Apple AirTag helps solve Suria KLCC car theft

thankyou
post Jul 10 2024, 10:14 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jul 10 2024, 09:48 AM)
Ok, wasn't airtag exclusive to iPhone?  Or it can ping with andriod too.

Thanks for the info, will buy 1 and try it out. Me on andriod so changing to apple is not my cuppa.
although Airtag is exclusive to iPhone but there's a lot of iPhone globally...

While Samsung:

The Samsung Galaxy SmartTag 2 only works with Samsung smartphones. The tag can broadcast its precise location when connected to a high-end Samsung flagship with UWB support. Under ideal settings, it can remain connected from as far as 120 meters over Bluetooth.

When beyond the Bluetooth tracking range, The SmartTag 2 uses Samsung's SmartThings Find network to relay the tag's current location. Like Apple restricting AirTag compatibility to Apple devices, network compatibility for Samsung's location tracker remains limited to Samsung phones.

The tag can broadcast its precise location when connected to a high-end Samsung flagship with UWB support.

https://www.androidpolice.com/samsung-galax...ver%20Bluetooth.

This is the problem with SmartTag2 and you can google those reddit complaints about SmartTag2.

I thought about buying one to try as it's heavily discounted nowadays... can get one around RM100-110.
submergedx
post Jul 10 2024, 10:18 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 10 2024, 08:47 AM)
It's a story only

Hongda, insurance company tell him to say like that.

The truth how they found the car will remain a secret
LOL what you are trying to say

They literary tracked down the vehicle by using the airtag
styrwr91
post Jul 10 2024, 10:21 AM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Jul 10 2024, 09:16 AM)
Genius, please share how to find a hidden airtag
Place ur iphone in the car, drive the car around a while. U will receive a notification that there’s an airtag following u. Nt sure if that will help u locate exactly where it is, but u will be alerted that u r being tracked.

ClessRV
post Jul 10 2024, 10:22 AM

702 posts

wow, thought my bro was just joking around when he put 1 in his car, need to put 1 in my axia G la later
pysh
post Jul 10 2024, 10:23 AM

382 posts

carjacker using ipong?
mcchin
post Jul 10 2024, 10:23 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jul 10 2024, 08:44 AM)
such derogatory term, how would you like if we label android users as poverty scum? which this car thief actually was
Kesian triggered

Tou don't realized where you are
This is Kopitiam! *domtorettohandsapart.png*
mcchin
post Jul 10 2024, 10:25 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(styrwr91 @ Jul 10 2024, 10:21 AM)
Place ur iphone in the car, drive the car around a while. U will receive a notification that there’s an airtag following u. Nt sure if that will help u locate exactly where it is, but u will be alerted that u r being tracked.
iFa.... Iphone user mana ada chri curi one
All suci murni one
boonwuilow
post Jul 10 2024, 10:25 AM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

The carjacker didn't bring along a frequency jammer, that why...
hcmalaya
post Jul 10 2024, 10:26 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(styrwr91 @ Jul 10 2024, 10:21 AM)
Ur iphone will only alert you if the airtag belongs to others

As for this case the carjacker not using iphone kot so not aware
Even if the javket use iphone he will also have trouble looking for it in the car if hidden as u only can activate your own airtag
Kekwa
mcchin
post Jul 10 2024, 10:28 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 10 2024, 09:35 AM)
Smartag2 is not as good as airtag as it's exclusive to Samsung ecosystem... Hopefully Samsung will support 'find my device' in the future l

The newer Android 'find my device' tracker is better but it will take time to rollout....
https://9to5google.com/2024/07/07/android-f...ail-comparison/

On July 3, an AirTag and a Find My Device tracker from Pebblebee (it’s not mentioned which one) were placed inside of a package and mailed out through the US Postal Service. The AirTag provided updates on its location through the local truck and hub, as well as a larger truck heading to a larger warehouse. The Pebblebee tracker only provided a single update when it was at that warehouse, and that update kept reverting back to saying it was last seen at the user’s home.

That update eventually stuck, and on July 6 the package was delivered to its destination. The AirTag continued to provide frequent updates on its location throughout the journey, including in other warehouses and even on the road.

By the end, the Pebblebee tracker apparently once again reverted back to saying it was last seen at the user’s home, never updating when it arrived in the final location. It’s clear that the tracker was seen at some point, but it’s extremely odd that the data gathered was effectively thrown out.

thankyou
post Jul 10 2024, 10:32 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 10 2024, 10:28 AM)
Yeah, Google will need better support from third-party tracker devices. At least it's an open system, so we should expect a better and more consistent tracker in the near future. So far AirTag is definitely far more superior than Android trackers but unfortunately many of us are not using Apple Phone.

This post has been edited by thankyou: Jul 10 2024, 10:32 AM
sadlyfalways
post Jul 10 2024, 10:39 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 10 2024, 10:23 AM)
Kesian triggered

Tou don't realized where you are
This is Kopitiam! *domtorettohandsapart.png*
Ok la maybe I am just homophobe
mcchin
post Jul 10 2024, 10:44 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jul 10 2024, 10:39 AM)
Ok la maybe I am just homophobe
yeah maybe whistling.gif
Ichibanichi
post Jul 10 2024, 10:48 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jul 10 2024, 10:28 AM)
That's how I lost my earbuds 2 pro
It only track when I use it

Dentarg
post Jul 10 2024, 10:48 AM

39 posts

Oh no. My parents have a Honda HR-V.
But the car model still uses a manual key.

Time to get some Apple AirTags.
version46
post Jul 10 2024, 10:53 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 10 2024, 10:32 AM)
Yeah, Google will need better support from third-party tracker devices. At least it's an open system, so we should expect a better and more consistent tracker in the near future. So far AirTag is definitely far more superior than Android trackers but unfortunately many of us are not using Apple Phone.
IIRC Android users can detect nearby air tags to prevent being tracked so there's actually no reason why air tags can't work with Android phones, all because apple want to overcharge 😂
ameliorate
post Jul 10 2024, 10:57 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jul 10 2024, 10:32 AM)
It will never be as good as Airtag. Too fragmented in Android ecosystem. You need UWB to work and only those high end Android have it.

SkyHermit
post Jul 10 2024, 10:59 AM

1,799 posts

I thought AirTag maximum trackable distance is 10 meters?
sexysarah1992
post Jul 10 2024, 11:02 AM

316 posts

Thats why Apple stuff is expensive. It just works everytime.

Samsung stuff tak boleh pakai one
Jedi3815
post Jul 10 2024, 11:05 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(pureawesomeness @ Jul 10 2024, 08:32 AM)
Isn't the Samsung smart tag more accurate in tracking, now there's a new model also. Airtag slow to update and bodo warning buzzer bikini kacau je.
do you own one? i have a few questions if you can answer.

1) Does the "tag" need simcard?
2) how long is the life of the "tag"?
3) How far can the "tag" be found? worried if it needed to be connected to bluetooth (which defeats the purpose)

sorry i is newb

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:25 PM