Maxis Fibre 1Gbps Unable to Deliver

TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 12:25 PM, updated 2 months ago

-
8,390 posts

Dear fellow 1Gbps users, what speed are you able to achieve over Ethernet LAN cable? Are you able to achieve the full 1Gbps?

I've complained to Maxis and they explained their best effort policy and SKMM requirements is only 90% of the plan.

For reference, this is my speedtest with TIME before switching to Maxis.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jun 14 2024, 12:26 PM
TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 01:18 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(DCXW @ Jun 14 2024, 01:05 PM)
Tell their MAXperts to figure whats causing the bottleneck..

Just curious, what made you switch over from TIME to maxis ?
Usually people will be happy to switch over to TIME since their prices are way more competitive.
Maxis is offering 1Gbps for RM159 since I am using Maxis Postpaid

It’s RM199 on TIME

TIME International routing is not great lately
TSblacktubi
post Jun 14 2024, 01:52 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Jun 14 2024, 01:44 PM)
pay 90% of Time amount so get 90% speed of advertise ><
Let's see if Maxis can work with TM to solve this. hmm.gif

Their Maxpers told me this is only happening on TM Infra. No such issue on Maxis' own NGBB infra.
TSblacktubi
post Jun 15 2024, 02:08 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(Singh93 @ Jun 14 2024, 09:52 PM)
I'm on ngbb infra, getting 1gbps for download ,upload varies from time to time
That's what the Maxperts told me as well.

Let's see if anyone using Maxis 1Gbps plan on TM HSBA infra can get the full 1Gbps. I've yet to see any speedtests with such result.

I've seen another users reporting similar issue as me.

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 4 2024, 05:37 PM)
bruh, i am on the gigabit plan and tm also came and replaced my old nokia with useless fibrehome lmaooo

10 times i called them back to come and say this is wrong router, doesnt even support gigabit because of overhead bla bla

until now getting around 890 only, should have just stay on the 800mbps free upgrade i got
TSblacktubi
post Jun 18 2024, 08:31 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(drxgrey @ Jun 18 2024, 08:04 PM)

Just got the fibre last week and just trying it out. Any suggestion to improve this? Or should i replace the existing router provided by Maxis with my own router?
I am using my own router and the speed is still really unstable as well

Another set of Maxis and TM contractor visited today and they sort of don't care

Kinda regret switching to Maxis now
TSblacktubi
post Jun 18 2024, 10:37 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(drxgrey @ Jun 18 2024, 10:15 PM)
downloading games from steam seems like very low than expected  sad.gif  wasnt too happy too
Steam cache server is located in Singapore, you can try to run a speedtest to a few Singapore servers especially Singtel.

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jun 18 2024, 10:27 PM)
I'm not pointing the gun on Maxis or TM specifically but it's kinda a known secret that Maxis users are treated unfairly when Maxis uses TM infra,
eg, you subscribe to 30, you get 28Mbps (my relative's experience)
while if you were a TM Unifi user, you get 33Mbps (typical Unifi experience)
where as if you are a Maxis NGBB user, you get 38Mbps (my own experience)

or subscribe 300, get 280 (from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=97296366 )

now, not all members get this experience, some get Maxis on TM HSBB users get expected speeds, not sure what goes on behind the curtains

a few bits of discussions scattered around the forums from the past
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4975930
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry97065076
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4972579

and
https://github.com/Anime4000/Hacking_Huawei...e-to-access-cli

There's probably more around the forums that I didn't find
Whatever upstream provider is not an excuse

I am paying Maxis and Maxis need to solve it for me and not pointing fingers to TM

SKMM MSQoS requirements for fiber Internet is to get at least 90% of the speed at least 90% of the time
TSblacktubi
post Jul 2 2024, 03:16 PM

-
8,390 posts

Still not fixed after a few technician visits from Maxis. Meanwhile my TIME 1Gbps got 0 technical issues over 4 years.

It seems like Maxis didn't care about customer feedback, they will keep escalate the ticket until it will be closed eventually.

Once in ever few speedtests it will hit 900Mbps and they will use that as a reason to close the ticket. doh.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jul 2 2024, 04:12 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Jul 2 2024, 04:11 PM)
Sounds like I'll may need record daily speed and keep it in an excel sheet. Then send it to SKMM to show the average speed for 6 months.
Why wait for 6 months, just do it now.

Definitely needed more complaints to SKMM to show that this is a widespread issue.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 3 2024, 12:19 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Jul 3 2024, 11:44 AM)
Okay, Update on my case report...

TM contractors in Kuching have no stock for the Skyworth ONU and the contractors do know about this ONU and yet I am surprised I could not get it. For the speed, maxed out at close to 920Mbps on Singtel server. Maxis tech team told me to keep requesting for it as 1Gbps is eligible for it but due to "hardware limitation" they currently only have ZTE modems on hand and as long can get 90% of the speed most of the time.  innocent.gif

I will still submit a SKMM anyways for their issue as it is an unsatisfactory resolution due to no stock for Skyworth 2.5Gbps ONU when Maxis knows they have stock...

At the moment, Unifi Tech team already left my house and Maxis Tech team is on the way now to verify the issue
Do you mind to share which IP range you got?
TSblacktubi
post Jul 3 2024, 01:49 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Jul 3 2024, 12:43 PM)

Maxis tech team actually quite okay with explaining the issue but then TM on the other hand handling the stock for the hardware is an issue and TM well... heh. For now, just going to submit SKMM report and then make another case report for my line.

Funny is the tech team stated that Maxis put this as internet connection issue and maintenance category.

For hardware request, it is under Service request which I find it funny as I have no idea what KL side is doing.
Yea, modem equipment is owned by TM and TM subcontract out to vendors. That's why there's a lot of fingers pointing within Maxis and TM.

For my case, now Maxis is suspecting that the Skyworth modem is faulty. Will see if they will close my ticket this time.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 3 2024, 04:31 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Jul 3 2024, 03:57 PM)
Okay... really interesting...

I hit above the speed cap...

Current setup, TUF AX4200 with Skyworth 2.5Gbps modem

Not too impressive for the speed result for my PC since gigabit port and AX4200 only has 2.5Gbps WAN but it's not my main rig since my main rig uses 2.5Gbps LAN port.

Just need to wait for my new TUF AX6000 to arrive then will monitor it.
You're lucky!

TM is capping you properly at your location so you're able to achieve the full performance.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 12 2024, 11:46 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(drxgrey @ Jul 12 2024, 11:44 AM)
I wanted to replace the KAON AR2140 router too, any idea how to set it up? Thinking of getting one of those ROG router with 2.5g
Just setup PPPOE config and remember to tick special ISP requirement then choose Maxis-Fiber profile.

I am using ASUS router with 2.5G too
TSblacktubi
post Jul 12 2024, 03:07 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(xjoshualaw29 @ Jul 12 2024, 02:57 PM)
Any updates from Maxis for yours?
Words from Maxis technical team that come to me.

"Asalkan 8 ratus lebih dah kira pass dalam maxis, kalau you tak puas hati you complain jer dekat MCMC kami pun tak kisah"

I am already speechless, will port out after 2 years contract. puke.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jul 12 2024, 03:51 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Jul 12 2024, 03:34 PM)
That is a very disappointing answer
My general experience with Maxis as a whole is kinda disappointing

They will run speedtest as many time as they want and as long as it get around 900Mbps even if it's just one single time, they will snap picture and close the report

But well, I still save RM30 per month compare to TIME with free Internet for 6 months. Can't expect too much I guess. tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post Jul 17 2024, 09:48 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(NagaK @ Jul 17 2024, 09:15 PM)
My TM 1gbps also similar results with yours Maxis. Looks like it's not 1Gbps from HSBB
Apparently not everyone is affected, only certain location under certain OLT.

And sadly, I don't think there's a solution for this.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 18 2024, 09:55 PM

-
8,390 posts

After a lot of technician visit and a lot of escalation, this is the best they can do for me.

Not perfect but at least it's acceptable now.

Still, not really happy with the way Maxis handle this matter. They should identify the issue properly and solve it at the first complain.
TSblacktubi
post Jul 26 2024, 03:07 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ Jul 26 2024, 02:59 PM)
Hi. May i know what they have done? Mine 500mbps plan only able to get 460mbps...
Well, by SKMM MSQoS regulation, the requirements is deliver 90% of subscribed speed.

Don't waste your time to argue with Maxis, they won't fix it if you already get 90%. That's their SOP.

I've tried and they don't bother. SKMM don't care either since they are more interested in blocking TikTok and Twitter content these days.

Either you live with it or move to another telco that can provide full speed (TIME and Unifi).

TSblacktubi
post Jul 27 2024, 04:27 PM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jul 27 2024, 02:35 PM)
TIME so far the Best

you sendiri buat hal go maxshit...
TIME is the best if you speed test on local server.

So far I found that the routing and responsiveness of Maxis is superior for international website.

TIME quality dropped a lot especially for EU, China and JP routing

QUOTE(satvingill @ Jul 27 2024, 02:41 PM)

What hardware did they change ? Did they change the onu to skyworth ?
I’m a new subscriber and already on the Skyworth ONU

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jul 27 2024, 04:29 PM
TSblacktubi
post Jan 4 2025, 11:17 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(sulfuriq @ Jan 3 2025, 09:52 PM)
Need some advise. Just bought ASUS RT-BE92U. Already obtain my PPPOE from Maxis but still could not connect. Since I'm on the TM Infra, I've chosed ISP Profile Maxis Fiber while the Voip Port shows LAN3. Adter the Wifi SSID Setting done, the router rebooted but the Internet connection shows invalid account / password... This is bugging me
Make sure you choose Maxis-Fiber and NOT Maxis-Fiber-Special.

Maxis-Fiber >> TM Infra
Maxis-Fiber-Special >> Maxis own Infra

Do you subscribe the RM10 public IP service? If yes, the PPPOE ID should ends in @public.maxis.com.my

Password will always be an extra 1 at the end.

BTW, expect 5-10 minutes delay when you connect a new router, sometime the old PPPOE session not disconnected properly, taking some time for the new PPPOE session to go up.
TSblacktubi
post Jun 24 2025, 10:25 AM

-
8,390 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jun 24 2025, 10:17 AM)
Just recently upgraded to 1Gbps. Using Skyworth 2.5G modem and Asus be88u router. Not able to get past 1Gbps, it seem to stuck at max 950Mbps.. like there is a limit to it… can anyone help me figure out what else I’ve missed? Thanks.

Nothing can be done, just bad luck that some Maxis users are capped lower at certain locations

I tried to fight and even get MCMC involved but they stand firm that once 90% speed provided, it's all good

I will terminate this Telco with false advertising once my contract ends

0.0216sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:40 AM