121 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Bottom

The Retrievers V2, The Smartest Dog Ever !

zzchieko
post Oct 26 2009, 12:24 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(cphcphcph @ Oct 22 2009, 03:30 PM)
i oso hope to noe

but i will choose the dog nose as short as can,
about fur will depends on genetic...
and choose thoose after eat will sleep aside tat not playful
actually there are 2 types of golden retriever.

one is the british type with shorter muzzle/nose and another one American type with longer muzzle/nose.

you can check with the breeder before you purchase it so you wont get the wrong 1 smile.gif

Added on October 26, 2009, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(sadaharukouya @ Oct 4 2009, 04:48 PM)
Hello guys, i live in an apartment and i wonder if the labrador is good for my living place? i got a park just behind my place so the exercises should not be a problem, it just the barking issue im worrying, i heard they tend to bark at strange or unknown voice which can be quite a problem to the others.
hi~
actually apartment might be too small for a labrador but if you can bring the dog out for exercise regularly if should be ok. 1 thing you must know that labrador is a large breed & apartment will be a bit cramp. actually it doesnt matter..as long as u take care of the doggy well..i dun think he/she mind smile.gif

btw, labrador hardly bark...

i know some1 who have a chow chow in an apartment and the doggy is living happily there biggrin.gif so dun worry

This post has been edited by zzchieko: Oct 26 2009, 12:32 PM
stevechrysler
post Oct 27 2009, 10:48 PM

98 posts

my poor nicole got some ticks..duno where it came from.probably when i let her do business at my backyard with grass..i seldom bring her out also.kinda upset wit it.. sad.gif
btw....have u guys ever see a black skin golden retriever?their fur is normal like usual golden but its jus the whole foreskin is black.except their head.. hmm.gif
willee0319
post Nov 7 2009, 12:32 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ Jul 2 2009, 08:47 PM)
Hey TTY81, heard there's a dog farm in JB, want to bring your dogs there for a swim or something? I am planning a day trip for my 2 babies once the heat is over..  mad.gif  mad.gif want to get them spayed mad.gif  mad.gif .

Maya.
very pretty...i like this.plan to name her maya oso if i hav one girl GR~ tongue.gif
candicelicious
post Nov 7 2009, 03:12 AM

13 posts

Hello, did anyone send your GR for dog trainings?
Can recommend me any?
My dog is 4 months old. biggrin.gif
I cannot train him... He's...way...too...notty!!! =.="
mattchin
post Nov 9 2009, 09:38 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

broz n sisz...

any idea where i can get a birtday cake for my LR? she's celebrating her 3rd birthday...
penny88
post Nov 10 2009, 10:11 PM

Hi all,

Like to ask anyone interested to buy 4months+ Golden Retriever puppy? I just doing some survey here before posting at Pet Store..

candicelicious
post Nov 11 2009, 05:54 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(penny88 @ Nov 10 2009, 10:11 PM)
Hi all,

Like to ask anyone interested to buy 4months+ Golden Retriever puppy? I just doing some survey here before posting at Pet Store..

how much are you selling? male or female?
Pm me ya~ smile.gif
candicelicious
post Nov 11 2009, 10:58 PM

13 posts

Can anyone help me in answering this,
How many injections should a goldie puppy take?
My pupp already taken 3 injections at 2 different vet clinic.
1 told me that he need 3 injections already enought ; another 1 told me that my goldie needs 4 injections because he is large breed dog.

How many times should my goldie inject? rclxub.gif
penny88
post Nov 12 2009, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(candicelicious @ Nov 11 2009, 10:58 PM)
Can anyone help me in answering this,
How many injections should a goldie puppy take?
My pupp already taken 3 injections at 2 different vet clinic.
1 told me that he need 3 injections already enought ; another 1 told me that my goldie needs 4 injections because he is large breed dog.

How many times should my goldie inject?  rclxub.gif
My GR puppy taken 3 injections only and the last 2 injections is the "good" one (my vet told me).. i heard before due to previous injections which is "not good" enough the vet will request you to take the 4rd injection to boost up your puppy healthiness..

kent75
post Nov 12 2009, 11:18 PM

66 posts

Actually they need 3 jabs in total. For the basic vaccination is to prevent 6 types of disease, and now there is a type of vaccination for 10 types of diseases. I would suggest you to take the 10 types better, just around RM10 to RM20 difference only to ensure ur puppy's health.

This post has been edited by kent75: Nov 12 2009, 11:19 PM
candicelicious
post Nov 14 2009, 04:53 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(penny88 @ Nov 12 2009, 02:51 PM)
My GR puppy taken 3 injections only and the last 2 injections is the "good" one (my vet told me).. i heard before due to previous injections which is "not good" enough the vet will request you to take the 4rd injection to boost up your puppy healthiness..
QUOTE(kent75 @ Nov 12 2009, 11:18 PM)
Actually they need 3 jabs in total. For the basic vaccination is to prevent 6 types of disease, and now there is a type of vaccination for 10 types of diseases. I would suggest you to take the 10 types better, just around RM10 to RM20 difference only to ensure ur puppy's health.
Thanks for your reply! thumbup.gif

Here's my golden puppy.. when he is 2months old...

He is now 4 months already... biggrin.gif
mattchin
post Nov 16 2009, 01:55 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

not to forget apply doggy license.. u need 2 jab ur doggy once a year b4 getting the license..

then heartworm disease prevention medicine, check this out:
http://heartgard.us.merial.com/products/products_plus.asp
candicelicious
post Nov 16 2009, 12:17 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 16 2009, 01:55 AM)
not to forget apply doggy license.. u need 2 jab ur doggy once a year b4 getting the license..

then heartworm disease prevention medicine, check this out:
http://heartgard.us.merial.com/products/products_plus.asp
may i kow where to get doggy license?
how much is it?
Does that mean that if I get dog license from DBKL, and then I move to Melaka.
So I need to get another dog license in Melaka too?
Or just 1 license in enough? wink.gif
mattchin
post Nov 16 2009, 01:25 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

correct... depends @ the place u stay 1.. u don't use 1 license for all places...

RM30 if i'm not from for first time. Second time is RM15+/-.. make sure u haf the vet vaccination card... (that 3 jabs)... after that 3 jabs, every year b4 u renew ur license do bring ur doggy for a jab... if not, they will not renew the license...
candicelicious
post Nov 17 2009, 04:39 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 16 2009, 01:25 PM)
correct... depends @ the place u stay 1.. u don't use 1 license for all places...

RM30 if i'm not from for first time. Second time is RM15+/-.. make sure u haf the vet vaccination card... (that 3 jabs)... after that 3 jabs, every year b4 u renew ur license do bring ur doggy for a jab... if not, they will not renew the license...
Ah... Ic... hmm.gif
Thanks Matt for answering. notworthy.gif
Another question, what will they do if they found out that the dog doesn't have license?
Fine the owner? ohmy.gif
mattchin
post Nov 17 2009, 11:54 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

ermm.. not so sure lar about that.. i heard the pet shop lady told me that they may take ur dog away and keep it at their place for temporary and if case is not solve, they will put it at SPCA
the case she was referring to if someone(neighbours) complaint that ur dog is noisy/smelly/etc to the authority therefore they will come over to ur place and check what happened.. if they find that ur dog has no license, that is what they will do lor...
nghonyuen
post Nov 19 2009, 09:30 AM

hi,

i have a GR and she is around 1 year old.

When she is young, she use to jump at us and like to sit at our lap. We did not correct her at that time because she stay in house with us all the time.

Now that she is older and bigger, we find it sometime quite annoying for her to keep jumping at us. Especially when rainy day, you know what i mean.

I tried to correct her by saying "No" or "Sit" or "Stay" command. It works some of the time but when she is excited (especially when see us back from work), it won't work. I tried to scare her by pretending want to beat her with rotan, but she won't stop (maybe i did not pretend enough).

Anyone of you have similar experience? How to correct this jumping behavior?

Many thanks.
candicelicious
post Nov 19 2009, 09:36 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 17 2009, 11:54 PM)
ermm.. not so sure lar about that.. i heard the pet shop lady told me that they may take ur dog away and keep it at their place for temporary and if case is not solve, they will put it at SPCA
the case she was referring to if someone(neighbours) complaint that ur dog is noisy/smelly/etc to the authority therefore they will come over to ur place and check what happened.. if they find that ur dog has no license, that is what they will do lor...
ah...icic... Thanks for your reply. biggrin.gif
mattchin
post Nov 19 2009, 11:03 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i think u need 2 reli hit her hard and make her understand what can be done and what can't be done...

may sound a lil cruel but it works.. tongue.gif
byaku-chan
post Nov 19 2009, 07:42 PM

QUOTE(nghonyuen @ Nov 19 2009, 09:30 AM)
hi,

i have a GR and she is around 1 year old.

When she is young, she use to jump at us and like to sit at our lap. We did not correct her at that time because she stay in house with us all the time.

Now that she is older and bigger, we find it sometime quite annoying for her to keep jumping at us. Especially when rainy day, you know what i mean.

I tried to correct her by saying "No" or "Sit" or "Stay" command. It works some of the time but when she is excited (especially when see us back from work), it won't work. I tried to scare her by pretending want to  beat her with rotan, but she won't stop (maybe i did not pretend enough).

Anyone of you have similar experience? How to correct this jumping behavior?

Many thanks.
My adult mongrel loves to jump on people to greet them. He has learned not to do this with me. I corrected him like this:

- Anticipate every time he's making a move to jump on me. Throw him off balance by turning my back just as he tries to jump and pair it with a strong "NO! OFF!". Usually by this point he will understand the jumping is not wanted. Since your GR is used to jumping and is strong enough to hold on, by this point she might still try to cling to you even if you turn away. If this is the case, shove her off by moving your body quickly and pair it with a strong "NO!" / "OFF!" (or you can combine both since she understands NO and will pay attention, then followed by OFF which she will hopefully learn to associate with the meaning "don't jump").

Another way you can try is grab her front paws when she jumps on you (paired with a "NO!"), then hold her until she becomes uncomfortable (her back and hind legs will feel the strain of being in that awkward upright position after a while).

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 19 2009, 11:03 AM)
i think u need 2 reli hit her hard and make her understand what can be done and what can't be done...

may sound a lil cruel but it works.. tongue.gif
Um, hitting your dog hard is not a good way to correct behaviour. If you do it often and use that as the main way to train obedience it will only make them learn to be fearful of you and in worst cases, they will start biting back in self-defence. If you beat your dog into submission they will only learn to fear you, not respect you - hardly the kind of relationship you want to have with a beloved pet.

I only use physical punishment as a last resort and make sure it's not excessive. Honestly every time I have to resort to physical punishment I feel disappointed in myself and wonder if I have failed in training my dog. The only dog where I had to resort to serious physical punishment to make him behave is my very dominant alpha male mongrel who got too smart and and realised if he bit people he would get his way (because initially me and my family members refused to lay a hand on him). After failing with techniques using positive reinforcement, gentle coaxing etc. I had to teach him there would definitely be negative consequences if he bit someone - he learned he would receive pain as punishment every time he tried to bully people into giving in to him via biting. If you really have to hit a dog make sure the hitting is controlled and in a spot where no lasting damage will occur. I hit with rotan on the rump where it's fleshy and will only hurt temporarily. Make sure you don't hit your dog just out of anger and in places that may cause injury (head, stomach etc.).

121 Pages « < 89 90 91 92 93 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:26 PM