris
Sep 8 2025, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(lerijiso @ Sep 8 2025, 03:54 PM) S22? Now already S25, u think they want to entertain S22 user? I was successful. Immediately sold it and got the S25.