Maxis Fibre 1Gbps Unable to Deliver

TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 12:25 PM, updated 2 months ago

-
8,391 posts

Dear fellow 1Gbps users, what speed are you able to achieve over Ethernet LAN cable? Are you able to achieve the full 1Gbps?

I've complained to Maxis and they explained their best effort policy and SKMM requirements is only 90% of the plan.

For reference, this is my speedtest with TIME before switching to Maxis.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jun 14 2024, 12:26 PM
cytyler
post Jun 14 2024, 12:51 PM

399 posts

90% is 900M
zuozi
post Jun 14 2024, 12:54 PM

1,261 posts

TS kena upcar by maxis liao 😂
DCXW
post Jun 14 2024, 01:05 PM

On my way to Se7en stars
532 posts

Tell their MAXperts to figure whats causing the bottleneck..

Just curious, what made you switch over from TIME to maxis ?
Usually people will be happy to switch over to TIME since their prices are way more competitive.
TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 01:18 PM

-
8,391 posts

QUOTE(DCXW @ Jun 14 2024, 01:05 PM)
Tell their MAXperts to figure whats causing the bottleneck..

Just curious, what made you switch over from TIME to maxis ?
Usually people will be happy to switch over to TIME since their prices are way more competitive.
Maxis is offering 1Gbps for RM159 since I am using Maxis Postpaid

It’s RM199 on TIME

TIME International routing is not great lately
johnny82
post Jun 14 2024, 01:44 PM

831 posts

pay 90% of Time amount so get 90% speed of advertise ><
TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 01:52 PM

-
8,391 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Jun 14 2024, 01:44 PM)
pay 90% of Time amount so get 90% speed of advertise ><
Let's see if Maxis can work with TM to solve this. hmm.gif

Their Maxpers told me this is only happening on TM Infra. No such issue on Maxis' own NGBB infra.
Singh93
post Jun 14 2024, 09:52 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 14 2024, 01:25 PM)
Dear fellow 1Gbps users, what speed are you able to achieve over Ethernet LAN cable? Are you able to achieve the full 1Gbps?

I've complained to Maxis and they explained their best effort policy and SKMM requirements is only 90% of the plan.

I'm on ngbb infra, getting 1gbps for download ,upload varies from time to time
TSblacktubi
post Jun 15 2024, 02:08 AM

-
8,391 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Jun 14 2024, 09:52 PM)
I'm on ngbb infra, getting 1gbps for download ,upload varies from time to time
That's what the Maxperts told me as well.

Let's see if anyone using Maxis 1Gbps plan on TM HSBA infra can get the full 1Gbps. I've yet to see any speedtests with such result.

I've seen another users reporting similar issue as me.

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 4 2024, 05:37 PM)
bruh, i am on the gigabit plan and tm also came and replaced my old nokia with useless fibrehome lmaooo

10 times i called them back to come and say this is wrong router, doesnt even support gigabit because of overhead bla bla

until now getting around 890 only, should have just stay on the 800mbps free upgrade i got
sadlyfalways
post Jun 15 2024, 12:21 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 15 2024, 02:08 AM)
That's what the Maxperts told me as well.

Let's see if anyone using Maxis 1Gbps plan on TM HSBA infra can get the full 1Gbps. I've yet to see any speedtests with such result.

I've seen another users reporting similar issue as me.
I’m on the gigabit fibrehome modem, so I am stopped by Ethernet limits of 930 to 940

https://www.cablefree.net/wireless-technolo...gabit-ethernet/
drxgrey
post Jun 18 2024, 08:04 PM

163 posts

Just got the fibre last week and just trying it out. Any suggestion to improve this? Or should i replace the existing router provided by Maxis with my own router?
TSblacktubi
post Jun 18 2024, 08:31 PM

-
8,391 posts

QUOTE(drxgrey @ Jun 18 2024, 08:04 PM)

Just got the fibre last week and just trying it out. Any suggestion to improve this? Or should i replace the existing router provided by Maxis with my own router?
I am using my own router and the speed is still really unstable as well

Another set of Maxis and TM contractor visited today and they sort of don't care

Kinda regret switching to Maxis now
drxgrey
post Jun 18 2024, 10:15 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 18 2024, 08:31 PM)

Another set of Maxis and TM contractor visited today and they sort of don't care

downloading games from steam seems like very low than expected sad.gif wasnt too happy too
PRSXFENG
post Jun 18 2024, 10:27 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 18 2024, 08:31 PM)

I'm not pointing the gun on Maxis or TM specifically but it's kinda a known secret that Maxis users are treated unfairly when Maxis uses TM infra,
eg, you subscribe to 30, you get 28Mbps (my relative's experience)
while if you were a TM Unifi user, you get 33Mbps (typical Unifi experience)
where as if you are a Maxis NGBB user, you get 38Mbps (my own experience)

or subscribe 300, get 280 (from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97296366 )

now, not all members get this experience, some get Maxis on TM HSBB users get expected speeds, not sure what goes on behind the curtains

a few bits of discussions scattered around the forums from the past
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4975930
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97065076
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4972579

and
https://github.com/Anime4000/Hacking_Huawei...e-to-access-cli

There's probably more around the forums that I didn't find
TSblacktubi
post Jun 18 2024, 10:37 PM

-
8,391 posts

QUOTE(drxgrey @ Jun 18 2024, 10:15 PM)
downloading games from steam seems like very low than expected  sad.gif  wasnt too happy too
Steam cache server is located in Singapore, you can try to run a speedtest to a few Singapore servers especially Singtel.

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jun 18 2024, 10:27 PM)
I'm not pointing the gun on Maxis or TM specifically but it's kinda a known secret that Maxis users are treated unfairly when Maxis uses TM infra,
eg, you subscribe to 30, you get 28Mbps (my relative's experience)
while if you were a TM Unifi user, you get 33Mbps (typical Unifi experience)
where as if you are a Maxis NGBB user, you get 38Mbps (my own experience)

or subscribe 300, get 280 (from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97296366 )

now, not all members get this experience, some get Maxis on TM HSBB users get expected speeds, not sure what goes on behind the curtains

a few bits of discussions scattered around the forums from the past
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4975930
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97065076
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4972579

and
https://github.com/Anime4000/Hacking_Huawei...e-to-access-cli

There's probably more around the forums that I didn't find
Whatever upstream provider is not an excuse

I am paying Maxis and Maxis need to solve it for me and not pointing fingers to TM

SKMM MSQoS requirements for fiber Internet is to get at least 90% of the speed at least 90% of the time
ken120
post Jun 19 2024, 12:23 AM

210 posts

Maxis 1gbps on TM infra. Limit by gigabit onu provided by tm.

OlgaC4
post Jun 22 2024, 03:02 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 18 2024, 10:37 PM)
Steam cache server is located in Singapore, you can try to run a speedtest to a few Singapore servers especially Singtel.
Whatever upstream provider is not an excuse

I am paying Maxis and Maxis need to solve it for me and not pointing fingers to TM

SKMM MSQoS requirements for fiber Internet is to get at least 90% of the speed at least 90% of the time
Tm will get the heat. They node is really overload.
Your first node to tm is the problem

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jun 22 2024, 03:04 PM
NagaK
post Jun 23 2024, 01:41 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 14 2024, 12:25 PM)

Not relevant but I'm using Maxis 100mbps on Tm infra I'm always getting 93 to 90mbps down 40mbps up. when I ask TM they said normal. Looks like Tm Infra always limiting speed by 5% for other providers.

But TM DLINK combo bridge 1Gbps gets 940mbps down up 540mbps with own router support Upto 1G so it's might

This post has been edited by NagaK: Jun 23 2024, 01:42 AM
PRSXFENG
post Jun 23 2024, 11:39 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jun 23 2024, 01:41 AM)
Not relevant but I'm using Maxis 100mbps on Tm infra I'm always getting 93 to 90mbps down 40mbps up. when I ask TM they said normal. Looks like Tm Infra always limiting speed by 5% for other providers.

But TM DLINK combo bridge 1Gbps gets 940mbps down up 540mbps with own router support Upto 1G so it's might
94/940 could be Fast Ethernet or Gigabit Ethernet limits, you wont get a proper 100 or 1000 due to overhead
TSblacktubi
post Jul 2 2024, 03:16 PM

-
8,391 posts

Still not fixed after a few technician visits from Maxis. Meanwhile my TIME 1Gbps got 0 technical issues over 4 years.

It seems like Maxis didn't care about customer feedback, they will keep escalate the ticket until it will be closed eventually.

Once in ever few speedtests it will hit 900Mbps and they will use that as a reason to close the ticket. doh.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:51 PM