[2024] Mac Mini with M4 / M4 Pro
Dec 11 2024, 02:35 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
3,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Finally received my SSD and usb 4 enclosure. Ready for mac mini liao. Setup straight away change Home folder to external. ![]() Skeuomorphic and Redundant liked this post
Dec 11 2024, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 11 2024, 02:45 PM) Is it necessary to put home folder on external? For average user what's your home folder size after a few years? Anyone with a device for a few years pls report here. Thanks. Been using 256GB base M1 and M2 for past 3 years. Actually still can la. Usually have like 130GB left. I would kept it around 130-150GB free space. But have to be cautious everytime what I install. Just want to have more freedom using the mac now. I will run LLM too and the models are quite big. So I guess it’s good to have it external. |
Dec 11 2024, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(muman7 @ Dec 11 2024, 03:10 PM) I see. Thanks for your input. Then for average non gamers/coders like me the internal 256GB should be enough. The biggest apps that I'm going to install are those video & photo editing apps. At least I don't have to worry about external drive unplugged or malfunction situation. usually apps can install externally. But some apps still needs to install their data in Home folder which is what ollama does. Don’t want to worry about that so just move home folder to external can enjoy the computer at fullest. Since now M4 and 16GB, much more capable than my previous M2 8GB, I’d like to do more with it.I still can install some big size apps like vm and casual games on external right? |
Dec 11 2024, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(ohkeat @ Dec 11 2024, 08:21 PM) I gave up hope already. Unlikely they will be able to deliver today, even though in the system it shows out for delivery. This has never happened to any other courier companies I have used before. Will avoid GDex at all cost in future. All my previous online Apple purchases, they used DHL, probably because they were shipped from ShenZhen China. Apple already stopped using DHL for some reasons. I find DHL was the best. Not sure why they chose GDEX now. IIRC since 2022 already GDEX when I buy other APPLE stuffs.. even not directly from apple, celcom also need to use GDEX for apple. |
Dec 11 2024, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(razkal @ Dec 11 2024, 08:57 PM) Anyone using Mac mini with sub 4k monitor? For example WUXGA resolution or 2k monitor How's your experience? I've tried on these types of monitor and so far not satisfied with font sharpness. Also tried better display app. Seems not so much different. My windows laptop with these displays have better sharpness. I think ppl have said 1440p monitors are the worst for macOS. Maybe need to upgrade 4k monitors.This post has been edited by yvliew: Dec 11 2024, 09:06 PM |
Dec 11 2024, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(syukry @ Dec 11 2024, 11:55 AM) anyone can recommend any thunderbolt 4 hub/adapter for mac mini? TB dock is so expensive still. Honestly I won't recommend it. It's better you just get a 10gbps dock with extra USB ports such as C and A ports for other device like keyboard/mouse,external HDD and pendrive. You don't need full 40gbps for those devices. You still have 2 more TB4 usb c ports for fast external nvme ssd for permanent connection or other fast devices.I plan to get one just to get extra port for USB and other. but not sure which brand is okay. Please advice |
Dec 12 2024, 10:34 AM
Dec 12 2024, 11:37 AM
Dec 12 2024, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Dec 12 2024, 12:07 PM) The Mac mini by itself already perfect, like I see you all want to use ssd as home folder or buy casing, for me it will make the Mac mini less useful. Not much troublesome to move the external SSD as well. But will mostly use as a desktop. If move a lot around, can create another account which uses internal storage home folder.Now I can hook it up to monitor, or quickly move it around and hook it up with TV - that's the beauty of this machine, it's like a "compute stick" or Chromecast where you can just plug and play. |
Dec 12 2024, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 12 2024, 01:51 PM) Just question on external storage, once you pair the storage to work with mac mini, what would happen if you plug your external storage to window? can detect but not able to open? I am not quite sure about this. Not sure if you can see the files, but if you want your external to work in both windows and mac you need to use EXFat format. I know mac can read NTSF but cannot write to it. I would guess windows can read apple file system but cannot write also. But seeing it’s apple. There’s also high chance that they don’t allow other system to read it at all. shyan90's liked this post
Dec 12 2024, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(thankyou @ Dec 12 2024, 02:05 PM) this one damn expensive. although look damn nice la. but there is a cheaper aluminium version that’s around RM130 vs this around RM500 early bird. Of course the cheapest is 3D printed around RM40 which my friend already helped me print. Will use for a while see see if I like it. Cheap can for fun. If really like the look and don’t mind the space it takes, might go for a cheaper permanent one with aluminium. thankyou liked this post
Dec 12 2024, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 12 2024, 03:48 PM) Cause CNC make it cost so much....maybe just 3D print, go Mr DIY buy silver color paint + clear coat = Settle my friend printed few colors. I might take this one. ![]() shyan90's liked this post
Dec 12 2024, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 12 2024, 05:39 PM) finally postman is here to pick up my m1. Unit will send to Bukit Jelutong. Now wait for confirmation to complete the trade in. can just include the mac mini right? No need box or the power cable. I would keep the power cable as it is also compatible with the M4 mac mini. Can put in other room or for travel.Asked the postman. according to them no drop off. So what they did is 1. Put into white envelope which little protection. Lucky I wrap with extra bubble wrap 2. then put into big brown box 3. seal it with pos sticker. 4. Wrap with final plastic & put address sticker. get one confirmation letter. Step 1-4 : Postman will take picture entire process to prove that unit are safely send |
Dec 12 2024, 07:17 PM
Dec 12 2024, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 12 2024, 08:50 PM) I thought connect to monitor need to find HDMI to USB c. not USB c to USB c. unless your monitor is plug via USB c There are monitors that support video in via USB C. I have one portable monitor that takes usb, no problem using mac mini m1/m2 connect via usb C to monitor usb c. |
Dec 12 2024, 09:36 PM
jonthebaptist and glauncher liked this post
Dec 13 2024, 09:59 AM
jonthebaptist liked this post
Dec 13 2024, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(shyan90's @ Dec 13 2024, 11:00 AM) I bought 28” 4k Acer monitor in 2021 around RM1100. I think quite affordable already. They also realeased newer model this year with 160hz 4k around 1300. Was even tempted to get it for gaming. But cannot find the model now. Forgotten the model number..This post has been edited by yvliew: Dec 13 2024, 02:05 PM |
Dec 13 2024, 03:16 PM
jonthebaptist, Skeuomorphic, and 1 other liked this post
Dec 13 2024, 04:59 PM
Anyone know what app can see the external ssd temp?
| Change to: | 0.0379sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:52 PM |