do you find recently clothes quality dropped alot?

knwong
post Jul 28 2024, 08:04 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jul 28 2024, 06:03 PM)
Yeah uniqlo, muji
Just Uniqlo. No Muji
Lembu Goreng
post Jul 28 2024, 08:07 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Atoz 1 point 1 auto @ Jul 27 2024, 10:52 PM)
I stop buying branded stuff many years ago

Now i only buy from lazada, shopee and taobao
I’m with you bro, and if some of you care to read let me explain why below.

Years ago I was intrigued as to why Steve Jobs is always seen in black shirt and jeans (although Issey Miyaki designed them).

Apparently he does that that because of simplicity, he does not want to wake up figuring out (& wasting time) what to wear.

I thought about adopting it at my work place, but found it a little drastic, but gradually I went for the polo shirt & jeans look at the office (I worked in tech so that's easy). Same dark blue jeans but my polo shirts have neutral colours.

Now that I'm retired, I threw out most of my clothes from my work days. I wanted to simplify more.

I remember reading a tweet from Paul(ine) Tan who mentioned that he buys his black cotton t-shirts from Shopee (and they cost less than RM10). If you see his photos he is always in a black t-shirt, and yes those cost less than RM10.

I liked this idea so I went to Shopee and bought a few cotton tshirts that all cost less than RM15 each. You can choose from 160gm, or the thicker quality ones that 220gm. Thicker means they last longer, but can also mean that they are hotter to wear in this malaysian weather. I chose the 180gm ones.

I found one that I liked (the cutting, texture) so I bought 5 in black and 5 in white. They are now my daily wear as a retired man, paired along with my shorts (Banana Republic/Muji ones which I bought years ago and still good today).

All in all I spent a total of about RM100 for those t-shirts, and they have served me well so far. I think they'll last me a year at least (not sure yet - I only purchased them 3-4 months ago), so every year I'll only spend RM100 for t-shirts.

I used to like lululemons for my activewear (golf & yoga), but now I'm just as happy buying off activewear off shopee. They too cost me less than RM20/piece.

So TS, if you're not into brands, maybe this is something you can consider? Honestly people don't give a hoot about what brand you wear, took me a while to realise this. All my new stuff have no brand markings and it's not like anyone notices.

As for boxers/underwear, I buy H&M's Xtra Life short trunks. I find them pretty comfortable (made with cotton+lycra), and as the name suggests they last very long. H&M is on Shopee so I usually buy only when there's a sale.

This post has been edited by Lembu Goreng: Jul 28 2024, 08:26 PM
jojolicia
post Jul 28 2024, 09:03 PM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 28 2024, 08:04 PM)
Just Uniqlo. No Muji
Ohh, have I not taken notice of any issue? Care to share
jimkayle
post Aug 27 2025, 08:07 AM

17 posts

Yeah, I’ve noticed it too, even stuff that used to be decent feels thinner now.

This post has been edited by jimkayle: Sep 23 2025, 06:45 AM
BOTAK_WAI
post Aug 27 2025, 08:24 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,130 posts

want thick fabric? look at 7Dayz punya clothes lo.
Porkycorgi5588
post Aug 27 2025, 08:50 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Jul 24 2024, 06:46 PM)
go for uniqlo , and if you don't mind the design of their tees , they do drop till RM19.90 / piece from time to time. That's when I'll buy a few pieces at one go
I only buy when 19.90 laugh.gif
SourLemons
post Aug 27 2025, 09:54 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Aug 27 2025, 08:50 AM)
I only buy when 19.90  laugh.gif
i see / bought before 14.90 , some really ugly shirt but seriously good deal if you don't mind design and need a good t-shirt
Porkycorgi5588
post Aug 27 2025, 09:55 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Aug 27 2025, 09:54 AM)
i see / bought before 14.90 , some really ugly shirt but seriously good deal if you don't mind design and need a good t-shirt
pakai kerja one.... later the design also got grease mark
buy pink kaler later become black also biggrin.gif
lkyoong
post Aug 27 2025, 11:10 AM

188 posts

Nowadays i just go to HLA to buy my shirts. RM49 and quality is good.

Uniqlo also expensive unless got offer.

callmecool
post Aug 27 2025, 12:43 PM

255 posts

for tees & polos, i always go for Uniqlo and HLA. Recently more towards HLA, their quality very good and super smooth the materials.

for jeans, it will be Pull & Bear, Zara or Levis
jutamind
post Aug 27 2025, 11:44 PM

2,429 posts

Lembu Goreng can share the Shopee link for the t shirts that you bought with good quality?

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jul 28 2024, 08:07 PM)
I’m with you bro, and if some of you care to read let me explain why below.

Years ago I was intrigued as to why Steve Jobs is always seen in black shirt and jeans (although Issey Miyaki designed them).

Apparently he does that that because of simplicity, he does not want to wake up figuring out (& wasting time) what to wear.

I thought about adopting it at my work place, but found it a little drastic, but gradually I went for the polo shirt & jeans look at the office (I worked in tech so that's easy). Same dark blue jeans but my polo shirts have neutral colours.

Now that I'm retired, I threw out most of my clothes from my work days. I wanted to simplify more.

I remember reading a tweet from Paul(ine) Tan who mentioned that he buys his black cotton t-shirts from Shopee (and they cost less than RM10). If you see his photos he is always in a black t-shirt, and yes those cost less than RM10.

I liked this idea so I went to Shopee and bought a few cotton tshirts that all cost less than RM15 each. You can choose from 160gm, or the thicker quality ones that 220gm. Thicker means they last longer, but can also mean that they are hotter to wear in this malaysian weather. I chose the 180gm ones.

I found one that I liked (the cutting, texture) so I bought 5 in black and 5 in white. They are now my daily wear as a retired man, paired along with my shorts (Banana Republic/Muji ones which I bought years ago and still good today).

All in all I spent a total of about RM100 for those t-shirts, and they have served me well so far. I think they'll last me a year at least (not sure yet - I only purchased them 3-4 months ago), so every year I'll only spend RM100 for t-shirts.

I used to like lululemons for my activewear (golf & yoga), but now I'm just as happy buying off activewear off shopee. They too cost me less than RM20/piece.

So TS, if you're not into brands, maybe this is something you can consider? Honestly people don't give a hoot about what brand you wear, took me a while to realise this. All my new stuff have no brand markings and it's not like anyone notices.

As for boxers/underwear, I buy H&M's Xtra Life short trunks. I find them pretty comfortable (made with cotton+lycra), and as the name suggests they last very long. H&M is on Shopee so I usually buy only when there's a sale.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Aug 28 2025, 06:09 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Even expensive t shirt bought from Uniqlo has a funky smell when I start to sweat.

BTW can anyone recommend where to buy thick cotton round neck t shirt, I need thick cotton cos of my pointy nipples. Shopee got ?
Stigonboard
post Aug 28 2025, 06:49 AM

335 posts

Uniqlo quality is bad too nowadays
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Aug 28 2025, 06:55 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Aug 28 2025, 06:49 AM)
Very bad the quality & the texture feels like cheap cotton not premium at all
WongTheThief
post Aug 28 2025, 09:30 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Aug 28 2025, 07:49 AM)
Is it? I bought a few clothes and pants there, still looking good after 2 years
achong09
post Aug 28 2025, 09:39 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(Paradigmata @ Jul 24 2024, 04:52 PM)
as  ringgit millionaire i dont shop at H&M, factory reject, japanese budget shop.
i only shop shop every 2 or 3 years for past 15 years of my working life, with decent brand

i notice that nike, under armor sport wear, shirt pant shoes , t-shirt from polo raulp laure , tommy h, izod , nautical etc

the quality has drop a lot lol, the fabric doesnt feel the same , like recycle or plastics material blend, even the synthetic sport wear material felt like rubbish

only levis i feel the same quality , but then i couldnt be sure as i am not wearing jean since covid .
what is ur recommendation ? where to buy quality clothes and boxer, regardless of brand with decent price  ?
costs of materials and all getting more expensive.. so suppliers cut corners here and there.... this is the norm now... lagi got stupid trump tarrif lagi teruk
achong09
post Aug 28 2025, 09:39 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Aug 28 2025, 06:55 AM)
Very bad the quality & the texture feels like cheap cotton not premium at all
pasar malam tshirt quality better hahaha
purplefellow
post Aug 28 2025, 10:12 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Aug 28 2025, 06:09 AM)
Even expensive t shirt bought from Uniqlo has a funky smell when I start to sweat.

BTW can anyone recommend where to buy thick cotton round neck t shirt, I need thick cotton cos of my pointy nipples. Shopee got ?
Those oversized style t-shirts have thick cotton to maintain the boxy shape. Can look for those but is a bit pricey. I think Lotus also got sell local brand oversized tee.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Aug 28 2025, 11:44 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Aug 28 2025, 09:39 AM)
pasar malam tshirt quality better hahaha
Agreed again. Uniqlo quality nowadays is very bad. Price also expensive

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 28 2025, 10:12 AM)
Those oversized style t-shirts have thick cotton to maintain the boxy shape. Can look for those but is a bit pricey. I think Lotus also got sell local brand oversized tee.
Great will go Lotus look look. Thanks
nelson969
post Aug 29 2025, 10:12 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Aug 28 2025, 09:30 AM)
Is it? I bought a few clothes and pants there, still looking good after 2 years
long time i bought their pants, those string thread tore a bit less than 1 year

but their airism, sock good tho

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0170sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:10 PM