110 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Gerbils Hut V6, I wont bite you, I wont stink either!

kelvin_faye
post Apr 23 2008, 04:52 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

hi.. i am new here. always went to malaysia gerbil forum.. but its dead d.. huhu.
luckily found out bout lowyat.NET wub.gif
i bought my pair at MV.. agouti.. seperate occasion. doesnt want to buy siblings..
bought one male in October 2007, female in end of December 2007.
they r so cute!! friendly n active!!
the male agouti is much darker n his belly has some yellow fur, but the female agouti is
much lighter n belly is pure white. got variation of agouti eh?

saw them mate on 5th march. start counting. on 20th march, 7 babies.. so 26days pregnant.
in two days, 2pups went bye2. cry.gif huhu. maybe didnt get milk from mummy. hmm.gif

now at age of 25days, much like mini gerbils d. 5 babies. 4 agouti 1 black with white stripe under his
neck. n i am sure the black is not black, i blow his fur, n seems like grey more to black.. what colour actually?
btw black is male, n 3 of agouti is male too. so just 1 agouti is female. (is this normal?)

i am using a 1.5feet plastic aquarium [saw those recommended at malaysia gerbil forum]

my question are : where can i get these? [cheapest, pls with location n price k, thanks] rclxub.gif
1 ) a 2feet plastic aquarium?
2 ) coconut shell?
3 ) good size wheel?
4 ) accesories like wooden toys : house, block etc?

n my last request is : since i have a black n 5 agoutis, wanna bring more colour to my clan...
1 ) any recommendation on what colour shud i breed to my clan?

Male (? colour) + Female (Agouti) = ? colours produced?

or

Male (Agouti) + Female (? colour) = ? colours produced?

or

Male (Black) + Female (? colour) = ? colours produced?
p/s : help me with the possibilities k!! Thanks n looking forward for u to share ur experiences...

* I am very curious bout genetics! haha. but no one to lead me..
help me nezunezu, crazymouse, babymoli n others!

2 ) how to produce DEH? (can i get one? lilac, dove? argente)
3 ) spot variation? from male or female or both with sp gene?

Am so curious!! Please help k...

Abg brother : u stay in kuching? sad.gif thought of getting one of ur DEH baby...
huhu just came back from unimas. Festival Tari MAKUM 2008 there on 27 till 31 march..
dat means i din see the birth of my gerbils!
got the good news frm my trusted friend who helps with caring for my gerbils! haha

k la, please reply k... do hope to see some comments n suggestions here.. rclxm9.gif
sOuLx
post Apr 23 2008, 05:21 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

i dont think wheels are necessary for gerbil..
they'll just chew it..
and i hope you have lots of fund to breed the gerbils..
breed with ethics ya.. smile.gif
kelvin_faye
post Apr 23 2008, 06:42 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

coz i have to, if not my Female Agouti will become insane with her jumping n digging...
haha
soulX, u have gerbils? how many?
n where r u located?
tthanks for sharing k.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 23 2008, 08:55 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Apr 23 2008, 04:52 PM)
hi.. i am new here. always went to malaysia gerbil forum.. but its dead d.. huhu.
luckily found out bout lowyat.NET  wub.gif
i bought my pair at MV.. agouti.. seperate occasion. doesnt want to buy siblings..
bought one male in October 2007, female in end of December 2007.
they r so cute!! friendly n active!!
the male agouti is much darker n his belly has some yellow fur, but the female agouti is
much lighter n belly is pure white. got variation of agouti eh?

saw them mate on 5th march. start counting. on 20th march, 7 babies.. so 26days pregnant.
in two days, 2pups went bye2.  cry.gif  huhu. maybe didnt get milk from mummy.  hmm.gif

now at age of 25days, much like mini gerbils d. 5 babies. 4 agouti 1 black with white stripe under his
neck. n i am sure the black is not black, i blow his fur, n seems like grey more to black.. what colour actually?
btw black is male, n 3 of agouti is male too. so just 1 agouti is female. (is this normal?)

i am using a 1.5feet plastic aquarium [saw those recommended at malaysia gerbil forum]

my question are : where can i get these? [cheapest, pls with location n price k, thanks]  rclxub.gif
2 ) coconut shell?
3 ) good size wheel?

n my last request is : since i have a black n 5 agoutis, wanna bring more colour to my clan...
1 ) any recommendation on what colour shud i breed to my clan?

Male (? colour) + Female (Agouti) = ? colours produced?

or

Male (Agouti) + Female (? colour) = ? colours produced?

or

Male (Black) + Female (? colour) = ? colours produced?
p/s : help me with the possibilities k!! Thanks n looking forward for u to share ur experiences...

* I am very curious bout genetics! haha. but no one to lead me..
help me nezunezu, crazymouse, babymoli n others!

2 ) how to produce DEH? (can i get one? lilac, dove? argente)
3 ) spot variation? from male or female or both with sp gene?

Am so curious!! Please help k...

Abg brother : u stay in kuching?  sad.gif  thought of getting one of ur DEH baby...
huhu just came back from unimas. Festival Tari MAKUM 2008 there on 27 till 31 march..
got the good news frm my trusted friend who helps with caring for my gerbils! haha

k la, please reply k... do hope to see some comments n suggestions here..  rclxm9.gif
All agoutis have white fur for their bellies. If the fur of the body and belly is the same colour, then that is a nutmeg. If not, then maybe your gerbil got alot of staining.

About wheels, no wheels in Malaysia are good enough for gerbils. So best not to have. Is either they get hurt or die from metal poisoning.

Your black is a normal black.

I think you may have 1 agouti and 1 nutmeg coz you are getting a black. So your agouti has Aa gene. But you can also get black if both agoutis have Aa gene. Look carefully or take a picture now.

You can only get a DEH if your agouti is Aa and Ee carrier.... if not, you won't get it at all.

For spot, you need 1 gerbil to be spot coz it is dominant and if bred with a non-spotted, can get spotted pups, about 25% to 50% of the pups would be spotted.

If you can't understand the genetic codes I have posted, then Google for mongolian gerbil colour genetics. Study the code to know.

For the time being, I have stopped breeding gerbils as my gene pool is getting small.
nezumitaro
post Apr 23 2008, 10:36 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

finally someone interested in genetic huh?

like crazymouse say. urs can be 1 agouti n 1 nutmeg/ 1 serious stained agouti, a photo will help.

the white line under ur black pup's mouth is normal. and its black. he may have white band on his hand too.

DEH you will need Ee or ee with A- gene. lilac you will need pp gene, dove you will need ch with pp gene, argente A- pp gene.

if you really interested in genetic. read up abit from net. so easier to talk. heheh..

by the way, did u seperate the male? if not u will expect an other liter 3- - 45 days later. make sure u supplement your gerbil mum with protien and nutrition and calcium. also get ready to seperate them to other tanks 2 mths later, don't get inbreed involve.
kelvin_faye
post Apr 24 2008, 01:31 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

thanks guys [carzymouse n nezu]

yea, i gave the female mealworms when she's preggy, nursing n now... coz i din move the male... so shud have move him hen the next litter arrives... then will he be living wif his son of 4...

plan to let the only daughter stay wif mom to help out.. is dat ok? i read from my gerbil book.. haha

n btw, my male has somethng under his belly, the unfur like skin??? is dat normal???

the male perentage of black ticking is much more than the female... nutmeg?? but belly is also white.. i tthink not stain coz i change bedding 1 1/2 weeks... hehe

n ur rite bout the black, he definitely has white streaks at his paw , his tail... he is just so cute..

will try to post photos here k...

thanks...

Added on April 24, 2008, 1:42 ammy question are : where can i get these? [cheapest, pls with location n price k, thanks]
2 ) coconut shell?
3 ) good size wheel?

guys help me with these k.. looking forward to provide them comfortable housing... thanks again...

This post has been edited by kelvin_faye: Apr 24 2008, 01:42 AM
nezumitaro
post Apr 24 2008, 10:16 AM

4,711 posts

ok flip your male n female fur, see whats their undercoat color?
agouti:
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
agouti = undercoat is grey, fur on their back is a mixture of bround and black fur.

nutmeg:
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
nutmeg = undercoat is orange, back is brown fur with black ticking. not mix color hair.

RE: my male has somethng under his belly, the unfur like skin??? is dat normal???
get a photos, hope its not tumor.

then ur 2nd liter comes, you male pup is about 1 mth plus, they are not ready to seperate from mum until 2 mths old. so you need to seperate the father out in 1 cage, once the 2nd liter pop, i mean immediately. cos they will make within 24 hours. and let the 1st liter boys meet their father everyday in father tank. but keep them most of the time with mum, until 2 mths old then u can move them to father tank. to let them meet their dad everyday, so the father will not forget his kid, they will forget each other if not meeting for 24 hours.

then those boys in 2nd liter, u either have to intro in with the dad another 2 mths later, or you have to get an other tank for them.

what bedding you are using? 1.5 week changing, shouldn't have stain.

NO WHEEL for gerbils, cos m'sia do not have safe wheel for gerbils.
i canot tell you where to get it cheapest, but i get all my stuff in pet shack sunway.

by the way what are u feeding your gerbils? oh the mum. mealworms are not enoguht for them. give her some dog or cat kibbles, supplement with multi-vit.

if only 1 black pup, its highly % you have 2 agouti adult. anyway pic will tell all.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Apr 24 2008, 10:40 AM
kelvin_faye
post Apr 24 2008, 10:06 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Haha.. i checked in the net d... wub.gif
the thing under the male belly is a scent gland : The scent gland is a small bare patch of skin on the gerbil's belly.from Gerbil Care Handbook [but must pay attention if he rubs too much to mark his place, coz will turn to tumor if overrubbing wo... wow... like dat one?]

pet shack sunway? where is it located? hmm.gif

n u know of Zara Exotic Pets at Summit USJ? i been there a few times, n saw their gerbils... y is their gerbils so big? not mongolian type izit? i know they have the fat-tailed gerbil b4... huhu. i saw a few lilacs there. thought of getting one... any ideas? is dat petstore reliable? sweat.gif

bedding : am using chipsi plus green apple brand.. ok not?

food : living world's habitrail hamster n gerbil staple food + bird seed + kacang panjang + apple + mealworms(seldom) + sunflowerseed(seldom)

thanks for sharing... really appreciate the efforts k... rclxm9.gif
nezumitaro
post Apr 24 2008, 10:50 PM

4,711 posts

lol Zara.. mostly inbreed. will no advice for that.

dont use the bedding with apple. they are not smelly. the perfume is nto good for them. use classic will do.

try to get on hold of prestige hamster mix. which is more quality good for them.

pet shack:
opposite of sunway pyramid, there is a McD or Yuan Steamboat, Pet Shack is just behind? between them.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Apr 24 2008, 10:51 PM
abang brother
post Apr 24 2008, 11:54 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Apr 23 2008, 04:52 PM)
Abg brother : u stay in kuching?  sad.gif  thought of getting one of ur DEH baby...

k la, please reply k... do hope to see some comments n suggestions here..  rclxm9.gif
Yearp. Lol, your too late. xD

NVM, later if u come back to Kuching buzz me. Who knows i got another litter?

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Apr 24 2008, 10:16 AM)
ok flip your male n female fur, see whats their undercoat color?
agouti:
agouti = undercoat is grey, fur on their back is a mixture of bround and black fur.

nutmeg:
nutmeg = undercoat is orange, back is brown fur with black ticking. not mix color hair.

RE: my male has somethng under his belly, the unfur like skin??? is dat normal???
get a photos, hope its not tumor.

then ur 2nd liter comes, you male pup is about 1 mth plus, they are not ready to seperate from mum until 2 mths old.  so you need to seperate the father out in 1 cage, once the 2nd liter pop, i mean immediately. cos they will make within 24 hours. and let the 1st liter boys meet their father everyday in father tank. but keep them most of the time with mum, until 2 mths old then u can move them to father tank.  to let them meet their dad everyday, so the father will not forget his kid, they will forget each other if not meeting for 24 hours.

then those boys in 2nd liter, u either have to intro in with the dad another 2 mths later, or you have to get an other tank for them.

what bedding you are using? 1.5 week changing, shouldn't have stain.

NO WHEEL for gerbils, cos m'sia do not have safe wheel for gerbils.
i canot tell you where to get it cheapest, but i get all my stuff in pet shack sunway.

by the way what are u feeding your gerbils? oh the mum. mealworms are not enoguht for them. give her some dog or cat kibbles, supplement with multi-vit.

if only 1 black pup, its highly % you have 2 agouti adult. anyway pic will tell all.
I love Nutmeg. I got 2 of it. Really are adorable. nod.gif
kelvin_faye
post Apr 28 2008, 05:48 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

anyone knows how much for a 2feet plastic aquarium? n coconut shell?
at petshack???

thanks... joan not around. have to budget b4 wednesday... huhu
nezumitaro
post Apr 28 2008, 09:23 AM

4,711 posts

kelvin u pm joan. she will get back to u.
kelvin_faye
post Apr 28 2008, 10:42 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

thanks nezu.. wana seperate the male gerbil asap... the female is like pregnant for 30 days since the first litter being born... hehe..
wana upgrade to to two 2feet aquarium for the a)male n b)female plus first litter... will take the litter to visit their father in the male tank... wanna get them knowing each other... n after 2 months of age, will move males from 1st litter to stay wif daddy... mum will jaga the 2nd litter wif single daughter from 1st litter... if 2nd litter got males, maybe will live in 3rd tank or intro to males tank if possible... hehe
nezumitaro
post Apr 29 2008, 11:47 AM

4,711 posts

lol adding more tanks, get some supplement for the mum ya. remove the toy and lower the bedding till 1in.
kelvin_faye
post Apr 29 2008, 03:07 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

hehe... lowered the level of bedding d... wana buy supplement for the mum... put in the water rite? i bought kibbles d... high in calcium [from dog kibbles] n portein [from cat kibbles]... thumbup.gif hehe just put some only.. n mealworms, apples, carrots.. she's not drinking much water though... dunno y.. maybe from the vege n fruit izit?? hmm.gif
the youngsters making her crazy. sweat.gif now exactly the age of one month... jump fight kickboxing here n there.. funny attics to watch... wub.gif
thought of getting a SG later next month.. my friend's friend got a few joeys.. but din know yet.. so am trying my best to research d.. now looking for cagen equipments dats suits me n SG well.. hehe wub.gif
thanks SIFU Nezu... notworthy.gif
kelvin_faye
post Apr 30 2008, 01:33 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Here are my gerbils! wub.gif

Male Agouti - Gabbana

Female Agouti - Dolce

Pups - 3 male Agouti, 1 female Agouti n 1 male Black

Dad n Pups

Mum n Pups

Haha enjoy... blush.gif
Sorry using webcam only... thumbup.gif
kelvin_faye
post Apr 30 2008, 02:14 AM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Mum feeding all 5... blush.gif

Sequence of mom get rid from feeding... Huhu cry.gif

Dad comforting mom... wub.gif
nezumitaro
post Apr 30 2008, 10:23 AM

4,711 posts

ur daddy is a nutmeg, flip his undercoat see if its orange? mum is agouti. nice photos u taking :)reduce the fresh vege so they will drink more and get vit from there.

don't call me sifu i am sitll learning too smile.gif

suggie stuff u can get in joan place also.
kelvin_faye
post Apr 30 2008, 12:44 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Here's more for the male : Really is a Agouti, coz when i blow him, undercoet not orange but grey too like female...

Here's the 5 Pups again :
babymoli
post Apr 30 2008, 04:15 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

hahahaha...kelvin... Your name your gerbils from D&G....??

Anyway, welcome to the family. It has been inactive for quite sometime. Nezu would have happy to find a person who is interested in their genetics. Try to research and ask nezu or crazymouse if you have question on the genetics. They sure willing to answer you. Try to pump your gerbils with more vitamin. They look a bit slim.

Foo.... Happy lor you ^^

This post has been edited by babymoli: Apr 30 2008, 04:16 PM

110 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.3165sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:03 AM