Ativa or Nexus, City Commuter

TSSKYjack
post Oct 26 2024, 06:18 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Oct 26 2024, 10:56 AM)
Hi TS,

Even though u can't charge at your condo you can still charge outside and use that opportunity to spend the time wife your wife. There's a lot of place/mall to hang out while waiting for the car to be charged.

I myself planning to retire early and already decided to buy 2 door coupe for me and my wife. Already used high seating position car (MPV) for more than 10 years so feel kinda boring. Guess human will never be satisfied lol.
Thats is true, now there are quite a number of charge points in a few places. However I looked at cost factor. Its interesting buying energy from any of these places comes to same cost as petrol. Some even slightly more.
Hear's a breakdown -
1KW energy cost roughly RM1 and yeilds 5KM drive on EV. 1KW home charge cost roughly RM0.55.
RM1 ringgit of Ron95 also dives roughly 5km.

So can see if I was to charge out side, cost it the same as ICE engine. Defeats the purpose of owning EV.

Good luck on your 2door coupe. I've gone through that phase.
dwRK
post Oct 26 2024, 08:11 PM

the consummate chartist
6,238 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 26 2024, 06:18 PM)
Thats is true, now there are quite a number of charge points in a few places. However I looked at cost factor. Its interesting buying energy from any of these places comes to same cost as petrol. Some even slightly more.
Hear's  a breakdown -
1KW energy cost roughly RM1 and yeilds 5KM drive on EV. 1KW home charge cost roughly RM0.55.
RM1 ringgit of Ron95 also dives roughly 5km.

So can see if I was to charge out side, cost it the same as ICE engine. Defeats the purpose of owning EV.

Good luck on your 2door coupe. I've gone through that phase.
a lot more failure points with ice... also oil change costs

but yeah... charge at home same as hybrid... charge outside same as normal ice...

jlkh760830
post Oct 27 2024, 11:04 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 12 2024, 11:34 AM)
Need a city drive car. Just to market and eating out purpose. Dont need to consider outstation drive. Not too big but reasonable space to carry items at the back with fold down seats. I am a retire, only me & wife.

Considering Ativa and waiting for the launch of Perodua Nexus. Am told Nexus is slightly bigger, may be more suitable. However i do like the height of the Ativa. Welcome comments. Tks!
Nexus or Yaris Cross still a decent Car,
In my opinion, just wait for Perodua Malaysia to be launch soon from now ....

TSSKYjack
post Nov 6 2024, 06:40 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jlkh760830 @ Oct 27 2024, 11:04 PM)

I'd pick Nexis over Atva purely on the 4cyl engine. Don't need turbo power for city & 4cyl engine is smoother.

Have decided to wait for Nexis before final decision.
ipat88
post Nov 7 2024, 10:43 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Nov 6 2024, 06:40 PM)
I'd pick Nexis over Atva purely on the 4cyl engine. Don't need turbo power for city & 4cyl engine is smoother.

Have decided to wait for Nexis before final decision.
Bro, the DOA hyundai creta year end sale now 95k at sime darby auto. Segment B suv (HRV/corolla cross). 3 years free service. Warranty 300Km. free leather seat n 3M tinted.Better than wrv yet cheaper with electronic parking brake n engine remote start.Korean car reliability comparable with japanese brand. Just the spare part might be hard to find and a bit more expensive. But this car CBU from Indonesia so closer to order the spare part. Go for test drive bro.
TSSKYjack
post Nov 8 2024, 06:37 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Nov 7 2024, 10:43 PM)
Bro, the DOA hyundai creta year end sale now 95k at sime darby auto. Segment B suv (HRV/corolla cross). 3 years free service. Warranty 300Km. free leather seat n 3M tinted.Better than wrv yet cheaper with electronic parking brake n engine remote start.Korean car reliability comparable with japanese brand. Just the spare part might be hard to find and a bit more expensive. But this car CBU from Indonesia so closer to order the spare part. Go for test drive bro.
Hey tqvm for the info. Sounds a good deal. Will test drive.
LastManStanding99
post Dec 27 2024, 08:00 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 12 2024, 11:34 AM)
Need a city drive car. Just to market and eating out purpose. Dont need to consider outstation drive. Not too big but reasonable space to carry items at the back with fold down seats. I am a retire, only me & wife.

Considering Ativa and waiting for the launch of Perodua Nexus. Am told Nexus is slightly bigger, may be more suitable. However i do like the height of the Ativa. Welcome comments. Tks!
Bro.. forget about Nexus, P2 says April 2024 but now few more days to 2025, still no news.
No comments on ATIVA, if u ask me..I'm a proud onwer, u have to test drive it.

TSSKYjack
post Dec 27 2024, 09:36 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LastManStanding99 @ Dec 27 2024, 08:00 PM)
Bro.. forget about Nexus, P2 says April 2024 but now few more days to 2025, still no news.
No comments on ATIVA, if u ask me..I'm a proud onwer, u have to test drive it.
Ativa ticks all my boxes. Size,space is perfect. My only concern is the 3cyl engine. In time they become rough. 4cyl is always much smoother! Wear & tear is much higher on turbo than NAs!
dogbert_chew
post Dec 28 2024, 06:54 AM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 27 2024, 09:36 PM)
Ativa ticks all my boxes. Size,space is perfect. My only concern is the 3cyl engine. In time they become rough. 4cyl is always much smoother! Wear & tear is much higher on turbo than NAs!
Have u decided what car?
TSSKYjack
post Dec 28 2024, 08:35 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Dec 28 2024, 06:54 AM)
Have u decided what car?
ATM Ativa is high on my list. My preference is 4cyl NA. I'm actually in no hurry. Since 2024 is ending, will wait for Nexus and then final decision. Hope Nexus comes in 2025.
LastManStanding99
post Dec 28 2024, 12:16 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 27 2024, 09:36 PM)
☺️Is good that u have this tough, me at first same thinking as u, but then again how rough could it be on Malaysia road.. going genting & Cameron w 5pax is non issues (only back seat w 3pax is suffering πŸ˜‚)
Turbo is a must for the weight for Ativa, if without turbo still can but no pickuplah.
3cly engine now days is getting more popular as some company try to save the environment:
Kelisa, kenari, Toyota tank, axia, x70, Corolla,
Yes ativa cabin interior plastic is not as good as it seems

Test drive it, run 110kmj , will it be vibrate like hell πŸ˜‚, will knows by then.

Have fun test drive bro.
blacktubi
post Dec 28 2024, 12:59 PM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(LastManStanding99 @ Dec 28 2024, 12:16 PM)
☺️Is good that u have this tough, me at first same thinking as u, but then again how rough could it be on Malaysia road.. going genting & Cameron w 5pax  is non issues (only back seat w 3pax is suffering πŸ˜‚)
Turbo is a must for the weight for Ativa, if without turbo still can but no pickuplah.
3cly engine now days is getting more popular as some company try to save the environment:

Test drive it, run 110kmj , will it be vibrate like hell πŸ˜‚, will knows by then.

Have fun test drive bro.
Just change engine mounting earlier every 50k, no big deal

Definitely worth it for the power and fc savings
LastManStanding99
post Dec 28 2024, 01:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 28 2024, 12:59 PM)
Just change engine mounting earlier every 50k, no big deal

Definitely worth it for the power and fc savings
Every 50k engine mounting change 😒 ,I'll cry..
We just helping @SKYjack bro for ideas.. also about P2 Nexus as far I remember P2 did says April 2023 launch sales, but then keep on delay/postpone n no news... (Some issue w Daihatsu/Toyota scandal back then)

Yes ativa save some issue now n then:
Push start button (recalled) (some batch)
Turbo oil stain (under warranty)(1000/10)
Absorber oil leaking (under warranty) (1000/10)
Dashcam keep falling (under warranty) (1000/10)

GamersFamilia
post Dec 28 2024, 11:58 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,844 posts

Ativa fc? Any review
Roman Catholic
post Dec 30 2024, 08:57 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(jlkh760830 @ Oct 27 2024, 11:04 PM)

Yaris Cross is here already ?
dogbert_chew
post Dec 30 2024, 04:11 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 30 2024, 08:57 AM)
Missing in Action..
TSSKYjack
post Dec 30 2024, 04:40 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LastManStanding99 @ Dec 28 2024, 12:16 PM)
☺️Is good that u have this tough, me at first same thinking as u, but then again how rough could it be on Malaysia road.. going genting & Cameron w 5pax  is non issues (only back seat w 3pax is suffering πŸ˜‚)

Have fun test drive bro.
Tks for your feedback. I really value owner feedback as you are already using the car. Pls don't stop,keep it coming as my attention is more on this car now.
I do agree 1liter engine with that size body needs turbo. 1liter NA on this car will be like lembu kereta....hahaha! For me this will be my town run around. So no need to worry about 110speed. I hpoe the cabin plastics don't break easy! Are these expensive to replace. I won't go to SC for replacement, may be can find after market spares!
TSSKYjack
post Dec 30 2024, 04:43 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Dec 30 2024, 08:57 AM)
Hoping for Nexus to show up in Malaysia soon!
TSSKYjack
post Dec 30 2024, 04:51 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LastManStanding99 @ Dec 28 2024, 01:23 PM)
Every 50k engine mounting change 😒 ,I'll cry..
We just helping @SKYjack bro for ideas.. also about P2 Nexus as far I remember P2 did says April 2023 launch sales, but then keep on delay/postpone n no news... (Some issue w Daihatsu/Toyota scandal back then)

Yes ativa save some issue now n then:
Push start button (recalled) (some batch)
Turbo oil stain (under warranty)(1000/10)
Absorber oil leaking (under warranty) (1000/10)
Dashcam keep falling (under warranty) (1000/10)
Tks bro for your feedback. Much appreciated.

On this list my main concern is turbo oil leak. Turbos are high maintenances equipment. This being a cheap turbo, this issue didn't surprise me. This the reason I'd prefer the 1.5 liter NA. Sufficient power & no high maintenances issues.
din_hook
post Dec 30 2024, 11:26 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 28 2024, 11:58 PM)
Ativa fc? Any review
I drive balik kampung from Penang to Terengganu, drive within 80-100km/h with hilly terrain sumore, can go 500km with one full tank. But for city driving with lots traffic lights and jam, one tank can go about 400km.

As Jeremy Clarkson said, its all about how we drive. If kaki tekan fc always bad one la.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0221sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:12 PM