12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Time and Maxis started to hijack dns query

PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 11:29 AM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(ChenKaiWen @ Sep 6 2024, 11:26 AM)
Works fine on TIME in Penang. So far, here not even blocking plaintext yet.
TIME so far still seems safe for now... It's TM that's implementing all the blocks right now

(unless you are on the old TIME Huawei EchoLife HG8145V5, that one hijacks port 53 at the router side)
PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 03:43 PM

2,608 posts

Spoke too soon, it's coming to TIME

Email sent to business customers

Image stolen from other places on the internet

Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 6 2024, 04:38 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 03:43 PM)

effff.
mandatory forcing businesses to comply.
even have to submit form.
blackbox14
post Sep 6 2024, 04:43 PM

346 posts

How come Maxis business allows DoT and DoH then? Is it really just up to the ISP company?

Probably need to check that Maxis Business FAQ section because it might be changed soon.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 04:50 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Sep 6 2024, 04:43 PM)
How come Maxis business allows DoT and DoH then? Is it really just up to the ISP company?

Probably need to check that Maxis Business FAQ section because it might be changed soon.
I'm guessing the bare minimum is blocking people from using other DNS servers and force usage of ISP servers

Maxis gently nudge you in the direction to use DoH/DoT

Time just "kindly request" you to change, not "demand"

But based on Maxis thread, it seems like home users will not be treated so kindly, and DoH/DoT May be blocked

So far on my side... Things are still ok.
It remains to be seen how does time implement their block
blackbox14
post Sep 6 2024, 05:00 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 04:50 PM)
I'm guessing the bare minimum is blocking people from using other DNS servers and force usage of ISP servers

Maxis gently nudge you in the direction to use DoH/DoT

Time just "kindly request" you to change, not "demand"

But based on Maxis thread, it seems like home users will not be treated so kindly, and DoH/DoT May be blocked

So far on my side... Things are still ok.
It remains to be seen how does time implement their block
And on top of that, the reports of them going after VPN.

Really don't like where this is going.
Epic_winner091
post Sep 6 2024, 05:17 PM

334 posts

Source of them going after VPNs? That's a leap too far IMO.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 05:21 PM

2,608 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 6 2024, 05:17 PM)
From the Unifi
There is some mentioning of Cloudflare WARP being blocked
Though some others don't have that problem

Another post was someone having issues attempting to download and install NordVPN
blackbox14
post Sep 6 2024, 05:23 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 6 2024, 05:17 PM)
Unifi thread post #5513.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 05:36 PM

2,608 posts

Oh the twitter hidden replies...

iotbot000
post Sep 6 2024, 05:42 PM

36 posts

We hopes this message finds you well. We ....
If I were to receive any messages beginning with the sentence above, I would be wary as it looks just like the Nigerian scam emails in the old days. biggrin.gif
Epic_winner091
post Sep 6 2024, 06:01 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 05:36 PM)
*snip*
Kahkahkah.

Is there a snowball's chance in hell they would reverse this decision?
blackbox14
post Sep 6 2024, 06:32 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Sep 6 2024, 06:01 PM)
Kahkahkah.

Is there a snowball's chance in hell they would reverse this decision?
Reverse definitely no, loosen restrictions maybe, but not for the time being. For now must show netizens and socmed that they are hebat and not to be trifled with.

TM, for example, is going all out against public DNS and still adding new IPs to their black hole server. Compare this to when they started DNS blocking sites back in 00s and didn't care if you used Google DNS to bypass.

If some big socmed refuse to get license next year, then it will take even longer for them to let off because many people will be trying to bypass blocks to regain access. Any news or viral incident gov don't want you to see also can put them back on guard.

But yeah, no more Malaysian internet as we knew it. Now can just look out at other countries and envy people who only have to change DNS to a popular provider to bypass blocks.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 6 2024, 06:36 PM

2,608 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...irection-order/

“The rationale (behind the DNS redirection) is that we want to prevent access to harmful sites, especially pornography and many online gambling websites.

We do not intend to restrict freedom of speech, he told reporters after launching Astro Radio’s KITAfm in Shah Alam today
The problem I have with this is.

Ok, feel free to block those websites on ISP DNS

BUT IF THE USER HAS MADE A CONSCIOUS CHOICE TO CHANGE THEIR DNS TO SOMETHING ELSE

YOU DONT HIJACK IT BACK

AND CERTAINLY NOT MESS WITH ENCRYPTED DNS
Nshade
post Sep 6 2024, 06:39 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 05:36 PM)

Don't vote for PH anymore... lol.

No different when vote for PN. They wanted this. lolol.

Yeah, may need to consider VPN liao...
Sooner or later, they gonna censor streaming movies.
No torrent, all censored, don't bother.

This post has been edited by Nshade: Sep 6 2024, 06:40 PM
GameSky
post Sep 6 2024, 07:12 PM

Nyancat too much
6,381 posts

QUOTE(Nshade @ Sep 6 2024, 06:39 PM)
Don't vote for PH anymore... lol.

No different when vote for PN. They wanted this. lolol.

Yeah, may need to consider VPN liao...
Sooner or later, they gonna censor streaming movies.
No torrent, all censored, don't bother.
fahmi itself doesn't function ...lick boot and try hard.
blackbox14
post Sep 6 2024, 07:42 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 06:36 PM)

BUT IF THE USER HAS MADE A CONSCIOUS CHOICE TO CHANGE THEIR DNS TO SOMETHING ELSE

YOU DONT HIJACK IT BACK

We know the real reason la: they can't have an easily bypassed block method if they want to force socmed to buy their license starting next year.

If X or Meta or Google don't comply and people can just change DNS to access anyway, the law amendment would be useless.

This post has been edited by blackbox14: Sep 6 2024, 07:42 PM
failed.hashcheck
post Sep 6 2024, 08:33 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 6 2024, 06:36 PM)

YOU DONT HIJACK IT BACK

Fuck the industry, fuck the the internat standards. Do whatever easy as long the objective met.

JPJ could learn thing or two from this fiasco.
Cars getting too fast on roads? What aes? No need. Just Install speedbump in middle of highway. Problem solved 👌

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Sep 6 2024, 08:33 PM
killer_pussylover
post Sep 6 2024, 09:20 PM

205 posts

Just to cut it short, anyone has any idea how to bypass this, do share, sharing is caring icon_idea.gif
OKLY
post Sep 6 2024, 09:21 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

What method does Maxis use to prevent usage of popular public DNS?

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:08 AM