hollyweed
post Oct 23 2024, 04:13 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 23 2024, 03:49 PM)
I dun understand geely's logic.

maybe it was too late for X70

but for x50 and x90 and s70, geely should have brought in their 4 pot technology, but stood for the 3 pot ones instead for Proton's Tg Malim CKD line.

It just goes to show how selfish they are, just want to push the old stock parts to clear off at proton first.

this is what arrogance begets. They thought they could dominate msia market, they didn't think that PMX would have allowed so many China OEMs to come here.

Maybe someone boast 3 pot can save fuel, but not make a difference for X70 pun.

Some more, 3 cylinder, 2 go up 1 go down...puts unnecessary strain on the toot toot, don't want to say lah.
3 pot is really for fuel saving bro.
x70 because the freaking car is big and heavy.

s70 x50 fuel consumption seems not that bad like x70
GGSC27
post Oct 23 2024, 04:21 PM

170 posts

Cherry Omoda how?

cannot fight?
ridox_orimabu
post Oct 23 2024, 04:22 PM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,873 posts

actually J8 and Omoda C9 coming in soon kan

the two will destroy Range rover for real.
hoonanoo
post Oct 23 2024, 04:59 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Oct 23 2024, 04:07 PM)
Lets take the technical pro-con of 3 pot vs 4 pot out of the equation.

Its all about biz & money.

At that time (2019/20) the 3 pot was the most hyped (Volvo was also using) & P1 took this as the one engine to rule them all. Using 1 prime engine makes biz sense. From TGDI to NA, lots of common parts. Reducing cost. Bear in mind, biggest cost in car manufacturing is drive train (engine + g.box).

Mana tau, 3 cyl not popular in CN. But in west, 3 cyl rather acceptable.

So P1 already invested so much, got to continue use lah.

As for the vibration, timing belt, faster engine mounting wear .... we Msian are a bunch of complainers, jaguh kampung who are followers, bending with the wind. In short, nothing will please us. We want cheap cheap, good good, last forever barang. Nothing will fully satisfy our big ego, small pocket.

Sorry for the rant. Anyways, Proton is now stuck with this 3 pot. IMO, the only way to save it is to go hybrid (like X90) as there is now a gap between ICE & EV. Not everyone can go EV & hybrid is the mid point. That's the only way to save this investment.
I don't know when Geely changed from 3 pot to 4 pot. Probably back in 2020, Geely already know their stupid mounting bracket can't take the 1.8 + 3 pot engine. Still, they sell the CBU X70 to us to clear old stock. Still they went off with S70/X90/X50 3 pot.

So from here, I can tell its due to arrogance. They thought they could clear their old parts stock thinking that they will be 2nd behind perodua in Msia for eternal.

Mana tau, Madani brought in Cheri, Jaeco, etc.

hoonanoo
post Oct 23 2024, 05:00 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(hollyweed @ Oct 23 2024, 04:13 PM)
3 pot is really for fuel saving bro.
x70 because the freaking car is big and heavy.

s70 x50 fuel consumption seems not that bad like x70
first and foremost even with 3pot X70 is a blady gas guzzler.

secondly, wait till ur engine mounting bracket breaks without you knowing, and that will slowly wear down your transmission

thirdly, try to drive S70 3 pot engine, its noisy.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Oct 23 2024, 05:01 PM
msacras
post Oct 23 2024, 05:19 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(GGSC27 @ Oct 23 2024, 04:21 PM)
Cherry Omoda how?

cannot fight?
Pretty much gave up dy, the reputation absolutely thrashed, no point salvaging further.

They’re trying to push for Jaecoo J5 instead, hopefully ppl won’t link it to Wumaoda5.

On a serious note, one of mah ex-colleague got Wumaoda5 and after sat in it, it’s a car I won’t even consider be it how much specs it offer or how cheap it is selling at. The front passenger seat is so damn sempit. On top of that the CVT whine when picking up, super scary.

This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 23 2024, 05:20 PM
-TcT-
post Oct 23 2024, 05:32 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(plain_white @ Oct 23 2024, 07:42 AM)
Wait for BYD sealion 6 PHEV. Looking at the prices in our neighbouring countries, it will destroy the rest of the chinese cars here.
I am also waiting for this. 120k in Thailand, let's say 125k here.. will sell like hot cakes
Justin.Loong
post Oct 23 2024, 05:44 PM

8,404 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Oct 23 2024, 09:25 AM)
Wheel chair.
Frequent hospital visit for father mother
Maybe can consider those lightweight compact foldable wheelchair?
user posted image user posted image
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2024, 06:08 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

but for x50 and x90 and s70, geely should have brought in their 4 pot technology, but stood for the 3 pot ones instead for Proton's Tg Malim CKD line.

It just goes to show how selfish they are, just want to push the old stock parts to clear off at proton first.

this is what arrogance begets. They thought they could dominate msia market, they didn't think that PMX would have allowed so many China OEMs to come here.

Some more, 3 cylinder, 2 go up 1 go down...puts unnecessary strain on the toot toot, don't want to say lah.
this one, I agree with you
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 23 2024, 06:10 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Oct 23 2024, 05:19 PM)

Pretty much gave up dy, the reputation absolutely thrashed, no point salvaging further.

They’re trying to push for Jaecoo J5 instead, hopefully ppl won’t link it to Wumaoda5.

On a serious note, one of mah ex-colleague got Wumaoda5 and after sat in it, it’s a car I won’t even consider be it how much specs it offer or how cheap it is selling at. The front passenger seat is so damn sempit. On top of that the CVT whine when picking up, super scary.

not to mentioned axia like handling

no joke bro

ccp car...soulless. all pretty bling bling from the outside, inside so hollow 0 soul
titanz
post Oct 23 2024, 07:07 PM

40 posts

Jaecoo is the marque of Chery actually, infact it is only available outside of China.

Chery have Jaecoo
Toyota have Lexus
Drian
post Oct 23 2024, 07:35 PM

4,999 posts

Do you mean setup another assembly line for the 4 pot engine and pay additional royalties to Geely for the 4 pot engine?
You think bring in new engine is free?

Zhik
post Oct 24 2024, 12:37 AM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,228 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2024, 01:41 PM)
My household own few Japanese car from Toyota to Subaru. Most over 10 years of ownership, even tho cheap plastic but never really broken or brittle within even 15 years. FYI, most my rides all park under the sun.

Try ask X70 how many plastic door handle already broken? Some will claim it is design issue, here n that but in reality a lot cheap/lower range cars the plastics are not design to last long. This is what ex-cherry owners fear as i personally knew 1 after 5 years door panel, handle and a lot of plastic parts can break anytime until he give up and sold it with superglue fix.  laugh.gif
Diu. Does it apply to all geely model in malingsia?
hoonanoo
post Oct 24 2024, 09:01 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Oct 23 2024, 07:35 PM)
Do you mean setup another assembly line for the 4 pot engine and pay additional royalties  to Geely for the 4 pot engine?
You think bring in new engine is free?
hello?

did you read when I mentioned that when they set up X70 CKD line they realized this ?

Why they didn't rectify the decision for 4 pot when they started to set up CKD line for X50, X90 and S70 ????

hoonanoo
post Oct 24 2024, 09:06 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 23 2024, 06:10 PM)
not to mentioned axia like handling

no joke bro

ccp car...soulless. all pretty bling bling from the outside, inside so hollow 0 soul
Most CCP stuffs are like that

I rode CCP elevator, looks cool then after few years start to get cranky.

suddenly lift button not sensitive anymore sometimes press cannot sense.

even access card detection susah.

sometimes leave even open at a floor, that one did not press for.
MGM
post Oct 24 2024, 09:16 AM

18,495 posts

How is the price compare to Range rover?

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 24 2024, 09:17 AM
adamhzm90
post Oct 24 2024, 09:21 AM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 23 2024, 01:41 PM)
My household own few Japanese car from Toyota to Subaru. Most over 10 years of ownership, even tho cheap plastic but never really broken or brittle within even 15 years. FYI, most my rides all park under the sun.

Try ask X70 how many plastic door handle already broken? Some will claim it is design issue, here n that but in reality a lot cheap/lower range cars the plastics are not design to last long. This is what ex-cherry owners fear as i personally knew 1 after 5 years door panel, handle and a lot of plastic parts can break anytime until he give up and sold it with superglue fix.  laugh.gif
i owned Forester SJ, now x70 for more than 2 years

x70 better than forester in all aspect lulz. maybe for space forester won
iZuDeeN
post Oct 24 2024, 09:28 AM

3,467 posts

J7 PHEV may be the better compromise between EV & ICE
nelson969
post Oct 24 2024, 09:31 AM

323 posts

where increase ? kajang dont see 1 pun