Seperate charge are usually happen in travel agency when you want to pay by your cards... if believe there is no extra charge if buy direct from the airlines company right?
American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
Nov 6 2007, 02:09 PM
2,149 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Malaysia |
Seperate charge are usually happen in travel agency when you want to pay by your cards... if believe there is no extra charge if buy direct from the airlines company right?
Nov 6 2007, 03:01 PM
9,137 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods. |
The big companies would be able to absorb the cost. But the smaller companies, or smaller shop wouldn't want to bear the cost. One would find it more rampant while buying electrical, mobiles and not to mention....even jewelries.
Nov 6 2007, 09:17 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(b00n @ Nov 6 2007, 03:01 PM) The big companies would be able to absorb the cost. But the smaller companies, or smaller shop wouldn't want to bear the cost. One would find it more rampant while buying electrical, mobiles and not to mention....even jewelries. I strongly agreed with this. There's always service charge imposed if you pay using CC when you want to buy consumer electronics including PC peripherals. |
Nov 6 2007, 09:25 PM
175 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Nov 6 2007, 09:34 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I'm still not that clear regarding AE credit card and AE charge card. Are they basically the same? What're the differences between them?
Is there a credit limit on AE credit card like usual Visa or Mastercard credit card? Do I still need to repay in full for AE credit card like AE charge card? |
Nov 6 2007, 09:50 PM
175 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 6 2007, 09:34 PM) I'm still not that clear regarding AE credit card and AE charge card. Are they basically the same? What're the differences between them? ok..it's like this...Is there a credit limit on AE credit card like usual Visa or Mastercard credit card? Do I still need to repay in full for AE credit card like AE charge card? American Express Credit Card- i) like other normal credit card ii) gives 2X treat points iii) there's credit limit given iv) can pay minimum payment American Express Charge Card- i) Charge card - you need to pay in full amount when you use it ii) no pre-set spending limit iii) no interest charge because you settle your account in full each month iv) 2X treat points v) this is a good card for those who always go oversea |
Nov 6 2007, 11:07 PM
Maybe not in Malaysia but other countries such as Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia.. AMEX card very accepted mostly every merchants.
Nov 7 2007, 01:44 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Those of us that pay up full amount for CC would find that Amex better because can collect points at petrol station and get 2X reward points. And since Amex is a charge card and is targetted at "people with higher spending power", their members tend to go to higher end establishments. Anyway so what if the merchant does not take AMEX, most of us have Visa or Master.
I have mentioned many times, AMEX annual fees waiver is the best, call them and on the spot waive without any conditions attached i.e. no minimum usage nor amount. AMEX interest free installement program for any purchase is truly interest free as they don't charge handling charges like CC. However this program ends on 15 Nov 2007. DELL also accept AMEX, bought my Vostro with it and got 2X rewards Someone also mentioned that jem shops imposed surcharge, well it depends which shop you go to. My wife have been using AMEX recently at her regular jewel merchant and use cash or AMEX same price. Got 2X rewards somemore. haha, looking at above, i mentioned 2X rewards many times, this is because i got my statement today and happy with the total rewards points to date however i have yet to compare redemption points required for same item with CC. If AMEX need twice the amount of rewards points to redeem same item compared to CC, then the 2X rewards points is BS. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 7 2007, 01:55 AM |
Nov 7 2007, 10:57 AM
@Gen-X:
Yes, if those merchants doesnt accept AMEX, we still have VISA or Mastercard for backup. lol 2x Reward Points are great! its equal to RM2.80 per mile.. where other credit cards you need to spend between RM5.40 to RM6.00 in order to get one mile. Gen-X, did you enrolled in the Turbo Points Program? |
Nov 7 2007, 11:19 AM
2,287 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Anno Domini Time Ultra: 1,000,000 Trans Am Attack! |
No worries getting point from charging your credit card for petrol next year... Up RM0.70....(
Nov 7 2007, 11:31 AM
9,137 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Wouldn't be around much, pls PM other mods. |
QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 7 2007, 10:57 AM) @Gen-X: If you're talking about Maybank's AMEX credit card; than no. One cannot use VISA or MASTERCARD's merchant for that specific card because it's still riding on AMEX network. Just that it's in a form of credit card instead of charge card. As the franchise had been sold to Maybank, Maybank would have to bear the losses if any dispute is to come out of a transactions.Yes, if those merchants doesnt accept AMEX, we still have VISA or Mastercard for backup. lol 2x Reward Points are great! its equal to RM2.80 per mile.. where other credit cards you need to spend between RM5.40 to RM6.00 in order to get one mile. Gen-X, did you enrolled in the Turbo Points Program? AMEX no longer carry the huge risk as they're basically only running and maintaining their network. But there's still certain cases whereby AMEX would have to bear the fraud losses. |
Nov 7 2007, 03:33 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 7 2007, 10:57 AM) @Gen-X: yes, i did enroll Turbo Points but not for flyer miles if not mistaken.Yes, if those merchants doesnt accept AMEX, we still have VISA or Mastercard for backup. lol 2x Reward Points are great! its equal to RM2.80 per mile.. where other credit cards you need to spend between RM5.40 to RM6.00 in order to get one mile. Gen-X, did you enrolled in the Turbo Points Program? bOOn, we are saying that AMEX cardholders also carry Visa and Mastercard lah so if merchants don't accept AMEX no problems as can use CC. update: just saw Ad in The Star, AMEX interest free installment for 3 months extended to March 2008. Not too bad deal as 2/3 of the purchase amount can be invested say into 1 month FD at 3%. So if purchase price is like RM9K, RM3K have to be paid on coming due date and balance RM6K to be paid equally the next and following month. For example, interest earned for 1st month RM6K @ 3% = RM15 + 2nd month RM3,015 @ 3% = RM7.54 (but in real world minimum RM5K for 1 month FD) or Total interest earned = RM22.54 for using AMEX interest free program |
Nov 7 2007, 04:25 PM
Gen-X;
If you enrolled in the Turbo Point Program, you will earn 1 MR point extra, thats mean RM1.00 spend = 3x reward point Yeah, i just saw the Ads from The Star too, not familiar with Flexi Pay Plan... but its pretty good deal if you intend to purchase something more than RM1000 in single receipt... the sweetest part is 2x reward points. lol |
Nov 7 2007, 04:46 PM
64 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Yes...AMEX used to be independent...been a user for AMEX since Year 2002...and still is... :-) U can actually use Amex in Tesco and Guardian and many more merchants out there...AMEX is really useful when you're in overseas...used them in hotels too...no problem for them to accept AMEX..
Nov 7 2007, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(glitters @ Nov 7 2007, 04:46 PM) Yes...AMEX used to be independent...been a user for AMEX since Year 2002...and still is... :-) U can actually use Amex in Tesco and Guardian and many more merchants out there...AMEX is really useful when you're in overseas...used them in hotels too...no problem for them to accept AMEX.. you are AMEX member since 2002, do you find any different after Maybank manage it? Recently i purchased something from US web site, surprisingly the conversion rate are cheaper than what am expected. highly recommended to use AMEX card This post has been edited by Dozz: Nov 7 2007, 05:01 PM |
Nov 7 2007, 05:13 PM
64 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Personally I dont find them any different...maybe bcos Im just a casual user...so once I use ...i settle them off b4 the due date...those days we r able to pay our AMEX bill via Bank Simpanan Nasional...now no more of course...can just pay via maybank2u online...
However...i must say that AMEX's customer service hotline today is still the same...they still maintain the professionalism and efficiency in picking up customers call...unlike maybank's customer service!...so i always feel the difference when i call Maybank credit card customer service hotline and AMEX hotline...sigh ....eventhough now maybank is incharge.... |
Nov 7 2007, 08:19 PM
anyone saw America Express black card before?
Nov 8 2007, 12:17 AM
Nov 8 2007, 11:27 AM
AMEX Plantinum annual fee cost RM2k++.. really $$$!!!
Nov 8 2007, 02:18 PM
882 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 7 2007, 08:19 PM) For Malaysia highest ranking card is Platinum card... black card which is the Centurian Card is available in S'pore, HK, Aus... etc ... but not in Malaysia. p/s:edit due to typo This post has been edited by lauyamonk: Nov 8 2007, 02:19 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0213sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:18 AM |