Gen-X
post Nov 9 2007, 05:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 9 2007, 04:20 PM)
Just went to Esso Station to pump petrol with my AMEX card, but they said my card is declined, i asked the cashier tried again...but it still declined sad.gif damn it!! i paid with my VISA card instead.
I rang up AMEX CS righg after am reached to office, they check my account.. everything is good and they didnt see any declined message in their system. so who fault is it? Petrol station or AMEX? how you guys handle such situation when your card got declied in the cashier but you know your account is clear and fine?

@Gen-X:
Among all your CC, which one is your favourite or the one you used the most?
since few months back i have been using AMEX at Mobil and Esso. Sometimes offline can't use AMEX and or CC.

Me got no favourite. When Citibank had 8X and 12X reward points few months back, use it for most of my transactions. Now Amex got 2X so use it more often. Last time DA swipe RM800 or something at pertrol station get free watch so use it then. which ever card offer me more benefit use it more loh. In general use as follows (but also depend when statement date to max credit time):

AMEX - petrol.
UOB - Mostly auto debit payments.
Citibank - Coffee Bean for 10% discount
HSBC & HLB mostly for business expenses.
RHB Evo - headache, got to use at least once a month else got to pay RM8 for that month. Want to cancel it next year.
DA - give wife to use. Mine in drawer, hehe.
TSDozz
post Nov 9 2007, 08:36 PM

2,149 posts

Gen-X;

Seems like you and me are the same type of person who like to fully utilize the benefits and advantages offer by CC. lol.. yeah.. Citibank previous promotion of 8x to 12x points are cool, i used it for all my purchases and bills, and i earned quite a lot of points that time.

Do you know which motor insurance company accept AMEX card? because i always help my customers to buy insurance, the companies that am dealing with (Jerneh and UniAsia) does not accept AMEX sad.gif
Gen-X
post Nov 10 2007, 04:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 9 2007, 08:36 PM)
Gen-X;

Seems like you and me are the same type of person who like to fully utilize the benefits and advantages offer by CC. lol.. yeah.. Citibank previous promotion of 8x to 12x points are cool, i used it for all my purchases and bills, and i earned quite a lot of points that time.

Do you know which motor insurance company accept AMEX card? because i always help my customers to buy insurance, the companies that am dealing with (Jerneh and UniAsia) does not accept AMEX sad.gif
one should fully utilize benefits that are free yah smile.gif noted you also pump petrolat Esso. I think Smiles reward the best, every RM1000 get RM15 back.

as for motor insurance, no idea. I usually just fax my renewal and the form only got Visa and MC if not mistaken.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 10 2007, 04:03 AM
TSDozz
post Nov 10 2007, 12:27 PM

2,149 posts

Anyone of you guys join the Global eShop by AMEX?

Added on November 13, 2007, 12:34 amhello??? where are AMEX's fans? lol...

This post has been edited by Dozz: Nov 13 2007, 12:34 AM
mrcloud9
post Nov 15 2007, 02:31 PM

343 posts

american express fan is here to stay. im an amex platinum charge card member. so far service is nothing short than superb. love it to bits. ive seen a few black cards though they are normally carried by foreigners. ive a friend whose father has a black card but issued by american express uk.

it is expected when the black card comes to msia the annual fee is around 5k. my platinum is already 2380 per annum. but service is truly wonderful. my car broke down once and i called them. within half hour they sent their breakdown assistance team to help me. also, i really treasure the platinum concierge service. there were a few times when i want to book in a table at luna bar or some other fancy restaurants they brush me off saying its fully booked etc. normally i just make a phone call to amex and within 10 mins the table is confirmed. its really reassuring to have it in your pocket.

on the downside, the no pre set spending limit can be dangerous. they even allow you to charge a 7 series on the card if theyre confident you can afford it. it puts luxury and convenivence in a whole different platform altogether!
TSDozz
post Nov 17 2007, 11:48 AM

2,149 posts

@mrcloud9

nice to heard that you are happy with the services... how i wish to have that card one day smile.gif by the way, can i ask how you apply for the AMEX plantinum card? AMEX invite you to join?
mrcloud9
post Nov 17 2007, 08:36 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 17 2007, 11:48 AM)
@mrcloud9

nice to heard that you are happy with the services... how i wish to have that card one day smile.gif by the way, can i ask how you apply for the AMEX plantinum card? AMEX invite you to join?
you will. dont worry! i started off as supplementary cardholder and later on received an invitation for the card. the annual fee is hefty though!
TSDozz
post Nov 17 2007, 09:55 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Nov 17 2007, 08:36 PM)
you will. dont worry! i started off as supplementary cardholder and later on received an invitation for the card. the annual fee is hefty though!
Does AMEX sent you the plantinum card and offer you to upgrade or they send you the pre-approved letter to sign? let say if they send me the plan card, dont know want to accept it or not as the annaual fee really $$$$....

Do you have VISA plantinum? they provide concierge services also...i use the service before, asked them booking HK disneyland and some concert tickets for me... they usually get back to me within 24 hours or shorter....
mrcloud9
post Nov 17 2007, 10:14 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 17 2007, 09:55 PM)
Does AMEX sent you the plantinum card and offer you to upgrade or they send you the pre-approved letter to sign? let say if they send me the plan card, dont know want to accept it or not as the annaual fee really $$$$....

Do you have VISA plantinum? they provide concierge services also...i use the service before, asked them booking HK disneyland and some concert tickets for me... they usually get back to me within 24 hours or shorter....
as mentioned earlier, ive been their supplementary cardholder. so i guess they have seen my usage and spending pattern on the supp card. i indicated my interest to have my own card so they reviewed and i qualified they sent me an invitation for the platinum card. i signed and in about two weeks ive got my cards. the rm 2380 annual fees lets you have 2 cards of your own (to separate business expenditure from personal) and 4 supplementary cards.

yes i have visa platinum too. youre right they have concierge service but mostly depends on the bank who issues the card to you. ive once tried asking hsbc to book me a table at malaysia petroleum club level 42 klcc. i had to let them know 3 days in advance. they faxed me a letter to facilitate entry because of the tight security. if you wanna know more about platinum cards, dont hesitate to ask me. i think ive experience with almost all the banks and i dont mind to share it with you if you wanna learn more! smile.gif
TSDozz
post Nov 17 2007, 10:42 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Nov 17 2007, 10:14 PM)
as mentioned earlier, ive been their supplementary cardholder. so i guess they have seen my usage and spending pattern on the supp card. i indicated my interest to have my own card so they reviewed and i qualified they sent me an invitation for the platinum card. i signed and in about two weeks ive got my cards. the rm 2380 annual fees lets you have 2 cards of your own (to separate business expenditure from personal) and 4 supplementary cards.

yes i have visa platinum too. youre right they have concierge service but mostly depends on the bank who issues the card to you. ive once tried asking hsbc to book me a table at malaysia petroleum club level 42 klcc. i had to let them know 3 days in advance. they faxed me a letter to facilitate entry because of the tight security. if you wanna know more about platinum cards, dont hesitate to ask me. i think ive experience with almost all the banks and i dont mind to share it with you if you wanna learn more! smile.gif
Thank you very much for your sharing...i asked AMEX before what criteria they looking at for invitation on plantinum, the lady told me.. Min spend RM50,000 per year and good payment record. Frankly speaking, RM50.000 spend per year is not that difficult for me (cos i use card for most personal and business purposes) but the problem is AMEX is not widely accepted like VISA and MASTERCARD in Malaysia.. thats make me a bit difficult to reach the target.

For Visa concierge service, i think the call center is located in Australia... whatever request you make will go thru Australia's Visa Plantinum Concierge Center... so i assumed whichever bank visa plantinum card we holding will receive standard service from them? correct me if i make a mistake,

mrcloud9
post Nov 17 2007, 10:52 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 17 2007, 10:42 PM)
Thank you very much for your sharing...i asked AMEX before what criteria they looking at for invitation on plantinum, the lady told me.. Min spend RM50,000 per year and good payment record. Frankly speaking, RM50.000 spend per year is not that difficult for me (cos i use card for most personal and business purposes) but the problem is AMEX is not widely accepted like VISA and MASTERCARD in Malaysia.. thats make me a bit difficult to reach the target.

For Visa concierge service, i think the call center is located in Australia... whatever request you make will go thru Australia's Visa Plantinum Concierge Center... so i assumed whichever bank visa plantinum card we holding will receive standard service from them? correct me if i make a mistake,
youre possibly right!
TSDozz
post Nov 18 2007, 12:43 PM

2,149 posts

@mrcloud9

How is your AMEX Platinum card looks like? does it look very exclusive and elegant? hahaa....
SUSDavid83
post Nov 18 2007, 12:44 PM

52,874 posts

AMEX platinum is nothing ... black card is good for show off.
TSDozz
post Nov 18 2007, 12:47 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2007, 12:44 PM)
AMEX platinum is nothing ... black card is good for show off.
Well.. VISA and MASTER plantinum cards maybe is nothing but AMEX one... Hmm... look at the annual fee RM2380 (fee will never waive regardless how much you spent) thats make the card mean something to me.. lol... unfortunately we do not have black AMEX card here... but if you guys wanna get a black card which is look similar to AMex's one... try to get HSBC Visa Plantinum... its black color.... lol
mrcloud9
post Nov 18 2007, 01:04 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 18 2007, 12:43 PM)
@mrcloud9

How is your AMEX Platinum card looks like? does it look very exclusive and elegant? hahaa....
haha.. no lah. its just like the green card only thing it is silver in colour. but there are a few shops when i take out of my wallet they said "nice card!". they liked the design of it i suppose. amex platinum card is still made of plastic like the rest of the cards. the amex centurion black card however, is made of titanium. so, it is considerably heavier than normal plastic cards. the black cards arent issued by american express malaysia yet.
TSDozz
post Nov 18 2007, 06:38 PM

2,149 posts

Other countries like Singapore, HK, Australia they all have own AMEX credit card... but dont know why its not available in Malaysia... Any opinion?
mrcloud9
post Nov 18 2007, 07:31 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 18 2007, 06:38 PM)
Other countries like Singapore, HK, Australia they all have own AMEX credit card... but dont know why its not available in Malaysia... Any opinion?
simple reason in those countries american express has its american express bank's presence there. so they can issue credit card as they need to tie up with banks to do that. in malaysia's case, the credit cards are issued jointly with maybank and hong leong banks. so these two banks issue malaysian american express credit cards. as for the charge cards, they are now issued by maybank since the handover ceremony last year.

TSDozz
post Nov 19 2007, 10:55 AM

2,149 posts

mrcloud9:

Since you had so many plantinum cards, which card bring you the most benefits or privileges?

This post has been edited by Dozz: Nov 19 2007, 10:56 AM
mrcloud9
post Nov 19 2007, 11:31 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 19 2007, 10:55 AM)
mrcloud9:

Since you had so many plantinum cards, which card bring you the most benefits or privileges?
alright my top choice will be amex platinum charge cards due to reasons ive mentioned much earlier. also, it doesnt encourage me to get into debts as ive no choice but to settle my balance in full at the end of each month. i must say for platinum cards issued by banks, my preference will be citibank and hsbc. theyre highly practical especially if you go overseas a lot. merchants abroad wont show that funny face they normally do when they see cards like maybank, eon bank or ambank or something. standard chartered isnt bad too. but i dislike uob. the whole thing about them just doesnt seem friendly to me. perks worth highlighting are the ambank's and maybank's platinum credit cards. ambank's platinum cards come with pre approved certificate of hire purchase financing up to 200k and clean overdraft of at least 10k as well as housing loan etc. maybank's platinum cards entitles you to access their private banking centre. so even though youre not their private banking customer, you can still utilize the convenience of not having to queue.

hsbc and citibank theyre noted for generously offering increase in credit limit if your payment pattern is good. pay at least half of your credit card bills. dont just pay minimum. and also, other banks in malaysia offer joint credit limits for their master and visa. but for citibank, they have separate limits. so really useful. so if your citibank visa platinum has a limit of 100k and your master is 100k, you have total credit limit of 200k.
TSDozz
post Nov 19 2007, 12:05 PM

2,149 posts

Thanks for your sharing! I would like to share some of my experiences with those bank that am hold the card with... but i will post in the international CC thread cos this thred is about AMEX... lol tongue.gif

Anyway, What is the Member Since on your AMEX card? In Australia, the longer you have the card, the more discount or points you gonna to earn in the promotion period... but i dont think it apply in Malaysia?

127 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:30 PM